Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Haleakala National Park

On the southeastern coast of Maui sits Haleakala National Park. It takes up more than 33,000 acres, including the volcanic crater for which the park is named. The park was originally much larger when it was first created in 1916, as it also ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 440 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gerard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, well worth the early start. Guide, Rory, was great, gave lots of information and kept everyone amused.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Karen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide/driver Nettie was AWESOME!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

rafael e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My wife Debbie and I did the small group sunrise tour to Haleakala, and absolutely LOVED it! Our driver, Scott, was the absolute best! We were picked up on time, and the whole ride there he talked about the sights we were seeing obviously, he was very knowledgeable. He got us to the top nice and early enough to get a prime photo-taking spot. Good old Scott was prepared, too - it was cold up there, and he had blankets, hats and coats, in case. He also showed us some neat tricks on taking pictures with our phonew, which was very helpful! After the sunrise, we took some great pictures of the flowers and vegetation, and Scott even took our picture at the summit sign. We left, and had a very delicious breakfast at a lodge near the bottom of Haleakala. Then, we took a tour of the surrounding garden, where we took more awesome pictures. We then went into the flower shop, where we ordered a beautiful arrangement of local flowers and had them sent to friends of ours they later told us it was the most gorgeous arrangement of flowers they had ever received! We proceeded back to the hotel, with Scott telling us a great story about the sugar cane fields, and teaching us how to speak Hawaiian. We got back to our hotel in plenty of time to enjoy the rest of our day, which we did on the beach by our hotel catching up on our sleep - ha ha! We highly recommend the small-group sunrise tour to Haleakala - you will not be disappointed!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Karen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Nettie was AWESOME!! You get up early3am and get back around 11am. This is a fabulous tour. You need to get up early to make it to the top before the crowds get there. If you drive yourself, it's made of switchbacks and such. A little scary at 4am. I'm glad I didn't drive. She gave us just enough information but also let us rest in the bus, fed us snacks and coffee and good pointers along the way, both up and down. She took many pictures for us and we have some marvelous mementos because of this! She also gave us pointers on the flora and fauna which is great for a nature nerd like me. Great breakfast at the end of the trip too. I highly recommend this trip if you can get Nettie.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Adam K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wow! What a beautiful site. We got lucky to have a top notch sunrise. Cold up top so dress warm. Our tour guide glen was knowledgeable about the island and its history and he made the early morning drive fun. You get some coffee and danishes to start off and a full breakfast at the end. Worth doing!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Tracy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Don't hesitate to book this tour, it was excellent. We brought our 18, 15 and 12 year-old kids and all of them thought this was well worth getting up at 2:30 am to see. That's a real endorsement! Rory was our guide and he made the drive up and back go by quickly and enjoyably with his upbeat personality and wealth of information about the islands. He's a history instructor at the university and delivers info in a very entertaining way. Kids and husband balked at warnings to bring warm clothing but they all regretted and apologized for doubting once we were up at the viewing spot at 5:30 am you're at the viewing spot for a good 90 minutes total and disposable hand warmers, hats, gloves, fleece, jackets are advisable - it was in the mid to upper 20s up there on March 19th and the wind that day was calm. Some showed up with just a light sweater and a light jacket or light resort blanket and they really were not able to enjoy the experience the way they could have. If you're going to pay good money to see this, dress for it and enjoy the magnificence of it all including more stars than you've ever seen in your life. This tour also gets you up at the viewing location early enough to get a great spot against the viewing rail which is what you want - again, if you're going to pay to see this, it's great to be on a tour that gets you prime viewing without a bunch of tourist heads in your photos. Enjoy it, you'll remember and marvel at the beauty of this sunrise for life.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

KCO USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is a tour to be taken once, very early start! Our tour guide, Aaron, was very knowledgeable and considerate. He had blankets for all of us, which were very much appreciated. Temptation tours has a very comfortable fleet of vans and limits the number of people on each trip. Our tour had only myself, my husband and a family of four. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Johanna United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great experience, Scotty was very professional and proud to make our trip memorable, making sure we saw it all....Well worth the time and expense, definitely recommend the small tour..

