Maui ATTRACTIONS See all

Road to Hana

Hawaii is made for road trips, and one of the best is the Road to Hana, a relatively short drive that should take all day (if you're doing it right). Technically called the Hana Highway, the Road to Hana is 52 miles of winding two-lane road ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 258 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jodi H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our driver Sam was extremely knowledgeable and funny as well! He was very accomodating when it came to length of stops, especially for photos. It's such a beautiful drive, but definitely let a professional do it and just enjoy the scenery!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Carol P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I wrestled with booking a tour or driving the Road to Hana...this tour was the right decision. This is more than getting to Hana...it's about the journey and all the views. This tour allowed me see the views instead of worry about the road. Our guide, Surfer Sue, was in a word, EPIC! She offered increadible information about Hawaiian culture and history, botany and of course, surfing. We stopped in Paia for breakfast before heading out on the Hana Highway. We stopped at Ho'okioa beach to check out the view and the surfers. Lunch at the Hana Hotel was great and fueled us for our return trip. We stopped along the way for photo ops and just took in the specatular views. Even go the chance to swim in one of the waterfall pools...what an amazing experience. Definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Michele C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous. I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: East Maui 45-minute Helicopter Tour over Haleakala Crater

Catherine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a fabulous tour! We knew we had to do the Road to Hana, but letting someone else take the wheel is the way to go. We saw all the sites, learned a ton from our awesome guide Michael, and topped it off with the most breathtaking views I have ever seen in my life in the helicopter. This is the way to see Maui. We loved it!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

Catherine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Talk about breathtaking - you haven't seen Maui until you've seen it from the air. It was truly magical.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

MICHAEL D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

IT STARTED OUT WITH THE TOUR GUIDE WAS ALREADY THERE AND WE WERE 10 MINUTES EARLY!!! IT WAS A WONDERFUL TRIP AND WE TRULY ENJOYED THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE THE WEATHER WAS WONDERFUL AND SO WAS OUR DRIVER/TOUR GUIDE. WOULD LOVE TO GO BACK AGAIN

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Nice hiking tour to waterfalls. Very muddy so wear good hiking sandals. About a 3-4 mile hike through rain forest trails. It'd be good to be in decent shape and fairly comfortable in the outdoors. Jumping into the waterfall pools was awesome!

Doing what: East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

Linda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were the only 2 booked for this day. Les, our driver, made this very good. He took us up to the crater for great views. Then because we had alreadt done the Hana Coast trip, he took us around places we had not been to. We saw various homes of famous people and many of the major hotels. Les, was very informative about lots of places and things around our tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

Wendy H Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommended tour. However, keep in mind this is a all day tour, very long hour- we left the hotel 6:30am and return to the hotel at 7pm. Nonetheless, it is well worth it. The driver, Larry is very knowledgeable and you learn a lot about the island. recommended to buy the lunch package as there were not much available for lunch around Hana area.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Lu United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A must do tour when in Maui

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

ttnguy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour makes a giant clockwise circle around east Maui. The southbound road past Hana is quite bumpy. Would recommend taking an antinausea pill at the beginning for those who are prone to motion sickness. Our driver, Wayne, must have been a botanist in his previous like. Super knowledgeable!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Peter H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very nice tour, great host Jay, small group, very good breakfast and lunch, highly recommended, maybe a bit high price wise

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Matthew H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Had a wonderful time and the scenery was beautiful. Road is a bit scary, though.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Linda P

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Our driver, Wayne, was awesome. The first part of the trip was great. Lots of wonderful things to see and take pictures of. After lunch, the roads were so rough, that I could not enjoy the ride. All in all, it was a very good trip. Tiring-we were picked up at 6:20 am and got dropped back off at 7:30.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Vara K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

The helicopter ride was great but the road trip to Hana in the van isn't that good. The tour guide Su was very arrogant and did not cover what we wanted. As a tour guide, I would find out what interest the guest and cover accordingly by taking their inputs. She keeps on explaining the stuff that we are not interested and when we asked her what she was covering, she got frustrated and basically told us to see whatever she can show us. At the end she forced us to pay the tip even though we were really upset with her. I would never have her as our tour guide neither recommend to anybody else.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

Rick M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The helicopter tour was very nice. It was a windy/rainy day so our pilot took us a different direction so we could still see the sites. Very professionally run from beginning to end. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

Raejean C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was the highlight of our trip! The waterfalls were amazing. Our guide was amazing. We will definitely do this tour again.

Doing what: East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

Kenneth D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

fun hike, guide was great

Doing what: East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

Suzanne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Totally awesome!! We had the best guide ever! Take this tour!!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

Craig S S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We all had a great time on the Hana trip. Bruce made the trip very interesting and informative. Bus very hot though in beginning of trip. Great views of waterfalls.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Bruce R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

Not worth the money. Would have rated lower except our tour guide, Al, was excellent. Never received our light snacks and lunch was poor.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

Adam K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This hike was great. Our tour guide Glori was energetic, fun, and very knowledgable about the island.Glori told us all about the scenery we were seeing.Waterfall jumping was the highlight! So much fun. Glori took pics to capture the moment. The snacks and lunch was good too. Overall a fun filled day

Doing what: East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

Jay P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Comfortable seats and VERY knowledgeable driver/guide. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a good experience on this tour. Our driver was very knowledgeable, and friendly. The lunch was overpriced and not impressive. It was nice having the continental breakfast before starting the day. Be prepared it is a long day.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message