Whether you’re into blues, soul or rock’n’roll, Memphis is a must-see destination. Come to the city on the Mississippi to see and hear the places where musical history was made. Day 1: You-know-who Even if you’re not an Elvis fan, how can you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 222 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anne G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

Central Memphis office needs to do a better job of organizing Graceland trip. People didn't understand all the different options and were disgruntled. Driver pleasant but tour could be a lot smarter. More
background on city. Population numbers how city got started what main businesses are. Too much personal info about her.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

way_smith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

You HAVE to go here if you are a fan of the music from Memphis. Our guide was knowledgeable and engaging. The music, the history and just being in the room where some of the most influential music from the United States was made was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

way_smith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

First, Larry was an excellent guide and driver for our tour. He was very knowledgeable and personable! I truly enjoyed his talk about the 3 Kings of Memphis and the historical perspective about the Lorraine and Rev. Martin Luther King. My wife and I enjoyed the Bar B Que at Central Bar B Que excellent. I was most looking forward to the Rock n Soul Museum....it wasn't exactly what I expected self-guided tour w/headphones so we left early. Definitely worth the price with Larry as our guide

Doing what: Memphis Coach Tour including Rock and Soul Museum

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The Graceland tour was great. It was really informative and well organized, and allowed guests to travel through at their own pace. It was very respectful of his memory, but still showed a great insight into his life – it will definitely make an Elvis fan out of you if you’re not already! The car museum is definitely worth a visit too. The tour of Sun Studios is a must do. The tour guide was brilliant and managed to make the tour really funny and informative at the same time. It only takes 30 minutes but is well worth the drive there. At the Rock 'n Soul Museum the video at the start of the exhibit was fantastic. If you’ve already been to Sun Studios, some of the exhibit towards the end might be a little bit repetitive, but the Museum has a much bigger collection and provides a more in depth look at some of the lesser known artists from Memphis and the lives they led.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Visiting Graceland was a dream come true and it didn’t disappoint! The audio guide offered a lot of really great information and we had a good amount of time in each area of the house to take photos and read all the information boards. I would definitely recommend a visit and encourage checking out the car collection as well! Our tour guide at Sun Studios was so passionate about the studio it made the experience all the more special. Learning the history of what started as a recording studio to a full record label was so interesting and there are a lot of great artifacts. It was cool to be standing in the same place where Elvis and Johnny Cash recorded some of their biggest hits. The Memphis Rock n’ Soul Museum ties all the musical experiences in Memphis together. It was great seeing the roots of soul music all the way through to present day.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour of Graceland was very well done! There was a great flow that kept everyone moving, but not missing a thing! The iPads were a great touch to be able to explore the rooms in more detail and learn some additional facts that were too much to cover in the audio tour, should you wish to explore them. My only request is that you would be able to have a bit more time to watch the video content you had “favorited” to watch after the tour, as when it’s cold and you jump right on the bus, you really miss the opportunity to explore these further. The tour really immerses you in what it was like to live during Elvis’ heyday, and haven’t been able to stop listening to his music since! It is absolutely amazing how they have turned little Sun Studio into an hour long tour. You can tell that the people who work there are so passionate about the story behind the studio and the music itself, which really adds to the experience. Definitely a must-do in Memphis! The featured video at the Rock 'n Soul Museum was fantastic - very informative and interesting. It was a bit difficult to follow the audio content throughout the rest of the museum as there was so much detail in the audio, and just not enough visual to follow through. I think incorporating a bit more video content throughout the rest of the museum would be helpful.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Laura F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We did this tour on our 1st day of a 5 day visit to Memphis. We were picked up at our hotel in a timely fashion. Our driver/guide was Michelle, she was excellent, fun and informative! It was a perfect introduction to all that Memphis offers and allowed us to better prepare for what we wanted to see on our own!

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

Elaina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I loved getting to have an overview of Memphis. Highlights: Elvis in the visitors center, millionaire row, knowledge about Danny Thomas, the ducks at the Peabody, Beihl Street!

