Known as "The Birthplace of Rock and Roll," this former studio is Memphis's own Mecca of music. Opened in 1950, the studio was the recording site of what is supposedly the first rock and roll single - Jackie Brenston and his Delta Cats'  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 187 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour, the guide was very informative, certainly was great to see where it all began

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

When my friend suggest Memphis, I was lukewarm, but it wasn't a pricey trip. I was in for a very pleasant surprise. We stayed at the Holiday Inn; it wasn't fancy, but the location was great. We bought a package and went to Graceland, Sun Studios, and the Rock and Soul Museum. We also went to the Gibson Guitar Factory, but the highlight was the Civil Right's Museum. Allow at least four hours to get through the museum, it's an emotional experience, and Central BBQ is right next door! I'd avoid the Cotton Museum, a waste of time. The evenings were spent on Beale Street listening to music. With great food, music, and interesting attractions, and very friendly people, I'd rate the trip five stars.

PS Don't forget to go to Gus's Fried Chicken for the best fried chicken you'll ever eat!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour guide was extremely entertaining . I enjoyed her stories about Memphis and all the great entertainers that got their start there.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our booking was easy and Kat our tour guide has a terrific voice and told great stories to go along with her tour narration.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

How cool is it to stand in the spot the pioreers of Rock and Roll stood and touch the microphone the used? The studio tour was fun and informative.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was amazing. I am a native Memphian and I LOVED this tour. Nancy Apple was amazing, funny, entertaining and I learned so much about my city!!! I would recommend this tour to ANYONE! Keep up the great job!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great value for the money. Just a warning, Sun Studios IS NOT child friendly so if your family has children under 5 dont purchase this package. Your child will not be allowed to go on the tour. It was a huge disappointment for our family. Every other attraction welcomed us and was a blast!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Every site was sensational!! The pass saved us all a fortune! This is the "only way to go!"
By asking locals where to go and where to eat, we had the best time possible…thank you!!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Love loved it. This was definitely the way to go. Each place was so fun. I'd recommend this pass to anyone traveling to Memphis. Each stop is a must see!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great experience!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very well done. Learned a lot about the early days of recording.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

AWESOME...!!!
Great place and a wonderful guided tour by a very talented lady... A real piece of musical history.!!
Loved every minute...

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Perfect combo of history and music. Brad was a great tour guide.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour took us to the four hotspots in memphis and it was great. No problems using the vouchers at any location. Only issue was the tour place was closed on weekends and holidays so they were hard to catch but called me back promptly. I will use this website again.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guides were very informative. Most of the people in my party were not big Elvis fans but they enjoyed the tour and learned a few things about him.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message