“The main risk in Medellín,” you’ll be warned at every turn, “is that you won’t want to leave.” With its stunning setting amidst scenic mountains, fine dining and nightlife, glorious green spaces, and perfect climate characterized as “eternal ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I did a private car tour with John. He was on time picking us up from hotel, and took us to 3 main places: Pablo's grave, the location of the first bombing of Pablo, and the house where he died. The best part of the tour was really the personalization that John gave us as a person who grew of in Medellin during those times. It was great to hear about how things were and how things are changing for the better for all the people in Medellin. I was really interested in those stories. The grave site was very interesting. The other 2 locations were ok. We aren't able to do much other than stand outside the buildings. I think what would have made this tour even better is it we could have gone to the old compound/now theme park to see what it looks like now and hear what it used to be like. I would pay extra for that. Either way for what the tour offers, it's a good start, and as more people travel to Medellin, it will only get more and more popular. I think it's good that more of these tours are happening because as Colombia becomes more popular, more people are going to want to know about Pablo Escobar. It's great to be able to compare what the American media said about this man vs. actually hearing about it from a person who lived during those times in Colombia. I've traveled to many cities and Medellin is easily one of the most beautiful cities I've ever been to. Even though it's past is dark, thanks to Pablo, it's future is incredibly bright and I am excited to see where it will be 5-10 years from now.

Doing what: Pablo Escobar Historical Tour of Medellín

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was absolutely fascinating! Our tour guide gave us a personal tour four more than the time we had paid for. He was full of information because he actually lived in Medellin during the Pablo Escobar era. He was even able to get us into places that we off limits to the general public! For anyone interested in this part of Medeliin's history--book this tour!

Doing what: Pablo Escobar Historical Tour of Medellín

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Pablo Escobar Historical Tour of Medellín

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Guide almost got into accident texting and driving. We had to tell him we did not appreciate that!! Spend most of the tour on his cell phone texting or talking. Guide did not know bridge was under construcion.

Doing what: Day Trip to Santa Fe de Antioquia from Medellín

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Horrible guide. He was old and took us on HIS memory lane of growing up in Medellin. He drove us around trying to fill the time. Did not know lunch was included in the trip and we had to tell him. He parked the car on street in Prado to look at street map as he got lost!!

Doing what: Medellín City Tour with Optional Lunch and Metrocable Gondola Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tour guide was on time which was very important to me. Offered to turn on the A/C. Went right into the tour. Showed me everything as promised. Tour guide was very knowledgeable. He even put on music inspired by the events we were talking about. In summary I'd recommend this tour very much.

Doing what: Pablo Escobar Historical Tour of Medellín

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Camilo was a fine and friendly guide. We enjoyed our afternoon with him very much. When the Museo de Arte Moderno was closed for changing of exhibits, he substituted Pueblito Paisa and El Castillo which more than made up for our not seeing "El MAMM". R and K Neuhoff

Doing what: Medellín Museums Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The Pablo Escobar Hostorical Tour of Medellin not only gives you a view in some parts of the life of Pablo Escobar, but also show a good view of some neighbourhoods of Medellin. It was a tour of us (two persons) with the English speaking guide, so a very small group what maded the tour more flexibel.

Doing what: Pablo Escobar Historical Tour of Medellín

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Highly professional, very interactive and friendly. We enjoyed thoroughly.

Doing what: Medellín Paragliding Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour was very interesting, thanks

Doing what: Pablo Escobar Historical Tour of Medellín

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

We prearranged service from the airport to our hotel-our flight arrived on time-no one from Viator was in the terminal-we waited 30-45 mins until someone appeared apologizing for the "confusion"-the ride was OK but the cost was excessive.

Doing what: Shared Arrival Transfer: Medellín Airport to Hotel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Absolutely awesome tour! Worth every peso (seriously)! The views are spectacular and the guide was excellent. The grower was very eager to explain the process of coffee growing and was very informative. The town of Jardin is unbelievable; a real gem. Clean, with very interesting architecture. I am definitely going back with my wife to stay a few days in Jardin. One of the best tours I have had in my life.

Doing what: Jardín Day Trip: Colombian Coffee and Sightseeing Tour from Medellín

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We really enjoyed this tour as well. We sent places other tourists don't go. Camilo provided us with inside information regarding the impact of Escobar on the country. We learned a lot, and this tour remains one of the most memorable for our 20-something children.

Doing what: Pablo Escobar Historical Tour of Medellín

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We didn't really know what to expect but came away very pleased with our experience. The tour was informal, our guide just picked up in his car which we very much preferred to a massive double decker bus with Escobar's face painted on the side or something.

Our guide Camilo was knowledgeable not only about Escobar but the city of Medellin itself. He had a gameplan but also allowed us to steer the tour toward things that interested us more. He was really easy going and went above and beyond to make us happy. If you're on the fence, do it. It was one of our favorite parts of the trip.

Doing what: Pablo Escobar Historical Tour of Medellín

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message