• USD ($)
  • English
Less than two hours outside Melbourne, Phillip Island is an incredibly popular day trip destination for visitors to Victoria’s capital city. Phillip Island has one of the world’s most accessible penguin colonies. Every evening hundreds of visitors ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Morning Tour sufficient to see Melbournes Key sites. Trip to Phillip Island to see the Penquins a must but very long day getting back around midnight as penquyins don't appear until sunset.
Commentary by driver on city tour excellent.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Phillip Island Penguin Parade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Highlight of our visit was seeing these little penguins make their trek back.
The tour also included a great wild animal park and was the best and least expensive and most interactive of the parks I visited during my visit to Melbourne or Sydney.
Loved the Thai food on Phillips Island when we had dinner (it's not included so you can pick any place) our friends loved the italian place!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

2 VERY GOOD TOURS ! BE SURE TO WATCH THE PENGUING PARADE ON PHILLIP ISLAND !

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Phillip Island Penguin Parade

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Phillips Islands was a great experience. I recommend getting the Ultimate Penguin Tour. You get binoculars, a private tour, and reserved seating right in front! The wildlife park was also great. Feeding the kangaroos was fun and the koalas are adorable. Spend the extra money to take a picture with one of them. Our tour guide, Roger, was great help and he made our experience more enjoyable!!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Definetely one of the greatest experiences of my life!! Phillip Island is an amazing place and see the penguins parade and wallabies spread everywhere is an opportunity of a life time. Must see!!!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an excellent tour! We traveled in a coach bus with 48 people to a wildlife park where we got to feed kangaroos, take a picture with a koala, and see other cute animals. We stopped at various places along the way to Phillip Island and had the chance to see spectacular views of beach and the Nobbies. The penguin parade was amazing. We purchased the plus pass which included a free small drink, a guide book, and close-up seating. It was definitely worth paying the extra $20/person. Those little penguins are so cute! Our tour guide was very knowledeable and told us many stories along the way. He was also funny and friendly, and recommended a great fish and chips place for dinner. We would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Australia.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

One of the highlights of our 2-week trip to Australia!
This is not-to-be-missed experience. The animal park was a great experience and we had plenty of time to pet the Kangaroos. You can not pet the Koalas here, and we learned that in most places in Australia you are not allowed to carry them or pet them (apparently in the parks around Cairns you can). To be able to have photographs taken with a Koala you must pay a small adiitional fee for the photo that they take and sell you, but they allow you then to take as many photos as you want with your camera.
For Phillips Island we chose the VIP package with viewing from the Ranger's platform and it was worth it. It was an unforgettable experience to watch the penguins coming out of the ocean.
The only negative about this tour is that they don't allow any type of photography at the Penguin Sanctuary.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was a wonderful day trip to Phillip Island. On the way visited Maru Wildlife where could go close to Kangaroos. Penguin Parade really worth watching. Only sad part was that photography was prohibited. Coach driver was friendly and commentary was jovial. All in all an enjoyable day tour.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Phillip Island tour and very informative. Our guide was entertaining with the commentaire. Would definitely recommend to all-is not to be missed.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Amazing trip and 100% worth paying the extra for the viewing platform at Phillip Island. Tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about the area and the surrounding habits of the animals.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Amazing trip and 100% worth paying the extra for the viewing platform at Phillip Island. Tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about the area and the surrounding habits of the animals.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent tour. Mark the driver gave us wonderful commentary all the way to Philip Island, packed with history and anecdotes about the local areas as we passed through on our way from Melbourne down to Phillip Island. Wildlife Park was fun, although we have been to a similar one in the past. Penguins.... well what can we say they are just adorable and we were not disappointed at all. We were glad we paid the extra for Penguin Plus although you still need to get onto the viewing platform well in advance of the anticipated arrival! Previous reviews were read beforehand and everyone said take warm clothes, good advice which we followed and were glad we did. Would definately recommend this trip.

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

As is customary with Viator.com, the guide was excellent. The tour provided time to view and interact with the kangaroos. (Visitors to Phillip Island are not permittted to photograph the penguins.)

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

I absolutely loved this trip! The bus driver was so helpful and told us lots about Phillip island. Everything was brilliant

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Great tour ! We enjoyed it very much! The Phillip Island Penguin tour was a highlight of our trip to Melbourne!

Doing what: Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos Day Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message