In Hawaiian mythology, it was from the summit of towering Haleakala volcano that the great demigod Maui famously snared the sun. According to legend, the sun would race across the sky so quickly that there wasn’t enough time for the people to plant ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 230 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Sunrise Tour was the highlight of our vacation. It was well organized with bathroom and breakfast breaks. The tour guide, Glenn, was a wealth of knowledge. We enjoyed it tremendously! The sunrise was lovely!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Out guide, Glen, was knowledgable and entertaining. The bus was comfortable and our breakfast delicious but nothing can compare to the breathtaking views Mother Nature and Haleakala had in store for us. Mahalo.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour really is spectacular just like the title intimates. It was cold up there, not as cold as it could have been but still quite cold so anyone doing this tour should definitely dress warmly, bring gloves, wear layers, carry a blanket, whatever you need. Once warm just stand and wait for the most breathtaking views you will see and experience. Totally worth it, I highly recommend!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Overall highlight of our trip to Maui....despite getting up at 130am to be picked up at 2am. Rory our driver was excellent, he provided a great history of other islands no he way back as well as getting us to the top in enough time to have a prime spot for viewing. While it is a good chunk of time to devote and you have to get up early we were back by 11am with enough time to lounge by the pool and take a much needed nap! Glad we did it and we'll worth it, but no need to do it again on our next trip back whenever that might be!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The sunrise was indescribably amazing! The tour was great and especially the tour guide!

Note: Dress very warmly, it is freezing up there!! Bundle if you can.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What an action packed day! Our guide picked us up from our hotel at 1:30 am, giving us plenty of time to get to the rest of the group, where we were fitted for our bike helmets and gear before catching the sunrise. I'll be honest, the 'breakfast' at the bike shop left something to be desired, but it was so early, we weren't really hungry anyway. The sunrise was absolutely spectacular, an unforgettable view. We were given enough time to really explore the area and not feel rushed. The same was true throughout the day.

The bike tour was incredible, but not for the faint of heart! Those bikes catch some serious speed! We were split into groups of 10, asked about our biking experience, and biked a short ways before beginning to show our proficiency. We were given explicit instructions to ensure our understanding of the bikes as well. The tour was extremely well coordinated and I felt safe throughout the time, thanks in large part to our guides.

We had just enough time after the bike tour to grab a delicious breakfast at the Lavender Farm before ziplining. The zipline crew was hilarious and lots of fun. The ziplines were fast, exciting, and each was better than the last. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Haleakala Bike and Zipline Adventure on Maui

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was pretty cool. We weren't thrilled about being picked up so early at our hotel but it takes awhile to get up to the top of the crater so it was best to have someone else do the driving in the dark in unfamiliar territory. and it was worth it!
Beautiful sunrise above the clouds! Do it!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It's an early wake up call but well worth it.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a beautiful morning in Hawaii! Rory was an awesome tour guide and has a wealth of knowledge. He ensured we were there early to be standing right by the guard rail. He kept us well informed of what to expect minute by minute. Remember to dress warm and even bring the blanket off your hotel bed my concierge even recommended it! Leave the driving to them well worth it!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a beautiful morning in Hawaii! Rory was an awesome tour guide and has a wealth of knowledge. He ensured we were there early to be standing right by the guard rail. He kept us well informed of what to expect minute by minute. Remember to dress warm and even bring the blanket off your hotel bed my concierge even recommended it! Leave the driving to them well worth it!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a wonderful time. The crater was spectacular, lunch was great, very organized. But the best part was our guide. She was friendly, fun, engaging, and taught us so much about the history of the island, the flora and fauna, and the Hawaiian culture. My kids said it was their best day on the island!!

Doing what: Haleakala Crater Hike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great the service everything was on time our host I call him because tour guide dose not fit Glen he had such knowledge and was so colorful and the sunrise was awesome thanks for the memories

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highlight of week on Maui.. stunning view of the milky way followed by sun rise over the volcano.

Al our guide was very entertaining and informative and made the trip feel special.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

So much fun and our guide, Bob, was the best. Highly recommended to everyone.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We debated whether we wanted to leave the hotel so early before booking this tour 2:30am and it was well worth it. It is a gorgeous site! Please dress accordingly as it is FREEZING up there and very windy.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was amazing! Rory our tour guide was so knowledgeable and shared lots of stories which made the trip extra fun! definetly a must do in Maui!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

You have to get up really early, but it is worth getting up the volcano before everyone to have the best spot and enjoy the sunrise! Been there in March 2015 !

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a really fun adventure while on the island! Everyone involved with this tour was exceptional, and all the little details were taken care of! It was fun and it was safe and our tour guides RC and Tony Biking down were super and alot of fun. The Zipline tour was amazing, and our quides Koalaoh and Andrew made the zipline safe and fun! They were knowledgeable and skilled in what they did! We would highly recommend this tour to anybody that is visiting the island!

Doing what: Haleakala Bike and Zipline Adventure on Maui

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was epic! The guide was fun and knowledgeable, knew where we had to be and when. The sunrise was spectacular, what was unexpected was how simply amazing the stargazing was prior to the sun showing up - and the guide knew everything to point out! EPIC!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Beyond our expectations! No one should visit Maui without taking in this tour. Breathtaking!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was absolutely fantastic! The guide (Gary) was very informative and helpful with a great sense of humor and knowledge of the region. On the day we took the tour, there was no cloud cover or strong wind and the experience was spectacular.

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour. Not to miss! We did it out first day, to take advantage of the time change and waking up early. Lovely breakfast too..

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Spectacular Haleakala Maui Sunrise Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message