Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Molokai Island

The island of Molokai may not be as popular with tourists as other Hawaiian islands, but it offers stunning scenery and plenty of opportunities to relax. Molokai's landscape includes two volcanoes, a large white sand beach, and a sacred valley – ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 88 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andrea D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide spoke very quietly, had a problem making out what he was saying sometimes. But it was still spectacular views. Well worth the cost, although the pic and flash drive you can buy is not worth what they charge. do yourselves a favor and save your money for something else.

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Saket K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was our first experience of helicopter tour and must say it was indeed a great one.
Our pilot Cameron was very experienced and was great guide.
The view from the top is simply superb and you get to see the hidden beauty of the island.
You can see the lush green valleys, blue sea, volcanic mountains, sharp edged cliffs, beautiful waterfalls and so much more and feel so close to the nature.
Helicopter tour is must recommended activity for all visiting Maui.
According to my wife it was the best anniversary gift for her.
Thanks Air Maui for making our first wedding anniversary all the more memorable.

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Beth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My sister and I booked this day trip having read Moloka'i by Alan Brennert, and falling in love with the island of Molokai and its history. After a beautiful flight from Oahu be prepared for a tiny airplane, we arrived at the Kalaupapa Airport. While there is some downtime waiting for other tour members, we just enjoyed the idyllic setting of the island and the true peace and quiet that can only come from a place like Molokai. Our tour guide, Norman, was the most authentic human being I've ever met. The tour was a little slow off the start, and I was anxious to get to more of the history and story of the island, but that came eventually. If you haven't read the aforementioned book before booking this tour, do so. You will have a greater appreciation for all that you are seeing and experiencing. I re-read the book immediately afterward and fell in love with the history all over again and especially loved having true scenery to connect to what I'd read. A very special experience!

Doing what: Kalaupapa and Molokai Day Trip from Oahu

Donald H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Pleasant, friendly, informative pilot who was very familiar with Maui and Molokai. Safe Pilot.
Some views somewhat limited perhaps because of time spent over the water. Some areas of the reef were not particularly interesting.

Doing what: Molokai and Maui Helicopter Tour

Rebekah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The trip was amazing. Awesome views and very knowledgeable pilot.

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai 60-minute Helicopter Tour

hmehta1

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

It was great view, but sometimes due to static it was hard to hear pilot.
I think we could have got same trip at cheaper rate in Lahaina.

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Anthony S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

the helicpter tour was fantastic but on your confirmation you say pick up and drop off to hotel is included but the helicopter operator advised you had to make your own way to them at maui. it would have cost us 100.09 us each way so we rented a car for the morning to drive there and back and that cst us 140.00audtralian. also the directions to the heliport is nearly non existence there is only one sign that says heliport and that is it

Doing what: Molokai and Maui Helicopter Tour

Note from Viator: Dear sir/madam we appreciate your feedback. on our web site and your voucher it clearly states under the word EXCLUSIONS no hotel pick up. thank you again.

1956richardgreene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Molokai was simply beautiful from the air but make sure you take air sick pills those turns overlooking waterfalls were stomach flipping! I would take this tour again in a nanosecond!

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Markus F

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

It was just great, even though the weather was a bit cloudy it's just amazing to see those wonderful waterfalls! Both, Guide and Maverick Team were great fun! If they had offered HD-recordings I had rated 5 stars!
However, the trip and Molokai chopper ride is highly recommended!!

Doing what: Molokai and Maui Helicopter Tour

DennisH

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

See sights that are only accessible by air. Everyone associated with the company was great to us.

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Tina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this kayak trip, it was an early start but very much worth getting up for! Our guide was AMAZING and had all of the kayaks and gear set and ready to go. He gave us a quick but effective lesson on the proper technique for rowing and explained in detail the importance of kayak and snorkel safety. The morning was beautiful and during our 5 mile journey he shared much information about the geographical area, island history and native animal and sea life. During the snorkeling he was very attentive to the needs of everyone and was mindful to point out the unique fish and coral as we passed. The small group atmosphere was really nice and we enjoyed getting to know the other participants. I would highly recommend this excursion to anyone who loves adventure and has a desire to learn more of what makes the beautiful island of Maui so special.

