A must-do experience while you're in Melbourne, a meal at the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant is guaranteed to be a highlight of your visit. Offering both sightseeing and high-class dining, the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant is one of Melbourne's star ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 348 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful dinner on the tram. Excellent food and drink and magnificent staff Tim Angela Rohan outstanding service. Would highly recommend. Denise Rees

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a fantastic evening we had on the tramcar. The food was amazing, the views around the city was great and service was surperb loved it!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly recommend this for an evening out- we did the early evening dinner . The wait staff were really lovely and welcoming , the atmosphere was great and the food and wine really good. Our only complaint - the night went too fast. We would highly recommend this if you are in Melbourne and the price is very comparable to any restaurant considering it includes all food, drinks and service and a ride on the tram. People in our tram who were celebrating birthdays, engagements and anniversaries were all acknowledged and that added to the occasion.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a fabulous night on the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant - can thoroughly recommend to anyone heading to Melbourne or even residing in Melbourne. The food was fabulous 5 courses, but the service was even better!!! Having the chance to talk to the Chef and the food and drink waiter during the journey made it a very special night. The Tram travels to St Kilda and stops at Albert Park so you can stretch your legs and make room for dessert. And, the chef said he couldn't let us choose desserts, and so served both!!!
Most definitely worth it - we would do it again!!!!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Tramcar Restaurant was unreal, great service, great ambience and great food...I would recommend this a definite to do when in Melbourne...

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had dinner at the first sitting and the food was fabulous - staff were very efficient - I have waited a whole year for this experience and I recommend it to anyone visiting Melbourne - I will be doing it again next time I am in town. R

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My sister, niece and I joined the Great Ocean Road Trip and the Tram Restaurant 6 Earlt Dinner Sight-Seeing tour on 7.4.15 and 9.4.15 respectively and enjoyed every moment of them. Kudos to the witty driver/guide (Derrel?), waitress (Angela) ,bar man and chef on these two tours!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The boat tour was interesting. Our bus driver Russell did a fantastic bus tour of the city. The tour bus was small which was nice and we got off at a few stops to stretch our legs and check out the city. The best part was the tram car dinner. Fabulous food in a very funky refurbished tramcar with great staff chef Joe and his crew and an open bar!!

Doing what: Best of Melbourne City Tour with Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Another must do experience. Tour interesting but difficult to hear the commentary on the river cruise. The speakers seems too weak for the loud engine noise. Packed lunch very tasty and filling. The tramcar experience was the highlight with excellent food and service throughout.

Doing what: Best of Melbourne City Tour with Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A very enjoyable event. Food and drinks were actually value for the money. Service in the tramcar was attentive and professional. A good and different experience, and highly recommended.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Friendly professional staff onboard. Fantastic trip and yummy dinner on the tramcar, we want to go again!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Oh my gosh best dinner and service ever. We had a wonderful time. Would do it again and again. Everyone out there book this today. It's wonderful. Best part of our entire trip.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great experience on the dinner Tram, food was tasty and staff were very friendly, would defiantly recommend this tour........

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We have taken the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant tour of Melbourne several times, and we love it! This trip did not disappoint. We hope to take it again some day.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Well organised and a superb way to see the city. My wife and I booked for the 3 course early dinner slowly meandering from Melbourne to St Kilda. The food was outstanding we had the Angus steak with our wine glasses being regularly topped up. Staff really did look after us and we felt that the whole evening was the best way to see the city. Already highly recommended to our friends.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic tram dinner worth doing to see other parts of melbourne great dinner and the people on board were great.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My wife loves the experience of dining on a tram!!! I joined the Late Dinner, food and drinks were all over our expectation, especially the beef which was excellent. Meeting place was easy to find. Strongly recommend for visitors

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was my 2nd experience on the Tramcar Restaurant. I thoroughly enjoyed both experiences along with my friends, it was wonderful. I would highly recommend the Tramcar Restaurant to everyone! Loved it!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our trip on the Tramcar Restaurant was awesome. A very unique experience. The service we got from Francesca, Angelia and Chef Gary was excellent, very informative and friendly. The food was also excellent

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was fantastic, however, my husband and I were sick on the cruise and ate very little food on the Tramcar. Chef John, Franchesca, and Melanie were terrific.......wish we had been in better health. Would recommend this trip; a splendid piece of history!!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

An amazing experience that was the highlight of my time in Melbourne. The staff could not do enough to make sure everything was perfect for our party of six. For a group this size 4 of you will be at one table and 2 across the aisle. You are still close enough to chat. I am vegan and added this request at the time of booking. My 5 courses were all vegan and delicious. Drinks were inlcuded and at no time did we feel like any request was an issue. This late dinner option inlcuded a 15 minute break to stretch legs.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We had a wonderful night on the Tramcar Restaurant tour of Melbourne. The service, food, tour and company was excellent. As it was our 50th Wedding Anniversary, that made it all the more special. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was my husband and my 3rd time on the Tramcar Restaurant but my parents first time, once again the staff, presentation and quality of the food was exceptional. All four of us thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will be recommending the Tramcar to friends and family. Thank You.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

judy.wilson
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A fantastic experience food was great, service was outstanding and travelling around seeing the sights of melbourne is such an interesting and enjoyable way to eat dinner.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I was looking for an activity that My elderly parents would enjoy. I searched for the top 10 things to do in Melbourne, and the Colonial Tramcar was suggested. I booked the lunch time tour, as this suited my parents. We had an absolute ball. The staff were super friendly, the food was amazing, and the wine was flowing. Thank you so much. The experience will be with us forever. I have already recommended the tour to several friends.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message