Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Puffing Billy Railway

All aboard Puffing Billy – Australia's most popular steam train ride! Running daily from the foothills at Belgrave to the mountain town of Gembrook, Puffing Billy is the most fun way to tour the Dandenong Ranges. Puffing Billy's rattling red ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 145 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

IR R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a wonderful day all round. The hotel pick up went without a hitch and the driver, Adrian, kept us entertained with his comprehensive knowledge of the history of the area and all the wineries. His soothing voice unfortunately put all the Asian tourists to sleep! but the rest of us enjoyed it. The puffing billy ride was a wonderful view again to the past. Our lunch at Rochford Winery was excellent, along with the wine tasting. Would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Tour was excellent and very professionally handled. Driver (Edward) was informative, friendly and a good driver.

Amazing experience feeding cockatoos, travelling on old narrow gauge train and visiting Healesville animal sactuary. Our objective was to get close to a full set of Australian wildlife - checked that list off! Kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, echidna, platypus, wombat etc with a guide who walked us through the sanctuary explaining about the habits of the wildlife. Bird exhibit was amazing!

Understood from web site that winery visit was included - found it was Healesville Sanctuary OR wine tour - bit more clarity would have been helpful, but didn't detract from the day.

All in all a really good day - amazing experience, I'd really recommend it.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Tour was great! Left on time, had a very witty driver (Wil). The lunch option is a good value for a nice meal with a glass of wine. The train ride was fun and Healesville is a must. I recommend this trip to all ages.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Absolutely wonderful day spent with the best tour guide ever!!! I learned so much and had the best time at each of the destinations. My only criticism would be that the train ride was not long enough! The food at the Yarra Valley destination of Roachford winery was outstanding and the service people there were very happy and relaxed as well. Nothing but good things to say about this trip! Thankyou for the experience

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic scenery, wineries,and steam train (Puffing Billy). The whole tour, including lunch was not expensive. Lunch could have been better, however, it was still pretty good.
The driver was very knowledgeable and was a nice guy and very funny. We had a fun day.
The coach picked us up quite close to our hotel, but getting back to hotel in peak time traffic was slow.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Totally brilliant! ... But don't opt for hotel pick up as AAKings won't!!! Instead, go to Federation square at the allotted time (we experienced a mad dash when hotel pick-up failed to pick up!
The trip is excellent, commentary great, food yum, puffing billy (25 mins) awesome and sanctuary brilliant!

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic day. We loved the variety of activities such as the train trip, wine tasting and the coach tour. A day to remember enjoying the sites of rural areas of Melbourne. Lovely!!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Covered a great deal on this day tour. Enjoyed the quaint train ride. Pity it was raining so couldn't enjoy Healesville Sanctuary as much as we would have otherwise. Lunch at the restaurant on the vineyard was of very decent quality considering it is part of a package.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My 4 year old and I had a great time on this day tour. He loved Puffing Billy and Healesville Sanctuary. The tour bus driver was very helpful and friendly. Loved it!

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Well organised and highly enjoyable. Roger, our tour guide, was very friendly and knowledgeable about the places we visited and made for a pleasant, relaxing day. Good pace and time to enjoy the sights. Loved Puffing Billy - took me back to my childhood when I last visited with my family. Great day!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We were not sure going on a bus day tour was for us, but gave it a go anyway, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. An awesome day trip that we would recommend to all. A beautiful place. Loved the Steam Train, Yarra Valley lunch and Healesville wildlife Sanctuary. Fantastic tour bus driver-Bill who told us about the area, history e.t.c. and had a wonderful sense of humour. Highly recommended. If we new it was going to be that good we would have booked another tour in advance as well!!!!!

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Have a great day, lunch was awesome, our driver Adrain was very knowledgable and interesting to listen to.i would highly recommend this tour and when I visit Melbourne again I will defiantly go on puffing billy again and let my friend know

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Have a great day, lunch was awesome, our driver Adrain was very knowledgable and interesting to listen to.i would highly recommend this tour and when I visit Melbourne again I will defiantly go on puffing billy again and let my friend know

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Yes, I enjoyed this tour very much. The Tour Leader - Colin - was a very good driver, and interesting and informative. Really liked the Puffing Billy Steam Train ride through the forest, also enjoyed the Yarra Valley and drive through the Dandenongs. The lunch was very nice at the Rochford Winery. The bird show at Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary was good.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Azizi A
Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

It was an excellent day out with the family.Our driver and guide,David, was very informative and accomodating. Puffing Billy was excellent, wished we could ride the train longer. We enjoyed the lunch at the vineyard, it was simple but delicious. Highly recommended for family with young or older children. We had used Viator for the Great Ocean Road tour before and we are very please with your services and will use your services again in the future.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message