• USD ($)
  • English

Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Healesville Sanctuary

Healesville Sanctuary is the best place in Victoria to see and interact with native Australian wildlife. Set in natural bushland, the Sanctuary offers the unique opportunity to get up close to Australian animals in an environment that mirrors their ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great trip with lovely views along the way. An excellent trip for all age groups with an interesting stop at the Healesville wildlife sanctuary with knowledgeable staff and a good selection of animals on display.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

had a wonderful day,particularly the wildlife park at Healesville. The coach trip with the driver
commentary was most informative

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Tour was excellent and very professionally handled. Driver (Edward) was informative, friendly and a good driver.

Amazing experience feeding cockatoos, travelling on old narrow gauge train and visiting Healesville animal sactuary. Our objective was to get close to a full set of Australian wildlife - checked that list off! Kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, echidna, platypus, wombat etc with a guide who walked us through the sanctuary explaining about the habits of the wildlife. Bird exhibit was amazing!

Understood from web site that winery visit was included - found it was Healesville Sanctuary OR wine tour - bit more clarity would have been helpful, but didn't detract from the day.

All in all a really good day - amazing experience, I'd really recommend it.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Tour was great! Left on time, had a very witty driver (Wil). The lunch option is a good value for a nice meal with a glass of wine. The train ride was fun and Healesville is a must. I recommend this trip to all ages.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I enjoyed the tour very much with my visitor from France. He loved it very much; the winery and Healesville Sanctuary. Overall, it was a magnifique tour.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Covered a great deal on this day tour. Enjoyed the quaint train ride. Pity it was raining so couldn't enjoy Healesville Sanctuary as much as we would have otherwise. Lunch at the restaurant on the vineyard was of very decent quality considering it is part of a package.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My 4 year old and I had a great time on this day tour. He loved Puffing Billy and Healesville Sanctuary. The tour bus driver was very helpful and friendly. Loved it!

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We were not sure going on a bus day tour was for us, but gave it a go anyway, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. An awesome day trip that we would recommend to all. A beautiful place. Loved the Steam Train, Yarra Valley lunch and Healesville wildlife Sanctuary. Fantastic tour bus driver-Bill who told us about the area, history e.t.c. and had a wonderful sense of humour. Highly recommended. If we new it was going to be that good we would have booked another tour in advance as well!!!!!

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Yes, I enjoyed this tour very much. The Tour Leader - Colin - was a very good driver, and interesting and informative. Really liked the Puffing Billy Steam Train ride through the forest, also enjoyed the Yarra Valley and drive through the Dandenongs. The lunch was very nice at the Rochford Winery. The bird show at Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary was good.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Katie B
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

I am from Melbourne and took a freind over to show them the sights. The trip was fantastic, extreamly well organised and hassle free. It would of been even better if we could of stayed at Healesville Santuary a little longer but no complaints.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2008

We had a fabulous day on this tour. Our driver was very knowledgeable and informative. He even found kangaroo grazing in a field and stopped for us to have a look!! The Healesville Sanctuary was terrific. I would definitely recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a fabulous tour for young families.
We had a great pickup at the Federation Sq and the tour guide, Colin, was such a laugh. very nice, accommodating and funny to boot!
The Puffing Billy ride was quick but it was interesting to see an original steam train. What a lovely thing to be run completely by volunteers!
We did a few detours due to the traffic and saw bits of the Yarra Valley from another direction.
Travellers who booked lunch at the Yarra Valley wineries were taken in a separate bus to the Yarra Valley and brought back to meet us at Healesville.
Healesville was a beautiful animal sanctuary but it was super crowded as it was the long Queen's Birthday holiday weekend. The volunteers who were our guides were very accommodating and helpful. Upon hearing that I needed to use the nursing room to pump, the guide made plans with the other guides to have me in their rest room/ office for 30 mins. Thereafter, the guide came to pick me up and rejoin our group again. What a lovely gesture!
The lunch was a bit of a mess though - due to the holiday and a new system change, we were able to choose anything from the blackboard menu or combinations of sandwiches or pies. I doubt everyone was told but thankfully, we asked and the cafeteria actually had note of my daughter's allergies and we were able to select items which were better suited for her.
The bird show was just wonderful. We saw many Australian bird/ wildlife otherwise not seen and were shown the animal rescue area/ hospital.
Thereafter, we had time for souvenirs, photos and time to head back to the city.
Perfect day tour for families with young children. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This trip is good value for money. Just wished the train trip could have been longer.
The tour guide at Healesville was very informative about the various animals at the sanctuary. She led us at a cracking pace in order to get through everything. The birds of prey flight is not to be missed.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

This is a very enjoyable day out, we had a very good driver who gave a very knowledgable commentary. The train ride was great, although not nearly long enough.
While the meal at Rochford Winery was nice, I found the wine was not my personal taste... However others on the trip did enjoy it.
Healesville was great, and I thoroughly enjoyed the park.
My only complaint would be, having opted and paid for the lunch option at Rochford Winery, I would have liked to have had a bit more time to view the menu. We had to make a choice as we were checking onto the bus! I couldn't even read the menu!! (no glasses on) so basically it was...do you want meat, chicken or fish?? While the meal I chose was nice, in hindsight after reading the menu at the venue I would have chosen different. When I go to a restaurant I will spend more than 20 seconds making a meal choice! A suggestion would be to simply ring through the orders from the bus, once customers had made a choice.... After having given them at least 5 minutes to look at the menu!

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message