St Kilda is Melbourne’s iconic seaside suburb and is just a short tram ride (6km) away from the CBD. Featuring several attractions including the Victorian-styled fairground, Luna Park, St Kilda Sea Baths and the shopping and restaurant strips of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 39 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Well organised and a superb way to see the city. My wife and I booked for the 3 course early dinner slowly meandering from Melbourne to St Kilda. The food was outstanding we had the Angus steak with our wine glasses being regularly topped up. Staff really did look after us and we felt that the whole evening was the best way to see the city. Already highly recommended to our friends.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great value - four course meal (lunch) with an open bar. The food was all delicious, and our waitresses (Emina and Lucy) were very friendly. Tram went down to St Kilda, though not around the city (excluding Spencer St).

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We did the 5.45pm dinner. It was fantastic as was light the whole trip, and being from Perth, we loved seeing the sights from the city to St Kilda and foreshore, and back to city. The food was beautiful - 3 courses plus tea/coffee. Would highly recommend to any visitors to Melbourne

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a great night the two waiter had us laughing all night . The food was well presented and very tasty and the drinks were different all through the meal . You get to see and lot of St Kilda ,and Melbourne sights. This was the third and my husband second time dinning on the tram .It was nice to met the chief before you dine, I didn't see one person on board that night who wasn't enjoying it. Well done what an enjoyable night .

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a good way to discover the streets of Melbourne. Especially St Kilda beach and I got to wave to my host-uncle's dog. The toilets were a bit disappointing compared to other renovated transport carriages I have visited in Victoria. But a pleasant experience.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great way to see Melbourne, St Kilda and surrounding areas. Very informative.

Doing what: Melbourne City Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a wonderful evening. The surroundings are very elegant. The food was to die for....especially the desserts and all the while you are travelling around St Kilda and South Melbourne.Waiting staff were very attentive and friendly.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A must do if you are in Melbourne. The waiters were excellent, polite, friendly and helpful. Good meal and excellent trip to St. Kildas. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great night from start to finish the staff amazing food fabulous the trip was great bonus was we got to see
The lovely sights of St Kilda a must if in Melbourne.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This experience is a TOTAL MUST. Having heard about it from others we took the plunge and booked an early evening dinner for 4. We were welcomed on board by very friendly staff and shown to our seats. We were served champagne and our waitress detailed the evenings trip. The food on the tram was totally 5* some of the best we have ever had (and we have travelled and eaten at many fine 5* establishments) the steak (which we had) was melt in the mouth, the starters mouth watering and the puddings to totally die for. The drinks flowed throughout the trip - no skimping or waiting for the drinks waitress to pass by. The staff were attentive, polite and ensured this was the trip of a lifetime. The tram took us to St Kilda and back and the ride was smooth and exciting. We cannot wait to return and maybe try the late dinner or lunch trams. This trip will NOT disappoint if I could give it 10 stars I would.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Really enjoyed the ambiance of Tram car and the lunch food was very good. Staff was great with us! Nice ride to St. Kilda beach.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was fantastic, would recommend the tramcar lunch. Our waiters for the lunch were absolutely wonderful. We got to see lots of Melbourne CBD and St Kilda. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

A fantastic lunch whilst travelling the streets of Melbourne and St Kilda. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Chris S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Wonderful experience. Good food, friendly service, generous drinks. A meal with a difference in a setting of old-world charm. A bonus was seeing St Kilda and the waterfront.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

A great way to spend an evening in Melbourne. The food, drinks and service were great and the scenery on the way to and from St. Kilda was great. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

A perfect evening. Well organised, great food and wines, attentive friendly service.
Enjoyed traveling to St kilda on the tram, very comfortable and attractive furnishings.
Would do again.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience for that is what it was, a new, exciting experience. Travelling along the waterfront area of Sth Melb and St Kilda on a tram with a glass of sparkling was so relaxing! We have asked friends to join us for another dinner early in the new year.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This can only be described in one word "AWESOME". From the moment we got onto the tram car restaurant we knew we were in for some fun. Melanie and Matt made were looking after Tram Car (4) and they did a very good job at giving us lots of laughs. Chef Rebecca did an outstanding job withe the food, we even tried kangaroo, which we have never had before. The steak could be cut with a butter knife. I normally don't go steak but it was devine. I recommend this to anyone that has the opportunity to do this. We had the lunch time tram car and went all the way around city and out to St. Kilda and back. I think you see more during the daylight however night time would be pretty also. I wish we could have done it again when friends of ours turned up a few days later. AWESOME!!! K and M May2012

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Paula D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Totally enjoyable experiece and would recommend it to anyone. It was a gift to my husband for his 66th birthday. We did the lunch trip as we live 3 hours away. The day was perfect and we travelled past all the market stalls in St Kilda and along Ackland St then through Middle Park past all the cute cottages. The service was great and the food cooked, presented and served very well!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Ian
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Hi, Joy and I couldn't have been more pleased with the Tramcar Restaurant trip. The meal was as great, if not better than some restaurants that we have eaten in. The staff were very generous in making the meal and trip a memorable one for us and my wife's girlfriend Jenny. The only thing that I would have liked, was to make a loop around the outskirts of Melbourne city something like the free tram, instead of triping up and down St Kilda's main street several times. Otherwise I would not hesitate to recomend this attraction to our friends to add to their travel itineries.
Regards, Joy and Ian Ellis. It's definately 5 star!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

We had a wonderful experience on the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant. The greeting we received was great, the food was exceptional and the drinks were readily offered. The trip through to St Kilda was great and we were able to view some lovely historic and beautifully presented homes. This was a great celebration for our 30th Wedding Anniversary and the highlight of our long weekend away visiting from Queensland.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

We invited our friends from Surrey UK on the Tramcar Restaurant. None of us had travelled on it before and thought it was amazing. The weather was perfect as we cruised the streets of St Kilda, Middle Park and South Melbourne. We dined well on an entree of mushroom risotto or farmed trout then well prepared and beautifully cooked chicken or eye fillet beef. The cheeses were also beyond our expectation as they were tasty, creamy and at room temperature, unlike directly from the fridge as is the case in many restaurants. The service was highly professional as the staff predicted our every want. Even at the end when I asked the waitress if we could take the menus with us, she was actually picking one up and placing a carnation in the middle as she presented both menus to the females in our party. I could not fault any aspect of the trip or service and it was obvious that the company worked on a continuous improvement principle. I will continue to recommend the tramcar restaurant to all our friends from Melbourne, interstate and overseas. Congratulations.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

We were in tram no. 2. The food and wine were excellent, the entertainment the very best and we had a fine trip to Skt. Kilda. A very fine way to end end our journey in Australia before going home to Denmark.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Excellent experience - 5 course the way to go. 3 full hours - went right out to st kilda and through the city. Great food and atmosphere. Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Shere'e M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

We had a fab time. The atmosphere was great, and the staff looked after us very well, with food, drink and lots of laughs. Enjoyed seeing Melbourne & St Kilda via tram and at night.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message