Como Historic House and Garden
Established in 1847 by Edward Eyre Williams, Como House is a well-preserved example of aristocratic style, with fireplaces and chandeliers, gilded mirror frames and rich embroidery. Folktale suggests the house was named in memory of Italy’s Lake Como, where Edward is believed to have proposed to his wife, Jessie Gibbon. Over the years, the house survived the Great Depression and family financial ruin, before being passed through to the Armytage family to endure wartime and 95 years of family dynasty. In 1959, Como House and Garden entered the protection of the National Trust.
Although the House only admits visitors booked in groups of 15 people of more, guided tours are free and allow access to the picturesque gardens after viewing the house.
Como Historic House and Garden is on the corner of Lechlade Avenue and Williams Road in South Yarra. Get there by walking 15 minutes or taking a tram along Toorak Road from South Yarra Train Station.
On a fine day, visitors may wish to take a picnic and wander a few minutes down the road to Como Recreational Park, or visit the specialty shops, cafes and restaurants in nearby Toorak Village.
Tours & Tickets
Explore the best of what Australia has to offer with an Australia Multi-City Attractions Pass. See more and save up to 50% on admission to Australia's favorite ... Read more
Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast, Hobart
Duration: Valid for 3 months from the date of card activation