• USD ($)
  • English
The Great Ocean Road is one of Melbourne’s quintessential tourist experiences, so it’s no surprise that there are dozens of options when it comes to touring the area. How’s a visitor to know which one to pick? Private tours, multi day tours, day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 114 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour of the Great Ocean Road I took on June 20 was absolutely fantastic. The landscape is well worth the trip, Daniel was our guide and he was excellent. He was so knowledgeable and very friendly. He made everything interesting. He was very professional but in a relaxed and friendly way and made sure we all had a really great day. He was very kind to everyone with great stories and information. The food at lunch and dinner stops was very good with lots of options for vegetarians and gluten free. Daniel kept us on schedule yet he didn't make us feel rushed at all. The success of a tour is always because of the quality of the tour guide and Daniel made it a great tour.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Spectacular view of the great ocean road. Nice tour guiding. Had lunch at apollo hotel, nice food. Completely satisfied with the trip!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well timed and excellent trip. The tour guide gave us a lot of information about the places along the great ocean road. We were also lucky enough to see some koalas in the wild while on this trip.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our trip to the Great Ocean Road was just perfect! The weather was nice, the spots we stopped were carefully chosen and the driver/guide was simply fantastic - he was enthusiastic, funny, nice, well informed and very attentive. Excelent work, congratulations!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A very long day but it was so worth it! Our guide was entertaining and very knowledgable about all aspects of the great ocean road
Many miles covered but with so much to see this didn't matter
I would recommend the helicopter flight option as this was a definite highlight
A great value for money trip!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Both trips were wonderful! The day we went to the Great Ocean Road was a rainy day but the weather almost miraculously cleared when we reached the 12 Apostles. Our guide Macca ( I hope that's the correct spelling) was excellent. He was knowledgeable and had an easy going personality that made the day a lot of fun in spite of the weather. It was amazing to see koalas in their natural habitat and kangaroos hopping through the fields. The weather cooperated for the Phillip Island day. Macca was our guide again and again was the perfect guide. We stopped at an animal sanctuary which was the highlight of the day for me. Feeding the gentle kangaroos is something I will never forget. We visited a beautiful farm, a koala conservation place and finished the day watching the little penguins coming home from a long day at sea. Both days were unforgettable and it was great to save some money by booking the trips together. And getting the passes to the Eureka Tower and the Aquarium was good too. We visited both places and enjoyed them tremendously. The pacing of the trips was good too. We made plenty of stops so you could stretch your legs and have a bathroom break. Lunch was provided both days as well. Nothing fancy but it was good and there were places to get snacks if you wanted more. I will never forget the two wonderful trips. Thank you!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

If you're only able to take one trip while in Australia/Melbourne, you must go on this trip to the Great Ocean Road. It was a once in a lifetime experience. The Twelve Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge are spectacular, breathtaking, beyond words. It's a long day from 7 am until 9:30 pm, but so, so worth it.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My husband and I had the most wonderful day on this tour. The bus was on time to collect us from our hotel and the host most gracious in taking us to our brand new tour bus. The bus was the most comfortable we have ever been on and lovely and clean. The tour guide was really terrific and so knowledgeable about the area. We were hanging on to every word and learnt a great deal. We were on time all the way and had sufficient breaks and photo stops. For the price this tour was great value for money and we would recommend it to anyone who has not yet experienced the beauty and wonder of the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide, Katie, was really great! She had lots of "corny" songs to play for us. There were plenty of scenic stops and it was really great having morning tea with the cockatoos! The minibus was comfortable and equipped with fairly reliable wifi (depends on telstra signal, so it varies). The lunch included was from a noodle place and it was delicious. There's also a stop going home where you can choose from McD's, another noodle place (very good!) and some other places. Katie was very knowledgeable about the coast and the wildlife. We saw several koalas and even a few kangaroos from the road. She was nice enough to pull over and let us take photos of the kangaroos, though they were far away. I've been on a couple other Great Ocean Road tours (several years ago) and this one is probably going to be the most memorable!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my trip along the Great Ocean Road. Our guide/driver was very professional and good fun. I particularly liked the fact that he kept is informed with regard to times and schedules.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Daniel was our tourist guide on the Great Ocean Road. What a great guy. We had a fabulous time and would have no hesitation in recommending this tour to anyone here in New Zealand

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

From start to finish this tour lived up to its promises. The tour guide, Chris, was very welcoming and enthusiastic and learned everyone by first name. He knew his local knowledge and I feel went above and beyond what was expected. The tour itself was magnificent and we had decent stops along the way. Lunch was included even though it said it was excluded on the Viator website which was a bonus. I highly recommend doing the Great Ocean Road in this fashion. A small group where it was easy to get to know other people and make new friends even if only for a day. I will be sending more business this way.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I took this day trip in mid-December during a month long stay in Melbourne. There was a slight hitch with my pick up spot but this was quickly rectified by my very friendly, engaging and knowledgeable driver and guide Travis who made the day a pleasure from beginning to end. It's a really long day for group members because of the distance you have to cover, but even longer for tour guides who don't have the luxury of the opportunity to nap in between stops. Travis might well have been exhausted but he certainly didn't let on, answering many questions and giving us the benefit of his local knowledge and experience as well as his good humour throughout. The Great Ocean Road itself is spectacular and this trip is excellent value. I had read many comments online about how it's impossible to cram the spectacle into a single day, and of course it would be nice to have more time at certain spots, but if your time or budget is limited and just want a taste of the beauty and awe of Australian coastal scenery, you'd be a fool not to take this trip. At times I was left feeling genuinely humbled and overwhelmed by what was in front of my eyes. My single piece of advice would be to make sure you take a jacket or hoodie on even the warmest of days as I certainly felt the chill waiting for my early morning pick up on Bourke Street and by the sea, but I'd take this trip again in a heartbeat just to see how different everywhere looks in different weather conditions. Many thanks to Go West Tours and Travis for making my last minute booking a smooth, enjoyable and memorable one. I'll be back soon, Melbourne! 3

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

GWT's stuff is amazing and makes the trip to great ocean road a relaxed and joyful experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The trip was Fantastic especially the driver Dave,he was most freindly and a very great source of local information. The amount of rest stops and places of interest was out of this world. To anyone planning a trip to the great ocean road make sure you ask for Driver DAVE. Fantastic from Sha and Ted Turner from Townsville

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small Group Eco Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message