• USD ($)
  • English
Melbourne’s street art has become as well known an attraction in the city as famous attractions like Flemington Racecourse, or shopping. Rich and diverse, the street art occurs all over the city. With the Melbourne Council actively supporting the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

You learn A LOT in this tour that you would not otherwise. There is a lot of street art that is totally worth to check. Also, the guide makes it very fun and you even get a break to later keep walking.

Doing what: Central Melbourne Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

We did this tour a couple of days ago, on the day after arriving in Melbourne. It seemed like a good way to get familiar with the CBD given that out hotel is within it, and that we are here for the week.

From our starting point at Federation Square, we were taken down along the river side linear park, Birrarung Marr, with frequent stops to listen to a brief history of the city's foundation, the indigenous significance of the area and explanation of various point of interest. This was followed by a return to the southern streets of the CBD, a taste of the lane ways and cafe culture, the grandeur of the Block arcade and Collins St, and a stroll to the South Bank precinct before returning to Federation Square. There was also a stop to enjoy a coffee from one of the iconic sidewalk cafes that are ubiquitous here.

Our tour was very ably led by Gerry, a newly recruited guide in training under the watchful eye of Dave. Gerry was a wealth of information, and when he didn't know something, Dave was able to fill in the gaps. Both of them were very pleasant and easygoing and made us feel immediately at ease.
We enjoyed a very pleasant stroll and learnt heaps. We also got to some things we would easily have overlooked, such as the quirky street art and the hidden gems like the ANZ building that is the site of Melbourne's original stock exchange.

I strongly recommend this 3 hour walking tour to anyone who is recently arrived and wants to get their bearings, both geographically and culturally. It's also a nice way of occupying oneself for an afternoon, and the fee is very reasonable.

Doing what: Central Melbourne Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

An opportunity to see the alternative side of Melbourne that a typical tour group will not get to see, especially the street art of Melbourne, which takes a look at the creativity and expressiveness of Melburnians. Good sights, sounds and taste (the coffee is awesome!) of Melbourne, this is one tour that is worth your 3 hours around the city centre.

Doing what: Central Melbourne Walking Tour

Alexis S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I have been to Melbourne before but on this visit I learnt things that even my friends didn't know about!!
New appreciation of street art as well as new places to come back and see. I really appreciated the history of the Yarra River.

Doing what: Central Melbourne Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Dave was a great tour guide! He was friendly and informative. He had lots of stories to share about Melbourne - both past and present - and he shared them in interesting ways. We especially enjoyed seeing some "street art" in the laneways and appreciated the stop at the cafe. We learned lots about Melbourne. Even though we had been in Melbourne for 5 days already and had walked on some of the streets where Dave took us, we now understood what we were actually seeing much better. It was a very enjoyable 3 hours and we would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Central Melbourne Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This was an outstanding tour. The local knowledge of our guide provided a great insight into the city. We were then able to spend the afternoon revisiting points of interest. We were also able to appreciate the street art in other lanes later in the week, as we recognised artists work. I have already recomended the tour to my friends and family.

Doing what: Melbourne Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

The walking tour was a really interesting, interactive way of exploring the city. Being a small group of six it was easy to ask questions and the tour was flexible in how much time we spent in a particular area.
We really enjoyed learning about Melbourne's street art culture and even spotted a few 'space invaders' on our own after the tour was over! Dave (our guide) was knowledgable and friendly and pointed out lots of places of interest for further discovery. It was great being able to walk around the alleys and laneways and we visited many 'hidden gems' within the city streets.
Great value, good time and a perfectly timed coffee break!!

Doing what: Central Melbourne Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The tour was fantastic, it was amazing seeing all the tiny shops,eateries etc and street art. We never would of found some of the places that we were taken to . Zoey our tour guide was brilliant, very friendly and knowledgable. We would definitely recommend the tour to anyone travelling to melbourne.

Doing what: Melbourne Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour

tigger
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

great tour of street art

Doing what: Central Melbourne Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

I really enjoyed my time on this tour, our guide was fantastic and very knowledgable on the areas we were going to. We had a great bunch of people on the tour who added humour and fun while we walked around the laneways. It was a nice touch being able to share a hot drink and sit for a bit half way and mingle with the others. Some amazing street art and talent in Melbourne, and got to see some places off the beaten track that I would never have seen if I hadn't discovered on this tour. I went back to one of the bars in the laneways which was amazing, and tried out Meatballs restaurant on the recommendation of our guide - very recommended. All in all a fab way to see some of the heart of Melbourne, something you will treasure.

Doing what: Central Melbourne Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message