Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Melbourne Cruise Port

Australia’s second largest city, Melbourne is also its cultural capital, with a plethora of museums, galleries and theaters, as well as expansive parklands and attractive Victorian-era buildings. Home to the Australian Open tennis tournament and the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

pteach

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic excursion. Our Bunyip tours guide was great!!. The Puffing Billy train was a lot of fun. Healesvile was amazing with lots of koalas and kangaroos. Our barbecue lunch was delicious.

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Healesville Sanctuary and Puffing Billy Steam Train

Cheryl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was our favorite tour and tour guide. Anthony was amazing! Took us to small wineries, and an amazing educational Opal Dealer. Would recommend and use him again without a doubt.

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Small-Group Yarra Valley Wine Tasting Day Trip

Carrie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour. Excellent service.

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Private City Tour

Yuriy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was very good.

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Private City Tour

Mary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

One of the highlights of our vacation

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Healesville Sanctuary and Puffing Billy Steam Train

grannyo2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Only four of us in the group. Great guide and well picked places to see.

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Small-Group Yarra Valley Day Trip Including Healesville Sanctuary

Norvie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our driver was good but definitely got off topic a few times on where we wanted to go. I would use him again though!

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Private City Tour

ING

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Steve Andrew is a first class tour guide. He went out of his way to ensure that we saw as much as possible.
Puffing Billy Steam Train is fun and the scenery is beautiful.
But nothing can compare with the Sanctuary . Fantastic.
We have already commented that the only thing we were disappointed with is that you advised us to wait for our guide at 0830. So we were down at the port waiting from 0815 and he only arrived at 0930. That was after we spent almost $20 on phone calls (we have an overseas phone line) trying to locate someone in your company to determine what was happening. We almost gave up and went on another tour.

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Healesville Sanctuary and Puffing Billy Steam Train

Karen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Lovely day in the Dandenongs. Puffing Billy train was a fun trip. Healesville had a great variety of animals

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Healesville Sanctuary and Puffing Billy Steam Train

Rmain4 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour and fabulous animal sanctuary! Not to be missed if you want to see all of Australia's wonderful wildlife in a pristine park with natural settings. Viator did a wonderful job making all of our tours great and worry free.

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Healesville Sanctuary and Puffing Billy Steam Train

Neal G

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Steve was a great tour guide. Great tour half the price of the ship

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Healesville Sanctuary and Puffing Billy Steam Train

C John D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Our guide was great, the sanctuary gave us an up close and personal look at

kangaroos.

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Healesville Sanctuary and Puffing Billy Steam Train

Yolanda W USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Long drive to sanctuary but enjoyed that very much. Claire gave us a great tour around since she had worked there before. Steam train was nice as well.

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Healesville Sanctuary and Puffing Billy Steam Train

jim h

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

had problem with communications as where the pickup point was located. Tour and guide were great and we would do it again. Jim and Karen

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Healesville Sanctuary and Puffing Billy Steam Train

Carolyn G

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

It was a fun day the scenery was beautiful, Melbourne is beautiful. The bus, however, was not comfortable and we could hardly hear anything the bus driver said. That was unfortunate since we spent so much time driving.

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Small-Group Yarra Valley Day Trip Including Healesville Sanctuary

MamasitaRita2

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Peter, the guide, was a very kind man. He was not very knowledgeable and flustered at the Healesville sanctuary. Always trying to avoid the other tours, doubling back three or four times. Tough with two people on scooters or wheelchairs. No time to shop. I didn't bring enough money for lunch as I was assured it was included. Peter tried later to slip me some reimbursement. He means very well and graciously gave us an extended tour of the city on the way home. Winery visit nice. Lunch choice poor.

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Small-Group Yarra Valley Day Trip Including Healesville Sanctuary

Pat Z

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

I have two complaints about our Melbourne tour. First, the meeting instructions were not clear. We came off the ship, walked out into an area where there were Celebrity tour busses, cabs, and private tour vans. We were out there at 9:30am - hoping our guide might also be early - and be able to start the tour before 10:00am. With no contact by 10:00am, some of our group walked all the way out to the end and talked with the security people. They said our guide would drive into the area where we had been waiting. Fortunately, one of our group had an international call package and was able to contact your office. Turns out our guide had been waiting outside the security area the whole time. So we didn't start the tour until 10:30am.

