Hawaii is made for road trips, and one of the best is the Road to Hana, a relatively short drive that should take all day (if you're doing it right). Technically called the Hana Highway, the Road to Hana is 52 miles of winding two-lane road ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 155 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fabulous tour. Our tour guide, Sean, was very knowledgeable of everything from history to geology, food to music, botany to astronomy. The drive to the top of Haleakala was spectacular and although one can do it themselves, it is much better to have a driver who can explain things.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The only way to do this tour--the luxury version! Small van means more opportunities to see things, excellent food options! Perfect!!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is a small group tour, only 8 fit into a luxury small van. We lucked out our family of 4 were the only people on the van - so a private tour! Great driver, the only way to see the road to Hana. If you are the only people in the car the tour can be a bit customized for you -- which is a real treat. They hit all the high points and a few hidden gems. Includes a light breakfast and a great lunch with really good, organic food - picnic style in a beautiful bay near the water. What more could you ask for!!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A wonderful tour seeing the highlights of Maui especially if you don't haven much time to spend here. Small group tour was appealing when booking and there was only 4 of us. Driver and pilot were terrific and always pointed out photo opportunities for us.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing. Our guide was well-versed, funny and very personable. One thing we didn't know was that breakfast was provided - excellent and ocean view. It was a long day, but well worth it and the best way to see almost all of Maui's fabulous coast. Lots of history and detail. We saw whale spouts, axis deer, wild pigs and many birds as an added bonus. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was fantastic even though it POURED for the first 1/3. The upside was that we saw amazing falls and streams. Sam was our guide and he really made us feel like family.
Mahalo!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Definitely one of the best things we've done in Maui! Marko was an excellent tour guide! He was very knowledgeable with the history of Hawaii and plant life. We would do this trip again without question!

Thank you!

Doing what: East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was pretty good. He talked ALL DAY about the island. Most of the people on the tour were pretty nice, with the exception of a few couple who were kind of stuffy. It was an all day tour which takes you to the small town of Hana, then all around Haleakala. Fortunately, no one got car sick with all the narrow and windy roads.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The flight was terrific, even if the weather wasn't perfect. Volcano clouded over. Mike, our pilot was great, with a fount of information, flying over the island. Wayne our guide on the road trip portion was very knowledgeable and having a small group was so much more enjoyable. Would highly recommend this tour. Only downside is the video of our trip is not HD and diminish the spectacular views. We aslo had a couple of issues with the DVD which we will take up with Blue Hawaii Tours.

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great. Everything was seamless. The only thing was we didnt know there was a lunch option so we overpacked snacks and other goodies. The driver was very knowledgable and helpful.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I totally recommend the trip..however, be prepared because it is a very long day..we were beat by the time we got back to our hotel.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

This was a good trip. Our tour guide, Steve, was wonderful. The road trip to Hana is just that--a road trip. Beautiful scenery, a chance to stop at a beach and waterfall to swim if you choose, If you love to drive through beautiful places and look at the scenery, this is the trip for you. If you want to see and/or do more, choose another tour

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a awesome tour. I would highly recommend this to anyone. It is a long day but well worth your time.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wayne is a wealth of knowledge and the scenery is breath-taking!

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I loved this trip! The pilot, Mike, was very personable and informitable. The helicopter tour was the highlight of my trip. Wish the day had been clearer and a little less windy by that's the luck of the draw...

Doing what: East Maui 45-minute Helicopter Tour over Haleakala Crater

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a great tour. Surfer Sue our guide was great!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was my first helicopter ride. I had a great time.

Doing what: East Maui 45-minute Helicopter Tour over Haleakala Crater

Rita
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour. Long day but tour guide Rory made the day very enjoyable. His knowledge of Hawaii was the best we've had so far as he was born and raised in Hawaii. Rory knew the best spots for pictures and more importantly he knew how to negotiate the windy road around the mountains. My tip for anyone who wants to take this tour is to bring your own lunch as the restaurant stop is very expensive.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Tour was very good, good guide. Disappointed in lunch, considering the price of the tour, I expected better.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour. We were a family of five and ended up being the only ones on the tour. We got aazing pics of Haleakala. We had two kids which is why we chose this tour since I wasnt sure if they would enjoy a car ride to Hana but this was perfect. One day and we got amazing pics. Lunch was at a lavendar farm and the food was good.

Doing what: Small-Group Luxury Day Trip to Haleakala National Park and Hana Coast Rainforest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our experience was enhanced by only my wife, myself and Sean, our guide and driver, being on the tour. Sean was great in showing us those added little-known points of interest that cannot be seen when a larger group is involved. Because our group was only ourselves, we were able to take time to enjoy each site and actually get to more sites than a larger group could have done. Sean was able to provide us with all sorts of details to make this adventure more intriguing. LOVED IT!

Doing what: Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Richard was a great tour guy. As a native, he was able to tell us a lot of little known facts about Hawaii and Maui. He was funny and helpful. The driver was amazing and very careful as he came around the right curves. The seats on the bus are a bit uncomfortable, but there were free drinks which was very necessary.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

This tour was amazing with a wonderful tour guy name Roy. He is very Knowledgeable and can ask any questions.
I wish on the website would give more details like the itenitnary of the day trip with further details. This tour is mainly in the car driving around the island with stops to take pictures

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

We booked via Viator. We encountered confusion about pick up location on our first tour. On this trip we again encountered miscommunication. We arrived at our waiting spot at 6:30 AM 10 minutes before we were expected which was for 6:40. By 6:45 when we had not seen anyone we called the company and were told that the driver was waiting at a different spot. We rushed to find the bus, unfortunately. seeing the bus pulling out and driving away. We called the company back and were told we would have to get to the rendezvous spot by taxi at our expense because the bus driver did not have time to come back to get us. We pointed out that we had been waiting where we were told to wait and had in fact been 10 minutes early and did not feel that we should have to take a 40 taxi ride at our expense when we were on time and waiting where we were told to wait. The hotel manager witnessing this shake his heads. But it was our last day in Maui and we didnt want to miss seeing the Road to Hanna so with significance annoyance and irritation we took a cab after first confirming that the bus driver would wait for us to arrive and not leave before we got there. To compensate the company upgraded our tour to include a lunch which was a piece of chicken, lettuce salad and rice and melon fruit. It was referred to as a buffet but it was very limited and we have special dietary needs which this did not address and we would have preferred paying our own lunch which we had done the previous day and for much less than the equivalent of our 40 taxi. On this same trip the driver was trying to share some of his favorite Hawaiian music at the end of the trip but the CD player in the van did not work. So again the problem with the vehicle repair or lack thereof was a theme for both of our trips with this company in Maui. We did however enjoy the trip overall because of the drivers knowledge and skills. The other tour was tow days earlier to Haleakela.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message