Known as "The Birthplace of Rock and Roll," this former studio is Memphis's own Mecca of music. Opened in 1950, the studio was the recording site of what is supposedly the first rock and roll single - Jackie Brenston and his Delta Cats'  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 360 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Glenn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

this is the best way to see all the rock n roll highlights in Memphis, great value.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Suzanne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Any music fan, especially of the baby boom generation, will find it exciting. The roots of rock and roll are in this studio, The guide did an excellent job of bringing the story to life. We grew up with Elvis, Johnny Cash , etc. It was a thrill.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Alan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

As a very keen music addict this was excellent. Free shuttle transport was included to Graceland and Sun Studio.
I thoroughly enjoyed all four attractions - Sun Studio was the smallest but was my favourite. It was a unique experience visiting Graceland also.
Stax Museum was also very interesting, as was Rock and Soul.Stdio

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

kim p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

we ate at BB Kings first. The food was fall off the bone tender. The band was great and engaging. Then we boarded the bus. It was clean and comfortable. The MC was very informative and entertaining. His music was terrific. The only thing to improve on would be to crank up the Air conditioning a bit. It got very warm in the back of the bus. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

robert h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

the guy on the guitar was brill would recommend trip

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Steven L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A lot of fun and lots of music/local history. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Jerry R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

All four attractions included in the Memphis Music Attraction pass are well worth visiting, and the discount pass provides excellent value for money for the visits. Recommended!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Mr A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour a must if you are in Memphis

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Russell V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very informative. Very well conducted

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Jan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was very enjoyable and very informative. I would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Sue S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really interesting tour with a great guide, illustrated with sound clips.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Denise E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really enjoyed this tour! An interesting way to see some Memphis music history!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Anne-Marie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

James F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had a great time the tour guide was a lot of fun.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Marcia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

stuart c

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was very informative,especially the trip to Sun studios. Really enjoyed it. The musician on the bus could have been a bit more lively and wasn't a great singer,but it still gave you a flavor

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Karen B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It was great, I'm only sad that my camera battery and my phone battery ran out before I could get a picture with the microphone Elvis, Johnny Cash, Jerry Lee etc sang into many moons ago.
The guide knew his stuff and was also very funny - which helps when you're trying to retain so much information in a short amount of time.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Ramona W

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

I've not been on a Memphis bus tour before, even though I've visited Memphis many times. This was a good tour, Some of the stories were different than what I'd heard from Elvis insiders George Klein on Elvis satellite radio, but other than that, it was worth the money and the extra cost for the Sun Studios tour.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Gary E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were lucky to have a great and humorous guide who talked us through how forward thinking and adventurous Sam Phillips created Sun Studios. How the story of how Elvis started and the million dollar quartet. To be in the very studio where it all happened was simply amazing

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Ardine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly entertaining and informative on history of Memphis and the music scene. Learned things about the area and it's music that I had never heard before. Our guide was also able to give personal glimpses of the people involved in the music scene from interviews that she had had with them. We sang, laughed, and ooohed and ahhhed around all areas of Memphis. My 21 y/o granddaughter says, I want to go on this tour again and again. It was the best tour we've ever taken! I smiled and laughed the whole time.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Glenn E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had a real great time, very informative and entertaining. Relax and see the sights, perfect.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Kim O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent, I would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Beverley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A great fun tour lots of singing and tambourine playing. very good tour guide and a good tour of Sun studios which we found very atmospheric.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Eszter T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very busy so even if you have tickets pre-booked, it's good to go there for opening as only one tour per hour with limited ppl let in. The tour was great and the guide was amazing, very informative, you can tell she knows the history behind the walls.
Great experience overall!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message