For most visitors to Victoria, Phillip Island means one thing – penguins! People have been coming here for decades to watch the little penguins return from their day at sea as dusk falls over Summerland Beach during what is known as the Penguin ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 635 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

suellis31

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I would highly recommend the guided ranger tour for the penguin parade. Personally I would have skipped the dinner stop in Cowes to spend more time at the site of the penguin parade. This is food at the visitors center and well as interesting information on the penguins as well as the gift shop.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

stella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour, really worth to join. The driver same person as the guide is experienced and professional. He made much fun to the tour. Lunch is good and delicious. The white and red wine as well as cheese tasting also impressed me very much. Of course, the little penguins are the highlight. They are very cute and lovely! Be reminded that to bring a thick cloth when awaiting to see the Penguin Parade at the viewing platform. Otherwise, you will be freeze!

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Wendy Jane B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a really good trip and worth doing, the penguins are just fantastic and so cute. The driver was knowledgable and friendly however, the coach was very cold and the air con needed changing accordingly but never was, take something to put on just in case. The only irritation was that we were asked not to take photos of the Penguins as it frightens them and they want them to keep coming but some people obviously thought that this did not include them and they kept snapping regardless with no real penalty. Very annoying for us that did as we were asked and ended up photo less! We think these people should have been removed which may stop the problem in the long run. It is such a lovely sight and it would be such a shame if these people who seem to be unable to follow simple rules spoil it for others in the future.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Fay S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very good. Dress warmly and maybe take a book if you go by yourself as there's lots of waiting around for the penguins to come in.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Siobhaan T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Lovely evening out - driver really informative on the way to Phillip Island and then the whole experience of watching the penguins was really special being so close to them. We were on the upgraded package. Lovely to see all the wallabys bouncing about on the way in as well. there were still a lot of stupid people taking photos after being warned of the damage to the penguins site. They need to stop people taking phones and cameras down to the viewing area - anyone who is in Melbourne should take a few hours to experience

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Jiawen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The Island itself is a great attraction for me! Great view and sightseeing, lovely Penguins. Make sure you bring a jacket, it is quite cool and windy when watch the penguin although we went there in December.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Teddy TheBear

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was a really good day! The zoo was cool, and the penguins parade is just awesome. We boked the ultimate option which worth it, you'll be staying on the beach with kind of a chair provided which is compfy, and also binocular so you can see the penguins well! They don't allow pictures during the pinguin parade but at least you enjoy the full time!!!
You may be able to do it by yourself, it's up to your motivation for the 2h drive from Melbourne one way.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

pwf6464

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a wonderful experience, the staff were all very helpful and the penguins were a delight

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Jane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Booking was quick and easy, pick up from hotel was on time and we had a great view of the Penguin Parade.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Sylvia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic to see the penguins. Well worth the VIP upgrade!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Anwar H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful trip. Possibly the highlight of our trip to Australia. The trip was long, but the breaks were very well timed in between. My wife and I traveled with our 4 year old daughter. The stop to the koala and kangaroo petting/feeding park was wonderful. Nice stops for lunch/dinner at some quaint towns. The penguin parade was excellent! It was great to see the little penguins parading just a few feet from us - an incredible experience. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Karen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Loving the day tour end to end especially the Phillip Islamd tour. Our driver Colin was simply fantastic. Very patiently explaining to us and drove us to areas where we can see the tiny penguins in sight and even able to snap secret shots at convenient sights. Arrived slight before midnight and the kids were exhausted but definitely enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Andy Einhorn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The perfect day! Our tour guide Edward and our Penguin VIP Guide Claire made the experience one that we'll never forget. The wildlife park was excellent we went to one in Sydney that was less than favorable and here you can feed large kangaroos and pet adorable koalas. Philip Island and the penguins were unforgettable - it's unreal to see these little penguins in their natural environment. I would definitely recommend the VIP tour so you can get as close to them as possible. Edward always kept the bus entertaining and lively with his great commentary. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

aaritu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Everything was great and as mentioned about tour.. we took both tours on same day... Our tour operators wad grey line,.. Tour operators were very friendly, puntual and welcoming... there is not much to enjoy in city tour but Philip island is good... its a bit windy and cold at philip island... little penguins are so cute.. its worth waiting to watch them emerge from sea...

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Phillip Island Penguin Parade

Lenleb47 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

gr4eat day of visiting w/coalas ,kangoros,walabies and penguins

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

David T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide Adrian was very informative about the surrounding areas of our tour destination as well as the route itself. I found him to be a wealth of information and would recommend him if one would like to take this destination journey. As for the penguins themselves, they are not only cute, but interesting to watch. i found though that the surrounding wildlife also seen was a joy to watch, especially the wallabies that inhabit this same area.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Rich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a great tour. Tour guide was terrific - very knowledgeable. Enjoyed the entire tour, but of course the best part was the Penguin parade. Bought the guided Ranger tour and it was well worth it. Sat directly on the beach in front of everyone else. The Penguins came out of the water directly up to us and walked around. Came within a few feet. With out the Ranger tour you sit in bleachers back off the sand, and although you can still see the penguins, the best way to get close is the Ranger tour.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Roger E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

An outstanding attraction which allows the visitor to get very close to the penguins. WONDERFUL.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I love the penguin parade. This was my second time and while I paid the extra for the premium viewing it wasn't necessary as I would have seen as much from the other seats. Even so I still give it 5 stars as it is just amazing to watch this little bit of nature. I also liked being on the express tour so I didn't need to leave Melbourne until 4pm.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Helen Ng

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Penguins . so lovely to watch.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I will absolutley be recommneding this tour to everyone I talk to, I had the best two days and I am really glad I was told to visit the great ocean road and see the penguins when I came here or else I am may not have come across this tour! There was so much beautiful sights, I found the tour very well planned, I learned so much and I did everything I possibly could have! My tour guides were Peter and Rob, and they both get gold stars, they were funny and quirky and they gave a ton of knowlegde and information about all the stops we took as well as interacted very well with ALL of the members. I am Jennifer from Canada, and I would like to thank you for two fabulous days! I will also upload some pictures when I get to a computer :

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

Albert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The whole trip was very well managed and we all saw plenty of wildlife before arriving at the penguin viewing area.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Marina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Best tour ever!!! Nicky was adorable, with a great sense of humor. She entertained us all the time. We had a lunch on the trout and bush tucker farm, where Nicky made us a tour and explained about local plants - it was very interesting. We visited a very nice small winery where we tasted wines and cheeses - it was very good. The Phillip island is spectacular, especially Nobbies views. The only time I saw a koala that was not sleeping, was in this tour. And of course, the best conclusion of this tour is a penguins parade - the cutest thing I ever saw.
As I said - the BEST tour ever!

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Monkey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fabulous day! Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable, polite and friendly.
The ride to Philips Island was quite long from the hotels but the guide made it pleasant by talking the whole way. Stopped for dinner by the beach and was enjoyable as well. And of course, the penguins were adorable.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

John H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Long trip and some stops, like at the petting zoo, could have been shorter. However, enthusiasm of guide Adran, and the thrill of the penguins and wallabies on Phillips Island made it worthwhile.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message