A must-do experience while you're in Melbourne, a meal at the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant is guaranteed to be a highlight of your visit. Offering both sightseeing and high-class dining, the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant is one of Melbourne's star ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 314 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It was very enjoyable. My friend who I traveled with lost her husband in April
We organised the dinner for there wedding anniversary We toasted to absent loved ones and talked about good times passed Good therapy!!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was everything we expected and more! Great food, drinks, friendly staff and a lovely tour around Melbourne. We did the early dinner as we wanted to see the sights. Will definitely do this again next time we're in Melbourne. Will also tell all our friends.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent dinner in a stylish manner, very entertaining. The tram route was not too spectacular, but the food was excellent and certainly the most important. A very nice way to end our holidays in Australia !

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I had seen these Restaurant Tramcars on our previous visits to Melbourne so we decided to go for a tour this time. We are so glad we did. Our waiter, Maverick, and our chef, Joe, were excellent hosts for the evening. The food and wines were excellent, the tour was very relaxing. The scenery was beautiful, we saw places in streets where we wouldn't normally go travelling on normal trams and buses. We are now trying to get our children and grandchildren together so we can all do a tour as a family. I would recommend this trip to anyone who would like to see a little of Melbourne in a slightly different way. We did the early dinner tour, but next time we are planning on taking the late dinner trip. We heard all good comments from other passengers as we were leaving the tram. Everyone was very impressed.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great experience! I really enjoyed the Tramcar restaurant tour.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is our second Tramcar experience.
We bought my mother and father in law with us as Dina (mother in law) recently had bypass surgery and needed "CHEERING UP"
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
The ambience of the tramcar was amazing and the food and staff were exceptional.
We will probably do it again.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I would highly recommend this to everyone visiting Melbourne. The staff on the tramcar were so lovely and friendly and the service was impeccable. The tramcar is gorgeous with the ceiling lined with gold pressed metal and carpeted throughout with lovely gold curtains hanging just enough to give a little privacy with adorable red lanterns lighting the tramcar. We waited in the designated covered tram area near the Casino to be picked up. When we boarded we were shown our seating and offered bubbly. We were provided with a variety of dips and crackers and the drinks kept coming. The bubbly and all drinks are included in the price. Our main was a choice of chicken or beef and we both had eye fillet with potato gratin and baby broccoli with a sautéed onion gravy oooh so yummy and filling. For dessert we were served three little desserts a crème brulee, chocolate sauce pudding and a crème strawberry and this was just enough as by this time we were feeling full. We were offered tea or coffee and a liquor which we both had. We went on the early dinner with 3 courses starting at 5.45pm so by 7.30pm we were back at the pick up stop but it felt like it was longer. The tramcar wanders through the streets and it was a wonderful evening. There is a later dinner of 5 courses that starts at 8.30pm but really I don't think we could have fitted 5 in! It was our wedding anniversary that day and the whole evening was magical. I cannot recommend this tour highly enough. Well done to the staff who were exceptional.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was the mostbest time my wife and I had in Melbourne even though it was raining. The meal was very well presented and enjoyable for lunch just enough not overpowering. When next in Melbourne we will try the late Dinner. We have recommended this trip as a pust do when in Melbourne to our friends.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a wonderful experience.
The staff were friendly, informative, fun and attentive.
The food was lovely.
We will defiantly enjoy the Tramcar resturant next time we visit Melbourne.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic food and great staff,will be back to do the night dinner!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My partner and I had a brilliant experience on the tram dinner restaurant. We enjoyed every aspect of the journey. We score it 10/10!!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We both really enjoyed the experience of the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour. The food and beverages were truly excellent and the staff fantastic, friendly and attentive. Everyone should try this wonderful Melbourne icon even if you are Melbournians like us. You see the city in a different light.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Enjoyed the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Luncheon tour. Lunch was great and the tramcar had a lovely ambience which was very relaxing! Would do it again! Many thanks

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

On our recent trip to Melbourne Mum and I decided to have dinner on the Colonial Tramcar to celebrate her 80th Birthday we both had a lovely night the food was delicious and the service exemplary. It was something different and more fun than sitting in a restaurant.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Tramcar Lunch was excellent Service and food were tops .The best tourist attraction in Melbourne. I have no hesitation to recommending it as a must to anyone visiting Melbourne.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message