Rolling hills, manicured vineyards, tranquil towns and a renowned gourmet trail – welcome to the Yarra Valley! This scenic slice of rural Victoria is an easy drive from central Melbourne, and a popular spot for hot-air balloon rides, winery ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 117 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

excellent tour. Took us th large famous (but not necessarily good) wineries as well as very niche but makes amazingly good wine wineries. Our guy knew what he was talking about and really knew the people, their difficulties and the history behind Yarra Valley and it made our trip special!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Food and Wine Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We took the full day Puffing Billy/Yarra Valley Healesville Sanctuary trip. The coach was clean and comfortable, and the driver was well informed and interesting. We had a nice stop for morning tea/coffee price included and a grand ride in a reserved car on Puffing Billy.

We opted to visit the Healesville Animal Sanctuary rather than the wineries, in the afternoon. If you are traveling with children, this is s good opportunity to see Australian animals with a trained docent. The bird show was amazing.

We had a last minute stop at a chocolate shop, and then home.

For those who have only seen cities in Australia - this trip is a great opportunity to see country and forest.

Tips:

Hotel Pick Up - nice and easy but also caused us to he ready over an hour before tour actually started. If you are staying anywhere near Federation Square, where the actual tour bus originates, grab a coffee and brekkie and enjoy the walk.

Sun Lotion - if you are doing the Healesville Sanctuary, you might need some for the bird show.

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very enjoyable, Roger, the driver was informative and humorous, Puffing Billy trip excellent (if a bit short, but then again I'm a train enthusiast), the wineries we visited were marvelous and even squeezed in a trip to the chocolate farm! Well worth it and a good experience of the Yarra and danedongs region too.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The only way to go on a wine tour. Fantastic car, lovely driver, awesome day out. An absolutely MUST when you are in Yarra Valley.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Beer and Wine Tours from Melbourne by Classic Convertible

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Puffing Billy and Yarra Valley Wineries tour from this company was awesome! The tour guide (driver) was very friendly and very patience on the passengers. And also they are puncture on the timing. By time I reached CBD from the tour, I still manage to go to Brighton Beach for an evening walk. Highly recommended!!! Give 5 stars~~~!!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wineries and Puffing Billy Steam Train Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great experience and the pilot did an excellent job. It was first time for my wife and she wasnt scared at all! The scene over Yarra Valley was just too beautiful!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Balloon Flight at Sunrise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic day out, can highly recommend, the 4 wineries are very interesting as was the driver John who made the day a real learning experience, with his amazing knowledge of the Yarra Valley, Wines in general and Victoria. Really fun day had by all. My only suggestion for improvement would be a little more food along the way, a few more biscuits or some bread would help.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was incredible! Our Tour Guide John certainly made the trip, but I would say this tour is a must do from Melbourne. We got to take a beautiful ride out of the city and into the Yarra Valley - seeing the countryside, Yarra River, and mountains all at once. Then boy are you in a treat when you visit four vineyards and essentially get to taste upwards of 40 wines if you do it right. John and all of the local guides at each of the vineyards were so helpful - making recommendations about the wines and explaining their history and how they're made. I honestly can't say enough incredible things about this trip. Everyone should reserve it!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was one of the best we had on the trip. Our guide, Bill, was very knowledgable and the cheese pairing, lunch and tastings were very enjoyable. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone looking to tour the Yarra Valley. We appreciated all of the history/tid bits of the area during the tour. Our guide made a conscious effort not to talk about the wine during the tastings and allowed the vineyard staff to do the talking.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Food and Wine Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We recently enjoyed a great day tour of the Yarra Valley with Australian Wine Tour Company. The online booking process was easy and pick-up location very accessible to our hotel. Our driver Brett, was very friendly, welcoming and entertaining. He has great knowledge of the city , the region, wineries and wine making processes, and this was evident throughout the day tour. The tour bus was full, including many international visitors, and Brett made everyone feel comfortable and welcome, while keeping the group on schedule for the whole day. We tasted some great wines, enjoyed lunch in a very pleasant and picturesque setting and purchased some bottles to bring home and enjoy later.
We highly recommend this tour and our guide Brett

