Less than two hours outside Melbourne, Phillip Island is an incredibly popular day trip destination for visitors to Victoria’s capital city. Phillip Island has one of the world’s most accessible penguin colonies. Every evening hundreds of visitors ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Penguin Parade was one of the highlights of my trip to Australia! Unfortunately, it was cloudy and rainy by the time we got to Phillip Island. It was still dry when we went to the wildlife park to see the animals. We really didn't have much time to spend there by the time we watched the sheep sheering demonstration. It would have been nice to have a little more time there. We drove along the coast and stopped a couple of times to take pictures, but it was raining by that time. After eating dinner, we went to the Penguin Parade. Just as we started walking down the boardwalk, a rainbow appeared and the rain stopped. It was so interesting watching the Penguins coming in, gathering in groups, and waddling to their burrows to their awaiting chicks.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Was a fantastic day. The tour leader and guides at Phillip Island are genuinely passionate about their work, and enjoy sharing it with tourists

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The Phillip Island penguins were so adorable! So glad I went to see them while in Melbourne. The driver guide was fantastic and really knowledgeable and helpful. Phillip Island itself is really beautiful, it was nice to get an overview of the island on this tour and to have dinner there.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a fantastic trip. We visited Maru wildlife park and were able to hand feed wallabies and kangaroos and saw dingos and koalas and wombats. Then on to the beach in time to see the adorable penguins coming up in great numbers. Check the tide charts for Summerville beach on Phillip Island, and if it is going to be at or near high tide at sundown, I highly recommend the penguin plus or ultimate penguin tour that affords a closer view from private viewing areas. Otherwise the standard fare is fine. Great fun but it can get chilly with the wind blowing in from the ocean. Bring a jacket.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent trip. Ranger very informative at Phillip Island where we were in a small group of eight with radio contact with him. Many penguins to see at close quarters.
Only downside was pick up was very late and by another tour operator who didn't know to collect us from The
Langham Hotel.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Morning Tour sufficient to see Melbournes Key sites. Trip to Phillip Island to see the Penquins a must but very long day getting back around midnight as penquyins don't appear until sunset.
Commentary by driver on city tour excellent.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Phillip Island Penguin Parade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Highlight of our visit was seeing these little penguins make their trek back.
The tour also included a great wild animal park and was the best and least expensive and most interactive of the parks I visited during my visit to Melbourne or Sydney.
Loved the Thai food on Phillips Island when we had dinner (it's not included so you can pick any place) our friends loved the italian place!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

2 VERY GOOD TOURS ! BE SURE TO WATCH THE PENGUING PARADE ON PHILLIP ISLAND !

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Phillip Island Penguin Parade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Phillips Islands was a great experience. I recommend getting the Ultimate Penguin Tour. You get binoculars, a private tour, and reserved seating right in front! The wildlife park was also great. Feeding the kangaroos was fun and the koalas are adorable. Spend the extra money to take a picture with one of them. Our tour guide, Roger, was great help and he made our experience more enjoyable!!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Definetely one of the greatest experiences of my life!! Phillip Island is an amazing place and see the penguins parade and wallabies spread everywhere is an opportunity of a life time. Must see!!!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an excellent tour! We traveled in a coach bus with 48 people to a wildlife park where we got to feed kangaroos, take a picture with a koala, and see other cute animals. We stopped at various places along the way to Phillip Island and had the chance to see spectacular views of beach and the Nobbies. The penguin parade was amazing. We purchased the plus pass which included a free small drink, a guide book, and close-up seating. It was definitely worth paying the extra $20/person. Those little penguins are so cute! Our tour guide was very knowledeable and told us many stories along the way. He was also funny and friendly, and recommended a great fish and chips place for dinner. We would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Australia.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

