Hawaii is made for road trips, and one of the best is the Road to Hana, a relatively short drive that should take all day (if you're doing it right). Technically called the Hana Highway, the Road to Hana is 52 miles of winding two-lane road ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 175 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

what a ride!!!!!
RORY was the best! Has a degree in Hawaiian history, knows everything!
Very brave driver...would not recommend attempting to drive this road EVER!
So glad we were fortunate enough to have Roru, so relieved we opted to purchase this adventure thru Viator!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was great to not have to worry about the hairpin turns and tiny bridges with Wayne doing the driving for us! It gave us a chance to admire the Road to Hana and not miss a thing. The helicopter tour was the highlight though. Very calm- not scarey. Our pilot, Gernot made sure to turn the helicopter so both sides could enjoy the views and catch pictures. This is a must do!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing Trip.
I raccomand this trip to everybody.
Easy hike into jungle and funny waterfall experience.

Doing what: Best East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were detoured due to cloud cover to the West Maui/Molokai tour, but that was no hardship! Beautiful tour, and our pilot Mike was a great guide! Highly recommended!

Doing what: East Maui 45-minute Helicopter Tour over Haleakala Crater

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a wonderful time. The helicopter tour and pilot, were great and the tour guide, Gary, was funny, informative, and we enjoyed ourselves very much. Carole Firestone

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The trip was fantastic. I have driven to Hana myself before, so I was happy to let someone else do it this time. The guide was very informative and knew everything there was to know about Maui. I had not been to the sacred pool before or continued all the way around Maui from there, so that was great to see. It is a long day touring but well worth it!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide, Les, was OUTSTANDING! He was very knowledgeable about the history, culture, and current events of the islands. Lunch was very fresh and delicious! Les' kindness made our tour that much more enjoyable.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The trip was terrific. Our driver, Elizabeth was knowledgable, personable and funny. We truly enjoyed the trip, except for lunch.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was very pleasant. Nice to have someone who knows the road to Hana driving so that the passengers can spend their time looking at the scenery. There was only one other couple in the van with us. The driver was knew his Hawaiian history and was most informative. The picnic lunch was great for the occasion.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Actual tour was brilliant - guide had a great sense of humour and we all survived the 617 bends on the road. My only complaint is that when I booked it was clearly stated there was a pick up in the same road as the hostel I was staying at. When I rang to confirm I was told this was not the case and that the nearest pick up was 11 minutes drive away - this meant a taxi which made the tour an extra 30 - given I'm on a tight budget as I'm travelling for 5 months this was not appreciated. The scenery on the tour however was very much appreciated!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour was great. Helicopter back was wonderful and we got to see everything from above. Our driver was very good....lots of info and went at a nice pace. Enjoyed the beaches and flower farm.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was phenomenal----a walking encyclopedia of information on Hawaii ---it's history, peoples, changing landscapes, businesses, local attractions and economics.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our driver was fantastic! Would definitely take this tour again.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome day trip. Z was a terrific tour guide, very knowledgeable and great driver. Bring a bathing suit and towel for a little swimming. Leave the driving to your guide it is well worth it!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This hike was a great experience. Glori is an awesome and entertaining hike guide - she's so knowledgeable about the island and its history, as well as the various plants and animal life. She also cares about making sure the group has an enjoyable and safe time, which was very much appreciated.
A couple recommendations when doing this hike: If you're susceptible to bug bites, be sure to apply ample insect repellent prior to starting the hike. Also, wear water shoes/sports sandals, unless you're comfortable walking in wet sneakers. Flip flops are not sufficient. Sturdy footwear is necessary the entire time due to the terrain.
This hike was definitely one of the highlights during my Maui visit.

Doing what: Best East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had a great time. Tour guide was very informative.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a wonderful time from start to finish. Our tour guide was great, full of information and did all that we wanted. We were the only 4 on the tour so it was made very personable and customer to our wants , needs and interests. The restaurants for breakfast and lunch were wonderful. food was delicious. Couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great trip but missed out on seeing the crater due to bad weather . Everything else was up to expectations
Surfer sue a very informative guide . Loved the swim at the waterfall

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

My husband and I debated driving the road to Hana or taking a tour. Although we decided to take the tour, we ended up wishing we drove. For all the hours we spent traveling, we didn't get to spend as much time as we would have liked at each of the stops. For instance, we wanted to swim in the 7 sacred pools and had just enough time to hike down, take a photo, and hike back - it was disappointing. Overall, the tour guide was informative and we got beautiful photos of places we may have missed along the road, but we wish we would have driven ourselves.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fabulous tour. Our tour guide, Sean, was very knowledgeable of everything from history to geology, food to music, botany to astronomy. The drive to the top of Haleakala was spectacular and although one can do it themselves, it is much better to have a driver who can explain things.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The only way to do this tour--the luxury version! Small van means more opportunities to see things, excellent food options! Perfect!!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is a small group tour, only 8 fit into a luxury small van. We lucked out our family of 4 were the only people on the van - so a private tour! Great driver, the only way to see the road to Hana. If you are the only people in the car the tour can be a bit customized for you -- which is a real treat. They hit all the high points and a few hidden gems. Includes a light breakfast and a great lunch with really good, organic food - picnic style in a beautiful bay near the water. What more could you ask for!!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Best East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A wonderful tour seeing the highlights of Maui especially if you don't haven much time to spend here. Small group tour was appealing when booking and there was only 4 of us. Driver and pilot were terrific and always pointed out photo opportunities for us.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message