Victoria's Great Ocean Road is great in every sense of the word. If you're driving, you'll discover one of the most famous and scenic coastal stretches of road in the world. If you're surfing, you'll find point break heaven. And if you're looking ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 280 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I had a wonderful trip along the Great Ocean Road, enjoying hearing about the history and wildlife and looking at stunning scenery. We saw plenty of birds and koalas in the wild and there were opportunities to take photos at various stops along the way. There was enough time to explore different stops.

John, our tour guide was informative and good humoured. For me the balance of giving information and time to look and think was perfect. I liked the quirky music that linked to the section of the tour we were on- although some of the tracks were very cheesy so be warned if that's not your thing!

The lunch options included in tour were fine but not amazing and the evening stop to buy dinner at own expense had fairly limited choices. For me that was a price worth paying for the rest of the trip.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

i absolutely loved this tour even as a solo traveler. Daniel, our guide, was awesome. He had great historical and informative stories to share with a touch of humor. I enjoyed having the first class seat upfront and being Daniel's 'co-pilot' for half the tour, it was an amazing view! The places we visited were amazing in their own right, but I must say that the 12 Apostles were the highlight of this tour. I am glad to have chosen this small group tour and the places of visit are well worth the long hours. I would highly recommend this tour for new visitors to Melbourne.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A long day trip that was well worth it - great commentary from a knowledgeable tour guide - Allan - made the day fun.Awesome playlist all day.The scenery was breathtaking - 12 Apostles so majestic and the Rain Forest walk was so peaceful.Would not hesitate recommending this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour package. Both the great ocean road and phillip island tours were great,we upgraded to vip on the phillip island penguin parade and it was well worth it. In the package we also got tickets for the aquarium and tower.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

As the only other Australian on the tour, besides the tour guide, I found everyone's reaction to my home country just really satisfying. The Great Ocean Road has been on my bucket list for a long time, so to finally tick that off almost brought tears to my eyes. The service provided by the local tour company was amazing, and Daniel, our tour guide, had such a lovely personality... I couldn't have asked for anything better. The price is literally a bargain, it's so worth it!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Good communication as soon as booked trip including letting us know of adjustment in pickup time due to hotel route extra sleep!. Stewie was a fantastically fun guide and very knowledgeable about the city as well as sites along the route to the Great Ocean Road. He kept the group engaged and excited with the history and other facts, as well as his great sense of humor. The vehicle was comfortable and even had wi-fi if you were so inclined...wouldn't suggest taking your eyes of the scenery though! All in all, a great day and I would recommend to anyone looking for a fun and easy way to see the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our first stop was Twelve Apostles in the morning, therere few tourists around there because we travelled the other way round. We could take as many photos as we wanted without anyone jumped into my pictures. At night, my friend and I shared a cozy and comfortable house with another four tourists. Dinner and breakfast were included and food was served by a winning café. Quiches, salad, all were delicious! Besides, our tour guide, Tom, shared a lot of history and knowledge to us. Hes dutiful and took care of us all the time.
The next day, another tour guide replaced the original one and he instructed us where we should sit in order to get a good spot for penguin parade. Hes absolutely right and I saw three groups of penguins walking from the shore to land.
Its an awesome experience! Two tour guides, the itinerary, food, accommodation, I definitely recommend this tour to my friends.

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an amazing tour! The Twelve Apostles and the Loch Ard Gorge is a must see. Dave was our driver and tour guide. He had an awesome personality and excellent knowledge of the place. Also, the hotel pick-up and drop off made things more easier for us.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Completely satisfied with this tour - excellent value for the money. Colin was a fantastic guide, driver, problem solver, kangaroo and koala spotter, etc! My 16 year old daughter said this was the highlight of her Australia trip and we hit a number of the typical tourist venues. Highly recommend this tour and do try the helicopter tour at the 12 Apostles - a great value in Australian Dollars. Long day but well worth it!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Definetely the best daytrip tour from Melbourne. Great views from 12 apostles, the razorback and london bridge. Highly recommended

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Definetely the best daytrip tour from Melbourne. Great views from 12 apostles, the razorback and london bridge. Highly recommended

