Washed by crashing waves just off the craggy shoreline of western Victoria, the dramatic Twelve Apostles stand sentinel off the Great Ocean Road. Once joined to the surrounding mainland, the limestone outcrops are a Victorian icon and an enduring ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 114 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was MARVELLOUS. The only setback was the weather. It rained when we arrived at the 12 Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge. It was so windy and cold too, but I still managed to get there and see the 12 Apostles. I even dragged myself to the Loch Arg Gorge and it was well worth it. the Great Ocean Road was awesome. Those who visits Melbourne/Victoria must experience this tour. I intend to come again. Serious.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a fabulous day out. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

Dave the driver was excellent. From his choice of music to his helpfulness, he got everything spot on. His commentary was interesting and fun.

We were lucky to have a less warm day for the trip. Any warmer and we wouldn't have enjoyed it as much.

Highlight was the helicopter ride over the 12 Apostles. I'd do it again in a flash.

One small point, choosing a Thai restaurant for lunch is not a good idea. My partner wouldn't have eaten any of the food that was available. Something more mainstream would be safer.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a most enjoyable experience. our tour guide Roger was very knowledgeable and accommodating to all our needs. He rearranged the schedule to ensure the best experience at the 12 Apostles and was happy to help in any way. A great day trip for anyone considering this tour!!! Thanks

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The driver and guide of the trip to the Great Ocean Road is Jack. He is friendly and patient. He spoke slowly and clearly so that we were sure the very time we should assemble. He is knowledgeable as well. The views on the way are extraordinarily fantastic, especially the Twelve Apostles. We enjoyed ourselves very much.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely top-notch tour, thanks to Daniel, our driver/guide. He told interesting tales, was very knowledgeable and very personable. His playlist of music was a perfect mix of oldies and new stuff. We took the helicopter tour of the 12 Apostles on his recommendation and loved it. It was worth every penny. The day was long but it went by so quickly. I wear a pedometer and even with sitting in the bus such a lot, we walked 10,000 steps. Will recommend this tour to all my friends.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our guide was very experienced and made the adventure fun. Take the helicopter ride over the 12 apostles. It was really special!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour is absolutely amazing and a must see when you are in Melbourne. It was a long day tour but well worth it. The 12 apostles are stunning scenery both from the ground level and up.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

From start to finish this tour was excellent! Jarrod, our guide, was very knowledgable and enthusiastic and really made the trip all the more enjoyable. The lunch stop served some fantastic food as well. The views of the Twelve Apostles were absolutely fantastic. If you're in Melbourne I highly recommend taking this tour.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our day on this tour. The scenery is superb and our stops along the way gave us plenty of time to enjoy each locale. Our driver Alan was very knowledgeable and shared very interesting stories. We had a great group of people from all over the world and we were the only Aussies on board. Just wished we had gone on the helicopter ride at the Twelve Apostles. Everyone who did, had the most amazing flight. Lunch at Apollo Bay was great and morning tea at Lorne was provided in a lovely setting overlooking the bay. We spent plenty of time at each of the three stops at the Twelve Apostles, even climbing down the stairs to the beach at Loch Ard Gorge. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful tour, with a guide who knew her stuff and amiably shared it. I really enjoyed seeing the countryside that was a little bit inland as we traveled from spot to spot, including the little rain forest walk. The Twelve Apostles rocks were phenomenal. I had a great time!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The trip was excellent -- great way to see Australia after 2 weeks of working in Melbourne! Highly recommend taking the Helicopter ride over the 12 Apostles -- a breath-taking, not to be missed experience!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Sally C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was great! Our driver Colin was friendly and informative. He brought us to a few scenic stops before heading to lunch and the 12 apostles (or I should call it 8 apostles now). Those stops were beautiful and he lent us his koala doll for photo taking. On top of the scenic stops, the tour includes two 30 min coffee breaks, one before lunch and one on the way back to town. Although I personally think the coffee breaks are not needed but it may be good for older people who wish to have some breaks from a long journey - a full day tour from 7:30am pick up time to 8:00pm hotel drop off.

Peace of mind - We joint the tour inclusive of lunch. although lunch was a bit rip off (for its portion) however it was still good, a peace of mind on finding food across the restaurants. In addition to the tour, the coach has a toilet, another peace of mind on needing to go toilet on traffic jam or on highway.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Jill
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a very early start and the weather didn't look that promising. But boy did it improve as the morning progressed! We had a lovely breakfast before heading to the Great Ocean Road. We stopped at Bell's beach for morning tea. It was a bit grey and windy but there were surfers trying their best to catch a wave! saw Koalas and birds where we stopped for lunch. Plenty of birds but not many Koalas. I think we were lucky to see any (it is their natural habitat and not a zoo or wildlife park). Then it was off to the Twelve apostles. We prepaid for the helicopter ride and it really is the only way to see the stunning rock formations. Absolutely made our day. Chris, our tour guide was terrific. Very patient with the people who ALWAYS came back late, even after he explained why we had to keep to the schedule! If you have limited time, this is definitely the way to see this iconic region

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We toured with Bunyip Tours for the Great Ocean Road Sunset tour. It is a relaxing and incredible to go on. We had a tour guide named Rail (apologise if wrongly spelt) and he made the trip worth the while. As stated you end up at the 12 apostles just before sunset and that experience is a 'one in a life time' sunset! trust me, dont miss it! google it if you don't believe me.

