Insider's Guide to Melbourne

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Stretching 150 miles (243 km) along the south-eastern coast between Torquay and Allansford, the Great Ocean Road is Australia's ultimate road trip, a dramatic route that winds along the coastal cliffs past some of the country's most startling ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 208 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

hms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had a wonderful time in Melbourne. I was there for a total of the best part of 5 days. There was nothing I did that I would not do again. I did the Great Ocean Road tour, the Phillip Island tour, and with the pass I did the Melbourne Zoo, SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium, and the Hop On Hop Off bus. From the bus I stopped at the Queen Victoria Market, the Melbourne Museum, St Kilda and Eureka Skydeck 88.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Mavis H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Thanks Lizzy, we had a really great tour down the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Maciej G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Perfectly organised tour with great guide - Stephen! Great amount of information and time to enjoy the spectacular views! I totally recommend it to anyone who's coming to Great Ocean Road! It was also worth picking the helicopter flight over Twelve Apostles - different perspective and you can see all of them!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Meghan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was by and large the highlight of our 10 day trip to Australia, all thanks to our guide Nicky. A 15 hour long tour, much of it spent on a bus with strangers, has the potential for disaster. Nicky however was friendly, professional, knowledgeable and an overall joy to spend the day with. I feel like without her we would not have had such a great day exploring the Great Ocean Road and genuinely could not thank her enough for our fantastic experience. My parents are going to Australia in a months time and I will be recommending this tour to them, specifically recommending that they ask for Nicky as a tour guide, in the hopes that their day was as fantastic as ours was.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Julian V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Stuart was great,we had a lot of fun with him.
The Great Ocean Road is a must do, when you travel to Melbourne.
A lot of gorgeous views

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

judy b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The small group tour is the only way to experience the beauty of the great ocean road. Leo, our guide and driver, was personable and made the trip even more enjoyable for us. Thank you

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

MargieP

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Best Viator Trip by far - coach driver excellent - views amazing could certainly limit the HOUR spent at the botanical gardens and spend more time at Brighton Bathing Boxes and St Kilda - only had time to order a coffee n cake at St Kilda and barely had time to eat or drink purchases - limit Gardens to 20mis Max other than that fantastic. First time along Great Ocean Road and seeing the Twelve Apostles just incredible thank you

Doing what: 2-Day Combo: Melbourne City Tour, Yarra River Cruise and Great Ocean Road Day Trip

hms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Trip was great. Great Ocean Road is beautiful. Bus driver was very informative.

I loved the Phillip Island tour. It was much more than I realized. The penguins were wonderful, but the other parts of the trip were also super. wildlife refuge, Koala refuge, Historic farm, etc. This was a really full day. We left at 11:15AM and got back around midnight.

The attraction pass was simple to acquire and simple to use. I went to the Melbourne Zoo and Aquarium and did the Hop on, Hop off

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

SandyW United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Gary was our driver/guide on Day 1 - Melbourne City Tour and he was fabulous. A great way to see so much of the city. Day 2 Great Ocean Road was long day but amazing! Geoff drove the bus, made us Billy Tea and was tour guide. Very knowledgeable. Thoroughly enjoyed both trips.

Doing what: 2-Day Combo: Melbourne City Tour, Yarra River Cruise and Great Ocean Road Day Trip

Ana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Great Ocean Road is a once-in-a-lifetime drive, ending with the spectacular Sow and her piglets The 12 Apostles formations. Our driver/guide, Ricarda, is a great, professionally excellent person. It was wonderful to spend the day with her.

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Ocean Road from Melbourne

paulmui

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

all visitors must go to the Great ocean road,

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

vbellanti United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was an incredible way to see the Great Ocean Road! I enjoyed the small-group aspect because it felt very personal and I was happy to not be on a large tour bus. The timing was perfect at every stop, giving us enough time to enjoy the sights and take lots of pictures. Our group was lucky to see a wild koala awake (usually they are seen sleeping!) and we had plenty of time to take pictures and enjoy watching him be active. I also did the optional helicopter ride over the 12 Apostles, and that was an incredible experience. Although a short ride, it was a beautiful post card sight to see. I highly recommend this tour to those who are in Melbourne for a short time and want the best way to see and enjoy the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

D Gosney G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Stunning views on this day trip which got better and better as the day went on. First stop was at a lake for cake and coffee whilst our driver went off to pick up the Subway lunch of rolls, cookies and drinks - for our picnic on the beach. Very informative drive along the Great Ocean Road, and plenty of long stories from our tour guide Steve. The Twelve Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge are simply stunning. We had lunch on the beach at Loch Ard Gorge - and the Subway rolls and cookies were just perfect with plenty to go round between the group, and some left over. A great way to see a little more of Melbourne other than the city. A fair bit of walking up and down steps to the beaches in both cases, but you have the choice to stay at the top and take in the views.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Green

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We were here right after fires so part of the Road was closed. The detour around was on a very windy road - not my favorite. The lunch break sandwiches- simple but tastyand had a pleasant walk through forest gully - but more seating would have been appreciated. The Great Ocean Road was fabulous. Had a good variety of view points and view options for all fitness levels.Really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

