Insider's Guide to Melbourne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

What's your pleasure? Sports? Shopping? Art? Food? Wine? Wildlife? Melbourne ticks all these boxes and more. Straddling the curvy, lazy Yarra River, Melbourne is Australia's second largest city and, some would say, its best. Skip straight to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 165 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A tour of The Great Ocean Road is a must!! The ocean is amazing, and each photo op was more beautiful than the last. We saw koalas and beautiful parrots also. It's very long day - 13-14 hours, but so worth the time. The views are beautiful beyond words.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Maureen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our party of three totally enjoyed our Lunch on Colonial Tramcar Restaurant the atmosphere, the food and the staff were all excellent, thank you for the pleasure will be recommending.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Maureen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our party of three totally enjoyed our Lunch on Colonial Tramcar Restaurant the atmosphere, the food and the staff were all excellent, thank you for the pleasure will be recommending.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Scott H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Highly recommend this small bus tour along Great Ocean Road. Saw so many sites and Stuart our knowledgeable and witty tour guide truly added to the experience. He shared stories we would not know traveling independently and kept us entertained during the long, but scenic, day. Well worth the time and cost!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

marie anne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Tour of the Great Ocean road was The Best!!!!
Every detail : the History and culture that the Tour guide offered , the atmosphere, the scenery along the road, the stops at reasonable intervals, All combined to make this experience an extra Excellent one
I speak for myself but am pretty sure that the 22 passengers were as happy as i have been.
My only regret was that it could nkt go for longer: i would have happily gone on to Adelaide....

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Ever Soco Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I had an amazing day during my tour to great ocean road . A spectacular scenic view of other side of Victoria. Thank you very much to our very funny and cool guide name Travis . His doing his job extremely well. This tour is very reasonable price and worth it!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Anne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This day tour was everything we expected and more. The Great Ocean road was beautiful

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Kathleen B Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

There are so many reasons I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see the Great Ocean Road! Stuart of Go West was a fun and knowledgeable guide who also provided super-yummy baked goods for our morning tea/coffee we stopped at many locations for photos and short walks the time allowed at each location was long enough for photos, but short enough that we could see the highlights from Melbourne to Port Campbell during daylight and the noodle place option for supper on our way back was fast, yummy and relatively cheap there were other options, we went for stir fry. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Patricia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Highly recommend this tour!

Having a knowledgeable tour guide like Jon who drove the group everywhere made for a wonderful experience! As I'm from the US, I for one would not be comfortable driving on the other side of the road, and who can enjoy the scenic views when doing so, along narrow, windy roads?

The cheesy soundtrack on the bus just added to the lightheartedness of the tour. Tell me that it's not perfect that Sheryl Crow's Every Day Is A Winding Road is playing as you're doing just that - driving along a winding road. And as we ventured through the surf section of the trip, the Beach Boys were blasting tunes like Surfin' USA.

Logistically, this tour organization nailed it! The Thai lunch included in the ticket price was hot and satisfying, and there are a handful of dinner options on the drive back to Melbourne. We even had morning tea with coffee/tea options from a thermos and poundcake during a break in the drive. Pit stops are planned out every couple hours, which was just right.

Thank you for such a well-planned out day trip to the 12 Apostles and Great Ocean Road! I've never experienced anything like it before. Breathtaking sights! This tour is worth every penny!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Beka K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I had a wonderful trip along the Great Ocean Road, enjoying hearing about the history and wildlife and looking at stunning scenery. We saw plenty of birds and koalas in the wild and there were opportunities to take photos at various stops along the way. There was enough time to explore different stops.

John, our tour guide was informative and good humoured. For me the balance of giving information and time to look and think was perfect. I liked the quirky music that linked to the section of the tour we were on- although some of the tracks were very cheesy so be warned if that's not your thing!

