Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Melbourne Aquarium

All things fishy swim inside the Melbourne Aquarium, right beside the Yarra River in central Melbourne. The focus is on creatures from the Southern Ocean. Penguins are a particular highlight, along with other Antarctic creatures. Those who dare swim ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour package. Both the great ocean road and phillip island tours were great,we upgraded to vip on the phillip island penguin parade and it was well worth it. In the package we also got tickets for the aquarium and tower.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

absolutely amazing! worth doing...the skydeck was memorable...the Aquarium was amazing...will need to return there to spend more time...as our own time constraints prevented us from looking at everything..will need to allow about 3 hrs or more to get full benefit.

Doing what: Melbourne Attraction Pass: Melbourne Aquarium and Eureka Skydeck 88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

we watched the sunset on the skydeck! heh, i always go to these towers during dusk as you get to see the day scene and the night scene if you stay late enough. it was reaalllyy crowded though, many others had the same idea.

we went to the aquarium in the morning. took the free tram yay! one stop after to pick up our tickets and walk back, the shortest walk ever, really. great aquarium... aquariums are always so fascinating under the sea is always a curious place.

Doing what: Melbourne Attraction Pass: Melbourne Aquarium and Eureka Skydeck 88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A truly memorable experience. One of the best aquariums we have visited.

Doing what: Skip the Line: SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Can't speak highly enough of the aquarium, even the view from the lunch cafe was nice. Eureka sky deck was great fun, despite being scared of heights I braved it and did the edge experience and it was excellent! Terrifying but well worth the extra money.

Doing what: Melbourne Attraction Pass: Melbourne Aquarium and Eureka Skydeck 88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved going to the Aquarium it was well done, the scenery was like a wonder land . The fish all looked healthy and the under water coral were so colourful . I really enjoyed watching the children from the local Schools faces ,as the staff did a good job of answering their questions. Watching the Sharks and Stingrays which were so huge swimming over you in the tunnels is fantastic . Having a Coffee overlooking the Melbourne river just finished a lovely day out .

Doing what: Skip the Line: SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The Eureka tower gives you a Beautiful view of Melbourne . Melbourne Aquarium is awesome a must visit for the whole family.

Doing what: Melbourne Attraction Pass: Melbourne Aquarium and Eureka Skydeck 88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Both trips were wonderful! The day we went to the Great Ocean Road was a rainy day but the weather almost miraculously cleared when we reached the 12 Apostles. Our guide Macca ( I hope that's the correct spelling) was excellent. He was knowledgeable and had an easy going personality that made the day a lot of fun in spite of the weather. It was amazing to see koalas in their natural habitat and kangaroos hopping through the fields. The weather cooperated for the Phillip Island day. Macca was our guide again and again was the perfect guide. We stopped at an animal sanctuary which was the highlight of the day for me. Feeding the gentle kangaroos is something I will never forget. We visited a beautiful farm, a koala conservation place and finished the day watching the little penguins coming home from a long day at sea. Both days were unforgettable and it was great to save some money by booking the trips together. And getting the passes to the Eureka Tower and the Aquarium was good too. We visited both places and enjoyed them tremendously. The pacing of the trips was good too. We made plenty of stops so you could stretch your legs and have a bathroom break. Lunch was provided both days as well. Nothing fancy but it was good and there were places to get snacks if you wanted more. I will never forget the two wonderful trips. Thank you!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great deal! Just not the right day to go up the tower as I wanted to watch the sun set but it was too cloudy. Wish I can go up again.
Aquarium was fun.

Doing what: Melbourne Attraction Pass: Melbourne Aquarium and Eureka Skydeck 88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Loved the penguins and other ecosystems! It is a huge aquarium!

Doing what: Skip the Line: SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a great time at the Aquarium. There were lots of people but we had no trouble viewing the exhibits. The special talks by staff were especially interesting. Glad we arrived early line up later was very long.

Doing what: Skip the Line: SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My Granddaughter and I visited The Aquarium and both thoroughly enjoyed her experience. Her comment was that it was "COOL" G James

Doing what: Skip the Line: SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great aquarium! Lots to see and learn about :-)