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was AMAZING. It had it all when it comes to experiencing the Yarra Valley. A relaxing and great paced tour. Peter our guide was just FANTASTIC and so knowledgeable. He is everything you would want in a tour guide. Thank you. It really made our Melbourne visit. Tina and Ross WA

Doing what: Experience Yarra Valley: Beer, Cider, Wine and Food from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Nick, our talented driver and guide, offered us a memorable experience to remember. This is a good introduction to the wineries in the Yarra Valley. You can spend easily a week here to go through many of the different wineries here in the region. Our tour covered a variety without making us feel rush and hurried. Nice way to spend a day.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great winery tour with lunch included. The wineries were a great selection for the Yarra Valley. John (Spud) was a very good tour guide with lots of knowledge and history on the Yarra Valley and a wine connoisseur at heart. Would recommend this tour to any of my friends and family.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had a great tour in the yarra vineyards. Peter, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable and it was a quick and easy pickup from Melbourne town centre. We visited 4 vineyards from the boutique to Chandon , which gave us a good mix.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour commenced from a very convenient Melbourne CBD location - a mere short walk from our accommodation. From there we headed to Yarra Valley. Our driver/tour director (known as "Spud" to his colleagues") provided a commentary along the way pointing out homes of the rich and famous and history of the area we were heading for. At the first winery we visited "Spud" conducted a "crash" course in wine tasting and this together with his vast knowledge of Yarra Valley wines (and Australian wines generally) made our tour so complete. "Spud's" good working relationship with all of the wineries was apparent which resulted in a great day and no queues!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a great tour,we visited four wineries with an expert guide and lunch was good with a choice of four meals. Tastings were generous and well explained. Yarra Valley has beautiful countryside to enjoy.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great way to see the Yarra Valley! We are from California and go wine tasting quite frequently, so when we visited Melbourne we thought it would be fun to see what their version of wine country was like. It was really lovely! Our guide John was informative, knowledgeable, pleasant and friendly. We visited four wineries and he helped us understand and sample the wines the right way, highlighting the best wines at each location. The tour was reasonably priced, on time, and the van was clean and comfortable. All in all, we really enjoyed ourselves!

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Nice tour to have a good idea about the wines of Yarra Valley. some are surprising.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great day to meet new found friends from all over the world and share the tastes and sights of the the Yarra Valley. The tour guide was knowledgeable and the tastings generous. Lunch was delicious.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was agreat way to experience the Yarra Valley. Bill was an excellent guide with good knowledge and a very pleasant and friendly. We tasted some superb wines and the lunch was great. the places we went to were all individual and all beautiful. We can't recommend this highly enough.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Food and Wine Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great tour made even better buy our driver/tour guide who had a great knowledge of wine and the Yarra Valley.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Absolutely wonderful day spent with the best tour guide ever!!! I learned so much and had the best time at each of the destinations. My only criticism would be that the train ride was not long enough! The food at the Yarra Valley destination of Roachford winery was outstanding and the service people there were very happy and relaxed as well. Nothing but good things to say about this trip! Thankyou for the experience

Doing what: Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and Healesville Wildlife Sanctuary Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The best wine tour we have done in the yarra valley . great food at Domaine Chandon. and great wines at Coldstream Hills. Highly recommend this tour . Guide was terrific too.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Food and Wine Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great introduction and overview of the Yarra Valley and it's vineyards.
Very friendly, informative driver-tour guide who made everyone feel welcome and enjoy the experience.
Good selection of wineries with a huge range of great wines.
Lunch at Chandon was fabulous.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Food and Wine Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our day in the Yarra Valley. I thought the wine tour was excellent value when considering the substantial lunch and the amount of wine consumed. Nice group of people and Nick was a very informative and entertaining guide.

Doing what: Yarra Valley Wine and Winery Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message