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had an amazing trip, our guide Alan was excellent - you could tell he loved his job and knew his stuff about the area. The trip was great value for money - most travel books recommend 1-2 weeks sightseeing the Great Ocean Road - we managed everything comfortably in 1 day!! Although we covered a lot of miles travelling, it didn't feel like it as we had plenty of stops. The longest we had to go without stopping was about 1 and half hours - however this was on the way back and most people slept!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had the most amazing time on this tour. The tour guide was excellent! The itinerary was brilliant and maximized our time together. This small group tour bypassed a lot of the traffic on the way down to the 12 Apostles and got us there before the crowds so that you could enjoy this amazing stop without thousands of other tourists. We really enjoyed that the tour guide mixed up the driving with short walks that helped you stretch your legs and better appreciate the scenery. We left our fellow travelers good friends, which was cemented over wine and fabulous Chinese food in our cozy cabins. Really a bargain deal that includes so many wonderful Australian experiences. If you were to take anything out of the tour, I would cut the Chocolate Factory, which was overrun with children and not that exciting.

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

francess135
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved our tour, and our tour guide Steve was awesome! He was lively all throughout and even prepared a music playlist for maximum tour enjoyment! We had fun learning about Australia, the Great Ocean Road, the animals we encountered.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We went to Great Ocean Road when we were in Melbourne. The travel tour was Go West Tour. The driver/guide was so funny and friendly made our long trip not boring. He stopped at nice places for photo and food also provided during the tour. The bus have Wifi. You wont get bored!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great tour to see the outskirts of Melbourne in just a day. The ocean view was fantastic! The small towns along the way added mystic to the journey. And the main attraction the 12 Apostles was so breath taking and so was London Bridge.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our driver was excellent and took a great interest in showing us the Koala in the Grey River reservation. He also directed us to the best ice cream shop in Australia in Appolo Bay. The lunch was surprisingly excellent fish and chips. The 12 Apostles was breathtaking and amazing! The Loch Ard Gorge was beautiful and interesting to hear the stories surrounding it. It was incredible to see the effect of sea, erosion and nature weave its magic to create the 12 apostles. A must do trip!!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tom our driver was great! The scenery was lovely. Lots of great pictures including the option we chose to take the helicopter ride at the 12 Apostles. Well worth the little extra. The day started raining and we saw so many rainbows. Had more of a clear day when it really counted. We traveled the first day of winter so a little chilly.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was fantastic. Our guide was excellent very knowledgeable and great fun, loved the music. We saw koalas and parrots. The forest tour was a great. Had plenty of time to see all of the rock formations at the 12 apostles. Great day out would highly recommend.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very long day, but well worth it. The Great Ocean Road was spectacular, as were the views of the 12 Apostles There are only 8 now, due to erosion. The guide was great, providing a tea break along the way, with fresh cakes, tea, coffee, and hot chocolate. He gave us lots of information along the way as well. Hotel pickups and drop off were handled smoothly. We highly recommend this tour for value.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Both the Great Ocean Road and Philips Island tour were great. If you go to Melbourne I think both are a must do. I saw a few people complaining about the lunch, it was good. Not really a lot but people you should always bring a snack of your own on these kinds a day trips. The lunch location was beautifull as well.

As said, both tours are a must do. There is really no need to book it on Viator though. You can also book it while you're there, there are heaps of tour companies that offer these kinds of tours and you may even get them cheaper!!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was MARVELLOUS. The only setback was the weather. It rained when we arrived at the 12 Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge. It was so windy and cold too, but I still managed to get there and see the 12 Apostles. I even dragged myself to the Loch Arg Gorge and it was well worth it. the Great Ocean Road was awesome. Those who visits Melbourne/Victoria must experience this tour. I intend to come again. Serious.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great time on the great ocean road. Had a fantastic guide called Daniel who really went the extra mile to make the trip enjoyable for everyone in the group from making additional stops for those travellers who were unwell, to being everyones personal photographer or just giving you that extra bit of information whilst on the road he was ace. The road has more bends than a snake so is not the best place for anyone who suffers from travel sickness but if you can keep your breakfast down it is well worth it.
It is an extremely long day so speaking from experience it is not the best idea to get into your hotel at 3am after a night out!! You will want to stay awake to see the breath taking scenary. I chose the Helicopter option which was amazing cannot believe it has took me 25 years to get in one and while you are only up there for a short while the views are amazing.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The driver is very, very good in terms of the knowledge. Especially the guild for Great Ocean Road, Sorry that I forget his name thought.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The views of the Great Ocean Road are beautiful. Also beautiful are the open spaces and various animals grazing in the fields. Thank you to the Driver Guide and AAT King for awesome time.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message