Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Haleakala Crater

The lunar landscape of Haleakala Crater covers an enormous expanse – so big that Manhattan could squeeze inside. The world’s largest dormant volcano, the crater is protected by the Haleakala National Park. This is the place for stunning views ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 308 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was pretty cool. We weren't thrilled about being picked up so early at our hotel but it takes awhile to get up to the top of the crater so it was best to have someone else do the driving in the dark in unfamiliar territory. and it was worth it!
Beautiful sunrise above the clouds! Do it!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The sunrise was indescribably amazing! The tour was great and especially the tour guide!

Note: Dress very warmly, it is freezing up there!! Bundle if you can.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Overall highlight of our trip to Maui....despite getting up at 130am to be picked up at 2am. Rory our driver was excellent, he provided a great history of other islands no he way back as well as getting us to the top in enough time to have a prime spot for viewing. While it is a good chunk of time to devote and you have to get up early we were back by 11am with enough time to lounge by the pool and take a much needed nap! Glad we did it and we'll worth it, but no need to do it again on our next trip back whenever that might be!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide, Les, was OUTSTANDING! He was very knowledgeable about the history, culture, and current events of the islands. Lunch was very fresh and delicious! Les' kindness made our tour that much more enjoyable.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour really is spectacular just like the title intimates. It was cold up there, not as cold as it could have been but still quite cold so anyone doing this tour should definitely dress warmly, bring gloves, wear layers, carry a blanket, whatever you need. Once warm just stand and wait for the most breathtaking views you will see and experience. Totally worth it, I highly recommend!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Out guide, Glen, was knowledgable and entertaining. The bus was comfortable and our breakfast delicious but nothing can compare to the breathtaking views Mother Nature and Haleakala had in store for us. Mahalo.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Sunrise Tour was the highlight of our vacation. It was well organized with bathroom and breakfast breaks. The tour guide, Glenn, was a wealth of knowledge. We enjoyed it tremendously! The sunrise was lovely!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The day started off very slowly with nearly 2 hours picking people up, waiting for new drivers and then swapping buses!! We did not have very long at each place it's mainly have a look take a picture and back on bus. The driver who is also guide was good and told us lots of information. We were taken to a restaurant for lunch not included in tour the food was nice but I think the time could of been used better.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The day started off very slowly with nearly 2 hours picking people up, waiting for new drivers and then swapping buses!! We did not have very long at each place it's mainly have a look take a picture and back on bus. The driver who is also guide was good and told us lots of information. We were taken to a restaurant for lunch not included in tour the food was nice but I think the time could of been used better.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

All guests should confirm that they can tell the time and wear a watch, before being allowed to join the group, or they should be made to do a private tour.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

It is a worthy tour but we had trouble getting going. For some reason we had to change our original driver before we started and once the new driver arrived we had to go elsewhere to change to a different bus. Stuff happens and I get it. Uncle Charlie, our driver was very knowledgeable

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

6 hours drive and 1 hour sunrise.
So many people in a so cold place and unfortunately is almost always cloudy...

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a wonderful time. The crater was spectacular, lunch was great, very organized. But the best part was our guide. She was friendly, fun, engaging, and taught us so much about the history of the island, the flora and fauna, and the Hawaiian culture. My kids said it was their best day on the island!!

Doing what: Haleakala Crater Hike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a beautiful morning in Hawaii! Rory was an awesome tour guide and has a wealth of knowledge. He ensured we were there early to be standing right by the guard rail. He kept us well informed of what to expect minute by minute. Remember to dress warm and even bring the blanket off your hotel bed my concierge even recommended it! Leave the driving to them well worth it!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a beautiful morning in Hawaii! Rory was an awesome tour guide and has a wealth of knowledge. He ensured we were there early to be standing right by the guard rail. He kept us well informed of what to expect minute by minute. Remember to dress warm and even bring the blanket off your hotel bed my concierge even recommended it! Leave the driving to them well worth it!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It's an early wake up call but well worth it.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great Trip, we really enjoyed the day. Would have liked to have been on a smaller bus though...

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

The sunrise was spectacular but the tour guide was appalling. He would not stop talking throughout the whole time and was telling us inane and trivial stories.He was even going so far to point out that you can lear surfing, boogie boarding etc on the beach. It was basically like pointing to a parking lot and saying, look there are cars in there! That is one example of many. I would not do it again. Drive up yourself! At least you will be in charge of your own time and will save lots of money

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fabulous tour. Our tour guide, Sean, was very knowledgeable of everything from history to geology, food to music, botany to astronomy. The drive to the top of Haleakala was spectacular and although one can do it themselves, it is much better to have a driver who can explain things.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was really great. Our driver was the best. He made the trip worthwhile.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were fortunate to have a good view from the top of the mountain. Our guide was excellent, very knowledgeable of the history, vegetation, and wildlife of Maui. He was kind, professional, and an excellent driver. This tour is an excellent value for the money. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

So much fun and our guide, Bob, was the best. Highly recommended to everyone.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highlight of week on Maui.. stunning view of the milky way followed by sun rise over the volcano.

Al our guide was very entertaining and informative and made the trip feel special.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great the service everything was on time our host I call him because tour guide dose not fit Glen he had such knowledge and was so colorful and the sunrise was awesome thanks for the memories

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Sandra R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing the tour guide was excellent it was an early start through we were back at our hotel by 3.30pm which was great! Highly recommend this tour for anyone who wants to see the volcano craters on the Island of Maui!

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message