Doing what: Skip the Line: SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We did the Great Ocean Road tour on September 18. It is a long day but you are rewarded with amazing scenery along the way. We didn't have the best weather but the trip was fantastic. The stops are fairly short and you will be kept on a fairly tight schedule. The 12 Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge are not to be missed. We did Phillips Island on September 19 and paid for the Penguin Private tour. At Moonlit Sanctuary, pay a little extra to get food for the kangaroos and to cuddle the koalas. I would have preferred skipping the Churchill Farm portion in exchange for more time at the Nobbies and the Penguin Parade. I grew up on a farm so it was not that exciting for me. Since we were doing the private penguin tour, we had to eat dinner at the Nobbies, which left us no time to look around. Also, we were very rushed at the Penguins and did not have time to look in the gift shop. As part of the Penguin Private, we were taken over to the Penguin Plus area. I would say that this is where you get more bang for your buck. Most of the penguins come up this way and there were way more seen here than where we sat front row on the beach. It is another long day. We had the best tour guide/driver, Steve so if you manage to have him, you are in luck! We did all three of the attractions in one day, the Aquarium, Eureka Skydeck and the Old Melbourne Gaol. The Aquarium was just renovated and they have done a great job. The Skydeck is very cool and the view is worth the trip. The Old Melbourne Gaol is very interesting and the Watchhouse Experience was fun. We packed a lot into 3 days but it was worth every penny.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The trips were fantastic; our guide Kyle for Great Ocean Road was brilliant, v knowledgeable and funny and loved the soundtrack he supplied for the day too. We were lucky enough to have Lisa on the bus with us that day too – so sweet and she helped make it fun! Lots of other lone travellers on this tour so a great one for those travelling alone. The Great Ocean Road is every bit as spectacular as you would imagine and I can't wait to get back and explore in more detail.
Highlights of the Phillip Island day were definitely feeding kangaroos and wallabies, they are so cute. We also got to do a tree top walk at a Koala Conservation area so a great photo opportunity to get fairly close to the sleepy bears! Phillip Island was amazing and well worth paying the extra money to get front seats for the penguins. You also get a very knowledgeable ranger who entertains you with interesting penguin facts while you wait for them to show up. The penguins are just adorable – so cute and all huddle together and wait for each other. Do wrap up warm though. Also had another great tour guide driving the bus, Bronwyn – passionate about conservation and wildlife and really added to the whole experience.
Melbourne Attraction pass was good value but the Aquarium was undergoing renovation so felt very small.
I would definitely recommend these tours to everyone I know.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

We enjoyed our trips to the Aquarium, Skydeck and Gaol immensely. My husband is an avid aquarium fan, having 4 fish tanks at home, and found the whole visit amazing. We took my son and his girlfriend with us to the skydeck and all 4 of us found the place fantastic. What views over the city!! We went to the Gaol the next day...very interesting but a bit weird in places...the death masks to name one thing!! We have some great photos to remind us of our stay.Christine. Leicester

Doing what: Melbourne Attraction Pass: Melbourne Aquarium and Eureka Skydeck 88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

A gorgeous aquarium and a wonderful experience! No queueing required makes the visit even better.

Doing what: Skip the Line: SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium Admission Ticket

Rhiannon
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

These tickets were great, just jumped ahead of everyone. Only problem was that I only had my e-voucher and they needed a hard copy so i had to e-mail mine to the aquarium e-mail. Other than that these are great and the aquarium is amazing

Doing what: Skip the Line: SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Purchasing our tickets online before we arrived was the best thing we did. Not only was it $5 cheaper each but the 'skip the line' service saved us waiting in line for 20 minutes with our 1 year old! The Melbourne Aquarium is a great and fun way to spend an afternoon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Must be the best way to get into the aquarium full stop. I showed the email confirmation I was sent after booking the tickets online to one of the aquarium staff managing the line to get in and she took us straight to the front counter and in we went. The aquarium is definitely worth seeing and it has my favourite animal in the world - the leafy sea dragon. All round pleased.

Doing what: Skip the Line: SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The aquarium is a must-see. There are so many amazing exhibitions in addition to the big ones like the walk through oceanarium and the penguins. My 6 year old was captivated for 2 hours so that's how good it was. Highly recommended! Also smooth booking process with Viator, trouble free ticketing and good savings made.

Doing what: Skip the Line: SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium Admission Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

The Aquarium was a nice way to spend a rainy day!

Doing what: Skip the Line: SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium Admission Ticket

Tommy Yeo
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Small group tour which is good. Went for Great Ocean road and Philip Island the next day. Both the tour guides are very nice and entertaining. Come with Eureka tower and Sealife aquarium tickets. Highly recommended

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I went to visit Melbourne Aquarium to see the penguins. Initially we wanted to do the penguin passport tour they had available but unfortunately there was only one spot left. We decided to check out the aquarium any way. The aquarium is much the same as Sydney aquarium however the penguin exhibit was pretty cool. I would definitely go back to see it again. The skip the line tickets were great also - make sure you print the voucher just to be safe.

Doing what: Skip the Line: SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium Admission Ticket

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message