Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Ocean Road

Victoria's Great Ocean Road is great in every sense of the word. If you're driving, you'll discover one of the most famous and scenic coastal stretches of road in the world. If you're surfing, you'll find point break heaven. And if you're looking ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 318 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Green

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We were here right after fires so part of the Road was closed. The detour around was on a very windy road - not my favorite. The lunch break sandwiches- simple but tastyand had a pleasant walk through forest gully - but more seating would have been appreciated. The Great Ocean Road was fabulous. Had a good variety of view points and view options for all fitness levels.Really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

LEON M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was excellent. Allan our driver and guide had an extensive knowledge of the area we visited and was very friendly and helpful to everyone on the tour. I have been on many day trips and this was one of the best organised and gave us a snapshot of many of the scenic areas along the Great Ocean Road. The morning tea and lunch was very good. It was a long drive but I thoroughly enjoyed the tour. I hope that I can do more tours like this in the future.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Jerry F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

One of the best tours I have ever taken. Lee our driver/guide was great, funny and knew all of the best spots to stop at for pictures. Will tell any and all friends and family who travel to Melbourne to take your tour of the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Tim B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I highly recommend this trip. It was our 2nd highlight of our 3 week Australian trip. Sydney Harbour was our Number 1. Kyle was our overnight tour guide and he made our trip very special and fun. You can tell he loves his job by his involvement with the group and the special care he takes to make sure all are happy. The hotel was nice and only a short distance to the beach but dinner was just ok. Breakfast was very good. My husband enjoyed having someone else drive so he could see all the beauty Australia and the Great Ocean road has to offer. Our second driver Alan was friendly and informative and the seeing the penguin parade was wonderful. The only thing I would change about the trip is I would not stop at the Chocolate Factory unless you were taking the tour. When we stopped the cafe was closed and the chocolates were way to expensive. I dont anyone bought anything in our group of 24. Overall, a wonderful, fun, educational tour.

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A tour of The Great Ocean Road is a must!! The ocean is amazing, and each photo op was more beautiful than the last. We saw koalas and beautiful parrots also. It's very long day - 13-14 hours, but so worth the time. The views are beautiful beyond words.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Leeling Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely fantastic day trip. Even though the bus had mechanical problems, which delayed us by almost 2 hours, Paul, our guide and driver had a positive approach and sense of humor that made the day fun and enjoyable. He had a great music track to amuse us and was knowledgeable about all aspects of the tour. Every single stop was scenic and breathtaking so it's hard to pick just one. Only word of caution is that you can't do the ground and helicopter tour of the 12 apostles as its either or given the time constraint. Thanks Paul for making our trip so enjoyable, I can tell you love doing what you do! And I will also stop calling a koala a bear thanks to that song!!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

stella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour, worth to join. The driver the same person as guide is experienced and fun. Both the Twelve Apostles and the Loch Ard Gorge are very attractive places to visit and really worth to take many pictures. The rock formations are really fantastic and magical! However, the tour took quite a long time from early morning up to late night. We arrived hotel at about eleven o'clock!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Larissa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour - really worth doing. The coastline is spectacular. The tour had been slightly modified when we went as there were forest fires however, we still got to see the 12 Apostles and Shipwreck Coast as well as the rainforest. We didn't unfortunately get to see any koalas as that was part of the tour that had to be eliminated due to the fires. Lunch was adequate. The tour guide who was also the driver, Allan, was very helpful and knowledgeable about the sites we visited. Good value for what you get.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Koree K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What an amazing trip! It was a long day with jet lag but I saw so much! I was so moved by all I saw I wanted more and booked the helicopter tour over the 12 apostles! It was breath taking! My tour guide Leo was also amazing and fun! This was a trip of a lifetime!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Marcella S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I had a wonderful time. Our driver/guide was Gary and he did a great job with telling us the sites and facts of history and landscape along the drive. I met 20 other tourist and enjoyed everyone from all around the world. It was well worth the day trip. We got to get off and on and take short walks, see koala bears, beautiful birds, even a couple of wallabies. The helicopter ride was short but proved to be a wise decision. You can not really appreciate seeing the 12 Apostles unless you do this excursion. It turned out to be a wonderful day for pictures too. Walking to the edge of the Great Southern Ocean was exciting and every view different. Lunch was a delicious Thai sandwich in a q

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Shawn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a great time on this tour with our great guide. Our Guide kept us informed and kept our tour fun during a long ride. We had some great experience in feeding wild birds and seeing several kolas in the wild. We had a wonderful experience flying in a helicopter over the ocean and viewing the 12 apostles from the air.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Sneha United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Regardless of the ugly weather that day, this place was beautiful. The whole drive, the food, and offcourse 12 apostles everything was wonderful. Doing the sunset tour, the advantage is you will avoid the crowds in the mornings and you will have plenty of time for pictures

Doing what: Full-Day Great Ocean Road Sunset Tour from Melbourne

travelman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The highlight of my trip! It is a full day trip from Melbourne, but well worth it. If you do the optional helicopter ride, there is a good discount for being on the bus tour. I did this, and you get to see the Twelve Apostles from a different point of view. On the bus, our driver/guide provided an interesting commentary, so we learned a lot about the area in addition to enjoying the beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Michael Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It is a long day, so make sure you get a good night's sleep before. And take a wind breaker jacket the day I went it was windy all day and a bit chilly at some of the photo op spots along the way.

