Known as "The Birthplace of Rock and Roll," this former studio is Memphis's own Mecca of music. Opened in 1950, the studio was the recording site of what is supposedly the first rock and roll single - Jackie Brenston and his Delta Cats'  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 323 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mlaasm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Small place, but great tour.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

way_smith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The best tour we attended. It doesn't matter if you are a musician or someone who simply loves music, this has something for everyone. Our guide was knowledgeable and engaging....

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

way_smith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

You HAVE to go here if you are a fan of the music from Memphis. Our guide was knowledgeable and engaging. The music, the history and just being in the room where some of the most influential music from the United States was made was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Deborah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

OMG, to stand in the same spot where so many talented people recorded was amazing. To know you're where Elvis, no last name necessary, recorded his first record! Our tour guide Nina was great. For a younger person, she was really into what she was doing.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The Graceland tour was great. It was really informative and well organized, and allowed guests to travel through at their own pace. It was very respectful of his memory, but still showed a great insight into his life – it will definitely make an Elvis fan out of you if you’re not already! The car museum is definitely worth a visit too. The tour of Sun Studios is a must do. The tour guide was brilliant and managed to make the tour really funny and informative at the same time. It only takes 30 minutes but is well worth the drive there. At the Rock 'n Soul Museum the video at the start of the exhibit was fantastic. If you’ve already been to Sun Studios, some of the exhibit towards the end might be a little bit repetitive, but the Museum has a much bigger collection and provides a more in depth look at some of the lesser known artists from Memphis and the lives they led.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Visiting Graceland was a dream come true and it didn’t disappoint! The audio guide offered a lot of really great information and we had a good amount of time in each area of the house to take photos and read all the information boards. I would definitely recommend a visit and encourage checking out the car collection as well! Our tour guide at Sun Studios was so passionate about the studio it made the experience all the more special. Learning the history of what started as a recording studio to a full record label was so interesting and there are a lot of great artifacts. It was cool to be standing in the same place where Elvis and Johnny Cash recorded some of their biggest hits. The Memphis Rock n’ Soul Museum ties all the musical experiences in Memphis together. It was great seeing the roots of soul music all the way through to present day.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour of Graceland was very well done! There was a great flow that kept everyone moving, but not missing a thing! The iPads were a great touch to be able to explore the rooms in more detail and learn some additional facts that were too much to cover in the audio tour, should you wish to explore them. My only request is that you would be able to have a bit more time to watch the video content you had “favorited” to watch after the tour, as when it’s cold and you jump right on the bus, you really miss the opportunity to explore these further. The tour really immerses you in what it was like to live during Elvis’ heyday, and haven’t been able to stop listening to his music since! It is absolutely amazing how they have turned little Sun Studio into an hour long tour. You can tell that the people who work there are so passionate about the story behind the studio and the music itself, which really adds to the experience. Definitely a must-do in Memphis! The featured video at the Rock 'n Soul Museum was fantastic - very informative and interesting. It was a bit difficult to follow the audio content throughout the rest of the museum as there was so much detail in the audio, and just not enough visual to follow through. I think incorporating a bit more video content throughout the rest of the museum would be helpful.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Clarissa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent place to visit. Loved the tour. The guide was really good. She was funny and helpful and had a great presentation. Lots of history and information. Super cool and everyone seemed to enjoy it. If you are a music fan you will love it.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Glenn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Good services

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

J Harlo S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Had a wonderful time. Enjoyed Memphis a great deal. Will be back someday. The music attraction pass was excellent.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Brenda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great Tour!!!!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Max T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wonderful tour talking about the history of music in Memphis. Add on the tour of Sun Studios is well worth it to see where some of the biggest icons got their start.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Will L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The MOJO tour was a great way to see and learn about Memphis. Be sure to add the tour to SUN Studios that is offered. You will not regret it. I left there and was blown away with the tour guide and all the info he gave us.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Marjorie O

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Really wanted to see where it all began. Very interesting but not much to see. Nothing much to buy in the shop and food very limited.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Stephanie L F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Had a great time. Enjoyed all the tours we took. Have a better appreciation for blues music now :o

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

colleen k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

this was fun tour was funny and great music . not a lot of sight seeing.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

stephanie d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

it was an excellent time all around!- The scheduling was done with ease 2 friends had to cancel almost last minute and that was handled smoothly even our boarding the bus was an adventure-- this was fun and very well planned indeed- but still felt very well cared for and thoughtful! I felt I learned a bit of Memphis and had a good time doing so- I look forward going back and trying another tour when I do!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Shonda K M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I was very happy with our Memphis Music Pass. The pass was easy to use and we thoroughly enjoyed each of the places we toured. This was really a great experience and I highly recommend it to others.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Rhona S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great fun, very informative and entertaining. Recommended

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Brian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Was fantastic. Great deal.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Steven C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour!
Informative, entertaining and gave a real sense of history to this place.
Rounded off by a nice cup of coffee.
Thanks

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

excellent in all departments

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

peterth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Definelty worth the money

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Theresa N

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We missed the tour, got the times confused. But other travellers rated this a very Good tour, very interactive.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

michellekelly2011

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Hi we had a really great time. The discount pass was well worth it. i would recomend the pass for every one. i would definitly book another trip with you as easy to pay and easy to get the vouchers. thank you for making our holiday special.
regards
michelle

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message