On a clear day you can see Victoria’s Dandenong Ranges draping the horizon from most places in central Melbourne. Forming the south-eastern border to Melbourne’s famously far-flung suburbs, the Dandenongs are a beautiful mountain retreat just on the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Fun ride on the Puffing Billy but a little short. Feeding the cockatoos and rosellas in the Dandenong Ranges was really neat. Healesville Sanctuary was definitely worth seeing.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Michelle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We met our tour at federation square, our driver was Edward and he was amazing, very funny and even more knowledgable. The tour itself was great, first time on puffing billy I felt like a Big kid on a day trip, the sights were great going through the dandenongs and the wineries were just as good

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Yes, I enjoyed this tour very much. The Tour Leader - Colin - was a very good driver, and interesting and informative. Really liked the Puffing Billy Steam Train ride through the forest, also enjoyed the Yarra Valley and drive through the Dandenongs. The lunch was very nice at the Rochford Winery. The bird show at Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary was good.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Jacqueline F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

My husband and I departed Federation Square on what was to be the beginning of one of the best day tours I have EVER undertaken and apart from the Itinerary, it was in no small part due to our driver PETER.
Peter could not have been more informative, his knowledge of Melbourne, The Dandenongs and The Yarra Valley was second to none and exactly what someone wanting to learn about our fair city and surrounds would be eager to learn. He also made everything so interesting.
Morning tea was great, Puffing Billy was fantastic, Lunch at Ferguson's Winery was wonderful and Healsville Sanctuary was a delight.
I am a Melbourne girl and I know a thing or two about my city but as it turns out, I know NOTHING compared to Peter.
At the end of a very long, but satisying day, I would not hesitate to reccomend this wonderful experience to anyone.
And if their other tours are anything like this one, we will be back for more.
And, if their other drivers are of the same calibre as Peter then I am sure the tours will be equally enjoyable.
Jacqui and Joe (front seat on the door side)

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Alexander B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Awesome Awesome tour, I just wouldn't know where to begin. The views along the dandenong forrest, while chugging along in Puffing Billy, was just breath taking and the lunch at Fergusson valley was just exquisit. Cudos to the tour guide for delivering interesting facts as well as having a real hoot of a sense of humour. Would recommend this tour to anyone whos after a good nature trek out!!

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Flashman

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The hotel bus pick up is a useful service but does make for a slow start to day. Luckily the seats are very comfortable. Finally left Federation Square after more than an hour on bus and headed to Dandenongs. Mark our driver was very friendly and well informed as well as being an excellent driver. The first stop at Granst Reserve worked well due to good organisation. The Puffing Billy train ride was next and was better than expected mainly because we could sit in the window! Met by bus at Menzies Creek and onto first of 3 excellent winery visits - Rochfords, Dominique Portet and Yering Farm. Once again good organisation ensured all ran smoothly and the lunch at Rochfords was very passable. Then it was on the road back home where we were able to get off in town centre for a quick dinner. The day was very enjoyable and as outlined but in future would probably do wineries as a separate tour to have more time

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Ray L Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

What a great day to see Melbourne countryside. The Puffing Billy ride was enjoyable and fun. The drive through the Dandenongs was just beautiful. Our coach driver was courteous and very informative about the sights we were seeing, and he joked with us along the way. The Yarra Valley was great to see and the highlight was Chandon Winery - what a beautiful spot. And the tour at Chandon was so interesting. The only disappointment was lunch at Ferguson Valley winery - plain roast beef with boiled carrots and lettuce leaves - so unappetizing. Since when do wineries serve this sort of a meal!! If I had of known, I would have brought along my own lunch.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Sharyn V

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Had a wonderful day out. Enjoyed the scenery of the dandenong ranges and the puffing billy train. Good service was given by the touring company. The lunch at the winery was delicious. We did not have the ordered lunch but did have a separate order whch was great. Recomend the meat pie. The morning tea was great dispite the birds trying to take the food from your hands if you were not watching. To sum up the day it was very relaxing just what you need if on holidays.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Mary Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

Beautiful trip through the Dandenongs. Lots of photo opportunities.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Marlene C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

Fabulous views from Puffing Billy. I would have liked more time at Dandenongs and wineries for actual wine making tours and a separate trip to Healesville.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Glenn J

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Our full day tour began with a drive up to the Dandenong Mountain Range, our driver Wil did an outstanding job with his driving and presentations on points of interest along the way and ensuring that everyone found their way back to bus and ontime. First stop was for morning tea and it was OK. I would recommend having tea,coffee and maybe a scone beforehand. Our next stop was to Puffing Billy, the steam train ride was fun and its worth doing. The Yarra Valley Wineries was excellent, all the 3 vineyards conducted wine tastings. At the first stop lunch was served paired with wine and it was excellent. The wine tasting that followed as great! At the next vineyard Dominic Portet the female sommelier did an excellent presentation on how to taste wine checking for clarity, swirling, sniffing and tasting. The last vineyard visited Yering Farm was less commercial and very relaxing, One item to share, the ride back to the city is a bit winedy causing a bit of swirl in your stomach and can cause car sick. So be mindful of how much wine you're taking in as you could feel nauseous on the way back. This tour is worth doing for the following, the service is good, the quality of the tour is good and its gets you out of the city and gives you an opportunity to see the countryside.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Carol M USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2008

Worth it, but... I wish there was more time to walk some of the trails near Sherbrooke Forest beautiful area. This is where they stop for tea and feed the birds, but the highlight should have been the nature it was very rushed. Puffing Billy was fun for kids, enjoyable. The food at the winery was absolutely tasteless waste of time going there, no tour of winery included. Healesville Sanctuary is great, but going around with the tour guide was WAY too slow I took off on my own. It'd be better to get out to the Dandenongs for some hiking and visit Healesville.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Andrew O Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2008

We loved the trip to see the birds, travelling through the Dandenong Ranges, having lunch at the winery! It was a great day. The Puffing Billy trip I felt could have been a bit longer but was still worth it. The only bad thing about the day was the tour bus driver who obviously liked the sound of his own voice and was very snappy at anyone who asked a simple question which had everyone on the bus afraid to ask anything for fear of having their head bitten off.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message