Whether you’re into blues, soul or rock’n’roll, Memphis is a must-see destination. Come to the city on the Mississippi to see and hear the places where musical history was made. Day 1: You-know-who Even if you’re not an Elvis fan, how can you ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 129 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

So much fun, we loved this tour! It is definitely aimed at adults and children would probably be bored. Tour guide very informative only thing that would of been helpful was making it more obvious we were meant to check in prior to the tour at BB Kings and not just show up at the bus. A good and fun way to see Memphis!

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great way to see Memphis. Great songs and lots of information.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Michelle was a wonderful tour guide. She was very clear in her directions when she let us out and let us know exactly where she would pick us up. We loved the march of the Peabody Ducks, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital and of course Graceland. Memphis has a lot going for it. This is an excellent tour.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Do not try to do this all in one day! Graceland, Stax, and Rock and Soul Museum all take at least a good half a day to really enjoy. Sun Studios is the only one we'd suggest trying to combine in one day with any other.

Graceland was the biggest surprise in terms of quality and breadth of experience. We weren't Elvis fans to begin with, but we really gained a great perspective of the man and his achievements, and very much enjoyed the chance to see his home and how he lived. Not what you might expect! And there's a Pirtle's Chicken right down the road.

Sun Studios was the most compelling for it's being preserved in all its original not glory. Such a simple space, and such simple equipment, but such a moving experience to hear the songs in the original studio room while being able to toe the indentation in the floor where the upright bass was parked for all those years.

Stax gets high marks for its rebuilding everything per the original building blueprints, and you could definitely spend an entire day listening to everything there is to hear there, just as with the Rock and Soul Museum downtown. Which puts you right near Dyer's Burgers--did we mention we loved the food in Memphis? No matter how quickly you figure you can see it all, if you enjoy both history and music, you'll find the hours fly by and you still can't get to everything.

Highly recommended!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

tour agréable et sympathique pour faire une tour de Memphis dans une bonne ambiance

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

mws22
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Transport was punctual and modern, the guide/driver was excellent but memphis is a little short on big attractions apart from graceland and sun studios. We where taken to some buildings of no interest to anyone on the trip, the bus parked there for 40mins and we just wandered round gardens etc.which was a waste of time. Im sure the tour operators could come up with better options than were we were took.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Of all the bookings made this was the tour we were most excited about. Sadly it was a real let down. The 'entertainment' on the bus was a very nice lady however she was very much a country and western singerand unfortunately not very good when we were looking forward to blues - it is Memphis after all! We travelled so fast past places of interest that it was impossible to get photos and the air conditioning on the bus was severely lacking. We booked the Sun Studios option of the tour and thank goodness we did as this was the highlight. Really disappointed as we missed out on other things to go on this tour.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide Michelle did a great job! We learned a lot and had a good time on the Memphis city tour.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Awesome complete tour! What a great way to see Memphis! Our tour guide went above and beyond our expectations! Thank you!

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour was everything we expected and more! The driver, Sam, was great. He was informative, friendly, and helpful! I would recommend this tour as a great get to know Memphis start to a stay there. Hotel pick up and drop off made it very convenient.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was very informative. My husband and I would go on it again the next time we come to Memphis.

Doing what: Memphis Coach Tour including Rock and Soul Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We loved our guides. We learned so much about the city. Both guides were very knowledgeable. We learned a lot about Memphis. We would do this tour again.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I booked this tour for me and my mother to celebrate her birthday. Willie was our driver and he made our tour so special, he even had everyone sing happy birthday! Willie had an answer to all of our questions about Memphis and made everyone feel right at home on the tour. He was so patient and even stopped the bus whenever we wanted to take a photo of something that wasn't one of the scheduled stops. My mother and I both learned so much about Memphis and want to visit again. I highly recommend Willie as a tour guide! Thank you sir, for making our trip so memorable.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Dylan our singing tour guide was amazing. A different style of tour that including music and city history with live singing to link it together. A must in Memphis. Make sure you include the Sun Studio tour.

