Rod Laver Arena is best known as the main venue for the Australian Open – an international tennis tournament that attracts thousands of visitors to Melbourne every summer. Named after the tennis player Rod Laver, a three-time winner of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Perfect name for the tour. Our sports lovers package included trips to Flemington horse race track, the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Rod Laver tennis arena, and admission to the sports museum at the MCG.

It's a jam-packed day of fun facts and sports! Our tour guide Anthony was informative, funny, and pleasant. We spent about an hour at each stop, which was a reasonable amount of time.

My only critique is that we hit up lunch on the later side, about 1pm, which I wasn't expecting. The meal options at Etihad stadium are plentiful though. You won't leave hungry!

We also appreciated that hotel pick up and drop off was available. Perfect for tourists like us!

Doing what: Sports Lovers Tours of Melbourne, Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour has been a great experience! We enjoyed playing tennis on show court 3 of Rod Laver Arena and won't forget this moments ever. Simon was a really nice tour guide with remarkable knowledge.

Doing what: Sports Lovers Tours of Melbourne, Australia

Helen B
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was excellent. Anthony was our guide, he was awesome, very knowledgeable. The tour around the city between sporting venues was much more than we expected and was very informative for tourists. The tour guide at the mcg was great he was so informative and knew everything you could have asked. The guide at rod laver was lovely she knew so much about the players. It was great tour, you have great access to places and able to take lots of pics. Would recommend to anyone but especially if you have a interest in sports. We really enjoyed our day thanks to Anthony. Thanks again.

Doing what: Sports Lovers Tours of Melbourne, Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

IIf you love sport then this is a must tour. Guide was just great the tours of Flemington, The MCG, Rod Laver Arena and Sports Museum are wonderful. Lunch with a view at Etihad just amazing, planning another tour with these guys just brilliant. First class service.

Doing what: Sports Lovers Tours of Melbourne, Australia

Jenny C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

For anyone who loves there sport this tour is a must. Thanks Anthony for a fantastic day. Had lunch at Etihad Stadium which was really quite nice. This is only a small group tour which I think is a lot better than any of the bigger tours, much more personalised and everyone is very friendly. Went to Flemington race course, Rod Laver Arena, MCG, Albert Park Track and Etihad Stadium. I could rave about this tour and have so since I returned home. Anthony is very knowledgeable and nothing is a problem for him.

Doing what: Sports Lovers Tours of Melbourne, Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This was a very good tour the only problem we had was we didn't actually get to see Rod Laver Arena. Flemmington was really good and now i want to go a see a race especially The Melbourne Cup. The best part was the brewey tour. I would definitely recommend this tour well worth the effort.

Doing what: Sports Lovers Tour of Melbourne plus Foster's Australia Brewery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

WONDERFUL time. We played tennis on Margaret Court Arena--my friends are jealous! Sammy was a great guide.

Doing what: Sports Lovers Tours of Melbourne, Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Our hotel pickup was on time but we were told to stay at point 2 for the City Tour when the bus was waiting for us further down the line.Inner City part of the tour was good . I did not like the drivers tour of the outer suburb homes and his rambling talk about his father and explaining Vegemite. I would have preferred a look in the MCC and Tennis Courts. The Yarra river was OK . the tour leader on that queried my pre paid voucher. Overall I would give it a 5 out of 10 .

Doing what: Melbourne City Sights Morning Tour with Optional Yarra Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message