Known as "The Birthplace of Rock and Roll," this former studio is Memphis's own Mecca of music. Opened in 1950, the studio was the recording site of what is supposedly the first rock and roll single - Jackie Brenston and his Delta Cats'  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 198 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

So much fun, we loved this tour! It is definitely aimed at adults and children would probably be bored. Tour guide very informative only thing that would of been helpful was making it more obvious we were meant to check in prior to the tour at BB Kings and not just show up at the bus. A good and fun way to see Memphis!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great way to see Memphis. Great songs and lots of information.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Do not try to do this all in one day! Graceland, Stax, and Rock and Soul Museum all take at least a good half a day to really enjoy. Sun Studios is the only one we'd suggest trying to combine in one day with any other.

Graceland was the biggest surprise in terms of quality and breadth of experience. We weren't Elvis fans to begin with, but we really gained a great perspective of the man and his achievements, and very much enjoyed the chance to see his home and how he lived. Not what you might expect! And there's a Pirtle's Chicken right down the road.

Sun Studios was the most compelling for it's being preserved in all its original not glory. Such a simple space, and such simple equipment, but such a moving experience to hear the songs in the original studio room while being able to toe the indentation in the floor where the upright bass was parked for all those years.

Stax gets high marks for its rebuilding everything per the original building blueprints, and you could definitely spend an entire day listening to everything there is to hear there, just as with the Rock and Soul Museum downtown. Which puts you right near Dyer's Burgers--did we mention we loved the food in Memphis? No matter how quickly you figure you can see it all, if you enjoy both history and music, you'll find the hours fly by and you still can't get to everything.

Highly recommended!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour! Family loved it, needed more time to do all the tour coupons. We'll be back

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Coco was a fabulous tour guide. She made everything come to life. It is incredible to think that this small storefront studio was the birthplace of rock and roll. I would highly recommend this tour to everyone!!!

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Bus portion was good. Can't say as much for Sun Studio.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

well worth it.. Great presenter Nicholas and limited in numbers, so it wasn't crowded.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

tour agréable et sympathique pour faire une tour de Memphis dans une bonne ambiance

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Loved Graceland and Sun Studio tours. I could have done without the Stax and Rock and Soul Museums. We went to the Civil Rights Museum at the Lorraine Hotel and Gibson Guitar factory which we enjoyed far better than the latter.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Of all the bookings made this was the tour we were most excited about. Sadly it was a real let down. The 'entertainment' on the bus was a very nice lady however she was very much a country and western singerand unfortunately not very good when we were looking forward to blues - it is Memphis after all! We travelled so fast past places of interest that it was impossible to get photos and the air conditioning on the bus was severely lacking. We booked the Sun Studios option of the tour and thank goodness we did as this was the highlight. Really disappointed as we missed out on other things to go on this tour.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Dylan our singing tour guide was amazing. A different style of tour that including music and city history with live singing to link it together. A must in Memphis. Make sure you include the Sun Studio tour.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Combination of the pass and free shuttle from Rock and Soul Museum to Sun Studios and Graceland worked very well. Drove to Stax the next day. Stax and Rock and Soul Museum a bit similar though Stax had a more intimate atmosphere and we shared it with a great group of older black ladies who were obviously big fans in the day. Otis Redding and Sam Cooke's voices still got them weak at the knees !
Not big Elvis fans but we found the house very interesting and exactly what a 'poor boy done well' might buy if he suddenly had more money than he know what to do with.
Great young guide at Sum Studios who made it fun and informative.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Superb.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The music attraction pass was brilliant. It does not include transport to the attractions but that is not required as there is a free shuttle that runs regularly from the Gibson factory. Graceland, Sun studios and the Gibson factory are all must see destinations.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Brilliant combination of venues!
Easy to access and good value.
Thoroughly enjoyed Gracelands, Sun Studios and the Stax Museum.
Would suggest a two day visit as it was tight fitting them all in in a day.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Very entertaining and informative.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was an absolute amazing experience. So very cool to stand where Elvis recorded his first record! Highly recommend this to anyone visiting Memphis!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour was very informative on how Sun Studios began and the role Elvis Presley played in its history.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour, the guide was very informative, certainly was great to see where it all began

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

When my friend suggest Memphis, I was lukewarm, but it wasn't a pricey trip. I was in for a very pleasant surprise. We stayed at the Holiday Inn; it wasn't fancy, but the location was great. We bought a package and went to Graceland, Sun Studios, and the Rock and Soul Museum. We also went to the Gibson Guitar Factory, but the highlight was the Civil Right's Museum. Allow at least four hours to get through the museum, it's an emotional experience, and Central BBQ is right next door! I'd avoid the Cotton Museum, a waste of time. The evenings were spent on Beale Street listening to music. With great food, music, and interesting attractions, and very friendly people, I'd rate the trip five stars.

PS Don't forget to go to Gus's Fried Chicken for the best fried chicken you'll ever eat!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour guide was extremely entertaining . I enjoyed her stories about Memphis and all the great entertainers that got their start there.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our booking was easy and Kat our tour guide has a terrific voice and told great stories to go along with her tour narration.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

How cool is it to stand in the spot the pioreers of Rock and Roll stood and touch the microphone the used? The studio tour was fun and informative.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was amazing. I am a native Memphian and I LOVED this tour. Nancy Apple was amazing, funny, entertaining and I learned so much about my city!!! I would recommend this tour to ANYONE! Keep up the great job!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message