Known as "The Birthplace of Rock and Roll," this former studio is Memphis's own Mecca of music. Opened in 1950, the studio was the recording site of what is supposedly the first rock and roll single - Jackie Brenston and his Delta Cats'  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 341 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gary E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were lucky to have a great and humorous guide who talked us through how forward thinking and adventurous Sam Phillips created Sun Studios. How the story of how Elvis started and the million dollar quartet. To be in the very studio where it all happened was simply amazing

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Ardine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly entertaining and informative on history of Memphis and the music scene. Learned things about the area and it's music that I had never heard before. Our guide was also able to give personal glimpses of the people involved in the music scene from interviews that she had had with them. We sang, laughed, and ooohed and ahhhed around all areas of Memphis. My 21 y/o granddaughter says, I want to go on this tour again and again. It was the best tour we've ever taken! I smiled and laughed the whole time.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Glenn E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had a real great time, very informative and entertaining. Relax and see the sights, perfect.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Kim O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent, I would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Beverley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A great fun tour lots of singing and tambourine playing. very good tour guide and a good tour of Sun studios which we found very atmospheric.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Eszter T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very busy so even if you have tickets pre-booked, it's good to go there for opening as only one tour per hour with limited ppl let in. The tour was great and the guide was amazing, very informative, you can tell she knows the history behind the walls.
Great experience overall!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Rebecca E

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Tour was great, staff was enthusiastic

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

barbara b

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Thought there would be more famous artist to listen too was a 'll title disappointed

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Warrren O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fun, informative, singer was good!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Tracy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The roots of Rock N Roll! Elvis and #39; mic, the memorabilia, Ryan, our Guide! It was AWESOME!

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Eric C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour and tour guide's enthusiasm and informative attitude made the tour. Not a lot to see therefore history and music support by guide was essential. Photo opportunity at end with props was great.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Garry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

From the moment we walked in we knew this was going to be special and we were not disappointed.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

ROY F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

was a great tour. great tour guide very informing

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Shifra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour. Very informative and the man who serenaded us and was our office tour guide on the bus was FANTASTIC! Highly recommend

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Grant E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic!

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Dm1957timber

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

I am not stating that there was anything wrong with this tour, but being forced to pay an extra 10 per person for a Voucher was very unprofessional. We did not like being forced to purchase a tee shirt or mug or key chain, etc., at the end of the tour. Especially since we found out that others just walked in the front door and paid much less.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

John Z

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Good tour poor musician guide.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Amy A

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

I liked having this already booked, and I appreciated that the Graceland tour was the platinum level.but the package was not as good of a deal as I was lead to believe. All 4 tours were great though!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Meagan

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

I really wanted to enjoy it, but it was just an okay tour and not really worth the money. You drove by the locations so fast before you had a chance to even soak up the history or take pictures. The information was all so brief. Basically the only good part was singing and playing the shaker along to the songs. At least the tour guide was entertaining and had a fabulous voice.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Amber P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wonderful tours and very easy to use when arriving at the musuems!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Wendy Z

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The music scene that the pass includes is great! However, Viator was not explicit in how to retrieve the pass before going to each venue. I needed to have a separate pass for each place I visited. Viator's instructions were not clear and I only had one copy which presented a problem for us and the museums.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

mlaasm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Small place, but great tour.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

way_smith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The best tour we attended. It doesn't matter if you are a musician or someone who simply loves music, this has something for everyone. Our guide was knowledgeable and engaging....

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

way_smith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

You HAVE to go here if you are a fan of the music from Memphis. Our guide was knowledgeable and engaging. The music, the history and just being in the room where some of the most influential music from the United States was made was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Deborah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

OMG, to stand in the same spot where so many talented people recorded was amazing. To know you're where Elvis, no last name necessary, recorded his first record! Our tour guide Nina was great. For a younger person, she was really into what she was doing.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message