Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Wilsons Promontory

Part of the draw of any visit to Australia is to see some of its much-heralded rustic beauty. Ayers Rock has its fan-base, as does Byron Bay, but to many a Aussie, there’s nothing more beautiful than watching the sun set over the pristine beaches of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Amazing places, amazing people and guide !!! Perfect for people who like hiking!!!

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Simon was a fantastic guide! His love and passion for the area was catching. We enjoyed all his personal stories. The mountain view was spectacular and the beaches were pristine.

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

An excellent trip made al the better by an enthusiastic and thoroughly professional driver/guide Peter. This far surpassed a 2 day trip I did in Melbourne with another provider who were very poor so use this company for this and other trips if you want VFM.

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This was a great trip. There were wild animals all over including emus, a wombat and a wallaby. "The Prom" is a really interesting place with recent fire and flood damage. We walked up Mt Bishop with fantastic views and then Squeeky Beach which was breathtaking with clear sea and white sand. Make sure you bring a raincoat as the weather changes very quickly there.

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

Smurfalina
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Excellant day trip. Anthony our guide was very informative and friendly. Squeaky Beach was very pretty but not squeaky as our day was a bit wet. The walks were tiring but the views were lovely at the end.

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Excellent and a very well priced tour that enables tourist to access really diverse and interesting parts of Victoria. Don't expect to see heaps of wildlife as depends on weather and season but those I did see were a delight. Tour guides knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The overnight if at YHA on Philip Island - don't expect others on the day tour to stay overnight as the two tours are treated as separate day tours so I had two different groups of people to get to know over the two days. Breakfast at hostel is basic - suggest bring your own fruit juice as only supply cereal, white bread, margarine and milk. I would have liked to have seen some grain bread in the freezer rather than cardboard like white bread. Otherwise, I toroughly enjoyed my two day.

Doing what: 2-Day Phillip Island and Wilsons Promontory Tour from Melbourne

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Good knowledgable driver.
Stupendous views from top of Mount Eberon.
Need to be physically fit as the climb up is quite long and steep - I think this needs to be made much clearer in the description. As a 54 year old I struggled! Coming down was good though!,,,,,

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

It was a great fun and the view from Mt Bishop was simply breath-taking. The beach was absolutely beautiful! Our tour guide Tracy was fantastic and I'll definitely recommend Bunyip!

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

lovely location, would have liked a bit more information on the park and more activities than walking the mountain, the beach and the kangaroos

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Absolutely beautiful scenery and enjoyed the 4 km hike. Minibus unfortunately is very uncomfortable if you have to sit in the very back of the van.

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Good day out in spite of large parts of the Park being closed after floods.

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

More informnation beforehand about food options would have been useful. Need to be a bit more time conscious with a diverse group of people. Some people became used to ambling around douing their own thing when the driver wanted to leave. Phoning through dinner orders would improve the drive home. Less music and at klower vokume would be appreciated on the homeward journey.

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2012

I have never been so disappointed in a trip. It was horrific. We were cramed into a 13 seater mini bus, the only seat not filled was a seat on the back seat. The drive was so rough down to the Promontory, the mini bus was bottoming out on the pot-holes and the driver seemed to hit ever pot-hole, at times the vechile was inclined to fish tail. We certainly didn't feel safe in the drive and by the time we got there and back we both felt ill from the continual bumping and danger of the drive.
If this is the best you can do I will never go on another trip with Viator, it was a waste of money and a day out of our holiday.
I would like this review to be put on your website to let other people know before they pay so much money for a bad trip.
My rating for this trip is '0 '

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message