For most visitors to Victoria, Phillip Island means one thing – penguins! People have been coming here for decades to watch the little penguins return from their day at sea as dusk falls over Summerland Beach during what is known as the Penguin ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 686 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ian M Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic value for money trip. Penguins so cute and the guided option a must if you want to get up close. Guide was very knowledgeable. Dinner in Cowes at the end topped things off nicely. My son loved it.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

tbird

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend this package! We loved our day on the Great Ocean Road tour and also had a great time at Phillip Island. Pictures w a koala bear was a highlight. Having Melbourne aquarium and Eureka Skydeck passes were an added bonus that we enjoyed. I would do these tours again for sure. It was convenient getting picked up at our hotel and the guides were a lot of fun.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Ekta R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide was informative and accommodating. Gave us sufficient time to spend on the island to see the penguins and look around the centre itself. Really enjoyed this tour! Watching the penguins come in at dusk was something quite magical! :

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Faizan Hassan United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The little penguins are just so cute! The whole experience was amazing.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Lynne J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an amazing tour and it was my second time and I enjoyed it even more as we were closer to the penguins this time. We paid to be closer but it was well worth it. They are so cute. This was a smaller tour and very enjoyable. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Mark D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great Ocean Tour was awesome as was the Phillip Island. Eureka Skydeck and the Melbourne Aquarium was fun.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

ELENA B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The little penguins are gorgeous. If you visit Australia make sure you will do this tour. The the pick up was on time, the tour was well organized. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Taylor C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an amazing two-day experience and I can't recommend it highly enough. It was great to get out of the city and see some of the country on the ride out to Great Ocean Road. The views of the water are stunning and the tour is organize is such a way that you get to stop and see all the sights and get plenty of bathroom breaks so it never feels like you're just driving and driving. The stop at the Cape Otway Lightstation was a surprise treat definitely go up for the view!! Jeremy, or tour guide and driver, was personable and knowledgeable and by the end of the day our van had formed into a happy little family. My favorite part of the Ocean Road tour day was Loch Ard Gorge. Honestly, most beautiful place I've ever been.

We did the Phillip Island tour day second. This is PERFECT for any animal lover and anyone wanting to get cozy with Australia's famous wildlife. Our first stop at the Moonlight Wildlife Sanctuary was AMAZING. For 15 we got out photos taken with an adorable koala named Blue Gum. For 2, you can buy a bag of feed and feed the adorable wallabies and kangaroos out of your hand. The wallabies are SO CUTE and gentle. You can wander around and see all kinds of other wildlife too. To be honest I could have done without the trip to the farm. The highlight of this tour is obviously the Penguin Parade, and it doesn't disappoint. The penguin center was really nice and add two nice gift shops and some expensive food. It's really privilege to sit down and watch as nature goes to work and the penguins are pretty adorable. Don't miss this.

I have to say that this two-day pass is a deal! Lunch was included both days, as was the entry fee to all the ticketed places we visited. I feel like I got to see so much in two jam-packed days. Do it!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Margaret H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The penguin parade was awesome. We took the ranger guided tour and were glad we did. The information provided, and a chance to see the penguins meet and greet each other outside their burrows was fascinating.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Matthew

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour guide is humorous, knowledgable and helpful.

Those little penguins are extremely cute. It was such a wonderful experience to be so close to the little penguins and they came back home at evening.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Angela W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful experience. The highlight of course being the penguins. Very comfortable transport and knowledgeable guide and driver. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Hasnah A Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We enjoyed this two day tour by Bunyip with Rob as our tour manager and driver. The route and places to visit were well planned. Rob is knowledgeable answering to all our questions and also a good driver. He always asked questions to ensure that we were all feeling good and comfortable. He ensured that we get our meals according to our religious need. We were also seated comfortably in the bus. Our one night stay at Big4 chalet was also lovely. The unpleasant part was when we have to part with Rob at the Moonlit Sanctuary to join another group. In the afternoon, before the Penguin parade we were arranged to join another group. The tour manager I did not get his name kept giving priority to his original group, we were not allowed to board the bus or put our belongings on the seat before his first group board the bus. He kept talking and joking to his original group and address them by their names, introduced them to us from the new group when he did not even get our names. Thumbs up to Rob and thumbs down to the other guide!

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

hms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had a wonderful time in Melbourne. I was there for a total of the best part of 5 days. There was nothing I did that I would not do again. I did the Great Ocean Road tour, the Phillip Island tour, and with the pass I did the Melbourne Zoo, SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium, and the Hop On Hop Off bus. From the bus I stopped at the Queen Victoria Market, the Melbourne Museum, St Kilda and Eureka Skydeck 88.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Lisa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The penguins are gorgeous and well worth the wait! Loved it!

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Ellen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic night. Well worth the long drive to Phillip Island from melbourne CBD. The coach was comfortable and the driver was really nice. He was also very informative telling us interesting facts along the way. Thankyou

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Jeannie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great driver/guide Steve. Before the penguin place, he took us to take pictures on a very scenic spot. Then the kangaroos were everywhere and we were able to take pictures, videos. Steve's instructions were clear and we know exactly where to go and when the penguins will come. We upgraded to the platform and I got a good seat where I can see groups of penguins came up from the sea. It was amazing. They are the cutest thing!

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

hms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Trip was great. Great Ocean Road is beautiful. Bus driver was very informative.

I loved the Phillip Island tour. It was much more than I realized. The penguins were wonderful, but the other parts of the trip were also super. wildlife refuge, Koala refuge, Historic farm, etc. This was a really full day. We left at 11:15AM and got back around midnight.

The attraction pass was simple to acquire and simple to use. I went to the Melbourne Zoo and Aquarium and did the Hop on, Hop off

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Lori A. L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazon trip! Excellent tour guide, beautiful sites, great accommodations and I LOVED seeing the Penguins coming home from a day of fishing!

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

Wee L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

wonderful scenic experience and learnt a lot from the penguin parade.best to opt for the ranger tour to learn more about it.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Adrian J H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

An excellent tour. The driver/guide was both knowledgable and friendly. We had an amazing day meeting koalas wallabies, kangaroos etc and lastly the little penguins. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Louise D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful experience! We did the upgrade to the ultimate penguin experience and we were glad we did - had a great view and our guide made sure we saw everything. An important note to be prepared for is that you can't take pictures on any of these tours as it can scare the penguins.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Barbara P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Very nice day in the countryside. We loved the stops - lunch in the trout farm where we also learned a little about Australia plants , Koala recovery center where we could photograph koalas in their natural environment high on eucalyptus tops get a good lense and the Penguins Discovery Center. What was promised was delivered and the tour size was small - 24 people.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Carole G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Truly enjoyed this day tour. Bus driver very knowledgeable and friendly. Quite the scene to watch the penguin parade. Loved it.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Lorrie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Highly recommend this tour. You get to see the Koala, Kangaroo, and Penguins all in one trip!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Edwin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Was truly amazing. I would recommend this to anyone traveling to Melbourne. Seeing all those little penguins coming out of the water and finding their way back to their burrow was like nothing I have ever seen in my life!!!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message