• USD ($)
  • English
What's your pleasure? Sports? Shopping? Art? Food? Wine? Wildlife? Melbourne ticks all these boxes and more. Straddling the curvy, lazy Yarra River, Melbourne is Australia's second largest city and, some would say, its best. Skip straight to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 103 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide, Katie, was really great! She had lots of "corny" songs to play for us. There were plenty of scenic stops and it was really great having morning tea with the cockatoos! The minibus was comfortable and equipped with fairly reliable wifi (depends on telstra signal, so it varies). The lunch included was from a noodle place and it was delicious. There's also a stop going home where you can choose from McD's, another noodle place (very good!) and some other places. Katie was very knowledgeable about the coast and the wildlife. We saw several koalas and even a few kangaroos from the road. She was nice enough to pull over and let us take photos of the kangaroos, though they were far away. I've been on a couple other Great Ocean Road tours (several years ago) and this one is probably going to be the most memorable!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my trip along the Great Ocean Road. Our guide/driver was very professional and good fun. I particularly liked the fact that he kept is informed with regard to times and schedules.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Daniel was our tourist guide on the Great Ocean Road. What a great guy. We had a fabulous time and would have no hesitation in recommending this tour to anyone here in New Zealand

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

From start to finish this tour lived up to its promises. The tour guide, Chris, was very welcoming and enthusiastic and learned everyone by first name. He knew his local knowledge and I feel went above and beyond what was expected. The tour itself was magnificent and we had decent stops along the way. Lunch was included even though it said it was excluded on the Viator website which was a bonus. I highly recommend doing the Great Ocean Road in this fashion. A small group where it was easy to get to know other people and make new friends even if only for a day. I will be sending more business this way.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a fantastic tour with excellent food. I have never been in a colonial tramcar before so it was quite the treat. The staff was professional and were there to ensure everyone had a fabulous time.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I took this day trip in mid-December during a month long stay in Melbourne. There was a slight hitch with my pick up spot but this was quickly rectified by my very friendly, engaging and knowledgeable driver and guide Travis who made the day a pleasure from beginning to end. It's a really long day for group members because of the distance you have to cover, but even longer for tour guides who don't have the luxury of the opportunity to nap in between stops. Travis might well have been exhausted but he certainly didn't let on, answering many questions and giving us the benefit of his local knowledge and experience as well as his good humour throughout. The Great Ocean Road itself is spectacular and this trip is excellent value. I had read many comments online about how it's impossible to cram the spectacle into a single day, and of course it would be nice to have more time at certain spots, but if your time or budget is limited and just want a taste of the beauty and awe of Australian coastal scenery, you'd be a fool not to take this trip. At times I was left feeling genuinely humbled and overwhelmed by what was in front of my eyes. My single piece of advice would be to make sure you take a jacket or hoodie on even the warmest of days as I certainly felt the chill waiting for my early morning pick up on Bourke Street and by the sea, but I'd take this trip again in a heartbeat just to see how different everywhere looks in different weather conditions. Many thanks to Go West Tours and Travis for making my last minute booking a smooth, enjoyable and memorable one. I'll be back soon, Melbourne! 3

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The Colonial Tramcar Restaurant in Melbourne was great we will recomend it to everyone. We will definitely be going again.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

GWT's stuff is amazing and makes the trip to great ocean road a relaxed and joyful experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary on the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant and could not have been happier. The decor was stunning, the service was excellent and the food delicious. The ride was smooth and comfortable. We would highly recommend this activity for anyone.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The trip was Fantastic especially the driver Dave,he was most freindly and a very great source of local information. The amount of rest stops and places of interest was out of this world. To anyone planning a trip to the great ocean road make sure you ask for Driver DAVE. Fantastic from Sha and Ted Turner from Townsville

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a fantastic night on the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant. We were a bit dubious about what the food would be like but we shouldn't have worried. It was really lovely, hot and well cooked. The highlight of the night were our waiters Joe and Tim. They were so attentive and lovely, Joe's signing was the best ! All in all a fantastic evening, would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Great (and long) tour! We saw more than I thought we would see, from the best sites on the Great Ocean Road, to an ancient fern forest with the world's tallest flowering trees, to wild koalas and parrots, to great surfing beaches. Rebecca, our guide, was top-notch. She clearly loved showing off her country. The weather varied from warm and sunny, to overcast, cold and rainy, and drizzly. So be prepared for three seasons. (I'm from Colorado, so we definitely did not have winter weather!) The tour lasted 14 hours, but was well worth it. Great memories.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

We had a wonderful time on this tour. The Great Ocean Road is full of panoramic views and natural wonders. Our tour guide/ bus driver, Daniel (gowest tours) was very good indeed. We enjoyed the histories and stories behind the places. A well-planned tour. The scenic and beautiful places along the Great Ocean Road are simply captivating. These views will always stay in our mind forever. Simply amazing!!!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

WOW ! What a way to spend a tremendous afternoon touring around Melbourne in a most comfortable Colonial Tramcar. It was very well organised which made for a very relaxing time. All involved in service
were just marvellous. Smiles all round and they couldn't do enough for you. Food was fabulous and our compliments to the chef. Just DELICIOUS !!
Thank you for a very memorable time while in Melbourne.
ALL ABOARD
Sue, Sam and Michelle

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My partner and I had a sensational time celebrating a significant birthday on the Colonial Tramcar Rstaurant recently. Everything was perfect - ambience, food, service. I would highly recommend this memorable activity and have already planned another occasion with other friends.
Thank you to all involved with the Colonial Tramcar Rstaurant.

Doing what: Colonial Tramcar Restaurant Tour of Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message