There are few winter activities more iconic to the Hawaiian Islands than getting out on the water and whale watching from Maui . Home to the greatest concentration of humpback whales in the northern Pacific, it’s estimated that somewhere between ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 156 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was good. We were at the end of whale season so we didn't get to see a lot of activity. The operator was friendly and they were good about pointing out the whales. I would recommend this tour. It is easy to find their location.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing. Our guide was well-versed, funny and very personable. One thing we didn't know was that breakfast was provided - excellent and ocean view. It was a long day, but well worth it and the best way to see almost all of Maui's fabulous coast. Lots of history and detail. We saw whale spouts, axis deer, wild pigs and many birds as an added bonus. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

GREAT!!!!!!!! WE WERE AFRAID THAT BECAUSE IT WAS LATE IN THE SEASON WE MIGHT NOT SEE A WHALE. I WOULD LIKE TO HAVE BEEN A LITTLE CLOSER, BUT I STILL ENJOYED IT VERY MUCH.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour - the guys on the boat are really conservationists and care deeply about the whales and the ocean. We saw several whales and calves. Great day

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Staff is amazing and so knowledgeable. Whales everywhere.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We saw several whales breech. It was awesome!!!

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great value for your money! Managed to see lots of turtles, a black tip reef shark and even a couple whales on the way home.

Doing what: Small-Group Molokini Snorkel and Green Sea Turtle Adventure from Maui

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was a beautiful day and although it was late in the whale season there was a large group of whales that made their presence known that afternoon and we followed them almost the entire length of the southern coast. As our guide actually said over the mic system this is epic!

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was the 2nd time we booked this dinner cruise! Both times were great, the service, the food and the Mai Tias were spot on. We met the best couple during our cruise there and just talked the entire time and have now become friends with them. Our server Stephen was amazing! He was with us on the whale watching tour as well and took great care of us both times! The entire crew was great. We went another direction than last time so I got to see a different side of the island and when they stopped and turned out all the lights so we could see all the stars it was just spectacular! Book this trip!

Doing what: Maui Sunset Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Shaun and Andy were great captains of the boat and the tour company was the first to Molokini and I basically was snorkeling alone. It was great. Small group of people on the boat and a much more personal experience. We saw these other huge boats show up with lots of people on board. We saw turtles, whales, dolphins, beautiful reefs and lots of fish. Highly recommend this tour company!

Doing what: Small-Group Molokini Snorkel and Green Sea Turtle Adventure from Maui

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wow! What a fun tour! We saw ALOT of whales and whale activity during this boat trip! We highly recommend this tour, since it was on a sturdy metal bottomed raft vs. a big boat with 100 people. This raft had a small capacity of people, and the captain was able to zip around quickly to go to where he saw any activity in the water! We saw alot, and were able to attempt to get MANY photos! We would highly recommend this whale watching tour!!!

Doing what: Maui Whale-Watching Tour by Raft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The crew was very good and very friendly, the food options that all our needs (fish, chicken, steak) and all of the dinners were very good. We saw so many whales that we lost count! Overall it was a very relaxing and fun time. I highly recommend Maui Sunset Dinner Tour on the Maui Princess!!

Doing what: Maui Sunset Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome so many whales. And so close to the boat. We had to stop and wait for them to move away.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were surrounded by whales at times. It was amazing...so amazing I would forget to get a picture. Quite worth the price.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our pilot was very informative. Timing was spot on. 45 min flight exactly. Views were amazing. couldn't believe how close the pilot got us to some of the waterfalls, cliffs, and into some of the valleys. Definatly worth it! Awesome job. We also seen a LOT of whale breaches, and could see the whales underneath the water surface from the helicopter!

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This trip was one of the best things we did during three weeks on three different islands in Hawaii!

Our guide was so awesome, down to earth, very personable, and seemed to let us just kind of go with the flow. We got to hear whales singing, swim with turtles, and touch some sea urchins. Loved it.

Doing what: Turtle Reef Kayak Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We saw a whale breech on the trip! An awesome sight, especially on the second day of the season!

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

It was great and we learned a lot from the crew about the many whales we saw. Would recommend this activity to friends.

Doing what: Maui Sunset Dinner Cruise Aboard the Teralani 2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We saw a lot of whale action and enjoyed the whale watch very much!

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This helicopter ride was the highlight of my trip to Maui! This is the best way to get stellar views of the landscape on Maui and its surrounding islands. Check-in was easy (there were 6 passengers total), and our pilot was awesome! She was very nice, learned our names and provided good information about what we were seeing. We saw rolling hills, got up close to waterfalls and even saw whales in the ocean!

Doing what: West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent, not too over crowded and nice two tier boat, they come within 100yards of whales and lots of them!

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We really enjoyed the tour. We saw whales and dolphins! This tour is definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Seth and Kelly were awesome guides. Super warm and welcoming, made sure everyone was comfortable and had a great time. So glad we went with this tour group/boat rather than the larger catamaran's or other tour boats as we were able to get closer to a lot more special locations such as the back wall of Molokini, closer into the coves for sea turtles. We saw a ton of coral, sea turtles, and a whale. In fact, I would do this trip again if I had the time.

Doing what: Small-Group Molokini Snorkel and Green Sea Turtle Adventure from Maui

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This by far is one that you have to try! The Mendez Ranch is beautiful! 300 + acres nestled next to the cliff. As a first time rider, Trevor and Butch showed us how to ride. Guys were very funny and knowledgeable about the island. We were even able to Gallop with our horses once you felt comfortable riding. A true adrenaline rush. From beginners to advanced, this was one to experience! Recommended to go before May so you can see the whales from the lookout point.

Doing what: Maui Horseback-Riding Tour with Optional BBQ Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I was like a little kid! Seeing the whales up close was very exciting. We were lucky that we saw so many. I got a good picture too which is hard to do when the whale and the boat are both moving. I would highly recommend this cruise. My husband, myself and our teenage daughters really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message