Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Twelve Apostles

Washed by crashing waves just off the craggy shoreline of western Victoria, the dramatic Twelve Apostles stand sentinel off the Great Ocean Road. Once joined to the surrounding mainland, the limestone outcrops are a Victorian icon and an enduring ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 174 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lindsay M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had the best time, great views, wish I could stay longer at each stop-which is a good sign!
Would recommend having a better place to stop for dinner, or maybe simple sandwiches on the bus, but no complaints! Amazing tour guide and drive, loved seeing the wildlife and the 12 apostles.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Randall H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was our first trip to Australia and first trip outside cities of Sydney and Melbourne. Seeing the Twelve Apostles and climbing Gibson and #39;s Steps were the highlight. Our guide, Leo, was a perfect Aussie host! Would highly recommend this trip. It and #39;s a superb value for the dollar.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Elliot R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is the best way to see the 12 Apostles. Very dramatic view from the air, 1st class service.

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Ocean Road Helicopter Tour from Melbourne

Maciej G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Perfectly organised tour with great guide - Stephen! Great amount of information and time to enjoy the spectacular views! I totally recommend it to anyone who's coming to Great Ocean Road! It was also worth picking the helicopter flight over Twelve Apostles - different perspective and you can see all of them!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

david b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was fantastic! Watching the waves crash in from the southern ocean, and seeing the sunset over the 12 apostles was truly amazing. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. We saw koalas and kangaroos int the wild. If you are traveling to Australia, you should look into visiting Melbourne, and booking this trip!

Doing what: Full-Day Great Ocean Road Sunset Tour from Melbourne

MargieP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best Viator Trip by far - coach driver excellent - views amazing could certainly limit the HOUR spent at the botanical gardens and spend more time at Brighton Bathing Boxes and St Kilda - only had time to order a coffee n cake at St Kilda and barely had time to eat or drink purchases - limit Gardens to 20mis Max other than that fantastic. First time along Great Ocean Road and seeing the Twelve Apostles just incredible thank you

Doing what: 2-Day Combo: Melbourne City Tour, Yarra River Cruise and Great Ocean Road Day Trip

Ana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Ocean Road tour is not to be missed. We drove miles over quiet farmland, forest, sea-side villages and sights, and ended up at the amazing 12 Apostles also known as the Sow and her piglets. We had a delicious scone with morning tea at a neat little outdoor shop by a historic lighthouse. Our driver/guide, Ricarda, was a delightful, knowledgeable, and professional person and it was truly a joy to share the day with her.

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Ocean Road from Melbourne

Ana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Great Ocean Road is a once-in-a-lifetime drive, ending with the spectacular Sow and her piglets The 12 Apostles formations. Our driver/guide, Ricarda, is a great, professionally excellent person. It was wonderful to spend the day with her.

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Ocean Road from Melbourne

Liezl F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was an amazing experience. The sunset over the beach and the 12 Apostles was truly a bucket list item that everyone should endeavour to tick off! Seeing the Koalas in their natural habitat and the parrots eating from your hand was amazing.

Doing what: Full-Day Great Ocean Road Sunset Tour from Melbourne

Jan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour!! I was a bit concerned as it's a long day, but others had said it's well worth it - and it is. Paul, our driver and tour guide the person with the REALLY long day! was brilliant: informative, funny and made the trip a delight. It was a real 'United Nations' group of passengers too, which made it even more interesting.
There are plenty of stops along the way to stretch your legs, including a walk through a temperate rainforest Otway as well as steps down to the beach at the 12 Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge. You don't have to take the walks if you don't want to, however I'd recommend them.
I had opted to take the helicopter tour to see the 12 Apostles 6 actually, as explained by Paul! and it's well worth it. The only thing is that by doing this, you don't have time to take the walk to the land viewing point as you may have to wait for the helicopter flight - but what a great way to see the coastline!
This really is an excellent trip.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Korina Ana Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The weather was not on our side during this trip as it was really cold, but nevertheless, we enjoyed the sites. Bec, our guide and driver, was upbeat and very patient.

If you find yourself in Melbourne, this tour is a must. The beaches are beautiful. The Twelve Apostles and Loch Ard Gorce are breathtaking. We enjoyed koala-spotting by the Kennett River, and walking through the rainforest at Otway Park.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

vbellanti United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an incredible way to see the Great Ocean Road! I enjoyed the small-group aspect because it felt very personal and I was happy to not be on a large tour bus. The timing was perfect at every stop, giving us enough time to enjoy the sights and take lots of pictures. Our group was lucky to see a wild koala awake (usually they are seen sleeping!) and we had plenty of time to take pictures and enjoy watching him be active. I also did the optional helicopter ride over the 12 Apostles, and that was an incredible experience. Although a short ride, it was a beautiful post card sight to see. I highly recommend this tour to those who are in Melbourne for a short time and want the best way to see and enjoy the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

D Gosney G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Stunning views on this day trip which got better and better as the day went on. First stop was at a lake for cake and coffee whilst our driver went off to pick up the Subway lunch of rolls, cookies and drinks - for our picnic on the beach. Very informative drive along the Great Ocean Road, and plenty of long stories from our tour guide Steve. The Twelve Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge are simply stunning. We had lunch on the beach at Loch Ard Gorge - and the Subway rolls and cookies were just perfect with plenty to go round between the group, and some left over. A great way to see a little more of Melbourne other than the city. A fair bit of walking up and down steps to the beaches in both cases, but you have the choice to stay at the top and take in the views.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Christine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a great tour with our very knowledgeable guide Leo. We enjoyed it all and the 12 Apostles were amazing.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

pauljames1978

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour, well worth doing. Fantastic scenery and the sunset at the twelve apostles was amazing.

