• USD ($)
  • English

Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Healesville Sanctuary

Healesville Sanctuary is the best place in Victoria to see and interact with native Australian wildlife. Set in natural bushland, the Sanctuary offers the unique opportunity to get up close to Australian animals in an environment that mirrors their ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Tour was great! Left on time, had a very witty driver (Wil). The lunch option is a good value for a nice meal with a glass of wine. The train ride was fun and Healesville is a must. I recommend this trip to all ages.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I enjoyed the tour very much with my visitor from France. He loved it very much; the winery and Healesville Sanctuary. Overall, it was a magnifique tour.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Covered a great deal on this day tour. Enjoyed the quaint train ride. Pity it was raining so couldn't enjoy Healesville Sanctuary as much as we would have otherwise. Lunch at the restaurant on the vineyard was of very decent quality considering it is part of a package.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My 4 year old and I had a great time on this day tour. He loved Puffing Billy and Healesville Sanctuary. The tour bus driver was very helpful and friendly. Loved it!

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We were not sure going on a bus day tour was for us, but gave it a go anyway, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. An awesome day trip that we would recommend to all. A beautiful place. Loved the Steam Train, Yarra Valley lunch and Healesville wildlife Sanctuary. Fantastic tour bus driver-Bill who told us about the area, history e.t.c. and had a wonderful sense of humour. Highly recommended. If we new it was going to be that good we would have booked another tour in advance as well!!!!!

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Yes, I enjoyed this tour very much. The Tour Leader - Colin - was a very good driver, and interesting and informative. Really liked the Puffing Billy Steam Train ride through the forest, also enjoyed the Yarra Valley and drive through the Dandenongs. The lunch was very nice at the Rochford Winery. The bird show at Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary was good.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Katie B
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

I am from Melbourne and took a freind over to show them the sights. The trip was fantastic, extreamly well organised and hassle free. It would of been even better if we could of stayed at Healesville Santuary a little longer but no complaints.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

We had a fabulous day on this tour. Our driver was very knowledgeable and informative. He even found kangaroo grazing in a field and stopped for us to have a look!! The Healesville Sanctuary was terrific. I would definitely recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This is a very enjoyable day out, we had a very good driver who gave a very knowledgable commentary. The train ride was great, although not nearly long enough.
While the meal at Rochford Winery was nice, I found the wine was not my personal taste... However others on the trip did enjoy it.
Healesville was great, and I thoroughly enjoyed the park.
My only complaint would be, having opted and paid for the lunch option at Rochford Winery, I would have liked to have had a bit more time to view the menu. We had to make a choice as we were checking onto the bus! I couldn't even read the menu!! (no glasses on) so basically it was...do you want meat, chicken or fish?? While the meal I chose was nice, in hindsight after reading the menu at the venue I would have chosen different. When I go to a restaurant I will spend more than 20 seconds making a meal choice! A suggestion would be to simply ring through the orders from the bus, once customers had made a choice.... After having given them at least 5 minutes to look at the menu!

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Puffing Billy was okay, it rained most of the time and people sat in the windows so it was hard to see around them unless you stood. We only had lunch at Yarra Valley which was nice, no tour was included. The Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary would have been better maybe with a different guide or to go out on our own.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour was every enjoyable, Bill was a great driver/guide, very helpful. The ride on Puffing Billy was too short and we didn't really have time to look at the specialised merchandise. Lunch at the winery was okay but we seemed to be hurried with the meal, although we had plenty of time. The volunteers at the Healesville Sanctuary were excellent, very knowledgeable, and showed us a much as they could in the time available. All in all a worthwhile tour and would recommend it.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Tour guide fantastic and everything until Healesville great. Think it was mainly the rainy weather that closed so much down at the sanctuary. Particularly looking forward to 'Birds of Prey' show. As we got off bus we were told that it would probably be canceled due to the weather. Weather got much worse so we thought it was off but at one stage heard PA, ran around in circles, found show on but were locked out. Several exibits closed. Others the animals were naturally hiding because of the rain. Reptil e house - saw a keeper taking visitors into an interesting looking room - went to follow - had door shut in our face - no sorry too many or only for certain people. Can't help weather but felt that a bit more effort needed to be made or simply close the place.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Our tour guide for this trip was great. Very informative, friendly and helpful. Tea and cake before Puffing Billy was really nice and there are cockatoos to feed (caution advised!). Puffing Billy was good. The lunch at the winery was really good as was the wine. I thought there would be wine tasting, but it seemed you only tasted wine you might like to buy. There was the option to visit more wineries or Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary. This was a guided tour by a keeper which was made it very interesting and the birds of prey show was great. Really enjoyed this trip.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Really enjoyable. Really good knowledge of driver. Puffing Billy was good fun. Healesville had a great range of animals.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message