Hawaii is made for road trips, and one of the best is the Road to Hana, a relatively short drive that should take all day (if you're doing it right). Technically called the Hana Highway, the Road to Hana is 52 miles of winding two-lane road ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 142 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a awesome tour. I would highly recommend this to anyone. It is a long day but well worth your time.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wayne is a wealth of knowledge and the scenery is breath-taking!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I loved this trip! The pilot, Mike, was very personable and informitable. The helicopter tour was the highlight of my trip. Wish the day had been clearer and a little less windy by that's the luck of the draw...

Doing what: East Maui 45-minute Helicopter Tour over Haleakala Crater

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a great tour. Surfer Sue our guide was great!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was my first helicopter ride. I had a great time.

Doing what: East Maui 45-minute Helicopter Tour over Haleakala Crater

Rita
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour. Long day but tour guide Rory made the day very enjoyable. His knowledge of Hawaii was the best we've had so far as he was born and raised in Hawaii. Rory knew the best spots for pictures and more importantly he knew how to negotiate the windy road around the mountains. My tip for anyone who wants to take this tour is to bring your own lunch as the restaurant stop is very expensive.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Tour was very good, good guide. Disappointed in lunch, considering the price of the tour, I expected better.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour. We were a family of five and ended up being the only ones on the tour. We got aazing pics of Haleakala. We had two kids which is why we chose this tour since I wasnt sure if they would enjoy a car ride to Hana but this was perfect. One day and we got amazing pics. Lunch was at a lavendar farm and the food was good.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our experience was enhanced by only my wife, myself and Sean, our guide and driver, being on the tour. Sean was great in showing us those added little-known points of interest that cannot be seen when a larger group is involved. Because our group was only ourselves, we were able to take time to enjoy each site and actually get to more sites than a larger group could have done. Sean was able to provide us with all sorts of details to make this adventure more intriguing. LOVED IT!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Richard was a great tour guy. As a native, he was able to tell us a lot of little known facts about Hawaii and Maui. He was funny and helpful. The driver was amazing and very careful as he came around the right curves. The seats on the bus are a bit uncomfortable, but there were free drinks which was very necessary.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

This tour was amazing with a wonderful tour guy name Roy. He is very Knowledgeable and can ask any questions.
I wish on the website would give more details like the itenitnary of the day trip with further details. This tour is mainly in the car driving around the island with stops to take pictures

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

We booked via Viator. We encountered confusion about pick up location on our first tour. On this trip we again encountered miscommunication. We arrived at our waiting spot at 6:30 AM 10 minutes before we were expected which was for 6:40. By 6:45 when we had not seen anyone we called the company and were told that the driver was waiting at a different spot. We rushed to find the bus, unfortunately. seeing the bus pulling out and driving away. We called the company back and were told we would have to get to the rendezvous spot by taxi at our expense because the bus driver did not have time to come back to get us. We pointed out that we had been waiting where we were told to wait and had in fact been 10 minutes early and did not feel that we should have to take a 40 taxi ride at our expense when we were on time and waiting where we were told to wait. The hotel manager witnessing this shake his heads. But it was our last day in Maui and we didnt want to miss seeing the Road to Hanna so with significance annoyance and irritation we took a cab after first confirming that the bus driver would wait for us to arrive and not leave before we got there. To compensate the company upgraded our tour to include a lunch which was a piece of chicken, lettuce salad and rice and melon fruit. It was referred to as a buffet but it was very limited and we have special dietary needs which this did not address and we would have preferred paying our own lunch which we had done the previous day and for much less than the equivalent of our 40 taxi. On this same trip the driver was trying to share some of his favorite Hawaiian music at the end of the trip but the CD player in the van did not work. So again the problem with the vehicle repair or lack thereof was a theme for both of our trips with this company in Maui. We did however enjoy the trip overall because of the drivers knowledge and skills. The other tour was tow days earlier to Haleakela.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great experience. We saw so much we would have never seen otherwise. The pilot was super nice, and had a great playlist. Worth the money for sure.

Doing what: East Maui 45-minute Helicopter Tour over Haleakala Crater

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was great! Very long but I thought it was great!! Good way to see the whole island!! I loved the stops we made! Black Sand Beach was dope!!!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I very much recommend taking this tour while on Maui, but I do not at all recommend attempting the drive yourself. I had a BRILLIANT driver and guide who not only knew a lot of information, but could pull out the research to back up his statements if necessary. I also felt safe the entire time, even though the road could be a bit scary at times, particularly the parts where we were at the top of a cliff on a single lane road with nothing but a rusted out guard to stand between us. GO ON THIS TRIP!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I like that they covered almost the whole east part of Maui.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Gary did an excellent job!!!! Would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was a great way to see the whole island without having to drive it ourselves. It rained the entire trip, so I was so glad I was not trying to navigate the narrow winding roads and single lane bridges. I got some great photos during our short stops along the way. Bring cash as the little road side stands often do not take credit cards. The banana bread and tuberose flowers were a wonderful bonus. Plan on a full, exhausting, but fun-filled day!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Fantastic. Pilot was very friendly and gave us a first class commentary on the sights and history of Maui. The "pit-stop" on the mountainside was excellent, the food was first class and much more than expected. The view was fantastic, could have sat there all day. Would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Maui Helicopter Tour Including Hana, Haleakala Crater and Sunset Landing

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

What a day! This is an easy and beautiful way to cover a lot of ground in Maui and go beyond the resort strips. It is a very, very long day (12 hours door to door), but every stop was better than the last. We spent just the right amount of time at each stop so we could explore and take photos. I loved hopping in the Seven Sacred Pools and seeing the sharp colors at the black sand beach. A full, well-spent day!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The staff and our pilot, Troy, were super. Very professional and made the family feel safe and comfortable with the whole experience. It was run very efficiently and on-time. Clean offices and helicopter. Great tour for our family.

Doing what: East Maui 45-minute Helicopter Tour over Haleakala Crater

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

This was a great trip. It was a long trip but enjoyable just the same. It took about 11 hours to complete. An hour for lunch was in there but we were able to see beautiful countryside. Our guide, Ed was amazing. He was so knowledgeable about the plant life and sights and an excellent driver. I would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Be prepared for a long day. I was grateful to have a professional driver (Tom, who never missed a beat and made us feel very safe) on a road that was nerve-wracking at times. We weren't given the option to add the buffet lunch to our package (not sure if that's an issue with Viator or what), but Tom let us know before we headed out that it would be wise to grab some sandwiches at the Whole Foods where we meet other travelers for the continental breakfast. Wear comfy clothes, and know that some of the swimming spots may be closed depending on the weather.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We really enjoyed our driver/tour guide for the day - Charlie. His knowledge of the island and the Hawaiian language and music made the day lots of fun.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message