Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Puffing Billy Railway

All aboard Puffing Billy – Australia's most popular steam train ride! Running daily from the foothills at Belgrave to the mountain town of Gembrook, Puffing Billy is the most fun way to tour the Dandenong Ranges. Puffing Billy's rattling red ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 172 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Really would recommend this tour. Had an interesting running commentary from the driver who had a good sense of humour. Puffing Billy is a must do. Had a great lunch at Rochford Winery and enjoyed sampling the local wines.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We took the full day Puffing Billy/Yarra Valley Healesville Sanctuary trip. The coach was clean and comfortable, and the driver was well informed and interesting. We had a nice stop for morning tea/coffee price included and a grand ride in a reserved car on Puffing Billy.

We opted to visit the Healesville Animal Sanctuary rather than the wineries, in the afternoon. If you are traveling with children, this is s good opportunity to see Australian animals with a trained docent. The bird show was amazing.

We had a last minute stop at a chocolate shop, and then home.

For those who have only seen cities in Australia - this trip is a great opportunity to see country and forest.

Tips:

Hotel Pick Up - nice and easy but also caused us to he ready over an hour before tour actually started. If you are staying anywhere near Federation Square, where the actual tour bus originates, grab a coffee and brekkie and enjoy the walk.

Sun Lotion - if you are doing the Healesville Sanctuary, you might need some for the bird show.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

big tour bus group! driver Richard was one with jokes. lovely guy. it starts out strange after you're picked up from your hotel you're dropped off at another location where you wait for your bus alongside many other tour groups, so don't get on the wrong bus! the highlight was the train ride, a must-do! it was just one stop but a good ride nonetheless. it rained a little melbourne and it's weird weather huh, but dampened no one! we had 3 wineries, and the last stop might have been the best stop where we bought a 6pack of the pink lady apple cyder. delish! lunch was.. hmm.. well i had the beef cheek and it was really strong smell, so unless you like that, it may not be a great choice. but the menu may change anyway.

part of our bus stopped at the wild life place while the rest of us went on with the wines. so i guess there was that option too :P

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic day, Puffing Billy above expectations.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very enjoyable, Roger, the driver was informative and humorous, Puffing Billy trip excellent (if a bit short, but then again I'm a train enthusiast), the wineries we visited were marvelous and even squeezed in a trip to the chocolate farm! Well worth it and a good experience of the Yarra and danedongs region too.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our whole family loved this trip and the whole day itself.

The coach driver Peter had a wealth of local knowledge as well as the history behind the 'Puffing Billy' which made it even more special.

The train ride itself was very enjoyable and our 3 young kids loved it. The trip afterwards around the animal sanctuary was also lovely and our guide Rae was great fun and got our kids involved.

If you are planning on visiting Melbourne and thinking of a day trip then this is a must !

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour,Puffing Billy was a great experience and the food and wines were first class.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Puffing Billy and Yarra Valley Wineries tour from this company was awesome! The tour guide (driver) was very friendly and very patience on the passengers. And also they are puncture on the timing. By time I reached CBD from the tour, I still manage to go to Brighton Beach for an evening walk. Highly recommended!!! Give 5 stars~~~!!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Fun ride on the Puffing Billy but a little short. Feeding the cockatoos and rosellas in the Dandenong Ranges was really neat. Healesville Sanctuary was definitely worth seeing.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We met our tour at federation square, our driver was Edward and he was amazing, very funny and even more knowledgable. The tour itself was great, first time on puffing billy I felt like a Big kid on a day trip, the sights were great going through the dandenongs and the wineries were just as good

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

All of the places we visited are interesting. Many lessons learned abt nature n animals. Puffing Billy is very classic. No one should miss visiting these places. The tour team is very friendly, the coached bus driver is very informative n funny. Enjoyed his funny jokes on the way to the destination.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a fantastic experience and I will highly recommend to anyone. Roger, our driver was an absolute legend, I would give him 10 Stars if I could! He was full of knowledge and facts about Melbourne and Australia in general which he related to us and kept us all entertained throughout the day. The Puffing Billy was a lovely experience and the wineries we visited were exceptional. Met some lovely people from various places and overall a perfect experience :)

