Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Ocean Road

Victoria's Great Ocean Road is great in every sense of the word and is known for its long, empty beaches and crashing surf. Those who opt to drive down this stretch of Victoria's coast will discover one of the most famous and scenic roads in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 354 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Audrey W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

THE Best! Our guide Lee was very knowledgeablle and kept us laughing with his humour. The pace was perfect not rushed yet we arrived back in Melbourne at the time he predicted. I would certainly recommend The Great Ocean Road tour and especially Lee as a guide. I was so impressed I'm taking another tour on Thursday with him.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

tbird

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend this package! We loved our day on the Great Ocean Road tour and also had a great time at Phillip Island. Pictures w a koala bear was a highlight. Having Melbourne aquarium and Eureka Skydeck passes were an added bonus that we enjoyed. I would do these tours again for sure. It was convenient getting picked up at our hotel and the guides were a lot of fun.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Eileen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was amazing.

Our guide Katie was amazing. Her introductions to various key places, history of thegreat ocean road, Australia and #39;s wildlife etc were engaging and memorable... definitely someone u Shld look for for a great tour.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Ekta R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Katie who was our tour guide for the day was absolutely brilliant! She was not only incredibly informative, but highly entertaining throughout the day! She got us to the 12 apostles in time to watch the sunset, meaning that we got some spectacular views! Katie also made a few extra photo stops for us along the way. We also managed to catch sightings of a couple of wild koalas at the place we stopped for lunch and some wild kangaroos on the way back from the 12 apostles. I would highly recommend GoWest Tours for the Great Ocean Road tour to everyone! :

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Melissa N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Lee, was exceptionally upbeat, funny, and involved all the passengers. It was well worth taking a smaller tour. He was available to answer questions/talk with, take photos, tell stories, etc. Great job! The tour itself, though very long, was worth the day. Our family really enjoyed trekking through the Otago Rainforest you could just imagine a dinosaur staring at you through the foliage, seeing koalas in the wild, feeding cockatoos and other parrots, seeing the 12 apostles and gorge, looking for fur seals from the bus along the beautiful coastline. The tour enabled us to see just a tiny very tiny bit of Australia outside of the big city.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Kaylyn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The whole experience was amazing. Seeing the Great Ocean road the first day and then Philips Island the second day was really exciting. On both days our tour guides were super nice and very knowledgable. I'd recommend this tour to anyone who may be unsure as to what to do/see, as it crams a lot into 2 very long days that are totally worth it.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Taylor C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an amazing two-day experience and I can't recommend it highly enough. It was great to get out of the city and see some of the country on the ride out to Great Ocean Road. The views of the water are stunning and the tour is organize is such a way that you get to stop and see all the sights and get plenty of bathroom breaks so it never feels like you're just driving and driving. The stop at the Cape Otway Lightstation was a surprise treat definitely go up for the view!! Jeremy, or tour guide and driver, was personable and knowledgeable and by the end of the day our van had formed into a happy little family. My favorite part of the Ocean Road tour day was Loch Ard Gorge. Honestly, most beautiful place I've ever been.

We did the Phillip Island tour day second. This is PERFECT for any animal lover and anyone wanting to get cozy with Australia's famous wildlife. Our first stop at the Moonlight Wildlife Sanctuary was AMAZING. For 15 we got out photos taken with an adorable koala named Blue Gum. For 2, you can buy a bag of feed and feed the adorable wallabies and kangaroos out of your hand. The wallabies are SO CUTE and gentle. You can wander around and see all kinds of other wildlife too. To be honest I could have done without the trip to the farm. The highlight of this tour is obviously the Penguin Parade, and it doesn't disappoint. The penguin center was really nice and add two nice gift shops and some expensive food. It's really privilege to sit down and watch as nature goes to work and the penguins are pretty adorable. Don't miss this.

I have to say that this two-day pass is a deal! Lunch was included both days, as was the entry fee to all the ticketed places we visited. I feel like I got to see so much in two jam-packed days. Do it!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Greg S. Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We can't say enough about the beauty of the Great Ocean Road Day Trip. Spectacular!! Thia was the best part of the package. The Yarra River Cruise was informative and a good way to see the city skyline and learn some of the history of the city.

Doing what: 2-Day Combo: Melbourne City Tour, Yarra River Cruise and Great Ocean Road Day Trip

Greg S. Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We can't say enough about the beauty of the Great Ocean Road Day Trip. Spectacular!! Thia was the best part of the package. The Yarra River Cruise was informative and a good way to see the city skyline and learn some of the history of the city.

