Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Haleakala National Park

Haleakala National Park protects the world’s largest dormant volcano, Haleakala Crater. Exploring its huge expanses, it’s easy to see why haleakala means ‘house of the sun’. The park is divided into two sections: the crater and the coastal area ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 290 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Definitely worth getting up early for. Even with my several layers of clothing I was still very cold. The wind at that altitude is intense. Our driver was okay (I think his name was Greg) and forgot to drop us off until we were halfway to the next city, but the actually experiencing of seeing the sunrise over the clouds made the whole trip worth it.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great time with our tour guide but the weather would not cooperate for us. Would do it again.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The trip to Haleakala was amazing. The sunrise was awesome. It was beautiful and the tour guide was extremely knowledgable.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed this trip. It was a great tour. Really enjoyed booking the sunrise tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Got out of bed at 2am and thought "what was i thinking"?
Aron was FAN TASTIC.
The sunrise FANTASTIC.
The breakfsst FANTASTIC.
The park service sunrise "chant" FANTISTIC
The memory of tjis trip will be my mental break to a HAPPY PLACE!! THANK YOU VIATOR

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had the perfect day for the Sunrise.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our driver, Bob, was terrific! Very personable, knowledgeable, and courteous. Thoroughly enjoyed booking the sunrise tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Breathtaking! This is a must do excursion- the early wake up is hard and the top of the volcano is pretty cold, so make sure you wrap up- but it's so so so worth it! Amazing! And a great breakfast to finish the morning! X

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Roy was our tour guide, we enjoyed the day very much with a respect for the island and the folklore. Make sure you dress warm enough on this tour, it gets cold on the top of the mountain. Bring a good camera you will be glad. Enjoyed the town we stopped in, the art shop had great photos and gift ideals

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing Experience - well worth the 2 am pick up time.
Looked like we were looking at the moon. Colours of the sunrise were spectacular. The guide was very knowledgable as well. Would recommend to all.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent tour. Loved the views and enjoyed Haleakala and the Iao Valley! So beautiful. I would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My husband and i really enjoyed this trip. The pick was soo early but at no point did we feel we where waiting around or had got up so early for no reason. Our driver up was Wayne who was FANTASTIC, he was brilliant. He had such a broad knowledge of the history and local area, i cannot recommend him highly enough. The breakfast when we had made our way back down was far better than expected, all of the travelers at our table enjoyed it. A note about the chill at the top, being hardy Yorkshire folk we felt nothing more than a jumper was required, it was the equivalent of a crisp, sunny day in November in the UK.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

awesome experience plus the stop for photos was icing on the cake - loved every part of it!! will do it again next time we return to maui!

Doing what: Maui Downhill Bike Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message