Known as "The Birthplace of Rock and Roll," this former studio is Memphis's own Mecca of music. Opened in 1950, the studio was the recording site of what is supposedly the first rock and roll single - Jackie Brenston and his Delta Cats'  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 188 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great way to see Memphis. Great songs and lots of information.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Dylan our singing tour guide was amazing. A different style of tour that including music and city history with live singing to link it together. A must in Memphis. Make sure you include the Sun Studio tour.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Combination of the pass and free shuttle from Rock and Soul Museum to Sun Studios and Graceland worked very well. Drove to Stax the next day. Stax and Rock and Soul Museum a bit similar though Stax had a more intimate atmosphere and we shared it with a great group of older black ladies who were obviously big fans in the day. Otis Redding and Sam Cooke's voices still got them weak at the knees !
Not big Elvis fans but we found the house very interesting and exactly what a 'poor boy done well' might buy if he suddenly had more money than he know what to do with.
Great young guide at Sum Studios who made it fun and informative.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Superb.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The music attraction pass was brilliant. It does not include transport to the attractions but that is not required as there is a free shuttle that runs regularly from the Gibson factory. Graceland, Sun studios and the Gibson factory are all must see destinations.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Brilliant combination of venues!
Easy to access and good value.
Thoroughly enjoyed Gracelands, Sun Studios and the Stax Museum.
Would suggest a two day visit as it was tight fitting them all in in a day.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Very entertaining and informative.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was an absolute amazing experience. So very cool to stand where Elvis recorded his first record! Highly recommend this to anyone visiting Memphis!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour was very informative on how Sun Studios began and the role Elvis Presley played in its history.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour, the guide was very informative, certainly was great to see where it all began

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

When my friend suggest Memphis, I was lukewarm, but it wasn't a pricey trip. I was in for a very pleasant surprise. We stayed at the Holiday Inn; it wasn't fancy, but the location was great. We bought a package and went to Graceland, Sun Studios, and the Rock and Soul Museum. We also went to the Gibson Guitar Factory, but the highlight was the Civil Right's Museum. Allow at least four hours to get through the museum, it's an emotional experience, and Central BBQ is right next door! I'd avoid the Cotton Museum, a waste of time. The evenings were spent on Beale Street listening to music. With great food, music, and interesting attractions, and very friendly people, I'd rate the trip five stars.

PS Don't forget to go to Gus's Fried Chicken for the best fried chicken you'll ever eat!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour guide was extremely entertaining . I enjoyed her stories about Memphis and all the great entertainers that got their start there.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our booking was easy and Kat our tour guide has a terrific voice and told great stories to go along with her tour narration.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

How cool is it to stand in the spot the pioreers of Rock and Roll stood and touch the microphone the used? The studio tour was fun and informative.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was amazing. I am a native Memphian and I LOVED this tour. Nancy Apple was amazing, funny, entertaining and I learned so much about my city!!! I would recommend this tour to ANYONE! Keep up the great job!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message