Doing what: 2-Day Combo: Melbourne City Tour, Yarra River Cruise and Great Ocean Road Day Trip

Lindsay M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had the best time, great views, wish I could stay longer at each stop-which is a good sign!
Would recommend having a better place to stop for dinner, or maybe simple sandwiches on the bus, but no complaints! Amazing tour guide and drive, loved seeing the wildlife and the 12 apostles.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Emory F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an awesome tour. It was a long day with all the hotel pick-ups and drop-offs on top of the drive, but our tour guide Peter did an outstanding job of keeping the group engaged and entertained. There were lots of stops and opportunities to get out and walk. The scenery was fantastic, very diverse along the three sections of the Great Ocean Road. We added the helicopter ride and it was well worth it.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

hms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had a wonderful time in Melbourne. I was there for a total of the best part of 5 days. There was nothing I did that I would not do again. I did the Great Ocean Road tour, the Phillip Island tour, and with the pass I did the Melbourne Zoo, SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium, and the Hop On Hop Off bus. From the bus I stopped at the Queen Victoria Market, the Melbourne Museum, St Kilda and Eureka Skydeck 88.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Randall H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was our first trip to Australia and first trip outside cities of Sydney and Melbourne. Seeing the Twelve Apostles and climbing Gibson and #39;s Steps were the highlight. Our guide, Leo, was a perfect Aussie host! Would highly recommend this trip. It and #39;s a superb value for the dollar.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Mavis H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Thanks Lizzy, we had a really great tour down the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Maciej G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Perfectly organised tour with great guide - Stephen! Great amount of information and time to enjoy the spectacular views! I totally recommend it to anyone who's coming to Great Ocean Road! It was also worth picking the helicopter flight over Twelve Apostles - different perspective and you can see all of them!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Meghan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was by and large the highlight of our 10 day trip to Australia, all thanks to our guide Nicky. A 15 hour long tour, much of it spent on a bus with strangers, has the potential for disaster. Nicky however was friendly, professional, knowledgeable and an overall joy to spend the day with. I feel like without her we would not have had such a great day exploring the Great Ocean Road and genuinely could not thank her enough for our fantastic experience. My parents are going to Australia in a months time and I will be recommending this tour to them, specifically recommending that they ask for Nicky as a tour guide, in the hopes that their day was as fantastic as ours was.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Julian V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Stuart was great,we had a lot of fun with him.
The Great Ocean Road is a must do, when you travel to Melbourne.
A lot of gorgeous views

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

judy b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The small group tour is the only way to experience the beauty of the great ocean road. Leo, our guide and driver, was personable and made the trip even more enjoyable for us. Thank you

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

david b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was fantastic! Watching the waves crash in from the southern ocean, and seeing the sunset over the 12 apostles was truly amazing. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. We saw koalas and kangaroos int the wild. If you are traveling to Australia, you should look into visiting Melbourne, and booking this trip!

Doing what: Full-Day Great Ocean Road Sunset Tour from Melbourne

MargieP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best Viator Trip by far - coach driver excellent - views amazing could certainly limit the HOUR spent at the botanical gardens and spend more time at Brighton Bathing Boxes and St Kilda - only had time to order a coffee n cake at St Kilda and barely had time to eat or drink purchases - limit Gardens to 20mis Max other than that fantastic. First time along Great Ocean Road and seeing the Twelve Apostles just incredible thank you

Doing what: 2-Day Combo: Melbourne City Tour, Yarra River Cruise and Great Ocean Road Day Trip

hms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Trip was great. Great Ocean Road is beautiful. Bus driver was very informative.

I loved the Phillip Island tour. It was much more than I realized. The penguins were wonderful, but the other parts of the trip were also super. wildlife refuge, Koala refuge, Historic farm, etc. This was a really full day. We left at 11:15AM and got back around midnight.

The attraction pass was simple to acquire and simple to use. I went to the Melbourne Zoo and Aquarium and did the Hop on, Hop off

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Ana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Ocean Road tour is not to be missed. We drove miles over quiet farmland, forest, sea-side villages and sights, and ended up at the amazing 12 Apostles also known as the Sow and her piglets. We had a delicious scone with morning tea at a neat little outdoor shop by a historic lighthouse. Our driver/guide, Ricarda, was a delightful, knowledgeable, and professional person and it was truly a joy to share the day with her.

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Ocean Road from Melbourne

SandyW United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Gary was our driver/guide on Day 1 - Melbourne City Tour and he was fabulous. A great way to see so much of the city. Day 2 Great Ocean Road was long day but amazing! Geoff drove the bus, made us Billy Tea and was tour guide. Very knowledgeable. Thoroughly enjoyed both trips.

Doing what: 2-Day Combo: Melbourne City Tour, Yarra River Cruise and Great Ocean Road Day Trip

Ana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Great Ocean Road is a once-in-a-lifetime drive, ending with the spectacular Sow and her piglets The 12 Apostles formations. Our driver/guide, Ricarda, is a great, professionally excellent person. It was wonderful to spend the day with her.

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Ocean Road from Melbourne

Liezl F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was an amazing experience. The sunset over the beach and the 12 Apostles was truly a bucket list item that everyone should endeavour to tick off! Seeing the Koalas in their natural habitat and the parrots eating from your hand was amazing.

Doing what: Full-Day Great Ocean Road Sunset Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message