Known as "The Birthplace of Rock and Roll," this former studio is Memphis's own Mecca of music. Opened in 1950, the studio was the recording site of what is supposedly the first rock and roll single - Jackie Brenston and his Delta Cats'  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 240 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour with great information.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was entertaining and informative! I would do it again and definately recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour
Very enthusiastic guide
I love the fact that everybody working at sun studio lives and breathes music and it history.
They were all so excited when they heard a grandchild of the owner of the cafe was on the tour. They couldn't wait to see pictures and hear stories

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent and fun tour
Normally a city tour is very boring and you get too much information.
We probably were given the same amount of information as normal but it never got boring.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

the tours were excellent. however when I booked them, the air planes at graceland were supposed to be included in the package, they were not. overall very good tours and very informational.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

great place.great tour guide. brings you back in time

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well worth visiting all the music museums.Really enjoyed the Sun Studio tour and the guide made the tour so enjoyable.Make sure you leave enough time to see everything at the Rock and Soul and Stax museums.The only gripe we had was that the free bus was not running during the week we were in Memphis.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Should have more options for Graceland ticket so can get a ticket to skip the lines, had to upgrade on site

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Loved the tour. Rock and Roll museum was closed for a private party by the time we got there that day but that was ok as they honored the tickets the next day without issue and quite frankly we were spent after Graceland, STAX and Sun visits. Only negative was that I hadn't paid close enough attention to the pick up instructions and the sponsoring tour company was closed on weekends. Your customer service staff made it happen though and whether it was luck or their process that got a hold of someone to fax my tickets over it was truly appreciated as we were only in Memphis for a couple of days. Would suggest that following payment or 24 hours before that the tickets just be emailed to prevent the hunt when in travel mode.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

While all of the attractions on the pass are unmissable, unfortunately on the day of my trip the Sun Studio shuttle was off the road. The sign informing passengers was inside Sun rather than at the bus stop, so if you hadn't started there you would have been stranded. Taxis to and from Graceland were expensive, and the information clerk at Graceland had no idea how the buses worked. This is a massive fail and I was not the only tourist caught out. I would recommend keeping a good amount of cash up your sleeve in case of this emergency.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

This is a great idea and was full of background information of Memphis's music history. I left the bus about two-thirds of the way through because of transport issues ... we pulled up at Stax Museum and as it wasn't open the next day and I planned to visit it after the tour, it seemed silly to go back to Beale and return. Loved what I did, however. It pays to plan your transport carefully in Memphis ...

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

was ok a wee bit tiny

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

Didn't save anything, could just have bought the tickets on each attraction and saved money!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great experience. So much more than I had expected. From the thrill of being in THE Sun Studio to the emotions felt at Elvis' grave, this package hit a home run. Can't wait for our next visit.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My husband and I had a great time on this very entertaining bus trip around Memphis. Katherine was a fantastic guide and we all joined in with her singing and playing percussion!! Sun Studios was really worthwhile visiting - such an iconic recording studio. This trip is a must for all music fans.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

So much fun and informative, too! we will recommend it to others! definitely a highlight!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic, atmospheric, tour guide really new her stuff and what enthusiasm she had

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

tour enjoyed by all in my party. Loved the music and participation by the rest of the tourists. Saw and heard so much more than we would have done on our own.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Lots to see and enjoy - a nice variety and a great way to learn the history of music in this country

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

All round good tour. Booking agent, busdriver, tour guide extremely friendly and knowledgeable

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

If you are remotely interested in music this is an absolute necessity.It might not look like much from the outside but once you enter the studio itselfor the church,as they call it on the tour,I defy anyone not to be moved by the history of it. Don't miss the opportunity to get a photo with 'THAT MICROPHONE ON THAT SPOT!! Absolutely amazing!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A brilliant tour and a must if in Memphis. Well worth the travel from the UK just to see where Elvis started

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved every minute seeing Graceland, Sun Studios, Memphis Rock and Soul Museum, and the Stax Museum. This trip made me appreciate even more the contributions of Memphis to rock, soul, and blues music.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was fun, relaxing and informative!! Our tour guide and bus driver were pleasant.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour. Guide was very knowledgeable and fun. Public was able to participate. Lots of neat things were learned.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message