Insider's Guide to Melbourne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

What's your pleasure? Sports? Shopping? Art? Food? Wine? Wildlife? Melbourne ticks all these boxes and more. Straddling the curvy, lazy Yarra River, Melbourne is Australia's second largest city and, some would say, its best. Skip straight to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 176 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Emory F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an awesome tour. It was a long day with all the hotel pick-ups and drop-offs on top of the drive, but our tour guide Peter did an outstanding job of keeping the group engaged and entertained. There were lots of stops and opportunities to get out and walk. The scenery was fantastic, very diverse along the three sections of the Great Ocean Road. We added the helicopter ride and it was well worth it.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Mavis H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Thanks Lizzy, we had a really great tour down the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Maciej G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Perfectly organised tour with great guide - Stephen! Great amount of information and time to enjoy the spectacular views! I totally recommend it to anyone who's coming to Great Ocean Road! It was also worth picking the helicopter flight over Twelve Apostles - different perspective and you can see all of them!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Meghan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was by and large the highlight of our 10 day trip to Australia, all thanks to our guide Nicky. A 15 hour long tour, much of it spent on a bus with strangers, has the potential for disaster. Nicky however was friendly, professional, knowledgeable and an overall joy to spend the day with. I feel like without her we would not have had such a great day exploring the Great Ocean Road and genuinely could not thank her enough for our fantastic experience. My parents are going to Australia in a months time and I will be recommending this tour to them, specifically recommending that they ask for Nicky as a tour guide, in the hopes that their day was as fantastic as ours was.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Julian V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Stuart was great,we had a lot of fun with him.
The Great Ocean Road is a must do, when you travel to Melbourne.
A lot of gorgeous views

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

judy b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The small group tour is the only way to experience the beauty of the great ocean road. Leo, our guide and driver, was personable and made the trip even more enjoyable for us. Thank you

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great night. The food was excellent and the staff were wonderful. We had a 3 course meal which was more then enough and was very tasty. In case you wish to experience wonderful and romantic meal during you holiday I would strongly recommend to try Colonial tramcar.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

paulmui

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

all visitors must go to the Great ocean road,

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

vbellanti United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an incredible way to see the Great Ocean Road! I enjoyed the small-group aspect because it felt very personal and I was happy to not be on a large tour bus. The timing was perfect at every stop, giving us enough time to enjoy the sights and take lots of pictures. Our group was lucky to see a wild koala awake (usually they are seen sleeping!) and we had plenty of time to take pictures and enjoy watching him be active. I also did the optional helicopter ride over the 12 Apostles, and that was an incredible experience. Although a short ride, it was a beautiful post card sight to see. I highly recommend this tour to those who are in Melbourne for a short time and want the best way to see and enjoy the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

D Gosney G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Stunning views on this day trip which got better and better as the day went on. First stop was at a lake for cake and coffee whilst our driver went off to pick up the Subway lunch of rolls, cookies and drinks - for our picnic on the beach. Very informative drive along the Great Ocean Road, and plenty of long stories from our tour guide Steve. The Twelve Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge are simply stunning. We had lunch on the beach at Loch Ard Gorge - and the Subway rolls and cookies were just perfect with plenty to go round between the group, and some left over. A great way to see a little more of Melbourne other than the city. A fair bit of walking up and down steps to the beaches in both cases, but you have the choice to stay at the top and take in the views.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Green

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We were here right after fires so part of the Road was closed. The detour around was on a very windy road - not my favorite. The lunch break sandwiches- simple but tastyand had a pleasant walk through forest gully - but more seating would have been appreciated. The Great Ocean Road was fabulous. Had a good variety of view points and view options for all fitness levels.Really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

LEON M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was excellent. Allan our driver and guide had an extensive knowledge of the area we visited and was very friendly and helpful to everyone on the tour. I have been on many day trips and this was one of the best organised and gave us a snapshot of many of the scenic areas along the Great Ocean Road. The morning tea and lunch was very good. It was a long drive but I thoroughly enjoyed the tour. I hope that I can do more tours like this in the future.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Jerry F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