The lunch options included in tour were fine but not amazing and the evening stop to buy dinner at own expense had fairly limited choices. For me that was a price worth paying for the rest of the trip.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Miista

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

As the only other Australian on the tour, besides the tour guide, I found everyone's reaction to my home country just really satisfying. The Great Ocean Road has been on my bucket list for a long time, so to finally tick that off almost brought tears to my eyes. The service provided by the local tour company was amazing, and Daniel, our tour guide, had such a lovely personality... I couldn't have asked for anything better. The price is literally a bargain, it's so worth it!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Robert J D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Good communication as soon as booked trip including letting us know of adjustment in pickup time due to hotel route extra sleep!. Stewie was a fantastically fun guide and very knowledgeable about the city as well as sites along the route to the Great Ocean Road. He kept the group engaged and excited with the history and other facts, as well as his great sense of humor. The vehicle was comfortable and even had wi-fi if you were so inclined...wouldn't suggest taking your eyes of the scenery though! All in all, a great day and I would recommend to anyone looking for a fun and easy way to see the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Christopher d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had an amazing trip, our guide Alan was excellent - you could tell he loved his job and knew his stuff about the area. The trip was great value for money - most travel books recommend 1-2 weeks sightseeing the Great Ocean Road - we managed everything comfortably in 1 day!! Although we covered a lot of miles travelling, it didn't feel like it as we had plenty of stops. The longest we had to go without stopping was about 1 and half hours - however this was on the way back and most people slept!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Teresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a fabulous night on the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant - can thoroughly recommend to anyone heading to Melbourne or even residing in Melbourne. The food was fabulous 5 courses, but the service was even better!!! Having the chance to talk to the Chef and the food and drink waiter during the journey made it a very special night. The Tram travels to St Kilda and stops at Albert Park so you can stretch your legs and make room for dessert. And, the chef said he couldn't let us choose desserts, and so served both!!!
Most definitely worth it - we would do it again!!!!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

francess135 Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved our tour, and our tour guide Steve was awesome! He was lively all throughout and even prepared a music playlist for maximum tour enjoyment! We had fun learning about Australia, the Great Ocean Road, the animals we encountered.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

ABD RASHID P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We went to Great Ocean Road when we were in Melbourne. The travel tour was Go West Tour. The driver/guide was so funny and friendly made our long trip not boring. He stopped at nice places for photo and food also provided during the tour. The bus have Wifi. You wont get bored!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

THEN KANG G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My sister, niece and I joined the Great Ocean Road Trip and the Tram Restaurant 6 Earlt Dinner Sight-Seeing tour on 7.4.15 and 9.4.15 respectively and enjoyed every moment of them. Kudos to the witty driver/guide (Derrel?), waitress (Angela) ,bar man and chef on these two tours!

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Sheila S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very long day, but well worth it. The Great Ocean Road was spectacular, as were the views of the 12 Apostles There are only 8 now, due to erosion. The guide was great, providing a tea break along the way, with fresh cakes, tea, coffee, and hot chocolate. He gave us lots of information along the way as well. Hotel pickups and drop off were handled smoothly. We highly recommend this tour for value.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Azmi A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was MARVELLOUS. The only setback was the weather. It rained when we arrived at the 12 Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge. It was so windy and cold too, but I still managed to get there and see the 12 Apostles. I even dragged myself to the Loch Arg Gorge and it was well worth it. the Great Ocean Road was awesome. Those who visits Melbourne/Victoria must experience this tour. I intend to come again. Serious.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Hollie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great time on the great ocean road. Had a fantastic guide called Daniel who really went the extra mile to make the trip enjoyable for everyone in the group from making additional stops for those travellers who were unwell, to being everyones personal photographer or just giving you that extra bit of information whilst on the road he was ace. The road has more bends than a snake so is not the best place for anyone who suffers from travel sickness but if you can keep your breakfast down it is well worth it.
It is an extremely long day so speaking from experience it is not the best idea to get into your hotel at 3am after a night out!! You will want to stay awake to see the breath taking scenary. I chose the Helicopter option which was amazing cannot believe it has took me 25 years to get in one and while you are only up there for a short while the views are amazing.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Ashley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had an amazing time on this tour. I would definitely recommend it. The Great Ocean Road is truly stunning. Also Steve our driver was awesome :

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Ashley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had an amazing time on this tour. I would definitely recommend it. The Great Ocean Road is truly stunning. Also Steve our driver was awesome :

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Ashley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had an amazing time on this tour. I would definitely recommend it. The Great Ocean Road is truly stunning. Also Steve our driver was awesome :

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Li G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

If you are pressed for time, this is a great way to see the Great Ocean Road and learn a bit about history along the way. If you have to catch up on email, there is free WIFI on the van. Our tour guide/driver, Daniel, made it all even better ... in addition, he is good baker, DJ and storyteller! We totally enjoy the tour ... and very glad we did it!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

J David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We have taken the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant tour of Melbourne several times, and we love it! This trip did not disappoint. We hope to take it again some day.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message