There are few winter activities more iconic to the Hawaiian Islands than getting out on the water and whale watching from Maui . Home to the greatest concentration of humpback whales in the northern Pacific, it’s estimated that somewhere between ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 171 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

fstock6

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great crew.....great food....even saw whales which was a extra bonus.

Doing what: Sunset Dinner Cruise Aboard the Quicksilver

Maureen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a fantastic excursion and well worth the money. Our raft was clean, sturdy and in good shape. There was plenty of space for all the passengers and seating was comfortable. Our staff provided excellent information and showed knowledge about the whales. The highlight was having 2 whales swim under our raft and pop up right next to the side of the raft for a great photo opportunity. I would HIGHLY recommend this whale watching tour.

Doing what: Maui Whale-Watching Tour by Raft

Katie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

So fun! So many whales are out there! Learned a lot!

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was wonderful. We saw lots and lots of whales. This is a 120 foot yacht and the largest whale watching boat on Maui. I prefer a sturdy boat as opposed to the small ones, even though the smaller boats are allowed to get closer to active whales. There were drinks and snacks available for purchase on board, but we were too busy watching the whales cavort.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Elizabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Nice boat, great guides, unbelievable whale sightings.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

John A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

There are lots of options available for whale watching and this tour given by the whale foundation is as good as it gets and you are helping the conservation efforts of this program. The tour my wife and I took was great ---- lots of whales and quality information from the onboard staff. This is a must do while in Maui during the winter months.

Doing what: Whale Watching from Lahaina Harbor

Rebekah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour. Saw lots of whales. Very knowledgeable and friendly staff. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Molokini And Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip

DALE S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The boat and crew were great! It was a once in a lifetime experience.There were several whales that came right up to the boat.

Doing what: Whalewatch Sail Lahaina

Malcolm B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent value and a lot of fun. The captain and crew were unfailingly humorous and helpful and went out of their way to make sure everyone had a good time. Lots of detours to have close encounters with whales.

Doing what: Molokini Sail and Snorkel Adventure

Cheryl M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was wonderful. The tour was very well organized and the crew was knowledgeble. Gave up good information on the whale migration. We were not disappointed. We saw a lot of whales and we also saw a mother whake with her calf. A great tour

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Bethany R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Garret was an awesome guide and pointed out a plethora of cool facts about the island and surrounding history along the snorkel and kayak tour. We saw handfuls of turtles at the cleaning station, marine fish, and along the whole trip felt safe. We'll definitely return for the whale season and ask for Garret as our guide! Highly recommend this tour for anyone wanting a more private tour with an edge of excitement and personal attention.

Doing what: Pali Sea Cliff Kayak Discovery

Marilyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was good. We were at the end of whale season so we didn't get to see a lot of activity. The operator was friendly and they were good about pointing out the whales. I would recommend this tour. It is easy to find their location.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Karen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing. Our guide was well-versed, funny and very personable. One thing we didn't know was that breakfast was provided - excellent and ocean view. It was a long day, but well worth it and the best way to see almost all of Maui's fabulous coast. Lots of history and detail. We saw whale spouts, axis deer, wild pigs and many birds as an added bonus. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Maui Hana Coast Day Trip

RODNEY A W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

GREAT!!!!!!!! WE WERE AFRAID THAT BECAUSE IT WAS LATE IN THE SEASON WE MIGHT NOT SEE A WHALE. I WOULD LIKE TO HAVE BEEN A LITTLE CLOSER, BUT I STILL ENJOYED IT VERY MUCH.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

D C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour - the guys on the boat are really conservationists and care deeply about the whales and the ocean. We saw several whales and calves. Great day

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Tom W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Staff is amazing and so knowledgeable. Whales everywhere.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Christie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We saw several whales breech. It was awesome!!!

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Drew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great value for your money! Managed to see lots of turtles, a black tip reef shark and even a couple whales on the way home.

Doing what: Small-Group Molokini Snorkel and Green Sea Turtle Adventure from Maui

Angelique T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was a beautiful day and although it was late in the whale season there was a large group of whales that made their presence known that afternoon and we followed them almost the entire length of the southern coast. As our guide actually said over the mic system this is epic!

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

lindamtracy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was the 2nd time we booked this dinner cruise! Both times were great, the service, the food and the Mai Tias were spot on. We met the best couple during our cruise there and just talked the entire time and have now become friends with them. Our server Stephen was amazing! He was with us on the whale watching tour as well and took great care of us both times! The entire crew was great. We went another direction than last time so I got to see a different side of the island and when they stopped and turned out all the lights so we could see all the stars it was just spectacular! Book this trip!

Doing what: Maui Sunset Dinner Cruise

Abby H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Shaun and Andy were great captains of the boat and the tour company was the first to Molokini and I basically was snorkeling alone. It was great. Small group of people on the boat and a much more personal experience. We saw these other huge boats show up with lots of people on board. We saw turtles, whales, dolphins, beautiful reefs and lots of fish. Highly recommend this tour company!

Doing what: Small-Group Molokini Snorkel and Green Sea Turtle Adventure from Maui

Carolyn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wow! What a fun tour! We saw ALOT of whales and whale activity during this boat trip! We highly recommend this tour, since it was on a sturdy metal bottomed raft vs. a big boat with 100 people. This raft had a small capacity of people, and the captain was able to zip around quickly to go to where he saw any activity in the water! We saw alot, and were able to attempt to get MANY photos! We would highly recommend this whale watching tour!!!

Doing what: Maui Whale-Watching Tour by Raft

Robert E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The crew was very good and very friendly, the food options that all our needs (fish, chicken, steak) and all of the dinners were very good. We saw so many whales that we lost count! Overall it was a very relaxing and fun time. I highly recommend Maui Sunset Dinner Tour on the Maui Princess!!

Doing what: Maui Sunset Dinner Cruise

LINDA H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome so many whales. And so close to the boat. We had to stop and wait for them to move away.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Carol G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were surrounded by whales at times. It was amazing...so amazing I would forget to get a picture. Quite worth the price.

Doing what: Maui Whale Watch Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message