One of the highlights of our 2-week trip to Australia!
This is not-to-be-missed experience. The animal park was a great experience and we had plenty of time to pet the Kangaroos. You can not pet the Koalas here, and we learned that in most places in Australia you are not allowed to carry them or pet them (apparently in the parks around Cairns you can). To be able to have photographs taken with a Koala you must pay a small adiitional fee for the photo that they take and sell you, but they allow you then to take as many photos as you want with your camera.
For Phillips Island we chose the VIP package with viewing from the Ranger's platform and it was worth it. It was an unforgettable experience to watch the penguins coming out of the ocean.
The only negative about this tour is that they don't allow any type of photography at the Penguin Sanctuary.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was a wonderful day trip to Phillip Island. On the way visited Maru Wildlife where could go close to Kangaroos. Penguin Parade really worth watching. Only sad part was that photography was prohibited. Coach driver was friendly and commentary was jovial. All in all an enjoyable day tour.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Phillip Island tour and very informative. Our guide was entertaining with the commentaire. Would definitely recommend to all-is not to be missed.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Amazing trip and 100% worth paying the extra for the viewing platform at Phillip Island. Tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about the area and the surrounding habits of the animals.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent tour. Mark the driver gave us wonderful commentary all the way to Philip Island, packed with history and anecdotes about the local areas as we passed through on our way from Melbourne down to Phillip Island. Wildlife Park was fun, although we have been to a similar one in the past. Penguins.... well what can we say they are just adorable and we were not disappointed at all. We were glad we paid the extra for Penguin Plus although you still need to get onto the viewing platform well in advance of the anticipated arrival! Previous reviews were read beforehand and everyone said take warm clothes, good advice which we followed and were glad we did. Would definately recommend this trip.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

As is customary with Viator.com, the guide was excellent. The tour provided time to view and interact with the kangaroos. (Visitors to Phillip Island are not permittted to photograph the penguins.)

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

I absolutely loved this trip! The bus driver was so helpful and told us lots about Phillip island. Everything was brilliant

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Great tour ! We enjoyed it very much! The Phillip Island Penguin tour was a highlight of our trip to Melbourne!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

From the time we started Pete the driver / courier expertly passed his knowlege onto us with an informed quiet gentleness which made one want to listen and learn. It was good to see the the eastern Kangaroos and feed them after seeing the western greys at Yanchap in Perth.The history of the area to Phillip Island was interesting with the nature reserve fasinating and of course the penguin experience was wonderful. A 'wet weather front came in' just as we were waiting for the Penguins so we were extreamly wet at the end of the night.Thank goodness we remembered our wet gear. It was a super experience which the rain did not spoil.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This was a great day, we were collected from our hotel at 1pm. The driver "Angie" was great fun and pointed out a lot of things along the way as it was quite a long trip to get there. We stopped at Warook cattle farm firstly and received tea and scones. We could also walk around and observe the animals. We then visited the Koala conservation centre which was cute and then headed onto phillip island. We had booked the skybox experience and were surprised to find out that we were the only 2 that night, the staff were surprised too as they said that at least 10 people fit in the box and they couldn't remember a time when only 2 people were there!! Our guide was informative, we had tea/coffee and nibbles before heading down to the box. It was a really clear night and we had a great view of the little penguins coming ashore. Even if you didn't book the skybox the boardwalks have great vantage points and I feel this tour is a must if you are visiting Melbourne. Tip: make sure you bring some warm clothes as it is pretty chilly at night by the sea.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

The Phillip Island day tour with stops at the Koala Conservation Center and Warrook Cattle Farm to see Kangaroos and Wombats was awesome but the Penguin Parade on Phillip Island was worth every dollar paid for the excursion.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Eira B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Our trip to Phillip Island with our driver Phil was a fun day and Phil made it such a good day. His sense of humour and knowledge made it even better. I had been to Phillip Island only a couple of months previously with another company and had a Canadian friend with me this time, we went up along the cliffs and saw swamp wallabies, an echidna and Cape Baron geese, all of which were thanks to Phil.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Gr8Dane
United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Driver was Adrian. Tour itself was fairly nice and we are glad we did this. The food at the lunch stop was awful, pack your own ave some money. Might have scored higher but our driver gave a long winded boring commentary that put everyone to sleep. Also we were the 'last bus' to arrive at Phillip Island, even with preferred seating purchased, it was not good. We were the 'last bus' to leave as our driver was a bit of a chatty cathy.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Enjoy interacting and feeding kangaroos, Koalas and other animals. The driver/tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly . Love the sea sighting and saw wild animals . The experience in Phillip Island was good but disappointed that you can't take pictures without flash or videos.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message