When you think of Memphis, what comes to mind? Elvis Presley? Graceland? How about the blues, soul and rock’n’roll?  Yes, that’s right – Memphis could be said to be the home of all three. As the city where Sun Studio and Stax Records ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 60 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jerry R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

All four attractions included in the Memphis Music Attraction pass are well worth visiting, and the discount pass provides excellent value for money for the visits. Recommended!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Suzanne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Any music fan, especially of the baby boom generation, will find it exciting. The roots of rock and roll are in this studio, The guide did an excellent job of bringing the story to life. We grew up with Elvis, Johnny Cash , etc. It was a thrill.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Alan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

As a very keen music addict this was excellent. Free shuttle transport was included to Graceland and Sun Studio.
I thoroughly enjoyed all four attractions - Sun Studio was the smallest but was my favourite. It was a unique experience visiting Graceland also.
Stax Museum was also very interesting, as was Rock and Soul.Stdio

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

EARL B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide was very informative and kind. It rained hard and he provided umbrellas to ones without protection from the rain. A very kind and thoughtful man. The Rock and Roll Museum was the Hi light of the trip. Loved the music.

Doing what: Memphis Coach Tour including Rock and Soul Museum

Eric C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour and tour guide's enthusiasm and informative attitude made the tour. Not a lot to see therefore history and music support by guide was essential. Photo opportunity at end with props was great.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

way_smith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

You HAVE to go here if you are a fan of the music from Memphis. Our guide was knowledgeable and engaging. The music, the history and just being in the room where some of the most influential music from the United States was made was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

way_smith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The best tour we attended. It doesn't matter if you are a musician or someone who simply loves music, this has something for everyone. Our guide was knowledgeable and engaging....

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

J Harlo S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Had a wonderful time. Enjoyed Memphis a great deal. Will be back someday. The music attraction pass was excellent.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Clarissa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent place to visit. Loved the tour. The guide was really good. She was funny and helpful and had a great presentation. Lots of history and information. Super cool and everyone seemed to enjoy it. If you are a music fan you will love it.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Shonda K M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I was very happy with our Memphis Music Pass. The pass was easy to use and we thoroughly enjoyed each of the places we toured. This was really a great experience and I highly recommend it to others.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Stephanie L F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Had a great time. Enjoyed all the tours we took. Have a better appreciation for blues music now :o

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Geoffrey R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Here was a delightful raconteur/driver who knew what to tell, show, n do after questioning party members. I did not know about the strong place Memphis played in music history, this tour provided that broader picture culminating in the museum visit - our Elvis was but a part, albeit a slightly larger than life part -where the hometown boy makes good BUT NEVER forgot his roots. As this tour ends at the Rock n Soul museum it is good idea to pre-book an afternoon factory tour at the Gibson Guitar factory opposite museum - see the making of that great instrument and a company still 'surviving' against the overseas boys AND buy yourself a guitar!.
The snack break opposite the site of assassination of Dr Martin Luther King allows time to reflect on this sad happening AND you can return to view more at the Civil Rights Museum .
Take this tour early on then plan your returns to parts of interest.

Doing what: Memphis Coach Tour including Rock and Soul Museum

Wade W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very informative and interesting information about the early days of rock and roll music.

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

sara w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

guide new a lot of the history of the studio and told it all with music tracks from the people she was talking about great

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

vamoustrides

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I am glad we bought the four attraction pass and could see them all during the three nights we stayed in Memphis. So much of our music has been made here. It's all very impressive.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

brian b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My husband can't stop talking about his visit to Sun Studios , he said it was well organized and learnt a lot about certain music legends

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great pass and attractions. We had never visited Memphis before so booked a city tour by bus to figure out where everything was. We then used the pass over 2 days to visit Sun Studios, Graceland, Stax Museum and the Museum of Rock and Soul, all great attractions if you are into music and why else would you visit Memphis?. We also took the tour of the Gibson guitar factory and store 2 blocks south of Beale Street, excellent. Just like to say also that if you are NOT an Elvis fan don't let that put you off a trip to Graceland which is just amazing.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

MARTIN K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed the musical venues on this attraction. We saw the 4 sites on different days, so we could take the information at a leisurely pace. Memphis' music history is phenomenal and the music pass enabled us to enjoy and understand that history in a joyous and exciting manner. The musicians and producers were passionate about their music and the music pass displayed that passion and talent. A great trip and a good value!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Jayne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well worth visiting all the music museums.Really enjoyed the Sun Studio tour and the guide made the tour so enjoyable.Make sure you leave enough time to see everything at the Rock and Soul and Stax museums.The only gripe we had was that the free bus was not running during the week we were in Memphis.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour
Very enthusiastic guide
I love the fact that everybody working at sun studio lives and breathes music and it history.
They were all so excited when they heard a grandchild of the owner of the cafe was on the tour. They couldn't wait to see pictures and hear stories

Doing what: Sun Studio Guided Tour

Constance L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved every minute seeing Graceland, Sun Studios, Memphis Rock and Soul Museum, and the Stax Museum. This trip made me appreciate even more the contributions of Memphis to rock, soul, and blues music.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

CLAIRE S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

If you are remotely interested in music this is an absolute necessity.It might not look like much from the outside but once you enter the studio itselfor the church,as they call it on the tour,I defy anyone not to be moved by the history of it. Don't miss the opportunity to get a photo with 'THAT MICROPHONE ON THAT SPOT!! Absolutely amazing!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Jeanette F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Lots to see and enjoy - a nice variety and a great way to learn the history of music in this country

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Craig H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Do not try to do this all in one day! Graceland, Stax, and Rock and Soul Museum all take at least a good half a day to really enjoy. Sun Studios is the only one we'd suggest trying to combine in one day with any other.

Graceland was the biggest surprise in terms of quality and breadth of experience. We weren't Elvis fans to begin with, but we really gained a great perspective of the man and his achievements, and very much enjoyed the chance to see his home and how he lived. Not what you might expect! And there's a Pirtle's Chicken right down the road.

Sun Studios was the most compelling for it's being preserved in all its original not glory. Such a simple space, and such simple equipment, but such a moving experience to hear the songs in the original studio room while being able to toe the indentation in the floor where the upright bass was parked for all those years.

Stax gets high marks for its rebuilding everything per the original building blueprints, and you could definitely spend an entire day listening to everything there is to hear there, just as with the Rock and Soul Museum downtown. Which puts you right near Dyer's Burgers--did we mention we loved the food in Memphis? No matter how quickly you figure you can see it all, if you enjoy both history and music, you'll find the hours fly by and you still can't get to everything.

Highly recommended!

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Edwin v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The music attraction pass was brilliant. It does not include transport to the attractions but that is not required as there is a free shuttle that runs regularly from the Gibson factory. Graceland, Sun studios and the Gibson factory are all must see destinations.

Doing what: Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message