• USD ($)
  • English
For most visitors to Victoria, Phillip Island means one thing – penguins! People have been coming here for decades to watch the little penguins return from their day at sea as dusk falls over Summerland Beach during what is known as the Penguin ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 434 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything was great. A comfortable bus, a knowledgeable driver. The penguins were many and fun to watch.
A very enjoyable experience.

We have paid for a "plus" version, which gave us a somewhat better view of the penguins and a less crowded environment. It is also included a fish-and-chip dinner, which was mediocre.

The only unpleasant part of the experience was that, on the way back, the driver of the bus put on a movie, related to penguins. It was late, and many people wanted just to sleep, but the loud and bright movie playing
just in front of my eyes made it hard to sleep. The passengers could not control it, and the driver of the bus could not (or did not want) to turned it down either.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My friend and I were looking for a comfortable, enjoyable and short trip to Phillip Island and we got it. Great comfort, great commentary and quick and easy and enjoyable. Thank you very much!

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour to Philip Island was good and I got a good and wonderful view of the hundreds of penguins coming in from the sea. Worth paying a little more to be so near the penguins.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Cute little penguins return to their home in the evening reminds us how important family is! And they really cute! Nice view at the phillips island. The fish and chips is delicious as well. Thanks viator!

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Overall, it was a fantastic day trip despite the occasional showers and cold wind. My two girls and I loved the Koala Conservation Centre and the visit to Rhyll Trout and Bush a Tucker Farm. It was refreshing to see, touch, smell and taste the various plants grown here at the farm. It was a little disappointing that we saw no seals at Nobbes, but it was the fault of no one. The highlight would have to be the viewing of the penguins when they returned from the ocean. The upgrade to the viewing platform was definitely worth the money.
Driver cum guide Travis from Gowest was entertaining throughout the day. My family would remember this trip for a long time to come.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

After our original Sunday afternoon tour was cancelled due to low numbers, my two kids and I were actually upgraded to a different tour with no fuss and excellent communication. The hotel pickup was EXACTLY on time and Adrian, our bus driver, was fantastic. His commentary was extensive and he gave us great insider tips once at Phillip Island. The penguins were adorable and such an amazing experience for all age groups. My only criticisms are a longer than necessary stop for dinner on the way home....it was almost longer at the town than at the penguins themselves....and tardy, inconsiderate fellow passengers that did not arrive at the bus when we were scheduled to go, consequently delaying us even more!

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour is so great that the weather (it was a rainy day) didn't spoil the fun. First we visited a small farm where we could see and interact with a great variety of animals such as koalas, wallabies and kangaroos. Then, we moved to the place where those little and lovely penguins parade every dusk. It was an unforgettable experience!!! I can't describe how mesmerized I was with such a view! The driver/guide was excellent, too! Ten out of ten!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our ranger guided tour saw us sitting on the beackwithin a few feet of the little penguins. It was a magical experience as these little guys waddled right past us. No photos are allowed so as not to disorient the wild life however this did not detract from the experience.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour and we were pleased to have spent the extra money to have the Ultimate Penguin tour. This is a small group tour although initially you are in a larger group for the first part when you visit the wildlife park but when reaching the penguins you then split into your booked tours. We were picked up from our hotel by minibus and then transferred to a very new clean coach with a great driver who gave us lots of extra information as we went. The wildlife park is small and personal with great "hands on" experiences. Here you can stroke and have your picture taken with a koala, a wonderful experience and worth every penny. They are so sweet and have the softest fur and I was not rushed out for the next person either. You can also feed and stroke the kangaroos, great fun. I would have actually liked more time there. We then went on to see the penguins and it must be realised that no pictures are allowed to be taken when they come to shore even with the flash off. The rule applies to everyone as it damages their eyes. With our tour we had our own seat mats, binoculars and headsets. We had a great tour with our guide and were taken to various places where we could see the penguins much closer then the other tours. The penguins are very small and great fun to watch. They give you lots of information and will answer all your questions. It can be cold, it can be wet so dress for that. Then when that is over you meet back at the coach and this is the part we were not aware of, you then go to a small town afterwards where they stop for you to go and have dinner before returning to Melbourne. The cost is not included but there is a choice of restaurants and we went to the Italian one (which he recommended and ate there himself) which was fine and had very tasty pizzas and wine. We then returned and were dropped off at our hotel. a good tour which I do recommend.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Was a fantastic day. The tour leader and guides at Phillip Island are genuinely passionate about their work, and enjoy sharing it with tourists

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my “direct” Philip Island Penguin tour. Richard who was the driver cum guide had a good sense of humour and also gave us the right tips for watching the penguins up and close. The bus was well maintained and is definitely a better choice then the small tours who claim to give a personal experience but use a small bus. Watching the tiny Penguins this close was an experience of life time. I would highly recommend this trip to all those who are short on time in Melbourne

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The Phillip Island penguins were so adorable! So glad I went to see them while in Melbourne. The driver guide was fantastic and really knowledgeable and helpful. Phillip Island itself is really beautiful, it was nice to get an overview of the island on this tour and to have dinner there.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Both trips were wonderful! The day we went to the Great Ocean Road was a rainy day but the weather almost miraculously cleared when we reached the 12 Apostles. Our guide Macca ( I hope that's the correct spelling) was excellent. He was knowledgeable and had an easy going personality that made the day a lot of fun in spite of the weather. It was amazing to see koalas in their natural habitat and kangaroos hopping through the fields. The weather cooperated for the Phillip Island day. Macca was our guide again and again was the perfect guide. We stopped at an animal sanctuary which was the highlight of the day for me. Feeding the gentle kangaroos is something I will never forget. We visited a beautiful farm, a koala conservation place and finished the day watching the little penguins coming home from a long day at sea. Both days were unforgettable and it was great to save some money by booking the trips together. And getting the passes to the Eureka Tower and the Aquarium was good too. We visited both places and enjoyed them tremendously. The pacing of the trips was good too. We made plenty of stops so you could stretch your legs and have a bathroom break. Lunch was provided both days as well. Nothing fancy but it was good and there were places to get snacks if you wanted more. I will never forget the two wonderful trips. Thank you!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a fantastic trip. We visited Maru wildlife park and were able to hand feed wallabies and kangaroos and saw dingos and koalas and wombats. Then on to the beach in time to see the adorable penguins coming up in great numbers. Check the tide charts for Summerville beach on Phillip Island, and if it is going to be at or near high tide at sundown, I highly recommend the penguin plus or ultimate penguin tour that affords a closer view from private viewing areas. Otherwise the standard fare is fine. Great fun but it can get chilly with the wind blowing in from the ocean. Bring a jacket.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great trip - could have done with a bit more time to watch the penguins heading to their burrows and grab some food/drink for us

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message