When you think of Memphis, what comes to mind? Elvis Presley? Graceland? How about the blues, soul and rock’n’roll?  Yes, that’s right – Memphis could be said to be the home of all three. As the city where Sun Studio and Stax Records ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Another great tour and one not to be missed. If you like music, the historical perspective is wonderful. It is truly standing on the steps of music history as the influence is still felt today. Sun studios is full of memorabilia that relates to so many well-known musicians. The tour guide was full of energy, made it a great deal of fun and certainly knew the history of the studio. Well done and worth the visit. I am going to Nashville next and will follow up with a visit to RCA where many of the Sun artists went to next.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The four music venues that we went to were fantastic. We had a great tour at Sun Studio and Graceland was very much a "moment in time'. Rock and Soul was very interesting and self guided and Stax Record was especially worthwhile. Music aficionados must do these monuments to great music makers.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I enjoyed the entire experience! It was nice to walk right up with my voucher - no hassles and I already knew what I was spending. I enjoyed the full "Elvis experience" at Graceland - one did feel a bit "herded" through the house because it is a bit small and they need to keep visitors moving. I liked the audio tour that accompanied me. The memorabilia, cars and other exhibits made for a nice half-day tour. Parking at Graceland $10. The Stax Museum was lovely - a little treasure of racial harmony and history. I really enjoyed everything that the museum and foundation are accomplishing. It brought back a lot of memories of my youth. Parking -free. The Sun Studios tour was my favorite due to the enthusiasm of our tour guide and my new friends from Australia! The depth of musical history made in that recording studio (and it continues today) gives one goosebumps. I found free parking on the street. The Rock and Soul Museum provides a nice overview of the musical roots that have come together in Memphis. Again, the audio tour allows one to enjoy the museum at your own pace, focusing on your areas of interest. Paid for parking in downtown Memphis. The "courtesy" shuttle was was not running during my visit in June. As I had rented a car, this wasn't too much of a problem. However, my Australian friends got jammed. Have the name and number of a cab company handy "just in case." Overall, my visit to Memphis was wonderful!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well informed and humorous tour guide aided by historic displays. A must do for those with even a minor interest in the development of 20 th century popular music

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Sun Studio tour was fantastic 10 out of 10 .Nina who took the tour was wonderful. No one must miss this tour. Gracelands tickets were V.I.P so we were treated like royalty, even had our own 60th anniversary exhibition that only VIP's could go into. This Memphis Music attraction tickets were so worth it. Just rang the lady in their office when we got there and they faxed them to our hotel. Great Stuff.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The music attraction pass is an absolutely essential part of your Memphis itinerary if you are a lover of musical heritage and is crucially very good value for money. The added bonus is the shuttle service between the various attractions particularly relevant to Graceland which is slightly out of town

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We loved all the venues and found people very helpful in giving extra information; they were often volunteers with a love of the music and history of the area.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I am mainly a classical music fan. I always thought that Elvis was a very talented musician though. When my wife and I decided to take holiday including Memphis, We had to include this trip. It could have been tacky, but neither of us felt that it was. It was a great experience and actually very moving. We'll worth setting a full day aside for. Be sure to follow it up with the Sun Studios tour. It just rounded our day of perfectly.

Doing what: Elvis Presley's Graceland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour of GRACELAND is a must see if you're any kind of music fan. Beyond our expectations!!

Doing what: Elvis Presley's Graceland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A perfect group of selections for music lovers!! Loved the free shuttle from downtown Rock 'N Soul museum to Graceland, then to Sun Studio, and finally back to Rock 'N Soul. We were able to complete tours at all three in a single day. A not too expensive cab ride ($10-15) from downtown to Stax was well worth the extra expense. Not to be missed!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

FANTASTIC ! A must for Rock 'n' Roll, Soul and R and B music fans. This tour exceeded our expectations and was one of our most memorable tours ever. Our special thanks goes to Ms. Ecstasy Williams, one of the ladies who worked at the information desk at Graceland on the day of our tour, Sunday, Oct 20th. She enabled us to be admitted to Graceland, Stax Museum and Sun Studio because we unable to exchange our pre-paid Viator voucher for the Memphis Music Attraction Pass as Sweet Magnolia Tours was closed Saturdays and Sundays. Thank you Ecstasy.
Graceland was undeniably fantastic. We were impressed by the vast display of Elvis' Gold and Platinum Records and other memorabilia. There'll never be another Elvis - he was unique.
Stax Museum was equally great. We had no idea that so much of today's "classic" soul albums were recorded there. Truly monumental.
Sun Studio was a big surprise and just simply awesome. Here we were standing on the second floor of a tiny brick building on 706 Union St on "sacred ground" where Rock 'n' Roll was born ! We appreciated the young tour guide who was very motivated and re-told a vivid account of the history that was made there - his hand-out at the end of the tour pretty much sums up the importance of this place. The Sun Record Company "Greatest Hits" CD that we bought there is a cherished souvenir.
We were so engrossed with the first three tours that we arrived at the Rock 'n' Soul Museum too late to start this tour. That'll be for the next trip to Memphis. Thanks again Viator for these outstanding attractions in Memphis, a real highlight of our visit of the South.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

I was born in the 80's so Elvis is a little before my time. I grew up with my parents listening to him, taking the tour gave me a much better appreciation of his music, life and his contributions. Thoroughly enjoyed taking the tour. As soon as I got home I downloaded a bunch of his songs.

Doing what: Elvis Presley's Graceland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Fantastic tour....and just fantastic to be standing in the same spot where a lot of rock and roll music was born. Spine tingling moments as you realise that you are standing where legends like Elvis, Johnny Cash, U2, Roy Orbison stood to record some of their records. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

You have do this one if you go to Memphis. What can I say...loved being where one of the legends of music lived with his family.

Doing what: Elvis Presley's Graceland Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

I enjoyed the tour! It was very emotional for me just being in his home and hearing his music. Very touching. So sad that he's not here in person.

Doing what: Elvis Presley's Graceland Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message