Australia’s foremost outdoor museum, Sovereign Hill takes history to a whole new level. Houses, shops and places of work have all been carefully crafted on the 25 hectare site to reproduce an 1850s mining town. The ‘township’ of over 60 ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 53 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this trip. The coach was very comfortable and Mike our coach driver was very nice and gave the most informative commentary on the various sites along the way not to mention the wonderful tour through Ballarat and the history he told of the place, and hints on how to make the most of our day. We did not take the option of the Wildlife Park and we are glad we did that as although we believe the park was excellent we found we needed every bit of time we could get at Sovereign Hill to look at everything that was on offer there. We panned for gold and found some! We went down into the underground gold mine and loved every minute of that experience, although if you don't like confined spaces then don't go down as one lady had to be taken back up again. There was plenty of room to move around down there. We saw the wheelwright doing his work and the blacksmith working on some tools and we bought an old horse shoe from him for $5 to take home as a souvenir, we got to buy the best ever sausage rolls at the Bakery store..yummo were they good and they had cakes and pastries to chose from as well, there was a restaurant there and coffee shop for anyone wanting to eat, we did the horse drawn wagon ride around the town and loved that too, there was a display by one of the 'policemen' of an old 2ring shotgun and later the 'soldier boys' marched through the street and gave a display of shooting the 3ring shotguns. The whole day was wonderful and one we will treasure always. We would highly recommend booking through Viator as we found it easy and we could ring to answer some questions we had the staff on the phone were so curtious and helpful. One of the highlights of our Melbourne trip and we are telling everyone about it. Loved it.

Doing what: Ballarat and Sovereign Hill Day Tour with Optional Wildlife Park from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a fantastic day. From the moment we were picked up, till the we were dropped of. The driver was fantastic. Kept us informed. Gave us plenty of time and info on the tour. I would highly recommend this tour to all, locals, Australians and definitely the overseas tourist. And the bus was sooo comfortable quiet and smooth. Highly recommended

Doing what: Ballarat and Sovereign Hill Day Tour with Optional Wildlife Park from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a lovely day out on this trip. The coach driver was fantastic a really nice guy. The time we had at Sovereign Hill was just right, it was a memorable experience. The Gold Museum which was included was excellent. The real surprise was the wildlife park it was amazing and we enjoyed it as much as we did the big wildlife parks in Australia.

Doing what: Ballarat and Sovereign Hill Day Tour with Optional Wildlife Park from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

It was a nice trip - highly recommend including the Ballarat Wildlife Park as part of the tour.

Doing what: Ballarat and Sovereign Hill Day Tour with Optional Wildlife Park from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

great day tour didn,t find any gold though

Doing what: Ballarat and Sovereign Hill Day Tour with Optional Wildlife Park from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The coach driver was knowledgeable and friendly, the drive through Ballarat was interesting and enough to whet our appetites for a return visit. Sovereign Hill lived up to our expectations. It is an outstanding tourist attraction and kept us happily occupied all day. It was nice to arrive so early before the crowds arrived, and it was also a nice touch that the coach driver made us aware of his location during the day if there was any assistance needed.

Doing what: Ballarat and Sovereign Hill Day Tour with Optional Wildlife Park from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The Viator trip was undersold so we were placed with another opereator.
We were picked up from our hotel at the appointed time and aldo dropped off afterwards.
Sovereign hill was amazing, highly recommended. The wild life park should be missed to spend more time at Sovereign hill in our opinion.
Only coment, wish we could have had more time at Sovereign Hill and left when the facility closed at 5pm and not left at 3:30....

Doing what: Ballarat and Sovereign Hill Day Tour with Optional Wildlife Park from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful place to visit! Will certainly recommend it to friends.

Doing what: Ballarat and Sovereign Hill Day Tour with Optional Wildlife Park from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great day out spoiled only by rain from about lunch time. The driver was terrific and a great communicator. The coach was very comfortable. what more can be said - it was a very enjoyable day

Doing what: Ballarat and Sovereign Hill Day Tour with Optional Wildlife Park from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Fantastic day. Highly recommend any one to go on this

Doing what: Ballarat and Sovereign Hill Day Tour with Optional Wildlife Park from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Fantastic, the best tour ever. I really like the procedure that you can pick up the guests in their hotel. The driver/tour guide was absolutely amazing with his knowledge.

Doing what: Ballarat and Sovereign Hill Day Tour with Optional Wildlife Park from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

panning gold in sovereign hill, a lot of activities around.

Doing what: Ballarat and Sovereign Hill Day Tour with Optional Wildlife Park from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Excellent tour, great places visited, as above tour guide was well informed and a godd communicator.

Doing what: Ballarat and Sovereign Hill Day Tour with Optional Wildlife Park from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

The trip was great. The driver considerate and happy. Would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Ballarat and Sovereign Hill Day Tour with Optional Wildlife Park from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message