Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Twelve Apostles

Washed by crashing waves just off the craggy shoreline of western Victoria, the dramatic Twelve Apostles stand sentinel off the Great Ocean Road. Once joined to the surrounding mainland, the limestone outcrops are a Victorian icon and an enduring ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 156 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leeling Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely fantastic day trip. Even though the bus had mechanical problems, which delayed us by almost 2 hours, Paul, our guide and driver had a positive approach and sense of humor that made the day fun and enjoyable. He had a great music track to amuse us and was knowledgeable about all aspects of the tour. Every single stop was scenic and breathtaking so it's hard to pick just one. Only word of caution is that you can't do the ground and helicopter tour of the 12 apostles as its either or given the time constraint. Thanks Paul for making our trip so enjoyable, I can tell you love doing what you do! And I will also stop calling a koala a bear thanks to that song!!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

stella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour, worth to join. The driver the same person as guide is experienced and fun. Both the Twelve Apostles and the Loch Ard Gorge are very attractive places to visit and really worth to take many pictures. The rock formations are really fantastic and magical! However, the tour took quite a long time from early morning up to late night. We arrived hotel at about eleven o'clock!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Larissa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour - really worth doing. The coastline is spectacular. The tour had been slightly modified when we went as there were forest fires however, we still got to see the 12 Apostles and Shipwreck Coast as well as the rainforest. We didn't unfortunately get to see any koalas as that was part of the tour that had to be eliminated due to the fires. Lunch was adequate. The tour guide who was also the driver, Allan, was very helpful and knowledgeable about the sites we visited. Good value for what you get.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Koree K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What an amazing trip! It was a long day with jet lag but I saw so much! I was so moved by all I saw I wanted more and booked the helicopter tour over the 12 apostles! It was breath taking! My tour guide Leo was also amazing and fun! This was a trip of a lifetime!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Marcella S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I had a wonderful time. Our driver/guide was Gary and he did a great job with telling us the sites and facts of history and landscape along the drive. I met 20 other tourist and enjoyed everyone from all around the world. It was well worth the day trip. We got to get off and on and take short walks, see koala bears, beautiful birds, even a couple of wallabies. The helicopter ride was short but proved to be a wise decision. You can not really appreciate seeing the 12 Apostles unless you do this excursion. It turned out to be a wonderful day for pictures too. Walking to the edge of the Great Southern Ocean was exciting and every view different. Lunch was a delicious Thai sandwich in a q

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Shawn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a great time on this tour with our great guide. Our Guide kept us informed and kept our tour fun during a long ride. We had some great experience in feeding wild birds and seeing several kolas in the wild. We had a wonderful experience flying in a helicopter over the ocean and viewing the 12 apostles from the air.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Sneha United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Regardless of the ugly weather that day, this place was beautiful. The whole drive, the food, and offcourse 12 apostles everything was wonderful. Doing the sunset tour, the advantage is you will avoid the crowds in the mornings and you will have plenty of time for pictures

Doing what: Full-Day Great Ocean Road Sunset Tour from Melbourne

travelman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The highlight of my trip! It is a full day trip from Melbourne, but well worth it. If you do the optional helicopter ride, there is a good discount for being on the bus tour. I did this, and you get to see the Twelve Apostles from a different point of view. On the bus, our driver/guide provided an interesting commentary, so we learned a lot about the area in addition to enjoying the beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Michael Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It is a long day, so make sure you get a good night's sleep before. And take a wind breaker jacket the day I went it was windy all day and a bit chilly at some of the photo op spots along the way.

Our driver / guide, Katie, was great, giving explanations along the way as well as being an excellent and safe driver, not to mention being able to spot in the bushes along the road a couple of kangaroos, then pulling over so everyone could have a look and get some photos. :-

The smaller van as opposed to a big bus coach is definitely a plus, particularly as it makes the hotel pick up and drop off much faster--very welcomed at the end of the day.

The tour was well paced, too, with a good combination of getting where we were going but taking time out for a breakfast coffee and several roadside photo op stops. It is good to stretch at regular intervals.

A nice combination of scenery, too, as on the way out to the 12 Apostles we took the Ocean Road of course but on the way back we drove inland over more rolling farmland kind of terrain.

Melbourne is nice and there is much to see in the city, but by all means take a day if you can to get out into the country on this tour.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Barbara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Long drive but ver worth it. Our driver, Callum, was young but a very knowledgeable Melbourne native. The rain forest, the Twelve Apostles, and Loch Ard Gorge are magnificent reminders to be grateful for our beautiful Mother Earth!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Ian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour. Colin was a great tour guide, fun, friendly and informative. The trip covered a lot of sites and scenes. The highlight was an optional helicopter ride over the 12 apostles. I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

aaritu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Throughly enjoyed our trip from start to end. our tour guide was steve.. he was very cooperative and friendly.. it rained a bit and was cloudy in morning, but as the day progressed day turned sunny and beautiful. We included 10 mins flight with it, it reduced our time at 12 apostles but flight was awesome, worth every penny.. minivan was comfortable for ladies as they have small frame but it would be uncomfortable for big guys... steve was great, he kept us entertained till end.. he was sweet and funny.. we informed during booking to include vegetarian lunch, and the back office staff forgot to communicate with him.. we ordered vegetarian burger and received it. While having a general chat with him, we mentioned about our specific requirements as soon as we discussed this thing with steve, changed our vegetarian burgers with vegetarian sandwiches as according to him, vegetarian burgers contained egg. This was very sweet gesture. Also he offered us some bananas.. also there was some single ladies and families, he took care of everyone... this tour is highly recommended.. best tour guide...