Doing what: Memphis Mojo Music Bus Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This is a great way to visit Memphis and Graceland. It was quite interesting and we learned many things.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

Tour guide repeated same information over and over again. Gave little insight into the history and culture of Memphis and made strange stops. We only had 15 minutes at Sun Studios and 40 minutes at St. Jude's hospital. I know it's an important hospital but what are supposed to do in a hospital for all that time?? She didn't even mention the civil rights movement or go by the museum. Boring, odd tour.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

I am happy I took this tour with the Graceland option: the driver was funny, courteous, full of interesting trivia, and he waited for me until my Graceland tour was completely done so he could drive me back to my hotel. This tour had a stop to watch the Peabody ducks, another to eat food at Beale Street, and then he also offered to drop several people off in different places they wanted to be left at (like the Sun Studio). If you take this tour and visit the National Civil Rights Museum, you've got a pretty well-rounded taste of Memphis.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2015

the only communication we had was that we would be picked up at 2 for a 2:30 tour. Bus arrived about 1:30 and the driver was very upset we were not ready. If I had not prepaid for 5 of us I would have cancelled.

The driver only knew what the company had told her and had little knowledge of Memphis. Some of the information was just wrong. There were many advertisements for various businesses along the route that did not seem apprpriate for a tour. The tour did go to all of the plaaces advertised.

Will not recommend.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was an absolute amazing experience. So very cool to stand where Elvis recorded his first record! Highly recommend this to anyone visiting Memphis!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour gave a comprehensive insight into what Memphis has to offer, would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Hi, definitely worth a visit if you are Memphis. Great tour and look into the past.

Doing what: Graceland Tour Including Automobile Museum and Sincerely Elvis Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We did this tour without the Graceland Admission because we had already spent the entire day there the day before. Otherwise, the Graceland option would be money well spent. Its about US$22 from Downtown Memphis to Graceland. Now, the tour starts at the Welcome Centre. Not a lot to see there but it is growing. Our absolutely amazing driving Michelle then took us through the streets of Memphis pointing out all the interesting sights and history, from Mud Island to the beautiful old stately homes on Millionaires Row. We were shown the sporting grounds and stadiums and then on the St. Judes Hospital. Wow, I had no idea that this hospital existed, and all thanks to Danny Thomas (entertainer) who is buried with his wife onsite. The story behind this hospital is quite incredible. The Peabody Ducks are such a treat to see and Beale Street during the day is a very different experience. We did all things Elvis, because well we are in Memphis and of course I am a fan. Michelle went out of her way today to make our trip special. As we were the only ones today, she took us to Forest Hill Cemetery and showed us the mausoleum where Elvis's body lay until its return to Graceland. She dropped us at Sun Records at our request at the end of our tour. So much to see and a great day out.

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

We took this trip because my wife always wanted to go to Memphis to see Graceland, the whole day was great even with the cold weather

Doing what: Memphis City Tour with Optional Graceland Admission

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

I signed up for the 10:30am Historic Memphis Walking Tour through Viator for Dec 1, 2014. My mom and I drove 1.5 hours and got to BB Kings meeting spot about 10 minutes before the tour was to begin. As the time came and nobody showed up, we asked several people that worked in the restaurant if they knew about the tours. They invited us to sit at the bar and wait and some of the staff thought that they had seen the tour guide around. When the tour was 20 minutes past due I started calling numbers at the tour groups desk (Backstreet tours) and they indicated that there was no tour at that time. I went over my order confirmation from the online sale with him and confirmed the date and time and order code was correct. We ended up going to the Gibson factory and then Graceland but that's not why we traveled to Memphis.

Doing what: Historic Memphis Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

When my friend suggest Memphis, I was lukewarm, but it wasn't a pricey trip. I was in for a very pleasant surprise. We stayed at the Holiday Inn; it wasn't fancy, but the location was great. We bought a package and went to Graceland, Sun Studios, and the Rock and Soul Museum. We also went to the Gibson Guitar Factory, but the highlight was the Civil Right's Museum. Allow at least four hours to get through the museum, it's an emotional experience, and Central BBQ is right next door! I'd avoid the Cotton Museum, a waste of time. The evenings were spent on Beale Street listening to music. With great food, music, and interesting attractions, and very friendly people, I'd rate the trip five stars.

PS Don't forget to go to Gus's Fried Chicken for the best fried chicken you'll ever eat!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message