Melbourne ATTRACTIONS See all

Wilsons Promontory

Part of the draw of any visit to Australia is to see some of its much-heralded rustic beauty. Ayers Rock has its fan-base, as does Byron Bay, but to many a Aussie, there’s nothing more beautiful than watching the sun set over the pristine beaches of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A good tour well presented by our guide. Travel is by minibus rather than coach and slightly less comfortable. It's a long day with considerable walking including up a mountain so fitness and good shoes are required. The Promontory offers close-ups of local wildlife roaming free including wombats and stunning views from the top of the mountain that you climb for lunch.

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Spectacular view! The tour guide is professional and knowledgeable. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road plus Wilsons Promontory and Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Tour guide provided excellent knowledge of area and it cultural history with great commentary throughout the trip.

Enjoyed excellent views, good weather and 15km hike through the park. A worth while day tour that drive you back for more!

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Saw wild Kangaroo's out on the range, even saw a Mama Kanga with baby in pouch, that was unforgettable! Wilsons Prom breath taking, our guide was great!

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Both tours were fantastic and so beautiful! My only complaint would be our tour guide for the Great Ocean Road. He was impatient and at times rude. He talked outwardly about his frustration with people using the bathrooms when it wasn't scheduled. He also was extremely rude and impatient to the staff at McDonalds where we stopped on the way back. It was embarrassing to be in line near him. I will say though, that the stops he took us to were great and I would definitely recommend the tour, just cross fingers for a different guide!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road plus Wilsons Promontory and Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

One of the best day trips I ever had.
The guide was knowledgeable and understanding and made this tour even more fun.
The landscape will take away your breath and I would love to go again and show my friends.
You get more than money can ever pay for :
A memory that will be with you all your life.

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Best day out of the city!!!

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour! I was very satisfied and amazed with this tour. Hike up to Mt.Oberon Summit was a bit challenging but the view is definitely worth it. A stop at Nelson's beach and Squeaky beach was gorgeous. And then a stop to view kangaroo's, emu's, and wombats in the wild was definitely a highlight!! Would definitely recommend this trip! Tour guide, Macca, was also very easy going and knowledgable.

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Amazing places, amazing people and guide !!! Perfect for people who like hiking!!!

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Simon was a fantastic guide! His love and passion for the area was catching. We enjoyed all his personal stories. The mountain view was spectacular and the beaches were pristine.

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

An excellent trip made al the better by an enthusiastic and thoroughly professional driver/guide Peter. This far surpassed a 2 day trip I did in Melbourne with another provider who were very poor so use this company for this and other trips if you want VFM.

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This was a great trip. There were wild animals all over including emus, a wombat and a wallaby. "The Prom" is a really interesting place with recent fire and flood damage. We walked up Mt Bishop with fantastic views and then Squeeky Beach which was breathtaking with clear sea and white sand. Make sure you bring a raincoat as the weather changes very quickly there.

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

Smurfalina
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Excellant day trip. Anthony our guide was very informative and friendly. Squeaky Beach was very pretty but not squeaky as our day was a bit wet. The walks were tiring but the views were lovely at the end.

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

Mark Chia
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

There was quite a nice balance between the two days. On the first day, we did touristy things like visiting a heritage farm, the nobbies, and the penguin parade. It was fairly tame and I think it's good for those travelling with family. On the second day, we did a lot of trekking and sight seeing at Wilsons Promontory. This was the one that was physically strenuous. I would say it's perfect for those who are physically fit. Not an easy trek, but the views more than justify the effort!

Doing what: 2-Day Phillip Island and Wilsons Promontory Tour from Melbourne

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This was a great trip, with beautiful scenery. We saw plenty of wildlife including some wild kangaroos. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Lunch was adequate, but there were opportunities to purchase snacks and beverages as well, so no one went hungry. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The tour is amazing~ worth to go

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Excellent and a very well priced tour that enables tourist to access really diverse and interesting parts of Victoria. Don't expect to see heaps of wildlife as depends on weather and season but those I did see were a delight. Tour guides knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The overnight if at YHA on Philip Island - don't expect others on the day tour to stay overnight as the two tours are treated as separate day tours so I had two different groups of people to get to know over the two days. Breakfast at hostel is basic - suggest bring your own fruit juice as only supply cereal, white bread, margarine and milk. I would have liked to have seen some grain bread in the freezer rather than cardboard like white bread. Otherwise, I toroughly enjoyed my two day.

Doing what: 2-Day Phillip Island and Wilsons Promontory Tour from Melbourne

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Good knowledgable driver.
Stupendous views from top of Mount Eberon.
Need to be physically fit as the climb up is quite long and steep - I think this needs to be made much clearer in the description. As a 54 year old I struggled! Coming down was good though!,,,,,

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

It was a great fun and the view from Mt Bishop was simply breath-taking. The beach was absolutely beautiful! Our tour guide Tracy was fantastic and I'll definitely recommend Bunyip!

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

lovely location, would have liked a bit more information on the park and more activities than walking the mountain, the beach and the kangaroos

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

Absolutely beautiful scenery and enjoyed the 4 km hike. Minibus unfortunately is very uncomfortable if you have to sit in the very back of the van.

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

Good day out in spite of large parts of the Park being closed after floods.

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Good tour. Lovely hikes. Needed more pre-tour info about weather conditions (many people were not prepared) Prepare for all weather, and you'll have a great time. Group was a bit too large to really get going on the hikes--had to cut it short in the end due to time constraints. Overall, not bad.

Doing what: Wilsons Promontory Day Trip from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message