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Mary L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide Rory was great, so much fun and very knowledeable

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Margaret B. R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour gave us a good look at two locations that we probably wouldn't have undertaken by ourselves. Les, our guide, gave us great information that helped us understand the Island and what we were seeing. He went out of his way to point out special spots before we got to them so we could be ready with our cameras. Great, personal tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

Joanne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We were picked up at the set time by Nettie. She was wonderful. She talked to us about helpful hints and she brought extra blankets for people who wore shorts!! She was with us and took pictures for us of our group. She was wonderful. Lunch was delicious. On the rider home she talked about where you can see whales. Trip was great and so was Nettie!!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Marla F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Awesome, amazing, spectacular stargazing and sunrise!!! Our tour guide was very knowledgable!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Catherine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

So very thankful we did this tour! The guide was delightful and for picking us up at 2am... that is no easy task. It is very very cold at the top... even with jean, jacket and a long sleeved shirt, I was still cold. If you go, and you should, jeans, sweatshirt, jacket, hat and gloves is what I would recommend. The pictures I got are spectacular, the memories are priceless.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Bernice G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This turned out to be a private tour, just the two of us and Scott, our guide. All started out well the night was clear, and there were lots of shooting stars. However, as we climbed the mountain, clouds rolled in. By the time we got to the top, there was a slashing rain storm and wind gusts of 60 mph. Scott provided us with extra jackets to keep out the rain and cold and found us a sheltered spot to try to wait out the rain. At no time did he make us feel like he minded standing out there in the rain and cold. Unfortunately, the rain did not stop and we had to abandon our hopes for star gazing and a memorable sunrise. However, we did enjoy the breakfast down below and the tour of the Protea garden, which was lovely. Scott was so knowledgeable about the flowers and really made the whole disappointing experience as pleasant as he could. Would love to go back and see the sun!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Patricia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Awesome group and tour. Was given ample instructions. Only wished they had allowed us to stop sooner on our way down to adjust gear and get better photo of rainbow. Would recommend!

Doing what: Maui Downhill Bike Ride

Amy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great trip!! Had an amazing time!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Amy D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our driver, Nettie, was fabulous. She was very informative and kept us entertained. Spectacular views!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Saket K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We started our tour at 2.50am in the morning and we were picked up from our hotel.
Our bus driver cum guide Glen was very experienced and superb driver.
He kept us highly entertained by high great amount of knowledge.
We reached Haleakala view at around 5 am and Glen had guided us to the best spot to view the sunrise. Haleakala Tour was beautiful experience of a lifetime.
To see the mother nature changing its colors is most beautiful view.
We then went to another higher spot where there are many research facilities.
Overall it was very good and well planned tour.
Thanks to our driver Glen for driving so well especially around the most curved lanes.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Sylvia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Rory was a safe, kind, and highly informative tour driver! We had a wonderful spot to watch the sunrise, and learned so much history on our journey on the bus. Thank you for a perfect day!!!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Terrance C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great fun.

Doing what: Haleakala Zipline Adventure

Lisa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Awesome trip! I had so much fun and I saw a lot. Really worth it to go on this tour.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

Lucy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The most recommended, like a private tour with only four person, which I love it. Our tour guide was super nice and friendly, it was quite chilly on top of the mountain, our beloved guide prepared blankets and hats for us, helping us to take photos and secure the best standing/sitting position to view the sunrise. The view was breathtaking and the trip was worthwhile, thank you for taking care of us, Mahalo!!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Lilian N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Breathtaking, no words can describe. Definitely would recommend it, definitely worth waking up at 2am. Make sure you bring appropriate clothing though because it is extremely cold up there!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Krystal A R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our tour guide was Nettie, and she was absolutely wonderful! Her knowledge and love for/of the islands and passion for them were absolutely evident! Her willingness to share all of the above made the experience even that much more amazing! I would absolutely recommend this tour and hope that they get the same experience we did!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message