Doing what: Full-Day Great Ocean Road Sunset Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the whole trip, especially the 12 minute helicopter ride over the 12 Apostles!. The driver Daniel was excellent and professional. Wish the tour bus could have had more legroom for my long legs( but it was certainly better than the very cramped conditions on the trip back home)! Anyway, we may book this trip again in the future! This trip is not to be missed!

Best regards,

Steve and Rhonda Ward...

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a very long day but well worth it, our Tour Guide was Katie and she was excellent. It was a fun day with lots of stops and the scenery was spectacular. I included the Helicopter ride over the 12 Apostles and would recommend to include this as it gives you a much better view and plenty of opportunities to take some great photos.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A friend and I had booked for a long weekend in Melbourne, and one of the things we were looking to go was of course the GOR. Deciding on which tour company to go with wasn't easy - there were simply too many options! We chose the tour operator simply because of their "pickup from your hotel" offer; this is so convenient especially at 7am during winter.

And what a great choice it was! We had the best of times checking out the various rainbow spots, beaches, and of course the 12 Apostles. But mostly it was due to our friendly tour guide, Lee.
An upbeat person with a professional attitude, Lee made the entire 14-hour trip so enjoyable with his lively commentary and conversations about the history of of cities and the construction of the GOR.
He remembered everybody's names and went above and beyond in chatting about where we're from, our holiday plans etc etc. How I wish all my tour guides are more like him!

For those who are still deciding, think no more. Choose this tour operator for a great holiday experience!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Although the weather was freezing cold, the tour was phenomenal I would certainly recommend it to anyone, the 12 apostles was amazing! I will definitely have to come back in December through March to see it again when the weather is much warmer

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was a long day trip but it was worth it. The drive to GOR was scenic and enjoyable. Despite the rain and cold throughout the day, we were kept delighted by the humorous driver cum guide, Daniel from Gowest! He took the trouble to introduce everyone on the coach and interacted with all of us. The walk through the Mait's Rest Rainforest was a highlight for my family. It was fun trekking through the forest in the rain. The sights at Loch Ard George, London Arch and the Twelve Apostles certainly were awesome.
However, the lunch was somewhat disappointing. My girls actually hated it. But, overall it was still a memorable trip for my family.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was amazing! Our guide Nicky.. made this tour one of the best I've taken on my many travels around the world. I highly recommend adding the helicopter ride to view the 12 Apostles... there is no better view than from the air over the ocean! This tour company was 100%+++ well organised, helpful and made every minute of our very long day a fun and memorable time for all. Thank you!!!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Both trips were wonderful! The day we went to the Great Ocean Road was a rainy day but the weather almost miraculously cleared when we reached the 12 Apostles. Our guide Macca ( I hope that's the correct spelling) was excellent. He was knowledgeable and had an easy going personality that made the day a lot of fun in spite of the weather. It was amazing to see koalas in their natural habitat and kangaroos hopping through the fields. The weather cooperated for the Phillip Island day. Macca was our guide again and again was the perfect guide. We stopped at an animal sanctuary which was the highlight of the day for me. Feeding the gentle kangaroos is something I will never forget. We visited a beautiful farm, a koala conservation place and finished the day watching the little penguins coming home from a long day at sea. Both days were unforgettable and it was great to save some money by booking the trips together. And getting the passes to the Eureka Tower and the Aquarium was good too. We visited both places and enjoyed them tremendously. The pacing of the trips was good too. We made plenty of stops so you could stretch your legs and have a bathroom break. Lunch was provided both days as well. Nothing fancy but it was good and there were places to get snacks if you wanted more. I will never forget the two wonderful trips. Thank you!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

From the beginning to the end of this tour, it was amazing! We saw some wonderful sights, including koalas and birds (including a Kookaburra) in their natural habitat. We even saw a koala walking across the road in front of our van during the day, which is very unusual, because they normally sleep during the day, and this happened in an area that isn't their normal habitat. The Twelve Apostles rock formation was awesome! Daniel was a great driver and guide! He was very interesting, and he played music as we drove along that was appropriate for what we were viewing at the time. He served coffee, tea, hot chocolate and cakes for the morning break. Although the tour was long and lasted all day, it went by fast because of all the interesting sights and the great company on the van, especially Daniel. I highly recommend this tour! If you have to pick just one tour to take while in Melbourne, this is the one to choose! And ask for Daniel as your guide.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

If you're only able to take one trip while in Australia/Melbourne, you must go on this trip to the Great Ocean Road. It was a once in a lifetime experience. The Twelve Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge are spectacular, breathtaking, beyond words. It's a long day from 7 am until 9:30 pm, but so, so worth it.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Nicky was a GREAT guide!! The tour was timed perfectly. My friend and I did the helicopter option and we were not disappointed! Wish we had more time at the 12 Apostles after the flight, but still got in plenty of pictures. It was absolutely gorgeous, even on an overcast day. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This is a stunning trip. Another long day, but climaxes with the rock formations around the 12 Apostles and a few other nearby spots. GOR is stunning. Picturesque roadway, turquoise water of the Bass Straight and Southern Ocean are amazing. Long bus ride is well broken up with stops for tea, lunch and snacks (and bathroom breaks). Would recommend the optional helicopter ride. My first one was exciting and provided amazing views of the 12 Apostles

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message