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Amy Wing Hing C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Enjoy the trip. Though is it a long day but worth to go. The Twelve Apostles has spectular view especially under sunset. The rain forest pretty interesting. Shane the tour guide did very good job. The arrangement was all on schedule. I had recommended my friends and relatives this is must go scenic and suggest them to book via viator.com

Doing what: Full-Day Great Ocean Road Sunset Tour from Melbourne

Antony K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed this smaller group trip, our tour guide was very knowledgable and enthusiastic. Loved the helicopter flight over the 12 apostles, well worth paying a little extra for.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

S Nagy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our driver was Lizzie, she was really nice, funny and made the long bus journey very enjoyable. She gave us plenty of information about the places visited and played so much fun music.

It was quite coldish in the morning but thanks to the sunshine, it warmed up quickly. We stopped at a few beaches, a lovely rain forest, the 12 Apostles no access to Gibson Steps and at the beautiful Ard Gorge, which was our favourite.

On the way to Ocean Road we stopped for cakes and coffee loved the cakes, then saw a few koalas and birds in front of the restaurant where we stopped for lunch. Being vegetarians we were a bit afraid there wouldn't be any options for us, but there were at least 5 veggie options, and it was really tasty too.

For dinner we stopped at a fast food cluster McDonalds, Subway etc. Not a fan of these, but can survive once in a while.

We asked her to drop us off somewhere else than the agreed place, and it was cool.

Very satisfied with the trip and surely Lizzie made it very enjoyable!
Thanks!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Benny G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was awesome. Nathan is a great, funny and good storyteller. Had a great day with lots of stops and saw the koalas, kaketoes, 12 apostles had the helicopter flight which was short but awesome as well, the rain forest,... but no kangoeroes such a pity Nathan

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Sandra W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had an educational and entertaining guide/driver who looked after us very well. The sights were amazing and the twelve apostles view from a helicopter was spectacular. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

xcevans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great guide, great experience. Only the Twelve Apostles and the Breakship Beach needed more time to explore, maybe the first few stops could be shorter. If you love nature, it's definitely a trip for you. If you enjoy your comfort and good food, then re-consider your choice.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Patricia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Highly recommend this tour!

Having a knowledgeable tour guide like Jon who drove the group everywhere made for a wonderful experience! As I'm from the US, I for one would not be comfortable driving on the other side of the road, and who can enjoy the scenic views when doing so, along narrow, windy roads?

The cheesy soundtrack on the bus just added to the lightheartedness of the tour. Tell me that it's not perfect that Sheryl Crow's Every Day Is A Winding Road is playing as you're doing just that - driving along a winding road. And as we ventured through the surf section of the trip, the Beach Boys were blasting tunes like Surfin' USA.

Logistically, this tour organization nailed it! The Thai lunch included in the ticket price was hot and satisfying, and there are a handful of dinner options on the drive back to Melbourne. We even had morning tea with coffee/tea options from a thermos and poundcake during a break in the drive. Pit stops are planned out every couple hours, which was just right.

Thank you for such a well-planned out day trip to the 12 Apostles and Great Ocean Road! I've never experienced anything like it before. Breathtaking sights! This tour is worth every penny!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Mei See L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

i absolutely loved this tour even as a solo traveler. Daniel, our guide, was awesome. He had great historical and informative stories to share with a touch of humor. I enjoyed having the first class seat upfront and being Daniel's 'co-pilot' for half the tour, it was an amazing view! The places we visited were amazing in their own right, but I must say that the 12 Apostles were the highlight of this tour. I am glad to have chosen this small group tour and the places of visit are well worth the long hours. I would highly recommend this tour for new visitors to Melbourne.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Deborah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A long day trip that was well worth it - great commentary from a knowledgeable tour guide - Allan - made the day fun.Awesome playlist all day.The scenery was breathtaking - 12 Apostles so majestic and the Rain Forest walk was so peaceful.Would not hesitate recommending this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Tak Yan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our first stop was Twelve Apostles in the morning, therere few tourists around there because we travelled the other way round. We could take as many photos as we wanted without anyone jumped into my pictures. At night, my friend and I shared a cozy and comfortable house with another four tourists. Dinner and breakfast were included and food was served by a winning café. Quiches, salad, all were delicious! Besides, our tour guide, Tom, shared a lot of history and knowledge to us. Hes dutiful and took care of us all the time.
The next day, another tour guide replaced the original one and he instructed us where we should sit in order to get a good spot for penguin parade. Hes absolutely right and I saw three groups of penguins walking from the shore to land.
Its an awesome experience! Two tour guides, the itinerary, food, accommodation, I definitely recommend this tour to my friends.

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

mlsvillarin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an amazing tour! The Twelve Apostles and the Loch Ard Gorge is a must see. Dave was our driver and tour guide. He had an awesome personality and excellent knowledge of the place. Also, the hotel pick-up and drop off made things more easier for us.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Eric R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Completely satisfied with this tour - excellent value for the money. Colin was a fantastic guide, driver, problem solver, kangaroo and koala spotter, etc! My 16 year old daughter said this was the highlight of her Australia trip and we hit a number of the typical tourist venues. Highly recommend this tour and do try the helicopter tour at the 12 Apostles - a great value in Australian Dollars. Long day but well worth it!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

carlosabreurj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Definetely the best daytrip tour from Melbourne. Great views from 12 apostles, the razorback and london bridge. Highly recommended

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message