Known as "The Birthplace of Rock and Roll," this former studio is Memphis's own Mecca of music. Opened in 1950, the studio was the recording site of what is supposedly the first rock and roll single - Jackie Brenston and his Delta Cats'  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 334 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

barbara b

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Thought there would be more famous artist to listen too was a 'll title disappointed

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Warrren O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fun, informative, singer was good!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Tracy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The roots of Rock N Roll! Elvis and #39; mic, the memorabilia, Ryan, our Guide! It was AWESOME!

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Eric C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour and tour guide's enthusiasm and informative attitude made the tour. Not a lot to see therefore history and music support by guide was essential. Photo opportunity at end with props was great.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Garry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

From the moment we walked in we knew this was going to be special and we were not disappointed.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

ROY F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

was a great tour. great tour guide very informing

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Shifra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour. Very informative and the man who serenaded us and was our office tour guide on the bus was FANTASTIC! Highly recommend

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Grant E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic!

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Dm1957timber

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

I am not stating that there was anything wrong with this tour, but being forced to pay an extra 10 per person for a Voucher was very unprofessional. We did not like being forced to purchase a tee shirt or mug or key chain, etc., at the end of the tour. Especially since we found out that others just walked in the front door and paid much less.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

John Z

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Good tour poor musician guide.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Amy A

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

I liked having this already booked, and I appreciated that the Graceland tour was the platinum level.but the package was not as good of a deal as I was lead to believe. All 4 tours were great though!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Meagan

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

I really wanted to enjoy it, but it was just an okay tour and not really worth the money. You drove by the locations so fast before you had a chance to even soak up the history or take pictures. The information was all so brief. Basically the only good part was singing and playing the shaker along to the songs. At least the tour guide was entertaining and had a fabulous voice.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Amber P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wonderful tours and very easy to use when arriving at the musuems!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Wendy Z

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The music scene that the pass includes is great! However, Viator was not explicit in how to retrieve the pass before going to each venue. I needed to have a separate pass for each place I visited. Viator's instructions were not clear and I only had one copy which presented a problem for us and the museums.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

mlaasm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Small place, but great tour.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

way_smith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The best tour we attended. It doesn't matter if you are a musician or someone who simply loves music, this has something for everyone. Our guide was knowledgeable and engaging....

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

way_smith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

You HAVE to go here if you are a fan of the music from Memphis. Our guide was knowledgeable and engaging. The music, the history and just being in the room where some of the most influential music from the United States was made was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Deborah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

OMG, to stand in the same spot where so many talented people recorded was amazing. To know you're where Elvis, no last name necessary, recorded his first record! Our tour guide Nina was great. For a younger person, she was really into what she was doing.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The Graceland tour was great. It was really informative and well organized, and allowed guests to travel through at their own pace. It was very respectful of his memory, but still showed a great insight into his life – it will definitely make an Elvis fan out of you if you’re not already! The car museum is definitely worth a visit too. The tour of Sun Studios is a must do. The tour guide was brilliant and managed to make the tour really funny and informative at the same time. It only takes 30 minutes but is well worth the drive there. At the Rock 'n Soul Museum the video at the start of the exhibit was fantastic. If you’ve already been to Sun Studios, some of the exhibit towards the end might be a little bit repetitive, but the Museum has a much bigger collection and provides a more in depth look at some of the lesser known artists from Memphis and the lives they led.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Clarissa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent place to visit. Loved the tour. The guide was really good. She was funny and helpful and had a great presentation. Lots of history and information. Super cool and everyone seemed to enjoy it. If you are a music fan you will love it.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Glenn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Good services

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

J Harlo S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Had a wonderful time. Enjoyed Memphis a great deal. Will be back someday. The music attraction pass was excellent.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Brenda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great Tour!!!!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Max T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wonderful tour talking about the history of music in Memphis. Add on the tour of Sun Studios is well worth it to see where some of the biggest icons got their start.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Will L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The MOJO tour was a great way to see and learn about Memphis. Be sure to add the tour to SUN Studios that is offered. You will not regret it. I left there and was blown away with the tour guide and all the info he gave us.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message