For most visitors to Victoria, Phillip Island means one thing – penguins! People have been coming here for decades to watch the little penguins return from their day at sea as dusk falls over Summerland Beach during what is known as the Penguin ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 450 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip is worth doing even just for the beautiful scenery on Phillip Island, so seeing the gorgeous penguins is a fantastic added bonus!!! We really enjoyed ourselves and loved the trip!!! ...Our driver was lovely and friendly and very informative. ...The only possible improvement I could suggest to the whole experience would be if there were some healthy food options at the cafe/penguin visitors center. We were starving but were disappointed to see that deep fried fish and chips, popcorn and chocolate bars seemed to be the only available options for dinner. The rest of the trip was superb :)

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Nice tour, good view, good driver, comfortable and clean coach.. Prefer in platform if you are with children, closer to penguins.. Can not take photos.. Anyway, need to confirm by phone 1 day before.. Overall : Very good!

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

my granddaughter and I loved the tour, glad I did the upgrade for the better views and was less crowded. our guide Norman was great, the bus comfortable and not over crowded. saw wallabys, geese with their baby chicks and of course the penguins, which waddled past so close you could almost touch them.. my granddaughter is already planning activities for our next years trip which will im sure will include a tour similar to this.. thanks for a great arvo/evening will definitely book again

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is a superb tour. I highly recommend the addition of the penguin watching from the platform with the staff.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

John M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is really a must see for anyone visiting Melbourne and having a coach trip like this, takes all the hassle out of the long trip and lets you enjoy the scenery and have a snooze on the way back! Our driver David seemed to know every corner of the landscape of the journey but importantly, gave helpful and explicit instructions regarding what to do and when - e.g. on the premium tour, get to the grandstand early to gain the best spots. The fish and chip dinner was fine should you choose but it can be a long night so consider dinner options. Also, you will need to watch the timings given changes to daylight hours summer and winter. Allow 2 hours (might be less) for travel there and back, traffic depending. The penguins themselves are a delight and this is an incredible natural wonder on a very special part of Australia. If you are staying in Melbourne city, you don't really need a car and this trip is worth the expense for someone that knows where to go efficiently. Double check your hotel pick up - it is only to selected hotels, however, most should be in walking distance or via Federation Square. Even in the middle of winter, the attraction was packed with general tourists and other tour groups - this is a popular event. It is about 3-4 hours travelling for about 1 hour watching the penguin parade but this is a magical hour - take to time to experience.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Such a great time on this tour! We had limited time so an evening tour leaving mid afternoon was perfect for us. The coach ride was scenic and the driver fun and informative. Phillip Island was beautiful and the visitors centre well worth a look around. The stars of the show are the penguins who come out of the sea and waddle up the beach. The viewing platforms on the beach are great to see this but i felt the platforms back to the visitors centre gave visitors a close up view as the pengiuns waddled to their homes. So cute!

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a fabulous time despite the cold weather, and to have the option of a helicopter flight was an added bonus, and one which we thoroughly enjoyed. Paul our driver, was a wealth of information and very obliging.
Would highly recommend this tour. The penguins were adorable and to be able to follow them to their burrows was an experience. Well done.!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was well managed by our tour guide come driver Mr Chris Ann.He was very passionately explaining about the various plants/trees at Bush tucker farm and also about the little Penguins. Visit to the Bush Tucker farm and experiencing the native bush food for lunch was great. Visit to Koala conservation center was a great opportunity to take pictures of Koala. But taking good pictures of Koala can be a challenge! The main attraction was penguin parade. Watching the little Penguins, returning in groups back to their nests at dusk was a great experience. Any lover of animals/ nature will be thrilled with this great evening show by little cute Penguins. An upgrade to at-least to Penguin plus is needed to appreciate these little animals closely. Free WiFi in the mini bus was useful to upload pictures immediately.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Was amazing - worth paying extra for viewing platform plus - saw the penguins up really close

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was so highly organised that we, the tourist do not have to waste our time sitting long hours in the viewing platform waiting for the penguins to start coming back to their burrows. It's really a just in timing experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Lovely! You are so close to the penguins it is amazing! Bundle up in the winter months! It can get chilly by the ocean. I took the sky box upgrade and it was well worth it.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything was great. A comfortable bus, a knowledgeable driver. The penguins were many and fun to watch.
A very enjoyable experience.

We have paid for a "plus" version, which gave us a somewhat better view of the penguins and a less crowded environment. It is also included a fish-and-chip dinner, which was mediocre.

The only unpleasant part of the experience was that, on the way back, the driver of the bus put on a movie, related to penguins. It was late, and many people wanted just to sleep, but the loud and bright movie playing
just in front of my eyes made it hard to sleep. The passengers could not control it, and the driver of the bus could not (or did not want) to turned it down either.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My friend and I were looking for a comfortable, enjoyable and short trip to Phillip Island and we got it. Great comfort, great commentary and quick and easy and enjoyable. Thank you very much!

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour to Philip Island was good and I got a good and wonderful view of the hundreds of penguins coming in from the sea. Worth paying a little more to be so near the penguins.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Cute little penguins return to their home in the evening reminds us how important family is! And they really cute! Nice view at the phillips island. The fish and chips is delicious as well. Thanks viator!

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message