It was my understanding that we would talk about possible destinations in Melbourne and get to customize our tour. That was not the case. He started driving us to where he thought we should go. I finally said we wanted to see St. Kilda and the tennis center - which was not part of his plan. He did take us to St. Kilda where we had 30 minutes. But, he merely pointed out the Rod Laver Arena as we drove by. We wanted to go in and walk around as we're all tennis players.

So those two things were disappointing.

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Private City Tour

leoyau71

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

The attractions were simply OK. The train ride was very brief and the Sanctuary while good was overrated. The tour was poorly organized from the start with half the group not knowing where to meet the bus resulting in a 30 minute delayed start. It was difficult to hear the guide who provided very little information about Melbourne. To make things worse, he had problems navigating late afternoon traffic and we were late in arriving at the port.

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Healesville Sanctuary and Puffing Billy Steam Train

Bill H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

There were only four of us on this tour. Being new there was a little confusion as to pick up and drop off times. I was somewhat stressed that we get back to the ship before sailing time. Healesville is a 90 minute drive from the dock and the steam train about 45 minutes from there. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly and he did barbecue a lunch for us. The Featherdale sanctuary near Sydney was a much better experience for me than Healesville. The train ride was brief, historical, scenic but not terribly memorable.

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Healesville Sanctuary and Puffing Billy Steam Train

Leslee B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

The Healesville Sanctuary and the Puffing Billy Steam Train ride were great.
What was not great was the company setting this all up and providing transportation!!!
They are not visible at the ship dock!!!! My sister stayed on the phone with them for over 30min trying to connect with the driver. They seem very disorganized!!! No sign. They said - we are looking for you. How do they even know who we are????? And then the driver barely got us back in time before ship sailinglike 10min. He kept letting off passengers instead of taking us to our ship and then dropping them off. Not impressed!!!

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Healesville Sanctuary and Puffing Billy Steam Train

petersue

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

A long, long day with a boring driver not a guide. Puffing billy is a waste of time. And the Sanctuary is a paltry excuse for a zoo.

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Healesville Sanctuary and Puffing Billy Steam Train

Esther F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

Very disappointing. The sanctuary is a regular zoo.
The guide was very irresponsible left the group to watch a show and it took us more then 20 min to find her.
I wouldn't recommend this part of the trip.
We really enjoyed the train.

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Healesville Sanctuary and Puffing Billy Steam Train

Note from Viator: Thank you for your review, and we appreciate your feedback. We have contacted our local supplier regarding your review to ensure this Melbourne Shore Excursion will provide the best possible experience.

Ruth G E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

This was probably the worst excursion we have taken. Claire, our driver, was irritated that she had been waiting an hour at the ship when we all appeared exactly when our vouchers said to meet. The 12 passenger BASIC van was not comfortable for 11 of us. It was a very uncomfortable ride as the van had no springs/shocks. Several of us were stiff and sore the next day. The van radio was on and Claire talked to the windshield so it was very difficult to hear in the back. She did not have a microphone. When someone asked her to turn down the radio so we could hear her she said, " but, I'm not talking now." and the radio stayed on all day. Healesville was fine although we wandered around as a group trying to find Claire at a BBQ spot where she was cooking. Lunch was basic - good sausages, loaf of bread, 2 small salads and, "if you want something to drink, walk back to the cafe." It would have been nice to know that as we passed the cafe. Time was short so we picked up the Puffing Billy Steam Train at the half way point, missing the famous trestle. Maybe less time at Healesville? The best thing I can say about Claire and this excursion was that she got us back to the ship before it sailed. There has got to have been a better vehicle with a microphone system and a guide that engaged with her people.

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Healesville Sanctuary and Puffing Billy Steam Train

Note from Viator: Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback. We're sorry to hear that the tour didn't go as expected, and we have contacted our local supplier to remedy the issues raised in your review.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message