Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Ocean Road

Victoria's Great Ocean Road is great in every sense of the word and is known for its long, empty beaches and crashing surf. Those who opt to drive down this stretch of Victoria's coast will discover one of the most famous and scenic roads in the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 341 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

hms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had a wonderful time in Melbourne. I was there for a total of the best part of 5 days. There was nothing I did that I would not do again. I did the Great Ocean Road tour, the Phillip Island tour, and with the pass I did the Melbourne Zoo, SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium, and the Hop On Hop Off bus. From the bus I stopped at the Queen Victoria Market, the Melbourne Museum, St Kilda and Eureka Skydeck 88.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Randall H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was our first trip to Australia and first trip outside cities of Sydney and Melbourne. Seeing the Twelve Apostles and climbing Gibson and #39;s Steps were the highlight. Our guide, Leo, was a perfect Aussie host! Would highly recommend this trip. It and #39;s a superb value for the dollar.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Mavis H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Thanks Lizzy, we had a really great tour down the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Maciej G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Perfectly organised tour with great guide - Stephen! Great amount of information and time to enjoy the spectacular views! I totally recommend it to anyone who's coming to Great Ocean Road! It was also worth picking the helicopter flight over Twelve Apostles - different perspective and you can see all of them!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Meghan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was by and large the highlight of our 10 day trip to Australia, all thanks to our guide Nicky. A 15 hour long tour, much of it spent on a bus with strangers, has the potential for disaster. Nicky however was friendly, professional, knowledgeable and an overall joy to spend the day with. I feel like without her we would not have had such a great day exploring the Great Ocean Road and genuinely could not thank her enough for our fantastic experience. My parents are going to Australia in a months time and I will be recommending this tour to them, specifically recommending that they ask for Nicky as a tour guide, in the hopes that their day was as fantastic as ours was.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Julian V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Stuart was great,we had a lot of fun with him.
The Great Ocean Road is a must do, when you travel to Melbourne.
A lot of gorgeous views

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

judy b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The small group tour is the only way to experience the beauty of the great ocean road. Leo, our guide and driver, was personable and made the trip even more enjoyable for us. Thank you

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

david b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was fantastic! Watching the waves crash in from the southern ocean, and seeing the sunset over the 12 apostles was truly amazing. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. We saw koalas and kangaroos int the wild. If you are traveling to Australia, you should look into visiting Melbourne, and booking this trip!

Doing what: Full-Day Great Ocean Road Sunset Tour from Melbourne

MargieP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best Viator Trip by far - coach driver excellent - views amazing could certainly limit the HOUR spent at the botanical gardens and spend more time at Brighton Bathing Boxes and St Kilda - only had time to order a coffee n cake at St Kilda and barely had time to eat or drink purchases - limit Gardens to 20mis Max other than that fantastic. First time along Great Ocean Road and seeing the Twelve Apostles just incredible thank you

Doing what: 2-Day Combo: Melbourne City Tour, Yarra River Cruise and Great Ocean Road Day Trip

hms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Trip was great. Great Ocean Road is beautiful. Bus driver was very informative.

I loved the Phillip Island tour. It was much more than I realized. The penguins were wonderful, but the other parts of the trip were also super. wildlife refuge, Koala refuge, Historic farm, etc. This was a really full day. We left at 11:15AM and got back around midnight.

The attraction pass was simple to acquire and simple to use. I went to the Melbourne Zoo and Aquarium and did the Hop on, Hop off

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Ana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Ocean Road tour is not to be missed. We drove miles over quiet farmland, forest, sea-side villages and sights, and ended up at the amazing 12 Apostles also known as the Sow and her piglets. We had a delicious scone with morning tea at a neat little outdoor shop by a historic lighthouse. Our driver/guide, Ricarda, was a delightful, knowledgeable, and professional person and it was truly a joy to share the day with her.

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Ocean Road from Melbourne

SandyW United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Gary was our driver/guide on Day 1 - Melbourne City Tour and he was fabulous. A great way to see so much of the city. Day 2 Great Ocean Road was long day but amazing! Geoff drove the bus, made us Billy Tea and was tour guide. Very knowledgeable. Thoroughly enjoyed both trips.

Doing what: 2-Day Combo: Melbourne City Tour, Yarra River Cruise and Great Ocean Road Day Trip

Ana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Great Ocean Road is a once-in-a-lifetime drive, ending with the spectacular Sow and her piglets The 12 Apostles formations. Our driver/guide, Ricarda, is a great, professionally excellent person. It was wonderful to spend the day with her.

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Ocean Road from Melbourne

Liezl F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was an amazing experience. The sunset over the beach and the 12 Apostles was truly a bucket list item that everyone should endeavour to tick off! Seeing the Koalas in their natural habitat and the parrots eating from your hand was amazing.

