Memphis ATTRACTIONS See all

Stax Museum of American Soul Music

Located in Memphis’ Soulsville area in the former Stax Records -- which had also been the old Capitol Theater and closed due to bankruptcy in 1976 -- the Stax Museum of American Soul Music is a recreation of what once was. After the original studio ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The four music venues that we went to were fantastic. We had a great tour at Sun Studio and Graceland was very much a "moment in time'. Rock and Soul was very interesting and self guided and Stax Record was especially worthwhile. Music aficionados must do these monuments to great music makers.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I enjoyed the entire experience! It was nice to walk right up with my voucher - no hassles and I already knew what I was spending. I enjoyed the full "Elvis experience" at Graceland - one did feel a bit "herded" through the house because it is a bit small and they need to keep visitors moving. I liked the audio tour that accompanied me. The memorabilia, cars and other exhibits made for a nice half-day tour. Parking at Graceland $10. The Stax Museum was lovely - a little treasure of racial harmony and history. I really enjoyed everything that the museum and foundation are accomplishing. It brought back a lot of memories of my youth. Parking -free. The Sun Studios tour was my favorite due to the enthusiasm of our tour guide and my new friends from Australia! The depth of musical history made in that recording studio (and it continues today) gives one goosebumps. I found free parking on the street. The Rock and Soul Museum provides a nice overview of the musical roots that have come together in Memphis. Again, the audio tour allows one to enjoy the museum at your own pace, focusing on your areas of interest. Paid for parking in downtown Memphis. The "courtesy" shuttle was was not running during my visit in June. As I had rented a car, this wasn't too much of a problem. However, my Australian friends got jammed. Have the name and number of a cab company handy "just in case." Overall, my visit to Memphis was wonderful!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A perfect group of selections for music lovers!! Loved the free shuttle from downtown Rock 'N Soul museum to Graceland, then to Sun Studio, and finally back to Rock 'N Soul. We were able to complete tours at all three in a single day. A not too expensive cab ride ($10-15) from downtown to Stax was well worth the extra expense. Not to be missed!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

FANTASTIC ! A must for Rock 'n' Roll, Soul and R and B music fans. This tour exceeded our expectations and was one of our most memorable tours ever. Our special thanks goes to Ms. Ecstasy Williams, one of the ladies who worked at the information desk at Graceland on the day of our tour, Sunday, Oct 20th. She enabled us to be admitted to Graceland, Stax Museum and Sun Studio because we unable to exchange our pre-paid Viator voucher for the Memphis Music Attraction Pass as Sweet Magnolia Tours was closed Saturdays and Sundays. Thank you Ecstasy.
Graceland was undeniably fantastic. We were impressed by the vast display of Elvis' Gold and Platinum Records and other memorabilia. There'll never be another Elvis - he was unique.
Stax Museum was equally great. We had no idea that so much of today's "classic" soul albums were recorded there. Truly monumental.
Sun Studio was a big surprise and just simply awesome. Here we were standing on the second floor of a tiny brick building on 706 Union St on "sacred ground" where Rock 'n' Roll was born ! We appreciated the young tour guide who was very motivated and re-told a vivid account of the history that was made there - his hand-out at the end of the tour pretty much sums up the importance of this place. The Sun Record Company "Greatest Hits" CD that we bought there is a cherished souvenir.
We were so engrossed with the first three tours that we arrived at the Rock 'n' Soul Museum too late to start this tour. That'll be for the next trip to Memphis. Thanks again Viator for these outstanding attractions in Memphis, a real highlight of our visit of the South.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Fantastic tour. Loved Graceland, sun Studios and Rock and soul Museum. Was unable to go to Stax. Everything was well organized and people were helpful and pleasant.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Memphis is an amazing town and full of so much music history. Call ahead to Rock N Soul and Stax as they were both closed for private events when we were there. This only happens about twice a year so we had some bad luck I guess.

Graceland left me speechless. I didn't want to leave and I will definitely return!
Sun Studio was also one of my favorite tours. The tour guide was really into it and gave us a good idea of what happened when Elvis came in to record and Johnny Cash's early days there. So fun!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Magnolia tours were so accomodating. We arrived on a Saturday when their office was closed so they faxed our tickets to our hotel. We had no problems redeeming our tickets at each attraction. We loved Graceland of course. We were surprised and delighted at STAX museum. It was a really nice small museum and the attendant was very nice and very informed. We also enjoyed Sun Records. Memphis was delightful.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Sun Studios, Stax, Rock and Soul & Graceland were all well worth it....I highly recommend them all...don't forget Gibson Guitar Factory and Beale St..Viator was very easy to deal with...one stop and you done...get your tickets sent via e-mail, print them and you are set.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Michael W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2008

All the attractions were very good. Graceland is well worth a visit, not to be missed for Elvis fans, Stax good, Sun Studios with the microphone Elvis used and the recording of his voice makes you tingle a bit. Rock and Soul museum was very interesting, music lovers a must go there.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2008

This pass is fantastic! It gets you into all of must-see place in Memphis. It's very convenient having one pass and not having to worry about purchasing tickets everywhere you go. On top if it you have a year to use your pass so you can spread out seeing the attractions on different days. Graceland of course is amazing - I learned so much about Elvis and his life. I was very surprised with how fantastic the Stax Museum was, don't miss this one, especially since you don't need very much time at Sun Studios. And, Sun Studio operates a free, first-come, first-served shuttle hourly between Graceland, Sun Studio, & Rock n Soul Museum. Be prepared to get your share of music history and live music in Memphis.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Enjoyed everything but paid for tickets for Monday and Stax was not open.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Lee M
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous tour - please be aware you need to plan you day out carefully as this does take up the full day. We started with Graceland and knocked this out in two hours then headed to Sun Studios then made our way to the Stax Museum (you will need to taxi to and from as the area isn't too flash at all) and then ended with the Rock N Roll museum. A great way to get around all the places!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

very interesting our guide was very good in giving the history of stax

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

Great value. Free shuttle bus to get from location to location starting at Sun Studios. However, the Stax Museum was not on the shuttle route.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2007

The Stax, Sun, and Rock 'n Soul museums are wonderful! I would definitely return to them. At Graceland, we felt we were being rushed and hustled. We will not return to Graceland.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message