Known as "The Birthplace of Rock and Roll," this former studio is Memphis's own Mecca of music. Opened in 1950, the studio was the recording site of what is supposedly the first rock and roll single - Jackie Brenston and his Delta Cats'  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 161 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The four music venues that we went to were fantastic. We had a great tour at Sun Studio and Graceland was very much a "moment in time'. Rock and Soul was very interesting and self guided and Stax Record was especially worthwhile. Music aficionados must do these monuments to great music makers.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Lee M
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Fabulous tour - please be aware you need to plan you day out carefully as this does take up the full day. We started with Graceland and knocked this out in two hours then headed to Sun Studios then made our way to the Stax Museum (you will need to taxi to and from as the area isn't too flash at all) and then ended with the Rock N Roll museum. A great way to get around all the places!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Sun Studio tour was fantastic 10 out of 10 .Nina who took the tour was wonderful. No one must miss this tour. Gracelands tickets were V.I.P so we were treated like royalty, even had our own 60th anniversary exhibition that only VIP's could go into. This Memphis Music attraction tickets were so worth it. Just rang the lady in their office when we got there and they faxed them to our hotel. Great Stuff.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a lot of fun and really enjoyed our tour. Having a sing along really added to the trip around Memphis.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well informed and humorous tour guide aided by historic displays. A must do for those with even a minor interest in the development of 20 th century popular music

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I enjoyed the entire experience! It was nice to walk right up with my voucher - no hassles and I already knew what I was spending. I enjoyed the full "Elvis experience" at Graceland - one did feel a bit "herded" through the house because it is a bit small and they need to keep visitors moving. I liked the audio tour that accompanied me. The memorabilia, cars and other exhibits made for a nice half-day tour. Parking at Graceland $10. The Stax Museum was lovely - a little treasure of racial harmony and history. I really enjoyed everything that the museum and foundation are accomplishing. It brought back a lot of memories of my youth. Parking -free. The Sun Studios tour was my favorite due to the enthusiasm of our tour guide and my new friends from Australia! The depth of musical history made in that recording studio (and it continues today) gives one goosebumps. I found free parking on the street. The Rock and Soul Museum provides a nice overview of the musical roots that have come together in Memphis. Again, the audio tour allows one to enjoy the museum at your own pace, focusing on your areas of interest. Paid for parking in downtown Memphis. The "courtesy" shuttle was was not running during my visit in June. As I had rented a car, this wasn't too much of a problem. However, my Australian friends got jammed. Have the name and number of a cab company handy "just in case." Overall, my visit to Memphis was wonderful!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Eric was our guide. He was very entertaining with his music and his stories. Even gave us a copy of his cd at the end of the tour. Was a hot day so riding in a cool bus was a plus. Got to see many historic areas of Memphis. Got out once at the Levitt Shell to hear a story about the first time Elvis played there. I would recommend this tour. Good way to get a basic background of Memphis.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Really good value, faxed tickets quickly to the hotel, great fun

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The music attraction pass is an absolutely essential part of your Memphis itinerary if you are a lover of musical heritage and is crucially very good value for money. The added bonus is the shuttle service between the various attractions particularly relevant to Graceland which is slightly out of town

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We loved all the venues and found people very helpful in giving extra information; they were often volunteers with a love of the music and history of the area.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Debbie S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour and the guides at sun studios are so enthusiastic and really made the tour fun and exciting. Can highly recommend it, very informative.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great tour with music very a informative guide who supplied information which we never would have learned without his knowledge!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Very informative and must do but again Viator there is no longer option of making your own CD.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

we enjoyed the tour and the guide was informative and pleasant.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Loved the guide's music, knowledge and humor.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message