For most visitors to Victoria, Phillip Island means one thing – penguins! People have been coming here for decades to watch the little penguins return from their day at sea as dusk falls over Summerland Beach during what is known as the Penguin ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 556 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. The penguins are a real highlight. Recommended.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Phillip Island Penguin Parade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Even though it was raining, the Little Penguins were incredible to hear and see.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!
The driver very very helpful and everything was absolutely perfect!
The view of the penguins especially from the deck with the rangers it's som it cannot be explained by words!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I consider this the highlight of my trip to Melbourne. These little creatures are amazing. I chose the Ultimate tour and am SO glad because I was literally right next to the penguins as they made their way up to the beach. The tour guide's commentary throughout the tour was very interesting and a wonderful accompaniment to the whole experience. Animal nature is incredible. I only wish I had had a bit more time to peruse the souvenir shop. Having stayed out with the penguins for as long as possible, the tour bus was ready to leave and I didn't get a chance to look around. Must go back!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fabulous! Our driver Adrian, had a great sense of humour, was incredibly knowledgable and gave great information about the trip. The koala park was brilliant but don't give all your kangaroo feed away in the first part, wait for the big field of kangaroos!!! The Penguins were such adorably cute creatures - jumping off curbs and running over the sand in rafts. I would recommend the upgrade. Front row seats next to where the Penguins come to shore - amazing!!!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The guide Will was fun, witty, and a pleasure to have guide us around. The pace of the tour was perfect not too long or too short at any of the stops. Feeding and touching the animals was quite an experience and breath-taking views were worth it. The penguin parade was a little hard to see in the dark but seeing them come out of nowhere from the ocean was fun. It gets cold on the beach but all in all it was a wonderful tour and we fully enjoyed it. Thank you D

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A special tour to the Penguins environmemt.We upgraded to the smaller viewing platform and enjoyed close observation Peter shared his knowledge of the area .We left feeling priviledged to have been part of the daily Penguin routine.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was awesome! A great end to a great holiday.
Had a fantastic time on the helicopter ride, spending time with the kangaroos and the koalas and nothing beats seeing the penguins.
Thank you to the Driver Guide and AAT KIng for a fantastic time.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent trip - Frank our tour guide was extremely informative. The Penguins were super cute and I would recommend buying the 'Plus' ticket.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Gin
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wow....we saw so much in 2 days! We did the Great Ocean Road on January 12th, our 1st day in Melbourne, and were blessed with wonderful sunny weather and a momma and baby koala bear sighting. Lots of time spent on the bus but I still managed to get a sunburn UNDER my t-shirt. Our 2nd day it rained most of the day as we toured Phillip island but even the rain didn't dampen our spirits as we toured this incredible place. Our guides for both tours were excellent as was the itinerary. Well done!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Really fun day out!Daniel was a great guide and made everything very interesting.He even lent my daughter his jacket when she was cold in the evening.The penguins were so sweet and really worth the wait.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great night for viewing the penguins. The premium package was excellent value. Only downside of the night was the behaviour of some stupid people who ignored the rangers and persisted in taking photos.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our coach driver Carey sp? took good care of us and was a great tour guide. I would recommend bringing a blanket or a warm windbreaker for when you're outside waiting for the penguins.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a very wonderful tour. Our driver Stuart, from GoWest, picked us up and the fun never stopped. First we stopped at a restaurant and had a wonderful lunch. I had the quiche. Saw a trout farm, and then we went wine tasting. Next off to see koalas and kangaroos. Our final destination the penguin parade. It was amazing to see those little penguins coming in from the ocean and walk all the way up the beach, over rocks and past to find their burrows. They are so small and you don't realize how small they are until you actually get to see them. Stuart was awesome the whole time. Our best interests were always at the top of his list of where to find the koalas to where to sit for the penguins. He even baked us cake and brought coffee, hot chocolate and tea. This was a first class tour all the way.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour, a must if visiting Melbourne - Highly recommend the Guided Ranger Tour. Gives you a greater understanding of why the Little Penguins do what they do, front row seats and a better view. Would definitely book this tour again

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This trip was the highlight of our holiday. What a fabulous evening. The coach was comfortable with plenty of leg room for the 2 hour journey down to Phillip Island. Our tour guide was very interesting and informative. I"d recommend upgrading though to the prime viewing position and the fish and chip supper. The penguins were fantastic and we had a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very worth to visit, have opporunities to meet koala and penguins, also have a chance to taste the fantastic cheese and wine. the only thing i think they should improve is that remind visitors to take a coat, it's quite cold after dark coming.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Tour guide was great and showed us way more than the brochure listed. Penguins were sooooo cute

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This trip was worth the trip to Australia alone. The drive/guide Adrian was generous and inspired, and looked after his guests in royal style. The coach was comfortable and convenient. But the site of the penguins is unlike anything else I have ever seen or will see. It's nature and the world at its absolutely wonderful.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Ericka A
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A great day and although it rained very hard at the penguin parade it was worth it, just to see the Penguins they are amazing little creatures. Dave our driver and guide was excellent. A thoroughly great day out and would recommend to do this.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Stuart was a great and informative guide, had a blast of a time with him and enjoyed this trip. had an awesome day out with the trip to the wineries, the nobbies and the penguin parade. it is highly recommended to do the ranger tour as you really can understand their conservation work with the penguins and enjoy the parade with multiple views. as well as getting an awesome view you get a binoculars and also support the conservation effort.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I very much liked the little penguins, the visit to see cute koalas and kangaroos, and the beautiful sceneries.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Tour was splendid! With a little extra fee you can get to pet a koala. Included you can feed wallabies. At the end of the day can walk along side by side with penguins as they make their way to their burrows. All were unique experiences.Also like to thank our tour guide Edward for being so nice.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The driver was fantastic. The penguins we're excellent

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We took the whole tour, meaning we left Melbourne in the afternoon and finished this around 11:00 p.m. back in the city. The finish time varies depending on the season, with the summer it's later. This tour is great to start off our visit in Melbourne. I had seen this more than 15 years ago but this time it didn't disappoint. I will definitely recommend the guided ranger option as you can stroll along the Penguin+ boardwalk to see many penguins even when you only saw a few on the shore. Sometimes the numbers you can see on the shore vary from 40 to 400 from night to night.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message