Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Puffing Billy Railway

All aboard Puffing Billy – Australia's most popular steam train ride! Running daily from the foothills at Belgrave to the mountain town of Gembrook, Puffing Billy is the most fun way to tour the Dandenong Ranges. Puffing Billy's rattling red ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 205 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michelle A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our Puffing Billy tour was terrific, a very enjoyable experience. Our guide was friendly and very informative and I would recommend this tour to everyone both young and older.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Train With Optional Penguin Parade or Melbourne City Tour

Susan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A fantastic day! The ride on the Puffing Billy steam train was a lot of fun and the visit to the wineries was relaxing. Lunch was delicious. Our bus driver/guide, Adrian, was extremely helpful and shared a wealth of knowledge about the areas we visited.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

travelman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A nice trip to see a historic train, plus you get out into the country away from the city of Melbourne. We visited three wineries, each of different sizes. At one we had an optional lunch, which was very good.The train ride was so nice I would like to have had a longer one!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Mrs D H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Can't praise this tour enough. Very professional. Excellent driver/ guide - entertaining and informative. Comfortable coach. Pleasant morning tea and excellent lunch at the Rochford Winery . Enjoyed the ride on Puffing Billy and the wine tasting was excellent.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

ChambeWA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Lots of fun. Really enjoyed the train ride. The Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary was well worth the visit. We had an excellent guided tour. Super tour.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Philip S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great trip on an awesome train. The scenery along the route is amazing. We done the bus tour and train trip combined and would highly recommend doing both as the bus tour is very informative and the stops along the way are well worth doing. Feeding the birds was great and morning tea was yummy.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Train With Optional Penguin Parade or Melbourne City Tour

Marina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very nice tour. The buffy billy is nice, wineries are very good, especially Yering. Our guide forgot his name was very funny and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Chiro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The whole day was great, even though it rained early on and during the train ride. The bus driver was fantastic a bag of knowledge during the whole trip, including taking us on an unexpected detour to a local chocolate factory. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a really fun tour. Guide Adrian really is knowledgeable about the areas we visited and he capably shared that with us. The steam train was fun. Adrian really encouraged everyone on the tour to get to know each other, By the end everyone was having a friendly time. I'm sure the good wines tasted at the three impressive wineries didn't dampen the atmosphere. Recommend this tour and Adrian.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Meng Liang T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The trip lasted several hours.. but most probably the kids only remember the train ride. Its simply fantastic!

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Jennifer L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Good day trip the scenery was lovely a nice day getting to know the Yarra valley and puffing billy train ride was delightful!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Steven L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Really would recommend this tour. Had an interesting running commentary from the driver who had a good sense of humour. Puffing Billy is a must do. Had a great lunch at Rochford Winery and enjoyed sampling the local wines.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

ScoutMidwest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We took the full day Puffing Billy/Yarra Valley Healesville Sanctuary trip. The coach was clean and comfortable, and the driver was well informed and interesting. We had a nice stop for morning tea/coffee price included and a grand ride in a reserved car on Puffing Billy.

We opted to visit the Healesville Animal Sanctuary rather than the wineries, in the afternoon. If you are traveling with children, this is s good opportunity to see Australian animals with a trained docent. The bird show was amazing.

We had a last minute stop at a chocolate shop, and then home.

For those who have only seen cities in Australia - this trip is a great opportunity to see country and forest.

Tips:

Hotel Pick Up - nice and easy but also caused us to he ready over an hour before tour actually started. If you are staying anywhere near Federation Square, where the actual tour bus originates, grab a coffee and brekkie and enjoy the walk.

Sun Lotion - if you are doing the Healesville Sanctuary, you might need some for the bird show.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Aurora L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

big tour bus group! driver Richard was one with jokes. lovely guy. it starts out strange after you're picked up from your hotel you're dropped off at another location where you wait for your bus alongside many other tour groups, so don't get on the wrong bus! the highlight was the train ride, a must-do! it was just one stop but a good ride nonetheless. it rained a little melbourne and it's weird weather huh, but dampened no one! we had 3 wineries, and the last stop might have been the best stop where we bought a 6pack of the pink lady apple cyder. delish! lunch was.. hmm.. well i had the beef cheek and it was really strong smell, so unless you like that, it may not be a great choice. but the menu may change anyway.

part of our bus stopped at the wild life place while the rest of us went on with the wines. so i guess there was that option too :P

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Brian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic day, Puffing Billy above expectations.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Stephen a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very enjoyable, Roger, the driver was informative and humorous, Puffing Billy trip excellent (if a bit short, but then again I'm a train enthusiast), the wineries we visited were marvelous and even squeezed in a trip to the chocolate farm! Well worth it and a good experience of the Yarra and danedongs region too.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Gee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our whole family loved this trip and the whole day itself.

The coach driver Peter had a wealth of local knowledge as well as the history behind the 'Puffing Billy' which made it even more special.

The train ride itself was very enjoyable and our 3 young kids loved it. The trip afterwards around the animal sanctuary was also lovely and our guide Rae was great fun and got our kids involved.

If you are planning on visiting Melbourne and thinking of a day trip then this is a must !

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

ING

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Steve Andrew is a first class tour guide. He went out of his way to ensure that we saw as much as possible.
Puffing Billy Steam Train is fun and the scenery is beautiful.
But nothing can compare with the Sanctuary . Fantastic.
We have already commented that the only thing we were disappointed with is that you advised us to wait for our guide at 0830. So we were down at the port waiting from 0815 and he only arrived at 0930. That was after we spent almost $20 on phone calls (we have an overseas phone line) trying to locate someone in your company to determine what was happening. We almost gave up and went on another tour.

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Healesville Sanctuary and Puffing Billy Steam Train

Albert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour,Puffing Billy was a great experience and the food and wines were first class.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Karen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Lovely day in the Dandenongs. Puffing Billy train was a fun trip. Healesville had a great variety of animals

Doing what: Melbourne Shore Excursion: Healesville Sanctuary and Puffing Billy Steam Train

irise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Puffing Billy and Yarra Valley Wineries tour from this company was awesome! The tour guide (driver) was very friendly and very patience on the passengers. And also they are puncture on the timing. By time I reached CBD from the tour, I still manage to go to Brighton Beach for an evening walk. Highly recommended!!! Give 5 stars~~~!!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Jennifer E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Fun ride on the Puffing Billy but a little short. Feeding the cockatoos and rosellas in the Dandenong Ranges was really neat. Healesville Sanctuary was definitely worth seeing.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Michelle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We met our tour at federation square, our driver was Edward and he was amazing, very funny and even more knowledgable. The tour itself was great, first time on puffing billy I felt like a Big kid on a day trip, the sights were great going through the dandenongs and the wineries were just as good

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Izz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

All of the places we visited are interesting. Many lessons learned abt nature n animals. Puffing Billy is very classic. No one should miss visiting these places. The tour team is very friendly, the coached bus driver is very informative n funny. Enjoyed his funny jokes on the way to the destination.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Rachel H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a fantastic experience and I will highly recommend to anyone. Roger, our driver was an absolute legend, I would give him 10 Stars if I could! He was full of knowledge and facts about Melbourne and Australia in general which he related to us and kept us all entertained throughout the day. The Puffing Billy was a lovely experience and the wineries we visited were exceptional. Met some lovely people from various places and overall a perfect experience :)

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message