Doing what: Full-Day Great Ocean Road Sunset Tour from Melbourne

Jan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour!! I was a bit concerned as it's a long day, but others had said it's well worth it - and it is. Paul, our driver and tour guide the person with the REALLY long day! was brilliant: informative, funny and made the trip a delight. It was a real 'United Nations' group of passengers too, which made it even more interesting.
There are plenty of stops along the way to stretch your legs, including a walk through a temperate rainforest Otway as well as steps down to the beach at the 12 Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge. You don't have to take the walks if you don't want to, however I'd recommend them.
I had opted to take the helicopter tour to see the 12 Apostles 6 actually, as explained by Paul! and it's well worth it. The only thing is that by doing this, you don't have time to take the walk to the land viewing point as you may have to wait for the helicopter flight - but what a great way to see the coastline!
This really is an excellent trip.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Korina Ana Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The weather was not on our side during this trip as it was really cold, but nevertheless, we enjoyed the sites. Bec, our guide and driver, was upbeat and very patient.

If you find yourself in Melbourne, this tour is a must. The beaches are beautiful. The Twelve Apostles and Loch Ard Gorce are breathtaking. We enjoyed koala-spotting by the Kennett River, and walking through the rainforest at Otway Park.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

paulmui

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

all visitors must go to the Great ocean road,

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

vbellanti United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an incredible way to see the Great Ocean Road! I enjoyed the small-group aspect because it felt very personal and I was happy to not be on a large tour bus. The timing was perfect at every stop, giving us enough time to enjoy the sights and take lots of pictures. Our group was lucky to see a wild koala awake (usually they are seen sleeping!) and we had plenty of time to take pictures and enjoy watching him be active. I also did the optional helicopter ride over the 12 Apostles, and that was an incredible experience. Although a short ride, it was a beautiful post card sight to see. I highly recommend this tour to those who are in Melbourne for a short time and want the best way to see and enjoy the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

D Gosney G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Stunning views on this day trip which got better and better as the day went on. First stop was at a lake for cake and coffee whilst our driver went off to pick up the Subway lunch of rolls, cookies and drinks - for our picnic on the beach. Very informative drive along the Great Ocean Road, and plenty of long stories from our tour guide Steve. The Twelve Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge are simply stunning. We had lunch on the beach at Loch Ard Gorge - and the Subway rolls and cookies were just perfect with plenty to go round between the group, and some left over. A great way to see a little more of Melbourne other than the city. A fair bit of walking up and down steps to the beaches in both cases, but you have the choice to stay at the top and take in the views.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Christine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a great tour with our very knowledgeable guide Leo. We enjoyed it all and the 12 Apostles were amazing.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

pauljames1978

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour, well worth doing. Fantastic scenery and the sunset at the twelve apostles was amazing.

My tour guide, Shane, was great. He gave his all throughout the day making it as interactive and enjoyable as possible. From a personal perspective he added a huge amount to the day as I was travelling alone on the day trip so was very much my travel buddy for the day.

Doing what: Full-Day Great Ocean Road Sunset Tour from Melbourne

Green

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We were here right after fires so part of the Road was closed. The detour around was on a very windy road - not my favorite. The lunch break sandwiches- simple but tastyand had a pleasant walk through forest gully - but more seating would have been appreciated. The Great Ocean Road was fabulous. Had a good variety of view points and view options for all fitness levels.Really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

LEON M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was excellent. Allan our driver and guide had an extensive knowledge of the area we visited and was very friendly and helpful to everyone on the tour. I have been on many day trips and this was one of the best organised and gave us a snapshot of many of the scenic areas along the Great Ocean Road. The morning tea and lunch was very good. It was a long drive but I thoroughly enjoyed the tour. I hope that I can do more tours like this in the future.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Jerry F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

One of the best tours I have ever taken. Lee our driver/guide was great, funny and knew all of the best spots to stop at for pictures. Will tell any and all friends and family who travel to Melbourne to take your tour of the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Tim B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I highly recommend this trip. It was our 2nd highlight of our 3 week Australian trip. Sydney Harbour was our Number 1. Kyle was our overnight tour guide and he made our trip very special and fun. You can tell he loves his job by his involvement with the group and the special care he takes to make sure all are happy. The hotel was nice and only a short distance to the beach but dinner was just ok. Breakfast was very good. My husband enjoyed having someone else drive so he could see all the beauty Australia and the Great Ocean road has to offer. Our second driver Alan was friendly and informative and the seeing the penguin parade was wonderful. The only thing I would change about the trip is I would not stop at the Chocolate Factory unless you were taking the tour. When we stopped the cafe was closed and the chocolates were way to expensive. I dont anyone bought anything in our group of 24. Overall, a wonderful, fun, educational tour.

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message