• USD ($)
  • English
The Block Arcade is a heritage-shopping arcade that was built in the late 1800s. Restored to its original glory, the arcade still features its original mosaic tiled flooring, glass canopied ceiling and wrought iron and carved stone finishes. In ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 22 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An ABSOLUTE MUST for first timers to Melbourne. Along with learning some interesting information about the history and architecture of Melbourne; knowing where the "right" laneways and arcades" are for shopping and eating made getting around the city so much easier.

Doing what: Melbourne Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fantastic tour. Very professional guide and we learn so much about melbourne. We kept coming back to the lanes and arcades the following two days

Doing what: Melbourne Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour

Anne W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The Hidden Secrets Tour was wonderful, a thoroughly enjoyable way to see Melbourne's hidden secrets and learnt that you need to look up to see the amazing architecture of the arcades, lanes and buildings of the city. Our two guides on the day were knowledgeable, friendly and showed us another side to a great town.

Doing what: Melbourne Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We did this tour a couple of days ago, on the day after arriving in Melbourne. It seemed like a good way to get familiar with the CBD given that out hotel is within it, and that we are here for the week.

From our starting point at Federation Square, we were taken down along the river side linear park, Birrarung Marr, with frequent stops to listen to a brief history of the city's foundation, the indigenous significance of the area and explanation of various point of interest. This was followed by a return to the southern streets of the CBD, a taste of the lane ways and cafe culture, the grandeur of the Block arcade and Collins St, and a stroll to the South Bank precinct before returning to Federation Square. There was also a stop to enjoy a coffee from one of the iconic sidewalk cafes that are ubiquitous here.

Our tour was very ably led by Gerry, a newly recruited guide in training under the watchful eye of Dave. Gerry was a wealth of information, and when he didn't know something, Dave was able to fill in the gaps. Both of them were very pleasant and easygoing and made us feel immediately at ease.
We enjoyed a very pleasant stroll and learnt heaps. We also got to some things we would easily have overlooked, such as the quirky street art and the hidden gems like the ANZ building that is the site of Melbourne's original stock exchange.

I strongly recommend this 3 hour walking tour to anyone who is recently arrived and wants to get their bearings, both geographically and culturally. It's also a nice way of occupying oneself for an afternoon, and the fee is very reasonable.

Doing what: Central Melbourne Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

It was an excellent arcade walkin tour with an excellent tour guide
Abdul

Doing what: Melbourne Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Sarah our tour guide was fantastic. You visit many lanes, arcades and shops and it's great to go in cause if you see something you want to buy, you can come back later because your walking tour is mapped out for you and you receive discount offers so hold off and check what you have in your little goody bag you get at the start of the tour.

Doing what: Melbourne Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

I loved the lanes and arcades tour. The guide was enthusiastic and really knowledgeable and I retraced our steps afterwards and really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Melbourne Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Where do I start! This walking tour was everything and more than we had expected. Although we had been to Melbourne on a number of occasions, we had decided to take a walking tour during this visit. Sean (our guide for the tour) initially met us, introduced himself and proceeded to inform us of what the tour would entail. The company provided a useful bag which contained a map of our tour and the all important bottle of water! It was lovely to have a small group as it enabled everyone to interact. Sean provided so much information as we wondered through the back lanes and arcades - going to places we would never have dared to enter! Coffee and lunch (including a glass of wine if you wish) are included in the cost of the walk - both very yummy! My sister and I would highly recommend this walking tour to anyone who is visiting Melbourne.

Doing what: Melbourne Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

I have already recommend the Lanes and arcades walking tour to all of my friends. We had walked right past the best parts of the city not knowing what was down the lanes. Our
guide Sean knew a lot of the local history and was perfect for the job.

Doing what: Melbourne Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed the Melbourne Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour. Our guide was very friendly and informative and the whole experience was very positive. Can't wait to get back to Melbourne to spend more time looking around and browsing, now that I know where to go. Great concept. Regards Robyn

Doing what: Melbourne Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Excellent way to get to know Melbourne in a leisurely and friendly way. The small group is ideal and the walking required is not all strenuous. The sampling of little shops in lanes and arcades was great and I will definitely be returning to some of them. Thanks for a great day!

Doing what: Melbourne Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Very friendly, informative and helpful guide. I found the history and architecture of the buildings, arcades and lane ways fascinating! The morning tea and lunch were good and the card sized shopping guides gave me all the information I needed to go back and visit the places of particular interest to me. A most enjoyable morning!

Doing what: Melbourne Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

The experience was really great for both my sister and myself. We had been to some of the arcades ourselves but there were many we would not have found, particularly the button shop and the kimono shop. The guide was a wealth of information and extremely attentive to what we were interested in and sought out shops that were of interest to us.

Doing what: Melbourne Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour

Verna F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The Melbourne Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour was wonderful; we found things that we wouldn't have found on our own. The guide was marvelous, it was like walking with a friend. Thank you for a great day. I would thoroughly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Melbourne Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Who would have thought that there was so many interesting laneways in a major capital city? Our guide Sarah was extremely knowledgable about everything she was able to answer all our questions. When we next visit Melbourne we will definately revisit these lanes and arcades. The coffee and chocolates were excellent and the meal at the conclusion of the tour was also excellent. Well done Viator.

Doing what: Melbourne Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message