Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Flemington Racecourse

Melbourne’s historic racecourse has been the city’s premier horse racing venue since it first opened in 1840 and plays an important role in the history and identity of Melbourne and its people. A hive of activity during Melbourne’s Spring Racing ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sherryn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Had a great time -tour guide was good and the guides at the MCG and Rod Laver were also very informative
Would recommend this to anyone who likes sports - Flemmington Race Course is also a great visit

Doing what: Sports Lovers Tours of Melbourne

Patricia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Perfect name for the tour. Our sports lovers package included trips to Flemington horse race track, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Rod Laver tennis arena, and admission to the sports museum at the MCG.

It's a jam-packed day of fun facts and sports! Our tour guide Anthony was informative, funny, and pleasant. We spent about an hour at each stop, which was a reasonable amount of time.

My only critique is that we hit up lunch on the later side, about 1pm, which I wasn't expecting. The meal options at Etihad stadium are plentiful though. You won't leave hungry!

We also appreciated that hotel pick up and drop off was available. Perfect for tourists like us!

Doing what: Sports Lovers Tours of Melbourne

Vicki V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a wonderful tour. Far better and longer than we expected. Anthony was friendly and knowledgeable in all areas sport. The MCG tour was very interesting, Flemington was larger than expected and the Carlton Brewery tour was very informative. Anyone with only a slight interest in sport would find this day out a real treat.

Doing what: Sports Lovers Tour of Melbourne plus Foster's Australia Brewery

Jeff M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

IIf you love sport then this is a must tour. Guide was just great the tours of Flemington, The MCG, Rod Laver Arena and Sports Museum are wonderful. Lunch with a view at Etihad just amazing, planning another tour with these guys just brilliant. First class service.

Doing what: Sports Lovers Tours of Melbourne

Jenny C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

For anyone who loves there sport this tour is a must. Thanks Anthony for a fantastic day. Had lunch at Etihad Stadium which was really quite nice. This is only a small group tour which I think is a lot better than any of the bigger tours, much more personalised and everyone is very friendly. Went to Flemington race course, Rod Laver Arena, MCG, Albert Park Track and Etihad Stadium. I could rave about this tour and have so since I returned home. Anthony is very knowledgeable and nothing is a problem for him.

Doing what: Sports Lovers Tours of Melbourne

chezzadel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This was a very good tour the only problem we had was we didn't actually get to see Rod Laver Arena. Flemmington was really good and now i want to go a see a race especially The Melbourne Cup. The best part was the brewey tour. I would definitely recommend this tour well worth the effort.

Doing what: Sports Lovers Tour of Melbourne plus Foster's Australia Brewery

Brian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Highly recommend this tour to all sports lovers. Flemington, MCG tour and the National Museum were excellent. Lunch at Etihad stadium was great. We thoroughly enjoyed our day and our tour guide did a brilliant job.

Doing what: Sports Lovers Tours of Melbourne

Matthew J

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Sports part of the trip was excellent, especially the MCG and Flemington. Guide was very knowledgeable, Melbourne is the paradise for a sport supporter, anything sport related is highly thought of here. On the down side, make sure the brewery is actually running before you book this add on, as it was not when we went ( on Fridays) which made it a bit pointless. In general though a very good tour, probably better to do the Sports Hall of Fame in the afternoon after lunch though.

Doing what: Sports Lovers Tour of Melbourne plus Foster's Australia Brewery

T M H

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

Disappointed that Flemington and Etihad were closed, you need to be date specific when attractions are closed, and either offer a discount or offer another attraction to compensate.
Our tour guide Simon was excellent, the tour of the MCG was brilliant. If we had been able to see everything promised in our itinerary I am sure it would have been at least 4 star if not 5

Doing what: Sports Lovers Tours of Melbourne

Stephen E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Unfortunately we were not able to gain access to Flemington Park due to dismantling of equipment from the previous weeks race meeting, did not stop at the F1 track but the MCG was a great experience, hence the 2 stars. Too much time spent in the mini bus although our guide was friendly. Not the Sports Lovers tour we were expecting and not good value.

Doing what: Sports Lovers Tours of Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message