Doing what: Pali Sea Cliff Kayak Discovery

Anet M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing. Absolutely amazing. Bought this as a birthday gift for hubby and it was a hit plus more. We just loved it. And our pilot Troy was really lovely. Informative and fun. Thanks

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Willard M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The staff was excellent. Views were incredible. Was well worth the cost. Pilot was very skilled. Only wish he could have been a bit more outgoing. I would highly encourage taking this trip. North Molokai sea cliffs and waterfalls are outstanding.

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My third trip with Air Maui ! A lot of fun , the west Maui Molokai trip is exciting , great scenery

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Terri Tobin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Everyone ought to take this tour! Our pilot, Mike, was very amenable and made all passengers 6 total feel that he was genuinely excited to help us see the spectacular sights. Mike was very knowledgeable about the various aspects and factoids regarding the islands. No pun intended...the 45 minutes flew by. I was very sad to realize we were headed back to the landing pad.

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Gayle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great experience!!! The views were awesome with the waterfalls. Everyone at the helicopter company was friendly and professional. I felt safe in their helicopter when I found out they have a perfect safety record.

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Anne K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

There's a lot of waiting time built into this tour: you wait to be picked up at the airport in Molokai, you are driven to wait for the people who hiked or rode a mule, you wait again at the tour operator's refreshment store...

This should be a very powerful and thought-provoking experience. Luckily I had borrowed an 80 page book that I had the chance to begin and finish during all my waiting. It contained all of the pictures and most of the stories that were told by the tour guide. While the tour guide was friendly, she admitted at the start of the tour that she didn't know a lot of the history of the place but instead came about being a guide because she used to drive around the owner. Honestly, without stories about what happened there it is just a bunch of poorly documented sites.

I guess Father Damien tours is the only way to go to Kalaupapa right now. Hopefully someone will come in maybe the NPS and start to do a better job telling the story of what happened here.

Doing what: Kalaupapa and Molokai Day Trip from Oahu

Adrienne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The flight to and from Mololai was a great experience, providing the three of us with some great views of Honolulu and of Molokai. A bonus benefit was meeting at the Kalaupapa airfield an old friend of mine whom I had not seen for forty years, plus a couple of other folks from our home state of Michigan . We were joined on the bus tour by the hikers and the mule riders who made the trip up and down the trail instead of flying in and who joined us for the bus tour. The gentleman tour guide and driver of the 1992 school bus was very informative, insightful, and inspiring. All in all, I consider this day trip the highlight of my entire ten days in Hawaii.

Doing what: Kalaupapa and Molokai Day Trip from Oahu

Cathy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had great time on this tour. We did the 5 hour excursion and enjoyed every minute. Our guide, Garrett was really excellent. He snorkeled with us and took the time to dive down and point out things we would have missed and then came up and identified them for us. He handled guests needs with discretion and patience, and stayed very aware of the conditions of the water--we just happened to be there when there was a hurricane stirring to the south. Would do this again for sure.

Doing what: Pali Sea Cliff Kayak Discovery

Bethany R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Garret was an awesome guide and pointed out a plethora of cool facts about the island and surrounding history along the snorkel and kayak tour. We saw handfuls of turtles at the cleaning station, marine fish, and along the whole trip felt safe. We'll definitely return for the whale season and ask for Garret as our guide! Highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting a more private tour with an edge of excitement and personal attention.

Doing what: Pali Sea Cliff Kayak Discovery

Glenn F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Picked up by shuttle to West Maui airport for helicopter tour. Had a brief safety lesson before embarking with about 4 others. The helicopter's pilot gave us all earphones to block the noise and gave us all information on the waterfalls, history of the volcanic activity and even a trip over to the island of Molokai. Very happy with his tour and it was the highlight of my trip.

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Debora G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Good experience!

Doing what: Pali Sea Cliff Kayak Discovery

Scott B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The kayaking, snorkeling and guide were great. Obviously this is all dependent on the weather so if it gets windy and wavy, you won't see as much and you may have to cut it short. But we saw lots of creatures, our guide knew a ton or was a really good liar, who knows? and even saw some turtles. Downsides: these was nothing remotely like what you see in that image of people kayaking out of a cave in still water into a bay. This was just along a rocky gorgeous coast line in open water. Also, the directions were pretty vague and said to look for a green van or truck, which the guide knew nothing about when we finally found him.

Doing what: Pali Sea Cliff Kayak Discovery

Sam S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

It was OK, but could have been better.

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai 60-minute Helicopter Tour

Julie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Troy gave us a fabulous tour. One we will always remember. Definitely worth the money!

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message