“The main risk in Medellín,” you’ll be warned at every turn, “is that you won’t want to leave.” With its stunning setting amidst scenic mountains, fine dining and nightlife, glorious green spaces, and perfect climate characterized as “eternal ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide was amazing and super informative! He customized the guide to meet our interests.

Doing what: Pablo Escobar Historical Tour of Medellín

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide Elver was terrific. We saw a lot but did not feel rushed. He was a good and articulate guide.

Doing what: Pablo Escobar Historical Tour of Medellín

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It's been a couple of weeks since we returned from Colombia (Bogota/Medellin/Cartagena) and by far - the tour Camilo gave us of Medellin was the highlight of our trip! I'm still thinking about the intriguing stories and historical references he shared with us during our tour of Pablo Escobar's hometown. We initially signed up for an Escobar tour out of general curiosity, but what Camilo showed us will stay with us forever. A progressive city ready to explode, so lush and bright and friendly - but with a difficult past that's hard to comprehend at times. Camilo answered all of our questions without hesitation and with a personal touch. He told us where he was when Escobar was killed and what it was like for him and his friends and family. He also warmed our hearts with his hospitality, and we could feel how much he loves Medellin. It definitely rubbed off on us.

Visited November 2014

Doing what: Pablo Escobar Historical Tour of Medellín

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great private tour! Our guide, Camilo Uribe, was wonderful. We learned a great deal while being comfortable in a private SUV. He educated us but also shared his experiences growing up during this dark time in Medellin's history.

Doing what: Pablo Escobar Historical Tour of Medellín

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It's a GREAT way to get a sense of Pablo's influence in Medellin and why he is so revered and LOVED at the same time. The rour guide was awesome, he even took us on the "ski lift" to get a general sense of the magnitude of the city.

Doing what: Pablo Escobar Historical Tour of Medellín

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I did a private car tour with John. He was on time picking us up from hotel, and took us to 3 main places: Pablo's grave, the location of the first bombing of Pablo, and the house where he died. The best part of the tour was really the personalization that John gave us as a person who grew of in Medellin during those times. It was great to hear about how things were and how things are changing for the better for all the people in Medellin. I was really interested in those stories. The grave site was very interesting. The other 2 locations were ok. We aren't able to do much other than stand outside the buildings. I think what would have made this tour even better is it we could have gone to the old compound/now theme park to see what it looks like now and hear what it used to be like. I would pay extra for that. Either way for what the tour offers, it's a good start, and as more people travel to Medellin, it will only get more and more popular. I think it's good that more of these tours are happening because as Colombia becomes more popular, more people are going to want to know about Pablo Escobar. It's great to be able to compare what the American media said about this man vs. actually hearing about it from a person who lived during those times in Colombia. I've traveled to many cities and Medellin is easily one of the most beautiful cities I've ever been to. Even though it's past is dark, thanks to Pablo, it's future is incredibly bright and I am excited to see where it will be 5-10 years from now.

Doing what: Pablo Escobar Historical Tour of Medellín

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very nice tour, lots of info and a good tour of places in city.

Doing what: Pablo Escobar Historical Tour of Medellín

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was absolutely fascinating! Our tour guide gave us a personal tour four more than the time we had paid for. He was full of information because he actually lived in Medellin during the Pablo Escobar era. He was even able to get us into places that we off limits to the general public! For anyone interested in this part of Medeliin's history--book this tour!

Doing what: Pablo Escobar Historical Tour of Medellín

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Pablo Escobar Historical Tour of Medellín

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Guide almost got into accident texting and driving. We had to tell him we did not appreciate that!! Spend most of the tour on his cell phone texting or talking. Guide did not know bridge was under construcion.

Doing what: Day Trip to Santa Fe de Antioquia from Medellín

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Horrible guide. He was old and took us on HIS memory lane of growing up in Medellin. He drove us around trying to fill the time. Did not know lunch was included in the trip and we had to tell him. He parked the car on street in Prado to look at street map as he got lost!!

Doing what: Medellín City Tour with Optional Lunch and Metrocable Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tour guide was on time which was very important to me. Offered to turn on the A/C. Went right into the tour. Showed me everything as promised. Tour guide was very knowledgeable. He even put on music inspired by the events we were talking about. In summary I'd recommend this tour very much.

Doing what: Pablo Escobar Historical Tour of Medellín

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Camilo was a fine and friendly guide. We enjoyed our afternoon with him very much. When the Museo de Arte Moderno was closed for changing of exhibits, he substituted Pueblito Paisa and El Castillo which more than made up for our not seeing "El MAMM". R and K Neuhoff

Doing what: Medellín Museums Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The Pablo Escobar Hostorical Tour of Medellin not only gives you a view in some parts of the life of Pablo Escobar, but also show a good view of some neighbourhoods of Medellin. It was a tour of us (two persons) with the English speaking guide, so a very small group what maded the tour more flexibel.

Doing what: Pablo Escobar Historical Tour of Medellín

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message