Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Colonial Tramcar

A must-do experience while you're in Melbourne, a meal at the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant is guaranteed to be a highlight of your visit. Offering both sightseeing and high-class dining, the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant is one of Melbourne's star ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 358 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Maureen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our party of three totally enjoyed our Lunch on Colonial Tramcar Restaurant the atmosphere, the food and the staff were all excellent, thank you for the pleasure will be recommending.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Maureen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our party of three totally enjoyed our Lunch on Colonial Tramcar Restaurant the atmosphere, the food and the staff were all excellent, thank you for the pleasure will be recommending.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Adrienne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour was everything I thought it would be. We both had the beef for dinner and it was excellent, I have travelled with Viator in many countries and I have never been disappointed,

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Deb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

OMG - The tram was so beautiful and surreal! One minute you're standing in the open air on the dirt and the next - luxury! The staff were fun, friendly and professional, seeing to our every need. The food was wonderful - way better than we expected. The chef was so lovely. We all 9 of us had a wonderful dinner/trip. Thank you - would highly recommend this for a different thing to do in Melbourne.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Louise B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My daughter and I recently took this tramcar tour and thought it was fantastic! Lovely food and plenty of drinks. Pete our waiter was so friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience!!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Mrs J T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was an excellent tour and totally value for money. We did the late dinner tour and the meal was excellent with plenty of drinks in offer. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Would recommend this to everyone.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Pedropete

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I would highly recommend this trip, we did the early dinner option. The food is fantastic and it is a lovely relaxing atmosphere on board as you tootle around the streets of Melbourne and St. Kilda. Staff on board the tram are excellent and we were looked after very well indeed. The tram stop is just a short walk from the casino which was a good way to finish off the evening.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Diane F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a great way to start our trip in Melbourne. The tramcar was an interesting way to have an enjoyable dinner. Service was excellent and the food and wine was very enjoyable.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Wendy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We did the late dinner, such a fantastic set up, run by lovely professional people. Forgot to look out the tram window the tramcar was just so cosy. Very good value for money more than my expectations.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Lynette Anne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wow how good was this. We were shown to our seats at the front of the tram. There was only 6 of us in the front section so we had plenty of room and it was easy to talk to the other couples. It was a cold wet day outside, warm and comfortable inside. Food was excellent and so was the service. We had such a fabulous time touring around melbourne. Our only complaint was it wasn't long enough, we were just getting settled and then it was time to get off, we wanted to stay longer. We did the lunch time tour 2 hours. Next time we will do the 3 hour dinner trip. It would be a sight in the night with all the city lights.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Denise R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful dinner on the tram. Excellent food and drink and magnificent staff Tim Angela Rohan outstanding service. Would highly recommend. Denise Rees

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

susan g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a fantastic evening we had on the tramcar. The food was amazing, the views around the city was great and service was surperb loved it!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Evelyn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly recommend this for an evening out- we did the early evening dinner . The wait staff were really lovely and welcoming , the atmosphere was great and the food and wine really good. Our only complaint - the night went too fast. We would highly recommend this if you are in Melbourne and the price is very comparable to any restaurant considering it includes all food, drinks and service and a ride on the tram. People in our tram who were celebrating birthdays, engagements and anniversaries were all acknowledged and that added to the occasion.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Teresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a fabulous night on the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant - can thoroughly recommend to anyone heading to Melbourne or even residing in Melbourne. The food was fabulous 5 courses, but the service was even better!!! Having the chance to talk to the Chef and the food and drink waiter during the journey made it a very special night. The Tram travels to St Kilda and stops at Albert Park so you can stretch your legs and make room for dessert. And, the chef said he couldn't let us choose desserts, and so served both!!!
Most definitely worth it - we would do it again!!!!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

des.rodgers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Tramcar Restaurant was unreal, great service, great ambience and great food...I would recommend this a definite to do when in Melbourne...

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Rhyll H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had dinner at the first sitting and the food was fabulous - staff were very efficient - I have waited a whole year for this experience and I recommend it to anyone visiting Melbourne - I will be doing it again next time I am in town. R

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

THEN KANG G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My sister, niece and I joined the Great Ocean Road Trip and the Tram Restaurant 6 Earlt Dinner Sight-Seeing tour on 7.4.15 and 9.4.15 respectively and enjoyed every moment of them. Kudos to the witty driver/guide (Derrel?), waitress (Angela) ,bar man and chef on these two tours!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Clare E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The boat tour was interesting. Our bus driver Russell did a fantastic bus tour of the city. The tour bus was small which was nice and we got off at a few stops to stretch our legs and check out the city. The best part was the tram car dinner. Fabulous food in a very funky refurbished tramcar with great staff chef Joe and his crew and an open bar!!

Doing what: Best of Melbourne City Tour with Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Dinner

Steven L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Another must do experience. Tour interesting but difficult to hear the commentary on the river cruise. The speakers seems too weak for the loud engine noise. Packed lunch very tasty and filling. The tramcar experience was the highlight with excellent food and service throughout.

Doing what: Best of Melbourne City Tour with Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Dinner

Ting Lup Henry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A very enjoyable event. Food and drinks were actually value for the money. Service in the tramcar was attentive and professional. A good and different experience, and highly recommended.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Mrs Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Friendly professional staff onboard. Fantastic trip and yummy dinner on the tramcar, we want to go again!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

orabka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Oh my gosh best dinner and service ever. We had a wonderful time. Would do it again and again. Everyone out there book this today. It's wonderful. Best part of our entire trip.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Salli B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great experience on the dinner Tram, food was tasty and staff were very friendly, would defiantly recommend this tour........

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

J David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We have taken the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant tour of Melbourne several times, and we love it! This trip did not disappoint. We hope to take it again some day.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

johne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Well organised and a superb way to see the city. My wife and I booked for the 3 course early dinner slowly meandering from Melbourne to St Kilda. The food was outstanding we had the Angus steak with our wine glasses being regularly topped up. Staff really did look after us and we felt that the whole evening was the best way to see the city. Already highly recommended to our friends.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message