Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Haleakala National Park

On the southeastern coast of Maui sits Haleakala National Park. It takes up more than 33,000 acres, including the volcanic crater for which the park is named. The park was originally much larger when it was first created in 1916, as it also ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 361 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Sunrise Tour was the highlight of our vacation. It was well organized with bathroom and breakfast breaks. The tour guide, Glenn, was a wealth of knowledge. We enjoyed it tremendously! The sunrise was lovely!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Out guide, Glen, was knowledgable and entertaining. The bus was comfortable and our breakfast delicious but nothing can compare to the breathtaking views Mother Nature and Haleakala had in store for us. Mahalo.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour really is spectacular just like the title intimates. It was cold up there, not as cold as it could have been but still quite cold so anyone doing this tour should definitely dress warmly, bring gloves, wear layers, carry a blanket, whatever you need. Once warm just stand and wait for the most breathtaking views you will see and experience. Totally worth it, I highly recommend!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were detoured due to cloud cover to the West Maui/Molokai tour, but that was no hardship! Beautiful tour, and our pilot Mike was a great guide! Highly recommended!

Doing what: East Maui 45-minute Helicopter Tour over Haleakala Crater

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Overall highlight of our trip to Maui....despite getting up at 130am to be picked up at 2am. Rory our driver was excellent, he provided a great history of other islands no he way back as well as getting us to the top in enough time to have a prime spot for viewing. While it is a good chunk of time to devote and you have to get up early we were back by 11am with enough time to lounge by the pool and take a much needed nap! Glad we did it and we'll worth it, but no need to do it again on our next trip back whenever that might be!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide, Les, was OUTSTANDING! He was very knowledgeable about the history, culture, and current events of the islands. Lunch was very fresh and delicious! Les' kindness made our tour that much more enjoyable.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The sunrise was indescribably amazing! The tour was great and especially the tour guide!

Note: Dress very warmly, it is freezing up there!! Bundle if you can.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was pretty cool. We weren't thrilled about being picked up so early at our hotel but it takes awhile to get up to the top of the crater so it was best to have someone else do the driving in the dark in unfamiliar territory. and it was worth it!
Beautiful sunrise above the clouds! Do it!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It's an early wake up call but well worth it.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a beautiful morning in Hawaii! Rory was an awesome tour guide and has a wealth of knowledge. He ensured we were there early to be standing right by the guard rail. He kept us well informed of what to expect minute by minute. Remember to dress warm and even bring the blanket off your hotel bed my concierge even recommended it! Leave the driving to them well worth it!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a beautiful morning in Hawaii! Rory was an awesome tour guide and has a wealth of knowledge. He ensured we were there early to be standing right by the guard rail. He kept us well informed of what to expect minute by minute. Remember to dress warm and even bring the blanket off your hotel bed my concierge even recommended it! Leave the driving to them well worth it!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a wonderful time. The crater was spectacular, lunch was great, very organized. But the best part was our guide. She was friendly, fun, engaging, and taught us so much about the history of the island, the flora and fauna, and the Hawaiian culture. My kids said it was their best day on the island!!

Doing what: Haleakala Crater Hike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great the service everything was on time our host I call him because tour guide dose not fit Glen he had such knowledge and was so colorful and the sunrise was awesome thanks for the memories

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Sandra R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing the tour guide was excellent it was an early start through we were back at our hotel by 3.30pm which was great! Highly recommend this tour for anyone who wants to see the volcano craters on the Island of Maui!

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highlight of week on Maui.. stunning view of the milky way followed by sun rise over the volcano.

Al our guide was very entertaining and informative and made the trip feel special.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were fortunate to have a good view from the top of the mountain. Our guide was excellent, very knowledgeable of the history, vegetation, and wildlife of Maui. He was kind, professional, and an excellent driver. This tour is an excellent value for the money. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fabulous tour. Our tour guide, Sean, was very knowledgeable of everything from history to geology, food to music, botany to astronomy. The drive to the top of Haleakala was spectacular and although one can do it themselves, it is much better to have a driver who can explain things.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was really great. Our driver was the best. He made the trip worthwhile.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

So much fun and our guide, Bob, was the best. Highly recommended to everyone.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We debated whether we wanted to leave the hotel so early before booking this tour 2:30am and it was well worth it. It is a gorgeous site! Please dress accordingly as it is FREEZING up there and very windy.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable. Pity the weather wasn't brilliant. What we saw of the sights was good.

Doing what: Haleakala, Iao Valley and Central Maui Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I loved this trip! The pilot, Mike, was very personable and informitable. The helicopter tour was the highlight of my trip. Wish the day had been clearer and a little less windy by that's the luck of the draw...

Doing what: East Maui 45-minute Helicopter Tour over Haleakala Crater

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was amazing! Rory our tour guide was so knowledgeable and shared lots of stories which made the trip extra fun! definetly a must do in Maui!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

You have to get up really early, but it is worth getting up the volcano before everyone to have the best spot and enjoy the sunrise! Been there in March 2015 !

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour. We were a family of five and ended up being the only ones on the tour. We got aazing pics of Haleakala. We had two kids which is why we chose this tour since I wasnt sure if they would enjoy a car ride to Hana but this was perfect. One day and we got amazing pics. Lunch was at a lavendar farm and the food was good.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message