• USD ($)
  • English
The Great Ocean Road is one of Melbourne’s quintessential tourist experiences, so it’s no surprise that there are dozens of options when it comes to touring the area. How’s a visitor to know which one to pick? Private tours, multi day tours, day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 105 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My husband and I had the most wonderful day on this tour. The bus was on time to collect us from our hotel and the host most gracious in taking us to our brand new tour bus. The bus was the most comfortable we have ever been on and lovely and clean. The tour guide was really terrific and so knowledgeable about the area. We were hanging on to every word and learnt a great deal. We were on time all the way and had sufficient breaks and photo stops. For the price this tour was great value for money and we would recommend it to anyone who has not yet experienced the beauty and wonder of the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide, Katie, was really great! She had lots of "corny" songs to play for us. There were plenty of scenic stops and it was really great having morning tea with the cockatoos! The minibus was comfortable and equipped with fairly reliable wifi (depends on telstra signal, so it varies). The lunch included was from a noodle place and it was delicious. There's also a stop going home where you can choose from McD's, another noodle place (very good!) and some other places. Katie was very knowledgeable about the coast and the wildlife. We saw several koalas and even a few kangaroos from the road. She was nice enough to pull over and let us take photos of the kangaroos, though they were far away. I've been on a couple other Great Ocean Road tours (several years ago) and this one is probably going to be the most memorable!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my trip along the Great Ocean Road. Our guide/driver was very professional and good fun. I particularly liked the fact that he kept is informed with regard to times and schedules.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Daniel was our tourist guide on the Great Ocean Road. What a great guy. We had a fabulous time and would have no hesitation in recommending this tour to anyone here in New Zealand

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

From start to finish this tour lived up to its promises. The tour guide, Chris, was very welcoming and enthusiastic and learned everyone by first name. He knew his local knowledge and I feel went above and beyond what was expected. The tour itself was magnificent and we had decent stops along the way. Lunch was included even though it said it was excluded on the Viator website which was a bonus. I highly recommend doing the Great Ocean Road in this fashion. A small group where it was easy to get to know other people and make new friends even if only for a day. I will be sending more business this way.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I took this day trip in mid-December during a month long stay in Melbourne. There was a slight hitch with my pick up spot but this was quickly rectified by my very friendly, engaging and knowledgeable driver and guide Travis who made the day a pleasure from beginning to end. It's a really long day for group members because of the distance you have to cover, but even longer for tour guides who don't have the luxury of the opportunity to nap in between stops. Travis might well have been exhausted but he certainly didn't let on, answering many questions and giving us the benefit of his local knowledge and experience as well as his good humour throughout. The Great Ocean Road itself is spectacular and this trip is excellent value. I had read many comments online about how it's impossible to cram the spectacle into a single day, and of course it would be nice to have more time at certain spots, but if your time or budget is limited and just want a taste of the beauty and awe of Australian coastal scenery, you'd be a fool not to take this trip. At times I was left feeling genuinely humbled and overwhelmed by what was in front of my eyes. My single piece of advice would be to make sure you take a jacket or hoodie on even the warmest of days as I certainly felt the chill waiting for my early morning pick up on Bourke Street and by the sea, but I'd take this trip again in a heartbeat just to see how different everywhere looks in different weather conditions. Many thanks to Go West Tours and Travis for making my last minute booking a smooth, enjoyable and memorable one. I'll be back soon, Melbourne! 3

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

GWT's stuff is amazing and makes the trip to great ocean road a relaxed and joyful experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The trip was Fantastic especially the driver Dave,he was most freindly and a very great source of local information. The amount of rest stops and places of interest was out of this world. To anyone planning a trip to the great ocean road make sure you ask for Driver DAVE. Fantastic from Sha and Ted Turner from Townsville

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Great (and long) tour! We saw more than I thought we would see, from the best sites on the Great Ocean Road, to an ancient fern forest with the world's tallest flowering trees, to wild koalas and parrots, to great surfing beaches. Rebecca, our guide, was top-notch. She clearly loved showing off her country. The weather varied from warm and sunny, to overcast, cold and rainy, and drizzly. So be prepared for three seasons. (I'm from Colorado, so we definitely did not have winter weather!) The tour lasted 14 hours, but was well worth it. Great memories.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

