Known as "The Birthplace of Rock and Roll," this former studio is Memphis's own Mecca of music. Opened in 1950, the studio was the recording site of what is supposedly the first rock and roll single - Jackie Brenston and his Delta Cats'  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 170 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guides were very informative. Most of the people in my party were not big Elvis fans but they enjoyed the tour and learned a few things about him.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

great tour and the tour guide was very good at entertaining and had a good knowledge

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was so much fun, the tour guide was great, very funny and informative.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our Memphis trip was Fantastic!!
Our Mojo Bus Tour was The Best!!
Our Singing Guide Nancy Apple
was not only entertaining but gave us great insight of the community culture and people of this city. The bus was much nicer than I anticipated . Top of the line. You must included the Sun City Tour

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The four music venues that we went to were fantastic. We had a great tour at Sun Studio and Graceland was very much a "moment in time'. Rock and Soul was very interesting and self guided and Stax Record was especially worthwhile. Music aficionados must do these monuments to great music makers.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Another great tour and one not to be missed. If you like music, the historical perspective is wonderful. It is truly standing on the steps of music history as the influence is still felt today. Sun studios is full of memorabilia that relates to so many well-known musicians. The tour guide was full of energy, made it a great deal of fun and certainly knew the history of the studio. Well done and worth the visit. I am going to Nashville next and will follow up with a visit to RCA where many of the Sun artists went to next.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Best tour ever. Our guide Brad was funny and entertaining the whole way through. It never felt long or boring. Everyone in my group agreed it was the best tour they had been on.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Lee M
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous tour - please be aware you need to plan you day out carefully as this does take up the full day. We started with Graceland and knocked this out in two hours then headed to Sun Studios then made our way to the Stax Museum (you will need to taxi to and from as the area isn't too flash at all) and then ended with the Rock N Roll museum. A great way to get around all the places!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Enjoyed everything but paid for tickets for Monday and Stax was not open.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Sun Studio tour was fantastic 10 out of 10 .Nina who took the tour was wonderful. No one must miss this tour. Gracelands tickets were V.I.P so we were treated like royalty, even had our own 60th anniversary exhibition that only VIP's could go into. This Memphis Music attraction tickets were so worth it. Just rang the lady in their office when we got there and they faxed them to our hotel. Great Stuff.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a lot of fun and really enjoyed our tour. Having a sing along really added to the trip around Memphis.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well informed and humorous tour guide aided by historic displays. A must do for those with even a minor interest in the development of 20 th century popular music

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I enjoyed the entire experience! It was nice to walk right up with my voucher - no hassles and I already knew what I was spending. I enjoyed the full "Elvis experience" at Graceland - one did feel a bit "herded" through the house because it is a bit small and they need to keep visitors moving. I liked the audio tour that accompanied me. The memorabilia, cars and other exhibits made for a nice half-day tour. Parking at Graceland $10. The Stax Museum was lovely - a little treasure of racial harmony and history. I really enjoyed everything that the museum and foundation are accomplishing. It brought back a lot of memories of my youth. Parking -free. The Sun Studios tour was my favorite due to the enthusiasm of our tour guide and my new friends from Australia! The depth of musical history made in that recording studio (and it continues today) gives one goosebumps. I found free parking on the street. The Rock and Soul Museum provides a nice overview of the musical roots that have come together in Memphis. Again, the audio tour allows one to enjoy the museum at your own pace, focusing on your areas of interest. Paid for parking in downtown Memphis. The "courtesy" shuttle was was not running during my visit in June. As I had rented a car, this wasn't too much of a problem. However, my Australian friends got jammed. Have the name and number of a cab company handy "just in case." Overall, my visit to Memphis was wonderful!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message