My tour guide, Shane, was great. He gave his all throughout the day making it as interactive and enjoyable as possible. From a personal perspective he added a huge amount to the day as I was travelling alone on the day trip so was very much my travel buddy for the day.

Doing what: Full-Day Great Ocean Road Sunset Tour from Melbourne

Leeling Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely fantastic day trip. Even though the bus had mechanical problems, which delayed us by almost 2 hours, Paul, our guide and driver had a positive approach and sense of humor that made the day fun and enjoyable. He had a great music track to amuse us and was knowledgeable about all aspects of the tour. Every single stop was scenic and breathtaking so it's hard to pick just one. Only word of caution is that you can't do the ground and helicopter tour of the 12 apostles as its either or given the time constraint. Thanks Paul for making our trip so enjoyable, I can tell you love doing what you do! And I will also stop calling a koala a bear thanks to that song!!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

stella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour, worth to join. The driver the same person as guide is experienced and fun. Both the Twelve Apostles and the Loch Ard Gorge are very attractive places to visit and really worth to take many pictures. The rock formations are really fantastic and magical! However, the tour took quite a long time from early morning up to late night. We arrived hotel at about eleven o'clock!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Larissa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour - really worth doing. The coastline is spectacular. The tour had been slightly modified when we went as there were forest fires however, we still got to see the 12 Apostles and Shipwreck Coast as well as the rainforest. We didn't unfortunately get to see any koalas as that was part of the tour that had to be eliminated due to the fires. Lunch was adequate. The tour guide who was also the driver, Allan, was very helpful and knowledgeable about the sites we visited. Good value for what you get.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Koree K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

What an amazing trip! It was a long day with jet lag but I saw so much! I was so moved by all I saw I wanted more and booked the helicopter tour over the 12 apostles! It was breath taking! My tour guide Leo was also amazing and fun! This was a trip of a lifetime!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Marcella S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I had a wonderful time. Our driver/guide was Gary and he did a great job with telling us the sites and facts of history and landscape along the drive. I met 20 other tourist and enjoyed everyone from all around the world. It was well worth the day trip. We got to get off and on and take short walks, see koala bears, beautiful birds, even a couple of wallabies. The helicopter ride was short but proved to be a wise decision. You can not really appreciate seeing the 12 Apostles unless you do this excursion. It turned out to be a wonderful day for pictures too. Walking to the edge of the Great Southern Ocean was exciting and every view different. Lunch was a delicious Thai sandwich in a q

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Shawn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a great time on this tour with our great guide. Our Guide kept us informed and kept our tour fun during a long ride. We had some great experience in feeding wild birds and seeing several kolas in the wild. We had a wonderful experience flying in a helicopter over the ocean and viewing the 12 apostles from the air.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Sneha United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Regardless of the ugly weather that day, this place was beautiful. The whole drive, the food, and offcourse 12 apostles everything was wonderful. Doing the sunset tour, the advantage is you will avoid the crowds in the mornings and you will have plenty of time for pictures

Doing what: Full-Day Great Ocean Road Sunset Tour from Melbourne

travelman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The highlight of my trip! It is a full day trip from Melbourne, but well worth it. If you do the optional helicopter ride, there is a good discount for being on the bus tour. I did this, and you get to see the Twelve Apostles from a different point of view. On the bus, our driver/guide provided an interesting commentary, so we learned a lot about the area in addition to enjoying the beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Michael Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It is a long day, so make sure you get a good night's sleep before. And take a wind breaker jacket the day I went it was windy all day and a bit chilly at some of the photo op spots along the way.

Our driver / guide, Katie, was great, giving explanations along the way as well as being an excellent and safe driver, not to mention being able to spot in the bushes along the road a couple of kangaroos, then pulling over so everyone could have a look and get some photos. :-

The smaller van as opposed to a big bus coach is definitely a plus, particularly as it makes the hotel pick up and drop off much faster--very welcomed at the end of the day.

The tour was well paced, too, with a good combination of getting where we were going but taking time out for a breakfast coffee and several roadside photo op stops. It is good to stretch at regular intervals.

A nice combination of scenery, too, as on the way out to the 12 Apostles we took the Ocean Road of course but on the way back we drove inland over more rolling farmland kind of terrain.

Melbourne is nice and there is much to see in the city, but by all means take a day if you can to get out into the country on this tour.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Barbara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Long drive but ver worth it. Our driver, Callum, was young but a very knowledgeable Melbourne native. The rain forest, the Twelve Apostles, and Loch Ard Gorge are magnificent reminders to be grateful for our beautiful Mother Earth!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message