We had a wonderful time on this tour. The Great Ocean Road is full of panoramic views and natural wonders. Our tour guide/ bus driver, Daniel (gowest tours) was very good indeed. We enjoyed the histories and stories behind the places. A well-planned tour. The scenic and beautiful places along the Great Ocean Road are simply captivating. These views will always stay in our mind forever. Simply amazing!!!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We did the Great Ocean Road tour on September 18. It is a long day but you are rewarded with amazing scenery along the way. We didn't have the best weather but the trip was fantastic. The stops are fairly short and you will be kept on a fairly tight schedule. The 12 Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge are not to be missed. We did Phillips Island on September 19 and paid for the Penguin Private tour. At Moonlit Sanctuary, pay a little extra to get food for the kangaroos and to cuddle the koalas. I would have preferred skipping the Churchill Farm portion in exchange for more time at the Nobbies and the Penguin Parade. I grew up on a farm so it was not that exciting for me. Since we were doing the private penguin tour, we had to eat dinner at the Nobbies, which left us no time to look around. Also, we were very rushed at the Penguins and did not have time to look in the gift shop. As part of the Penguin Private, we were taken over to the Penguin Plus area. I would say that this is where you get more bang for your buck. Most of the penguins come up this way and there were way more seen here than where we sat front row on the beach. It is another long day. We had the best tour guide/driver, Steve so if you manage to have him, you are in luck! We did all three of the attractions in one day, the Aquarium, Eureka Skydeck and the Old Melbourne Gaol. The Aquarium was just renovated and they have done a great job. The Skydeck is very cool and the view is worth the trip. The Old Melbourne Gaol is very interesting and the Watchhouse Experience was fun. We packed a lot into 3 days but it was worth every penny.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Pan
Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The first trip is very long drive from the city to the great ocean road. The trip to Philip Island is great the guide is very nice and give a lot of information than the first trip.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Loved every minute of this! Paul, our driver from Go West, was friendly, funny, and informative. We had coffee, tea, and cake at Bells Beach and stopped at several breathtaking spots along the Great Ocean Road until we got to the 12 Apostles. I took the helicopter ride and it was an amazing experience. The views were absolutely breathtaking- I couldn't have asked for a more perfect trip.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The trips were fantastic; our guide Kyle for Great Ocean Road was brilliant, v knowledgeable and funny and loved the soundtrack he supplied for the day too. We were lucky enough to have Lisa on the bus with us that day too – so sweet and she helped make it fun! Lots of other lone travellers on this tour so a great one for those travelling alone. The Great Ocean Road is every bit as spectacular as you would imagine and I can't wait to get back and explore in more detail.
Highlights of the Phillip Island day were definitely feeding kangaroos and wallabies, they are so cute. We also got to do a tree top walk at a Koala Conservation area so a great photo opportunity to get fairly close to the sleepy bears! Phillip Island was amazing and well worth paying the extra money to get front seats for the penguins. You also get a very knowledgeable ranger who entertains you with interesting penguin facts while you wait for them to show up. The penguins are just adorable – so cute and all huddle together and wait for each other. Do wrap up warm though. Also had another great tour guide driving the bus, Bronwyn – passionate about conservation and wildlife and really added to the whole experience.
Melbourne Attraction pass was good value but the Aquarium was undergoing renovation so felt very small.
I would definitely recommend these tours to everyone I know.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

First of all, a great tour guide, driver and cook - Matt from Bunyip Tour, a very informative, knowledgeable, cheerful, funny and nice guy. You can't get a better tour guide other than Matt :)

Spectacular view along the great ocean road, a must go destination in Australia.

Grampians is another highlight of Australian natural scene, very interesting tour for people who love the nature, good amount of trekking, but it is worthwhile.

Overall, a very good experience and definitely worth the money and energy.

Doing what: 3-Day Great Ocean Road and Grampians Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message