Our driver / guide, Katie, was great, giving explanations along the way as well as being an excellent and safe driver, not to mention being able to spot in the bushes along the road a couple of kangaroos, then pulling over so everyone could have a look and get some photos. :-

The smaller van as opposed to a big bus coach is definitely a plus, particularly as it makes the hotel pick up and drop off much faster--very welcomed at the end of the day.

The tour was well paced, too, with a good combination of getting where we were going but taking time out for a breakfast coffee and several roadside photo op stops. It is good to stretch at regular intervals.

A nice combination of scenery, too, as on the way out to the 12 Apostles we took the Ocean Road of course but on the way back we drove inland over more rolling farmland kind of terrain.

Melbourne is nice and there is much to see in the city, but by all means take a day if you can to get out into the country on this tour.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Barbara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Long drive but ver worth it. Our driver, Callum, was young but a very knowledgeable Melbourne native. The rain forest, the Twelve Apostles, and Loch Ard Gorge are magnificent reminders to be grateful for our beautiful Mother Earth!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Ian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour. Colin was a great tour guide, fun, friendly and informative. The trip covered a lot of sites and scenes. The highlight was an optional helicopter ride over the 12 apostles. I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

aaritu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Throughly enjoyed our trip from start to end. our tour guide was steve.. he was very cooperative and friendly.. it rained a bit and was cloudy in morning, but as the day progressed day turned sunny and beautiful. We included 10 mins flight with it, it reduced our time at 12 apostles but flight was awesome, worth every penny.. minivan was comfortable for ladies as they have small frame but it would be uncomfortable for big guys... steve was great, he kept us entertained till end.. he was sweet and funny.. we informed during booking to include vegetarian lunch, and the back office staff forgot to communicate with him.. we ordered vegetarian burger and received it. While having a general chat with him, we mentioned about our specific requirements as soon as we discussed this thing with steve, changed our vegetarian burgers with vegetarian sandwiches as according to him, vegetarian burgers contained egg. This was very sweet gesture. Also he offered us some bananas.. also there was some single ladies and families, he took care of everyone... this tour is highly recommended.. best tour guide...

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Amy Wing Hing C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Enjoy the trip. Though is it a long day but worth to go. The Twelve Apostles has spectular view especially under sunset. The rain forest pretty interesting. Shane the tour guide did very good job. The arrangement was all on schedule. I had recommended my friends and relatives this is must go scenic and suggest them to book via viator.com

Doing what: Full-Day Great Ocean Road Sunset Tour from Melbourne

Antony K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed this smaller group trip, our tour guide was very knowledgable and enthusiastic. Loved the helicopter flight over the 12 apostles, well worth paying a little extra for.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

S Nagy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our driver was Lizzie, she was really nice, funny and made the long bus journey very enjoyable. She gave us plenty of information about the places visited and played so much fun music.

It was quite coldish in the morning but thanks to the sunshine, it warmed up quickly. We stopped at a few beaches, a lovely rain forest, the 12 Apostles no access to Gibson Steps and at the beautiful Ard Gorge, which was our favourite.

On the way to Ocean Road we stopped for cakes and coffee loved the cakes, then saw a few koalas and birds in front of the restaurant where we stopped for lunch. Being vegetarians we were a bit afraid there wouldn't be any options for us, but there were at least 5 veggie options, and it was really tasty too.

For dinner we stopped at a fast food cluster McDonalds, Subway etc. Not a fan of these, but can survive once in a while.

We asked her to drop us off somewhere else than the agreed place, and it was cool.

Very satisfied with the trip and surely Lizzie made it very enjoyable!
Thanks!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Scott H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Highly recommend this small bus tour along Great Ocean Road. Saw so many sites and Stuart our knowledgeable and witty tour guide truly added to the experience. He shared stories we would not know traveling independently and kept us entertained during the long, but scenic, day. Well worth the time and cost!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

marie anne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Tour of the Great Ocean road was The Best!!!!
Every detail : the History and culture that the Tour guide offered , the atmosphere, the scenery along the road, the stops at reasonable intervals, All combined to make this experience an extra Excellent one
I speak for myself but am pretty sure that the 22 passengers were as happy as i have been.
My only regret was that it could nkt go for longer: i would have happily gone on to Adelaide....

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I will absolutley be recommneding this tour to everyone I talk to, I had the best two days and I am really glad I was told to visit the great ocean road and see the penguins when I came here or else I am may not have come across this tour! There was so much beautiful sights, I found the tour very well planned, I learned so much and I did everything I possibly could have! My tour guides were Peter and Rob, and they both get gold stars, they were funny and quirky and they gave a ton of knowlegde and information about all the stops we took as well as interacted very well with ALL of the members. I am Jennifer from Canada, and I would like to thank you for two fabulous days! I will also upload some pictures when I get to a computer :

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

Benny G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was awesome. Nathan is a great, funny and good storyteller. Had a great day with lots of stops and saw the koalas, kaketoes, 12 apostles had the helicopter flight which was short but awesome as well, the rain forest,... but no kangoeroes such a pity Nathan

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Ever Soco Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I had an amazing day during my tour to great ocean road . A spectacular scenic view of other side of Victoria. Thank you very much to our very funny and cool guide name Travis . His doing his job extremely well. This tour is very reasonable price and worth it!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message