• USD ($)
  • English
In Hawaiian mythology, it was from the summit of towering Haleakala volcano that the great demigod Maui famously snared the sun. According to legend, the sun would race across the sky so quickly that there wasn’t enough time for the people to plant ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 140 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very good experience. Knowledgeable and courteous guide. Loved the breakfast on our way back.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Spectacular and Very Spiritual

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Weather was better than expected, but sunrise not as spectacular as I had hoped. Beautiful,
however,and interesting tour guide.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Nice tour. It is cold so dress warmly. Loved the Park ranger singing/chanting to welcome in the new day.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great and BEAUTIFUL...........

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great experience! Dress warm though it gets really really cold there. Only recommendation would be to pick up guests a bit later. We got to the summer close to 2 hours before sunrise.....

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

our driver was wonderful. he shared information about things we were seeing. it is cold and early to see the sunrise but it is beautiful.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our guide, Glen (not Greg), was great! The sunrise was awesome! We were high enough to be above the clouds and cold enough to be freezing. The control center didn't mention it, but thanks to the reviewers, bundling up proved wise! The breakfast later was long awaited, so I brought food, too!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We loved this excursion! The bus driver shared lots of facts about Haleakal. The sunrise was spectacular and serene. It's very cold! Bring gloves, hat and neckwarmer. The view at breakfast was breathtaking and we had the rest of the day to explore the island! Well worth it!!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was awesome. I think the tour guide could've been a little more involved. I noticed other tour guides right in the middle of their people talking about different things. But overall it was amazing and highly recommend it.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The drive up was very winding, and those with motion sickness should definitely take medication before hand. Our driver was very friendly and I liked that he spoke throughout the drive.. it made the time go by faster.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Worth getting up and traveling at 3:00 a.m. from the hotel to the top of the Haleakala. The blackened sky produces an incredible "star" light show with shooting stars along along with all brightly lit stars. Dress warmly (hats, gloves, sweaters, coats, etc.) for it is cold especially when the winds blow strong. And then.....the awesome sunrise above the clouds is truly magnificent and inspirational. Be prepared to scream out with others as the sun rises, "Whoa!" Once the sun comes out, warmth arrives and off to breakfast as part of the excursion. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It's a must do, if you come to Maui. Bring a jacket it gets cold up on Haleakala.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An Amazing must see.. It was quite chilly and windy..Gloves and a windbreaker would have been helpful...I would do this again!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message