For most visitors to Victoria, Phillip Island means one thing – penguins! People have been coming here for decades to watch the little penguins return from their day at sea as dusk falls over Summerland Beach during what is known as the Penguin ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 671 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

hms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had a wonderful time in Melbourne. I was there for a total of the best part of 5 days. There was nothing I did that I would not do again. I did the Great Ocean Road tour, the Phillip Island tour, and with the pass I did the Melbourne Zoo, SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium, and the Hop On Hop Off bus. From the bus I stopped at the Queen Victoria Market, the Melbourne Museum, St Kilda and Eureka Skydeck 88.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Lisa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The penguins are gorgeous and well worth the wait! Loved it!

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Ellen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic night. Well worth the long drive to Phillip Island from melbourne CBD. The coach was comfortable and the driver was really nice. He was also very informative telling us interesting facts along the way. Thankyou

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Jeannie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great driver/guide Steve. Before the penguin place, he took us to take pictures on a very scenic spot. Then the kangaroos were everywhere and we were able to take pictures, videos. Steve's instructions were clear and we know exactly where to go and when the penguins will come. We upgraded to the platform and I got a good seat where I can see groups of penguins came up from the sea. It was amazing. They are the cutest thing!

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

hms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Trip was great. Great Ocean Road is beautiful. Bus driver was very informative.

I loved the Phillip Island tour. It was much more than I realized. The penguins were wonderful, but the other parts of the trip were also super. wildlife refuge, Koala refuge, Historic farm, etc. This was a really full day. We left at 11:15AM and got back around midnight.

The attraction pass was simple to acquire and simple to use. I went to the Melbourne Zoo and Aquarium and did the Hop on, Hop off

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Lori A. L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazon trip! Excellent tour guide, beautiful sites, great accommodations and I LOVED seeing the Penguins coming home from a day of fishing!

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

Wee L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

wonderful scenic experience and learnt a lot from the penguin parade.best to opt for the ranger tour to learn more about it.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Adrian J H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

An excellent tour. The driver/guide was both knowledgable and friendly. We had an amazing day meeting koalas wallabies, kangaroos etc and lastly the little penguins. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Louise D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful experience! We did the upgrade to the ultimate penguin experience and we were glad we did - had a great view and our guide made sure we saw everything. An important note to be prepared for is that you can't take pictures on any of these tours as it can scare the penguins.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Barbara P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very nice day in the countryside. We loved the stops - lunch in the trout farm where we also learned a little about Australia plants , Koala recovery center where we could photograph koalas in their natural environment high on eucalyptus tops get a good lense and the Penguins Discovery Center. What was promised was delivered and the tour size was small - 24 people.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Carole G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Truly enjoyed this day tour. Bus driver very knowledgeable and friendly. Quite the scene to watch the penguin parade. Loved it.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Lorrie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Highly recommend this tour. You get to see the Koala, Kangaroo, and Penguins all in one trip!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Edwin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Was truly amazing. I would recommend this to anyone traveling to Melbourne. Seeing all those little penguins coming out of the water and finding their way back to their burrow was like nothing I have ever seen in my life!!!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Tim F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an amazing trip. Everything from the bus to the Penguins to the return trip. The bus driver recommended a restaurant that was one of the best we ate at during our trip. The Penguins are incredible. Making this a full day tout and seeing other animals up close was fantastic. Paying the extra money for the private guided viewing tour was well worth it. The ranger was knowledgeable, enthusiastic and very helpful. We were in Australia, New Zealand, Tasmania and Fiji. This was the best tour we took. Absolutely fantastic!!!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Shailesh S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent all the way. Both the guides were very friendly and knowledgeable making it a very pleasant experience. The penguin parade was beyond my imagination.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

shar United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I loved the entire tour!!!!! It pays to upgrade to the top choice for the viewing platform of the penguins exiting the sea and returning to their burrows. We were the groups that was closest to them and able to follow them up the boardwalk. The small group of tourists was an extra added bonus as we were able to learn much about these little penguins from our ranger.

Also enjoyed visiting the sanctuary where the koalas, and kangaroos were.. We visited several areas in Australia and this sanctuary was the only on that had kangaroos. There were also a lot of wallabies that you could feed

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Matthew Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Definitely do the Penguins Plus! It is worth the extra money. There are literally 300 people on that platform vs. grandstands that seat a few thousand like at a football game. Also, when the tide is out, the penguins turn right to the Penguins Plus platform and walk right past it the folks in the grand stands are literally 500m away.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Green

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Nice overview of the city with lots of time to walk and explore stop sites.
The Farm was a pleasant walk about stop- the sheep shearing demo was interesting.
5 portion -Park area with free roaming Wallabies and the Penguin burrows was exciting. The Penguins are so determined and they waddle close by viewing seating and paths. The Penguin parade starts at dusk and quite windy so it get chilly,January bring your jacket and be prepared for a late return to city. A good day with lots of variety.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Phillip Island Penguin Parade

Tim B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I highly recommend this trip. It was our 2nd highlight of our 3 week Australian trip. Sydney Harbour was our Number 1. Kyle was our overnight tour guide and he made our trip very special and fun. You can tell he loves his job by his involvement with the group and the special care he takes to make sure all are happy. The hotel was nice and only a short distance to the beach but dinner was just ok. Breakfast was very good. My husband enjoyed having someone else drive so he could see all the beauty Australia and the Great Ocean road has to offer. Our second driver Alan was friendly and informative and the seeing the penguin parade was wonderful. The only thing I would change about the trip is I would not stop at the Chocolate Factory unless you were taking the tour. When we stopped the cafe was closed and the chocolates were way to expensive. I dont anyone bought anything in our group of 24. Overall, a wonderful, fun, educational tour.

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

Dale A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This is a must-do tour...long day tho as the penguins dont come ashore until dusk and then the drive back is long..definitely should go for the Group eco tour..takes you to the front line on the sand with binoculars to watch the parade..fantastic..don't miss

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It's so amazing to see these little penguins marching out of the water at the same time, and then going to their burrows on land. It's pretty cold, and you will sit and wait for a while, so dress warmly, or take a blanket with you. I also recommend taking binoculars.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

suellis31

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I would highly recommend the guided ranger tour for the penguin parade. Personally I would have skipped the dinner stop in Cowes to spend more time at the site of the penguin parade. This is food at the visitors center and well as interesting information on the penguins as well as the gift shop.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

stella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour, really worth to join. The driver same person as the guide is experienced and professional. He made much fun to the tour. Lunch is good and delicious. The white and red wine as well as cheese tasting also impressed me very much. Of course, the little penguins are the highlight. They are very cute and lovely! Be reminded that to bring a thick cloth when awaiting to see the Penguin Parade at the viewing platform. Otherwise, you will be freeze!

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Wendy Jane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a really good trip and worth doing, the penguins are just fantastic and so cute. The driver was knowledgable and friendly however, the coach was very cold and the air con needed changing accordingly but never was, take something to put on just in case. The only irritation was that we were asked not to take photos of the Penguins as it frightens them and they want them to keep coming but some people obviously thought that this did not include them and they kept snapping regardless with no real penalty. Very annoying for us that did as we were asked and ended up photo less! We think these people should have been removed which may stop the problem in the long run. It is such a lovely sight and it would be such a shame if these people who seem to be unable to follow simple rules spoil it for others in the future.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Fay S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very good. Dress warmly and maybe take a book if you go by yourself as there's lots of waiting around for the penguins to come in.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message