LEON M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was excellent. Allan our driver and guide had an extensive knowledge of the area we visited and was very friendly and helpful to everyone on the tour. I have been on many day trips and this was one of the best organised and gave us a snapshot of many of the scenic areas along the Great Ocean Road. The morning tea and lunch was very good. It was a long drive but I thoroughly enjoyed the tour. I hope that I can do more tours like this in the future.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Jerry F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

One of the best tours I have ever taken. Lee our driver/guide was great, funny and knew all of the best spots to stop at for pictures. Will tell any and all friends and family who travel to Melbourne to take your tour of the Great Ocean Road.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Tim B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I highly recommend this trip. It was our 2nd highlight of our 3 week Australian trip. Sydney Harbour was our Number 1. Kyle was our overnight tour guide and he made our trip very special and fun. You can tell he loves his job by his involvement with the group and the special care he takes to make sure all are happy. The hotel was nice and only a short distance to the beach but dinner was just ok. Breakfast was very good. My husband enjoyed having someone else drive so he could see all the beauty Australia and the Great Ocean road has to offer. Our second driver Alan was friendly and informative and the seeing the penguin parade was wonderful. The only thing I would change about the trip is I would not stop at the Chocolate Factory unless you were taking the tour. When we stopped the cafe was closed and the chocolates were way to expensive. I dont anyone bought anything in our group of 24. Overall, a wonderful, fun, educational tour.

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

Judith M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A tour of The Great Ocean Road is a must!! The ocean is amazing, and each photo op was more beautiful than the last. We saw koalas and beautiful parrots also. It's very long day - 13-14 hours, but so worth the time. The views are beautiful beyond words.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Iris D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was organized by a local tour company and our fantastic tour guide was Matt. I think for this price the tour was great and left me and my 23 companions with unforgettable memories. The shared accomodations were good first day in a hostel at the Great Ocean Road, 12 of us shared a room second night in the Grampians where 5 of us shared one nicely climatized room, and some of us even booked a night in the tent 20 cheaper, this option is not available via Viator. Just be prepared for some longer waiting times in front of the showers in the hostels but all accomodations are clean and comfortable don't forget your ear plugs!.

The food was also good- with exception of the junk food we got at our first stop at the Cape Otway Lighthouse- sausage solala, bland potatoe salads you can get better stuff in the supermarket..., and bread. They should make sure that there is something better left for us after all the one-day tours were there. The other lunches were much better you eat your own sandwiches and lots of veggies if you like, and the dinners were fantastic. First night pizza with the sunset at the beach, second night BBQ with tasty kangaroo meat in the Grampians.
Our tour guide Matt was very knowledgeable and be prepared for his jokes! No one will be spared! He gave us enough time at all stops unfortunately the couple who booked the helicopter flight around the 12 Apostels could not not take their flight since we were delayed due some bush fire detours and the long lines t the check-in- but they got refunded. I took more than 150 pictures...My personal highlight was our Mexican-standoff with the dog when we left the accomodation on the last day. Dog vs. Matt's bus: you will laugh a lot and not forget this :- Altogether a great and unforgettable trip- thanks Matt!!!

Doing what: 3-Day Great Ocean Road and Grampians Tour from Melbourne

Scott H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Highly recommend this small bus tour along Great Ocean Road. Saw so many sites and Stuart our knowledgeable and witty tour guide truly added to the experience. He shared stories we would not know traveling independently and kept us entertained during the long, but scenic, day. Well worth the time and cost!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

marie anne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Tour of the Great Ocean road was The Best!!!!
Every detail : the History and culture that the Tour guide offered , the atmosphere, the scenery along the road, the stops at reasonable intervals, All combined to make this experience an extra Excellent one
I speak for myself but am pretty sure that the 22 passengers were as happy as i have been.
My only regret was that it could nkt go for longer: i would have happily gone on to Adelaide....

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I will absolutley be recommneding this tour to everyone I talk to, I had the best two days and I am really glad I was told to visit the great ocean road and see the penguins when I came here or else I am may not have come across this tour! There was so much beautiful sights, I found the tour very well planned, I learned so much and I did everything I possibly could have! My tour guides were Peter and Rob, and they both get gold stars, they were funny and quirky and they gave a ton of knowlegde and information about all the stops we took as well as interacted very well with ALL of the members. I am Jennifer from Canada, and I would like to thank you for two fabulous days! I will also upload some pictures when I get to a computer :

Doing what: 2-Day Great Ocean Road, Mornington Peninsula and Phillip Island Tour from Melbourne

Ever Soco Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I had an amazing day during my tour to great ocean road . A spectacular scenic view of other side of Victoria. Thank you very much to our very funny and cool guide name Travis . His doing his job extremely well. This tour is very reasonable price and worth it!

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Diana J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful! Coastline is gorgeous, forests are pretty on the Great Ocean Road. The trip to Phillip Island was everything I hoped for and more, despite the unexpected cold weather. The penguins are a national treasure!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Anne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This day tour was everything we expected and more. The Great Ocean road was beautiful

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Small-Group Eco-Tour from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message