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

Janice A

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Tour guide was very good. Even though not a Memphis native, she was very knowledgeable. Will definitely take other Viator tours.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

Christiane A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Love this tour! I've taken the bus tour before and treated my adult children to the Graceland part. They really loved the whole experience. Bus tour was fun and informative. Would recommend it to any Memphis visitors.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

J Harlo S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Had a wonderful time. Enjoyed Memphis a great deal. Will be back someday. The music attraction pass was excellent.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

myrnr2014

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The driver picked us up on time at our hotel. He was very knowledgeable and the tour gave us a good overview of the Memphis and locales that we wanted to see.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

Max T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wonderful tour talking about the history of music in Memphis. Add on the tour of Sun Studios is well worth it to see where some of the biggest icons got their start.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Nick M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour. We were in Memphis for 2 days so this was the best way to see some highlights. Michelle our tour guide was fantastic, funny and very informative. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

Will L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The MOJO tour was a great way to see and learn about Memphis. Be sure to add the tour to SUN Studios that is offered. You will not regret it. I left there and was blown away with the tour guide and all the info he gave us.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

Tom M

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

I sent a review of my Memphis trip already. My major complaint at that time is the lack of communication that I had with you. It appears that the communication problem is still occurring as I have never received any reply to my concerns. Also, you are still asking for a review of my trip. Somewhere, there is a communcitation breakdown.
Respectfully,
Tom

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

stephanie d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

it was an excellent time all around!- The scheduling was done with ease 2 friends had to cancel almost last minute and that was handled smoothly even our boarding the bus was an adventure-- this was fun and very well planned indeed- but still felt very well cared for and thoughtful! I felt I learned a bit of Memphis and had a good time doing so- I look forward going back and trying another tour when I do!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

sharon h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A must for the Memphis visitor. Larry the tour guide is brilliant and a mine of information. We really enjoyed this.

Doing what: Memphis Coach Tour including Rock and Soul Museum

Shonda K M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I was very happy with our Memphis Music Pass. The pass was easy to use and we thoroughly enjoyed each of the places we toured. This was really a great experience and I highly recommend it to others.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Geoffrey R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Here was a delightful raconteur/driver who knew what to tell, show, n do after questioning party members. I did not know about the strong place Memphis played in music history, this tour provided that broader picture culminating in the museum visit - our Elvis was but a part, albeit a slightly larger than life part -where the hometown boy makes good BUT NEVER forgot his roots. As this tour ends at the Rock n Soul museum it is good idea to pre-book an afternoon factory tour at the Gibson Guitar factory opposite museum - see the making of that great instrument and a company still 'surviving' against the overseas boys AND buy yourself a guitar!.
The snack break opposite the site of assassination of Dr Martin Luther King allows time to reflect on this sad happening AND you can return to view more at the Civil Rights Museum .
Take this tour early on then plan your returns to parts of interest.

Doing what: Memphis Coach Tour including Rock and Soul Museum

Laura F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A great walking tour of Memphis. We did this on Halloween night which added to the fun. Our guide was fun and full of historical and ghostly information!

Doing what: Memphis Ghosts Walking Tour

Roberta S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a wonderful tour. Our guide Rooster was so knowledgable. He guided us expertly through the streets of downtown Memphis and told us stiories along the way. What a great way to get oriented in a an unfamiliar city

Doing what: Historic Memphis Walking Tour

Elena G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Really nice and informative tour, the best way to familiarize yourself with the city and then decide what to visit on the next days. I recommend this tour for people who want to know what Memphis has to offer. Sam, the tour guide, was extremely knowledgeable and fun!

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

Ann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

this was the highlight of my Memphis tour. what was really surprising is how great this visit was. The staff were very helpful, considerate and being able to take photo's was great. The house and grounds were lager than expected, the tour and information was great.

Doing what: Graceland Tour: Platinum Pass with Round-Trip Transportation from Memphis

Ann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

this was the highlight of my Memphis tour. what was really surprising is how great this visit was. The staff were very helpful, considerate and being able to take photo's was great. The house and grounds were lager than expected, the tour and information was great.

Doing what: Graceland Tour: Platinum Pass with Round-Trip Transportation from Memphis

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message