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Lovely day out. The driver was knowledgeable about the areas we travelled through as well as the wineries and the wine!! Lovely lunch at Rochford and three very different vineyards and wineries. Puffing Billy was fun.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

IR R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a wonderful day all round. The hotel pick up went without a hitch and the driver, Adrian, kept us entertained with his comprehensive knowledge of the history of the area and all the wineries. His soothing voice unfortunately put all the Asian tourists to sleep! but the rest of us enjoyed it. The puffing billy ride was a wonderful view again to the past. Our lunch at Rochford Winery was excellent, along with the wine tasting. Would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Tour was excellent and very professionally handled. Driver (Edward) was informative, friendly and a good driver.

Amazing experience feeding cockatoos, travelling on old narrow gauge train and visiting Healesville animal sactuary. Our objective was to get close to a full set of Australian wildlife - checked that list off! Kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, echidna, platypus, wombat etc with a guide who walked us through the sanctuary explaining about the habits of the wildlife. Bird exhibit was amazing!

Understood from web site that winery visit was included - found it was Healesville Sanctuary OR wine tour - bit more clarity would have been helpful, but didn't detract from the day.

All in all a really good day - amazing experience, I'd really recommend it.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Tour was great! Left on time, had a very witty driver (Wil). The lunch option is a good value for a nice meal with a glass of wine. The train ride was fun and Healesville is a must. I recommend this trip to all ages.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Absolutely wonderful day spent with the best tour guide ever!!! I learned so much and had the best time at each of the destinations. My only criticism would be that the train ride was not long enough! The food at the Yarra Valley destination of Roachford winery was outstanding and the service people there were very happy and relaxed as well. Nothing but good things to say about this trip! Thankyou for the experience

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic scenery, wineries,and steam train (Puffing Billy). The whole tour, including lunch was not expensive. Lunch could have been better, however, it was still pretty good.
The driver was very knowledgeable and was a nice guy and very funny. We had a fun day.
The coach picked us up quite close to our hotel, but getting back to hotel in peak time traffic was slow.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Fantastic day. We loved the variety of activities such as the train trip, wine tasting and the coach tour. A day to remember enjoying the sites of rural areas of Melbourne. Lovely!!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Covered a great deal on this day tour. Enjoyed the quaint train ride. Pity it was raining so couldn't enjoy Healesville Sanctuary as much as we would have otherwise. Lunch at the restaurant on the vineyard was of very decent quality considering it is part of a package.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My 4 year old and I had a great time on this day tour. He loved Puffing Billy and Healesville Sanctuary. The tour bus driver was very helpful and friendly. Loved it!

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Well organised and highly enjoyable. Roger, our tour guide, was very friendly and knowledgeable about the places we visited and made for a pleasant, relaxing day. Good pace and time to enjoy the sights. Loved Puffing Billy - took me back to my childhood when I last visited with my family. Great day!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We were not sure going on a bus day tour was for us, but gave it a go anyway, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. An awesome day trip that we would recommend to all. A beautiful place. Loved the Steam Train, Yarra Valley lunch and Healesville wildlife Sanctuary. Fantastic tour bus driver-Bill who told us about the area, history e.t.c. and had a wonderful sense of humour. Highly recommended. If we new it was going to be that good we would have booked another tour in advance as well!!!!!

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Have a great day, lunch was awesome, our driver Adrain was very knowledgable and interesting to listen to.i would highly recommend this tour and when I visit Melbourne again I will defiantly go on puffing billy again and let my friend know

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Yes, I enjoyed this tour very much. The Tour Leader - Colin - was a very good driver, and interesting and informative. Really liked the Puffing Billy Steam Train ride through the forest, also enjoyed the Yarra Valley and drive through the Dandenongs. The lunch was very nice at the Rochford Winery. The bird show at Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary was good.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message