Less than two hours outside Melbourne, Phillip Island is an incredibly popular day trip destination for visitors to Victoria's capital city. Phillip Island has one of the world's most accessible penguin colonies. Every evening hundreds of visitors ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 85 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This trip was the highlight of our holiday. What a fabulous evening. The coach was comfortable with plenty of leg room for the 2 hour journey down to Phillip Island. Our tour guide was very interesting and informative. I"d recommend upgrading though to the prime viewing position and the fish and chip supper. The penguins were fantastic and we had a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Do this! If you love seeing animals in their natural habitat instead of zoos, this is a must do on Phillip Island. One of life's greatest moments is to watch how the penguins communicate to each other on when to leave the sea and cross the sand to their burrows. Because we decided that we were going "all in" on on Aussie holiday, we upgraded to the first row seats and I would highly recommend but if you're looking to save a few bucks, there are great views from every seat so I think you'd still get an awesome show without splurging. One of the cool things about upgrading is that you get a guided tour which provides you with a lot of useful information which I personally enjoyed.

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The Penguin Parade was one of the highlights of my trip to Australia! Unfortunately, it was cloudy and rainy by the time we got to Phillip Island. It was still dry when we went to the wildlife park to see the animals. We really didn't have much time to spend there by the time we watched the sheep sheering demonstration. It would have been nice to have a little more time there. We drove along the coast and stopped a couple of times to take pictures, but it was raining by that time. After eating dinner, we went to the Penguin Parade. Just as we started walking down the boardwalk, a rainbow appeared and the rain stopped. It was so interesting watching the Penguins coming in, gathering in groups, and waddling to their burrows to their awaiting chicks.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We loved this tour. It was a 2 hour bus ride from Melbourne but the scenery on Phillip Island is wonderful and the penguin parade was wonderful. The whole family enjoyed it but especially the kids. I would recommend it strongly.

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip is worth doing even just for the beautiful scenery on Phillip Island, so seeing the gorgeous penguins is a fantastic added bonus!!! We really enjoyed ourselves and loved the trip!!! ...Our driver was lovely and friendly and very informative. ...The only possible improvement I could suggest to the whole experience would be if there were some healthy food options at the cafe/penguin visitors center. We were starving but were disappointed to see that deep fried fish and chips, popcorn and chocolate bars seemed to be the only available options for dinner. The rest of the trip was superb :)

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Such a great time on this tour! We had limited time so an evening tour leaving mid afternoon was perfect for us. The coach ride was scenic and the driver fun and informative. Phillip Island was beautiful and the visitors centre well worth a look around. The stars of the show are the penguins who come out of the sea and waddle up the beach. The viewing platforms on the beach are great to see this but i felt the platforms back to the visitors centre gave visitors a close up view as the pengiuns waddled to their homes. So cute!

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My friend and I were looking for a comfortable, enjoyable and short trip to Phillip Island and we got it. Great comfort, great commentary and quick and easy and enjoyable. Thank you very much!

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Cute little penguins return to their home in the evening reminds us how important family is! And they really cute! Nice view at the phillips island. The fish and chips is delicious as well. Thanks viator!

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

After our original Sunday afternoon tour was cancelled due to low numbers, my two kids and I were actually upgraded to a different tour with no fuss and excellent communication. The hotel pickup was EXACTLY on time and Adrian, our bus driver, was fantastic. His commentary was extensive and he gave us great insider tips once at Phillip Island. The penguins were adorable and such an amazing experience for all age groups. My only criticisms are a longer than necessary stop for dinner on the way home....it was almost longer at the town than at the penguins themselves....and tardy, inconsiderate fellow passengers that did not arrive at the bus when we were scheduled to go, consequently delaying us even more!

Doing what: Phillip Island Little Penguins Parade Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Was a fantastic day. The tour leader and guides at Phillip Island are genuinely passionate about their work, and enjoy sharing it with tourists

