Memphis ATTRACTIONS See all

Memphis National Civil Rights Museum

Built around the former Lorraine Motel, where civil rights leader Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. was assassinated in 1968, the National Civil Rights Museum immediately emits its cultural and historical significance to all who visit. The museum tells ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 173 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour gave a comprehensive insight into what Memphis has to offer, would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We did this tour without the Graceland Admission because we had already spent the entire day there the day before. Otherwise, the Graceland option would be money well spent. Its about US$22 from Downtown Memphis to Graceland. Now, the tour starts at the Welcome Centre. Not a lot to see there but it is growing. Our absolutely amazing driving Michelle then took us through the streets of Memphis pointing out all the interesting sights and history, from Mud Island to the beautiful old stately homes on Millionaires Row. We were shown the sporting grounds and stadiums and then on the St. Judes Hospital. Wow, I had no idea that this hospital existed, and all thanks to Danny Thomas (entertainer) who is buried with his wife onsite. The story behind this hospital is quite incredible. The Peabody Ducks are such a treat to see and Beale Street during the day is a very different experience. We did all things Elvis, because well we are in Memphis and of course I am a fan. Michelle went out of her way today to make our trip special. As we were the only ones today, she took us to Forest Hill Cemetery and showed us the mausoleum where Elvis's body lay until its return to Graceland. She dropped us at Sun Records at our request at the end of our tour. So much to see and a great day out.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

We took this trip because my wife always wanted to go to Memphis to see Graceland, the whole day was great even with the cold weather

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

Our experience was not as good as we expected. We thought that by the advertising of the tour, we would see Sun Studios, not just drive past it. We also booked to go on the canals for a short ride on the Mississippi Belle but were not advised that the Belle only operated on the weekends and we were there on a Tuesday. Our bus driver was quite rude to us her name was Pinkie, which made our first day in the USA very unpleasant and very disappointing. When advertising tours they should be CLEARLY DESCRIBED.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Best tour of all, they took great care of us. Seen alot, and learned alot. Graceland was amazing!!!

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was very interesting, plus driver did a very good job of narroting.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour guide was extremely entertaining . I enjoyed her stories about Memphis and all the great entertainers that got their start there.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great. We feel more comfortable in Memphis Downtown

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our booking was easy and Kat our tour guide has a terrific voice and told great stories to go along with her tour narration.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The guides were wonderful and flexible and gave us two times to return so didnt have to rush. Graceland was great. Best tour

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was amazing. I am a native Memphian and I LOVED this tour. Nancy Apple was amazing, funny, entertaining and I learned so much about my city!!! I would recommend this tour to ANYONE! Keep up the great job!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Very simple tour .....gives basic overview of downtown and early access to see the march if the ducks at the Peabody ....do it if only there for less than a day

Doing what: Memphis Coach Tour including Rock and Soul Museum

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

The tour was fine. The driver of the bus is the tour guide, and he was reasonably well informed. I appreciated the stop at St. Jude's, as i was not aware of the history and good work done by this family and establishment. We did not take the Graceland tour with it, so we had the option to leave the tour on Beale Street, which we did.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

I was traveling with two octogenarians so the small bus was perfect for getting in and out. They were delighted with the short tour but we left the tour early when we were dumped at the bottom of Beale street and told that they would pick us up in an hour - I understand why they do this but we were not prepared for this and it was too cold for them to be on their jet-lagged feet for that long. The guide was knowledgeable enough but butchered the English language. My English guests thought this was quaint and in character (fitted their stereotype) I was ashamed that the tour company would have someone who's ability to present to visitors came over in such an uneducated manner.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

I visited Memphis with friends who are new to the area. However, I grew up in Memphis and lived there for over 50 years. I was stunned at the inaccuracy of the tour guide's information. I finally had to laugh when she told the tour participants that the supported wall on Beale St. dated to the 1600's! I don't think so! She also said the base of the pyramid was the length of six football fields. She was unable to pronounce the name "Elvis" correctly and butchered the English language. She was very pleasant to everyone and certainly seemed enthusiastic about her job, but I was embarassed by her narration. You can do better.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message