One of the best tours I have ever taken. Lee our driver/guide was great, funny and knew all of the best spots to stop at for pictures. Will tell any and all friends and family who travel to Melbourne to take your tour of the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A tour of The Great Ocean Road is a must!! The ocean is amazing, and each photo op was more beautiful than the last. We saw koalas and beautiful parrots also. It's very long day - 13-14 hours, but so worth the time. The views are beautiful beyond words.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Maureen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our party of three totally enjoyed our Lunch on Colonial Tramcar Restaurant the atmosphere, the food and the staff were all excellent, thank you for the pleasure will be recommending.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Scott H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Highly recommend this small bus tour along Great Ocean Road. Saw so many sites and Stuart our knowledgeable and witty tour guide truly added to the experience. He shared stories we would not know traveling independently and kept us entertained during the long, but scenic, day. Well worth the time and cost!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

marie anne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Tour of the Great Ocean road was The Best!!!!
Every detail : the History and culture that the Tour guide offered , the atmosphere, the scenery along the road, the stops at reasonable intervals, All combined to make this experience an extra Excellent one
I speak for myself but am pretty sure that the 22 passengers were as happy as i have been.
My only regret was that it could nkt go for longer: i would have happily gone on to Adelaide....

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Ever Soco Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I had an amazing day during my tour to great ocean road . A spectacular scenic view of other side of Victoria. Thank you very much to our very funny and cool guide name Travis . His doing his job extremely well. This tour is very reasonable price and worth it!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Anne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This day tour was everything we expected and more. The Great Ocean road was beautiful

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Kathleen B Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

There are so many reasons I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see the Great Ocean Road! Stuart of Go West was a fun and knowledgeable guide who also provided super-yummy baked goods for our morning tea/coffee we stopped at many locations for photos and short walks the time allowed at each location was long enough for photos, but short enough that we could see the highlights from Melbourne to Port Campbell during daylight and the noodle place option for supper on our way back was fast, yummy and relatively cheap there were other options, we went for stir fry. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Patricia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Highly recommend this tour!

Having a knowledgeable tour guide like Jon who drove the group everywhere made for a wonderful experience! As I'm from the US, I for one would not be comfortable driving on the other side of the road, and who can enjoy the scenic views when doing so, along narrow, windy roads?

The cheesy soundtrack on the bus just added to the lightheartedness of the tour. Tell me that it's not perfect that Sheryl Crow's Every Day Is A Winding Road is playing as you're doing just that - driving along a winding road. And as we ventured through the surf section of the trip, the Beach Boys were blasting tunes like Surfin' USA.

Logistically, this tour organization nailed it! The Thai lunch included in the ticket price was hot and satisfying, and there are a handful of dinner options on the drive back to Melbourne. We even had morning tea with coffee/tea options from a thermos and poundcake during a break in the drive. Pit stops are planned out every couple hours, which was just right.

Thank you for such a well-planned out day trip to the 12 Apostles and Great Ocean Road! I've never experienced anything like it before. Breathtaking sights! This tour is worth every penny!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Beka K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I had a wonderful trip along the Great Ocean Road, enjoying hearing about the history and wildlife and looking at stunning scenery. We saw plenty of birds and koalas in the wild and there were opportunities to take photos at various stops along the way. There was enough time to explore different stops.

John, our tour guide was informative and good humoured. For me the balance of giving information and time to look and think was perfect. I liked the quirky music that linked to the section of the tour we were on- although some of the tracks were very cheesy so be warned if that's not your thing!

The lunch options included in tour were fine but not amazing and the evening stop to buy dinner at own expense had fairly limited choices. For me that was a price worth paying for the rest of the trip.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Miista

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

As the only other Australian on the tour, besides the tour guide, I found everyone's reaction to my home country just really satisfying. The Great Ocean Road has been on my bucket list for a long time, so to finally tick that off almost brought tears to my eyes. The service provided by the local tour company was amazing, and Daniel, our tour guide, had such a lovely personality... I couldn't have asked for anything better. The price is literally a bargain, it's so worth it!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Robert J D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Good communication as soon as booked trip including letting us know of adjustment in pickup time due to hotel route extra sleep!. Stewie was a fantastically fun guide and very knowledgeable about the city as well as sites along the route to the Great Ocean Road. He kept the group engaged and excited with the history and other facts, as well as his great sense of humor. The vehicle was comfortable and even had wi-fi if you were so inclined...wouldn't suggest taking your eyes of the scenery though! All in all, a great day and I would recommend to anyone looking for a fun and easy way to see the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Christopher d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had an amazing trip, our guide Alan was excellent - you could tell he loved his job and knew his stuff about the area. The trip was great value for money - most travel books recommend 1-2 weeks sightseeing the Great Ocean Road - we managed everything comfortably in 1 day!! Although we covered a lot of miles travelling, it didn't feel like it as we had plenty of stops. The longest we had to go without stopping was about 1 and half hours - however this was on the way back and most people slept!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message