Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Puffing Billy Railway

All aboard Puffing Billy – Australia's most popular steam train ride! Running daily from the foothills at Belgrave to the mountain town of Gembrook, Puffing Billy is the most fun way to tour the Dandenong Ranges. Puffing Billy's rattling red ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 166 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Steve Andrew is a first class tour guide. He went out of his way to ensure that we saw as much as possible.
Puffing Billy Steam Train is fun and the scenery is beautiful.
But nothing can compare with the Sanctuary . Fantastic.
We have already commented that the only thing we were disappointed with is that you advised us to wait for our guide at 0830. So we were down at the port waiting from 0815 and he only arrived at 0930. That was after we spent almost $20 on phone calls (we have an overseas phone line) trying to locate someone in your company to determine what was happening. We almost gave up and went on another tour.

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Healesville Sanctuary and Puffing Billy Steam Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour,Puffing Billy was a great experience and the food and wines were first class.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Lovely day in the Dandenongs. Puffing Billy train was a fun trip. Healesville had a great variety of animals

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Healesville Sanctuary and Puffing Billy Steam Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Puffing Billy and Yarra Valley Wineries tour from this company was awesome! The tour guide (driver) was very friendly and very patience on the passengers. And also they are puncture on the timing. By time I reached CBD from the tour, I still manage to go to Brighton Beach for an evening walk. Highly recommended!!! Give 5 stars~~~!!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Fun ride on the Puffing Billy but a little short. Feeding the cockatoos and rosellas in the Dandenong Ranges was really neat. Healesville Sanctuary was definitely worth seeing.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We met our tour at federation square, our driver was Edward and he was amazing, very funny and even more knowledgable. The tour itself was great, first time on puffing billy I felt like a Big kid on a day trip, the sights were great going through the dandenongs and the wineries were just as good

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

All of the places we visited are interesting. Many lessons learned abt nature n animals. Puffing Billy is very classic. No one should miss visiting these places. The tour team is very friendly, the coached bus driver is very informative n funny. Enjoyed his funny jokes on the way to the destination.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a fantastic experience and I will highly recommend to anyone. Roger, our driver was an absolute legend, I would give him 10 Stars if I could! He was full of knowledge and facts about Melbourne and Australia in general which he related to us and kept us all entertained throughout the day. The Puffing Billy was a lovely experience and the wineries we visited were exceptional. Met some lovely people from various places and overall a perfect experience :)

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Lovely day out. The driver was knowledgeable about the areas we travelled through as well as the wineries and the wine!! Lovely lunch at Rochford and three very different vineyards and wineries. Puffing Billy was fun.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

IR R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a wonderful day all round. The hotel pick up went without a hitch and the driver, Adrian, kept us entertained with his comprehensive knowledge of the history of the area and all the wineries. His soothing voice unfortunately put all the Asian tourists to sleep! but the rest of us enjoyed it. The puffing billy ride was a wonderful view again to the past. Our lunch at Rochford Winery was excellent, along with the wine tasting. Would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Tour was excellent and very professionally handled. Driver (Edward) was informative, friendly and a good driver.

Amazing experience feeding cockatoos, travelling on old narrow gauge train and visiting Healesville animal sactuary. Our objective was to get close to a full set of Australian wildlife - checked that list off! Kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, echidna, platypus, wombat etc with a guide who walked us through the sanctuary explaining about the habits of the wildlife. Bird exhibit was amazing!

Understood from web site that winery visit was included - found it was Healesville Sanctuary OR wine tour - bit more clarity would have been helpful, but didn't detract from the day.

All in all a really good day - amazing experience, I'd really recommend it.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Tour was great! Left on time, had a very witty driver (Wil). The lunch option is a good value for a nice meal with a glass of wine. The train ride was fun and Healesville is a must. I recommend this trip to all ages.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Absolutely wonderful day spent with the best tour guide ever!!! I learned so much and had the best time at each of the destinations. My only criticism would be that the train ride was not long enough! The food at the Yarra Valley destination of Roachford winery was outstanding and the service people there were very happy and relaxed as well. Nothing but good things to say about this trip! Thankyou for the experience

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic scenery, wineries,and steam train (Puffing Billy). The whole tour, including lunch was not expensive. Lunch could have been better, however, it was still pretty good.
The driver was very knowledgeable and was a nice guy and very funny. We had a fun day.
The coach picked us up quite close to our hotel, but getting back to hotel in peak time traffic was slow.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic day. We loved the variety of activities such as the train trip, wine tasting and the coach tour. A day to remember enjoying the sites of rural areas of Melbourne. Lovely!!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message