In Hawaiian mythology, it was from the summit of towering Haleakala volcano that the great demigod Maui famously snared the sun. According to legend, the sun would race across the sky so quickly that there wasn’t enough time for the people to plant ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 269 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amy D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our driver, Nettie, was fabulous. She was very informative and kept us entertained. Spectacular views!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Saket K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We started our tour at 2.50am in the morning and we were picked up from our hotel.
Our bus driver cum guide Glen was very experienced and superb driver.
He kept us highly entertained by high great amount of knowledge.
We reached Haleakala view at around 5 am and Glen had guided us to the best spot to view the sunrise. Haleakala Tour was beautiful experience of a lifetime.
To see the mother nature changing its colors is most beautiful view.
We then went to another higher spot where there are many research facilities.
Overall it was very good and well planned tour.
Thanks to our driver Glen for driving so well especially around the most curved lanes.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Sylvia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Rory was a safe, kind, and highly informative tour driver! We had a wonderful spot to watch the sunrise, and learned so much history on our journey on the bus. Thank you for a perfect day!!!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Lucy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The most recommended, like a private tour with only four person, which I love it. Our tour guide was super nice and friendly, it was quite chilly on top of the mountain, our beloved guide prepared blankets and hats for us, helping us to take photos and secure the best standing/sitting position to view the sunrise. The view was breathtaking and the trip was worthwhile, thank you for taking care of us, Mahalo!!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Lilian N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Breathtaking, no words can describe. Definitely would recommend it, definitely worth waking up at 2am. Make sure you bring appropriate clothing though because it is extremely cold up there!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Krystal A R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our tour guide was Nettie, and she was absolutely wonderful! Her knowledge and love for/of the islands and passion for them were absolutely evident! Her willingness to share all of the above made the experience even that much more amazing! I would absolutely recommend this tour and hope that they get the same experience we did!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

MELISSA C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Sunrise could have been better but that was Mother Nature's fault. I would have liked to be there earlier as it was crowded wh n we arrived and I had a hard time finding a spot to set up my tripod. Otherwise, great!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Peter C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The driver was friendly and full of information and got us the best spot to view one of the best sunrises that I have ever seen.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Jackie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our tour guide, Rory, made this a very rewarding expierence. He was a safe driver and very informative about the history, geography and culture of the island. We would recommend this tour to everyone who plans on visiting Maui. The Smiths

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Mitchell C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We didnt get to see the sun but still had a great experience thanks to our wonderful tour guide Nettie! She is what the hawaiian spirit is all about!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Linnan Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The sunrise tour was amazing. Our tour guide Rory was very knowledgeable and funny. It was very cold up on the volcano, so make sure to bring a hooded sweater/jacket and wear socks! I did not wear any socks and that was a mistake... We were lucky that we got the first sunny day in this week, so we were able to see the stars and the actual sunrise! I've never seen that many stars so close to us, it was amazing! Rory also makes sure we get there early enough to get a good view.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Terrell H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful a true life event! however when the alarm went off at 2am I felt otherwise :! the driver and bus was packed but we had a good time bring warm clothes and gloves and a dependable camera as its cold!!!
I wish the food and coffee was better i didnt eat anything I should have brought my starbucks VIA. I was staying at the Montage so I was a little spoiled but it was a great Trip I highly recommend!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Diann H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The trip was well planned and we were able to see things we would have never seen without the experienced tour guide!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Lore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I love this tour. Our tour guide Glenn made our trip very enjoyable. Breakfast was delicious.The only recommendation is to wear a big jacket since it is cold, really cold!!!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Martin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour was awesome and Rory was an amazing tour guide.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Linda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Rory was a great tour guide, terrific driver and gave us a lot of cultural and historical information on our way to a spectacular sunrise

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Hanumantharao D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Tour guide for got his name was very knowledgeable and friendly. He was very attentive to all of us.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Richard E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an awesome tour. A glorious Sunrise that was breath taking.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Alice S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The best part of course was the sun rising...a beautiful sight!! The volcano was really cool looking! We had a knowlegdable and great driver. He took the stress of driving to Haleakala from us. Do take a coat and hat to protect your ears-very cold and windy. Worth the price!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

ANTHONY A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing and fun tour guide - spectacular sunset and experience - good breakfast location. Overall a very good tour.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Duy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This trip was worth it. Nattie, our driver had great energy and gave a fantastic tour! She helped us prepare for the trip the best that she could. She made sure enjoyed the tour and pointed us out the best place to stand during the sunrise. We learned a lot about the culture and history of Maui through the tour. We learned so much more than we expected.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Steve P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We travelled in a group of six, vehicle was as promised, luxurious! We were picked up at agreed time and our guide, Scotty, was involved throughout telling us about Maui and the flora and fauna. The provision of extra clothing was greatly appreciated and well needed. The experience of the night sky with his knowledge of the stars and planets made the wait for sunrise interesting and very enjoyable. Of course the run up to sunrise was spectacular and Scots knowledge and help with cameras and phones was an added bonus. The group had a great time rounded off by the enjoyable breakfast and tour of the garden. We were even blessed with some fantastic photo opportunities with some beautiful rainbows. Altogether a fantastic trip and worth every penny, highly recommended

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Arijit D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Loved the sunrise tour. Our guide Nettie was very informative and witty as well. She kept us occupied with her stories and took great pictures of all the guests! I definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Louis D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

An excellent way to see the sunrise! Our driver, Nettie, was so excited and energetic keeping us entertained the whole time we were with her. We arrived early enough to get a prime viewing location and the sunrise was spectacular! After the sunrise we proceeded to the observatory and let the masses descend. We had a leisurely ride down the mountain after most of the traffic was gone, stopping along the way where possible. Finishing the tour off with a hot breakfast was a nice touch.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Martha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Scott picked us up right on time, 2:30 AM. Luckily there was only 4 of us on this tour today or my husband would not have been able to go. He uses a walker. After picking up the other couple we took the long ride up Haleakala. I am very glad we took the tour because I could relax and enjoy the scenery, not worry about the long, winding road. When we got to the top Scott got the 3 of us settled in the prefect spot he went back for my husband. He made sure my husband was well taken care of. On the way up we could see plenty of stars, but when we got to the top it was socked in. Yikes. Then it started to drizzle. Scott brought out his own supply of jackets and made sure we were all covered with something that would keep us dry. It was really cold and my husband was not handling the cold very well, so Scott got him settled in the observation center. The time for sunrise came and passed and still no beautiful sunrise. I was a bit disappointed, but it's not always guaranteed that you will see the sunrise. After waiting a little while Scott took us up to the very top of the volcano, 10,023 feet. We could not even see the observation building just a short distance off. But we did get to see the Ahinahina plant. It is an endangered plant that can only be found on top of Haleakala. It takes 5 years from seedling to flowering. Very beautiful. On the way down Scott got word that the State bird, the Nene, was at the front gate. So we stopped to see it. It is also an endangered bird. Nice. Breakfast was at the Kula Inn. Great food and beautiful scenic view. A quick guided stroll through the flower garden and off we went. On our drive home Scott was very knowledgeable about the local culture and scenery. Back to our room by about 10:00. Glad we took the tour, no beautiful sunrise, but 2 endangered species. Worth it.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message