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The Phillip Island penguins were so adorable! So glad I went to see them while in Melbourne. The driver guide was fantastic and really knowledgeable and helpful. Phillip Island itself is really beautiful, it was nice to get an overview of the island on this tour and to have dinner there.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a fantastic trip. We visited Maru wildlife park and were able to hand feed wallabies and kangaroos and saw dingos and koalas and wombats. Then on to the beach in time to see the adorable penguins coming up in great numbers. Check the tide charts for Summerville beach on Phillip Island, and if it is going to be at or near high tide at sundown, I highly recommend the penguin plus or ultimate penguin tour that affords a closer view from private viewing areas. Otherwise the standard fare is fine. Great fun but it can get chilly with the wind blowing in from the ocean. Bring a jacket.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent trip. Ranger very informative at Phillip Island where we were in a small group of eight with radio contact with him. Many penguins to see at close quarters.
Only downside was pick up was very late and by another tour operator who didn't know to collect us from The
Langham Hotel.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Morning Tour sufficient to see Melbournes Key sites. Trip to Phillip Island to see the Penquins a must but very long day getting back around midnight as penquyins don't appear until sunset.
Commentary by driver on city tour excellent.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Phillip Island Penguin Parade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What a difference the guide makes. Our driver Daniel was full of "cheese" but that made the journey so much fun and we learned a great deal about the history and Sites on the way to Phillip Island. It is a late night so be prepared (particularly if it is raining and cold). I went on the guided tour at the Penguin Parade and would highly recommend you pay the extra to get up closer and more personal with the Penguins. A natural event that is beautiful and rare :)

Doing what: Phillip Island Penguin Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Highlight of our visit was seeing these little penguins make their trek back.
The tour also included a great wild animal park and was the best and least expensive and most interactive of the parks I visited during my visit to Melbourne or Sydney.
Loved the Thai food on Phillips Island when we had dinner (it's not included so you can pick any place) our friends loved the italian place!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

2 VERY GOOD TOURS ! BE SURE TO WATCH THE PENGUING PARADE ON PHILLIP ISLAND !

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Phillip Island Penguin Parade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Phillips Islands was a great experience. I recommend getting the Ultimate Penguin Tour. You get binoculars, a private tour, and reserved seating right in front! The wildlife park was also great. Feeding the kangaroos was fun and the koalas are adorable. Spend the extra money to take a picture with one of them. Our tour guide, Roger, was great help and he made our experience more enjoyable!!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Definetely one of the greatest experiences of my life!! Phillip Island is an amazing place and see the penguins parade and wallabies spread everywhere is an opportunity of a life time. Must see!!!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an excellent tour! We traveled in a coach bus with 48 people to a wildlife park where we got to feed kangaroos, take a picture with a koala, and see other cute animals. We stopped at various places along the way to Phillip Island and had the chance to see spectacular views of beach and the Nobbies. The penguin parade was amazing. We purchased the plus pass which included a free small drink, a guide book, and close-up seating. It was definitely worth paying the extra $20/person. Those little penguins are so cute! Our tour guide was very knowledeable and told us many stories along the way. He was also funny and friendly, and recommended a great fish and chips place for dinner. We would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Australia.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

One of the highlights of our 2-week trip to Australia!
This is not-to-be-missed experience. The animal park was a great experience and we had plenty of time to pet the Kangaroos. You can not pet the Koalas here, and we learned that in most places in Australia you are not allowed to carry them or pet them (apparently in the parks around Cairns you can). To be able to have photographs taken with a Koala you must pay a small adiitional fee for the photo that they take and sell you, but they allow you then to take as many photos as you want with your camera.
For Phillips Island we chose the VIP package with viewing from the Ranger's platform and it was worth it. It was an unforgettable experience to watch the penguins coming out of the ocean.
The only negative about this tour is that they don't allow any type of photography at the Penguin Sanctuary.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was a wonderful day trip to Phillip Island. On the way visited Maru Wildlife where could go close to Kangaroos. Penguin Parade really worth watching. Only sad part was that photography was prohibited. Coach driver was friendly and commentary was jovial. All in all an enjoyable day tour.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Phillip Island tour and very informative. Our guide was entertaining with the commentaire. Would definitely recommend to all-is not to be missed.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Amazing trip and 100% worth paying the extra for the viewing platform at Phillip Island. Tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about the area and the surrounding habits of the animals.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent tour. Mark the driver gave us wonderful commentary all the way to Philip Island, packed with history and anecdotes about the local areas as we passed through on our way from Melbourne down to Phillip Island. Wildlife Park was fun, although we have been to a similar one in the past. Penguins.... well what can we say they are just adorable and we were not disappointed at all. We were glad we paid the extra for Penguin Plus although you still need to get onto the viewing platform well in advance of the anticipated arrival! Previous reviews were read beforehand and everyone said take warm clothes, good advice which we followed and were glad we did. Would definately recommend this trip.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message