This minor archeological site on the Puuc Route south of Merida is worth visiting to see its Palace of the Masks, an ornate structure covered with hundreds of masks of the same figure: the rain god Chaac. This repeating motif is rare in Mayan art ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Selena T Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was more than I expected including my stay at Hacienda Uxmal!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Uxmal Tour from Merida

Ian K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our guide, Wilbert, was wonderful! He was very knowledgeable of the area and the history of the Mayan people. He was patient but also was sure to keep us on pace. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Hugh D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a very good tour. There were only 6 of us altogether. Our guide picked us up and dropped us back to our hotel in Merida as well as showing us around Uxmal and Kabah. He was helpful, enthusiastic and knowledgeable but also let us enjoy the day without overloading us. Excellent and good value.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

ronald c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great day absent of crowds but spectacular guide was very informative and you can climb stairs and get a real feel of Uxmal. Kabah was a surprise small but impressive and the arch is worth the trip.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a great tour and much better than Chichen Itza. The ruins are much more extensive, you can climb on most of them and there are far fewer tourists.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Eli K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Amazing and full day! Our guide was bilingual and very informative. There is even an opportunity to climb some of the ruins!

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Dorothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a wonderful tour, led by a knowledgeable guide who was both personable and professional and who spoke very good English. The structures were very impressive, both from the standpoint of the original Mayan builders and of the archaeologists who reconstructed them. Well worth the visit.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Francis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

great trip, great guide, will rate in more detail on Tripadvisor

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Charles H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

In awe at the start!

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Livia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide Raoul was AMAZING, he knew so much was really good at communicating it. Definately book this tour.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

bbarragans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very interesting and beautiful tour. Kabah and Uxmal are amazing places. Lunch was also very good, a big and delicious buffet in a lodge close to Uxmal's entrance. We had a great day, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Rima K Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is more interesting than Chichen Itza in some ways, depending on your interests. Kalahari is a small site but worth seeing. The views you get from the palace at Uxmal are worth the walk up. Our guide, Agusto, was very good also amiable and knows the sites well.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Eliran K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The trip was very interesting, educational, and enjoyable.
We were picked up on time, but were joined with another group as our designated guide was sick. In total, we were 5 couples (10 people), joined by Augusto the guide, who was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. Though his accent was not so easy to digest, he provided us with plenty of information on Kabah and Uxmal and was very interesting to hear.

Lunch was good, transportation was OK, and we kept good time.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Dinu T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was a very interesting and well organized tour.
The guide, Francisco was very friendly and provided all the information about Uxmal and Kabah.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Monique S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It was an excellent tour. Very interesting sites and wonderful tour guide.
these sites are less well known but are well worth the visit.
Having a tour guide who is passionate and knowledgable makes all the difference.
I would highly recommend it

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Ken P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Combining Kabah and Uxmal was definitely the way to go. They are both fascinating in their own way and Augusto, our guide, did a wonderful job explaining everything, and answering our questions in great detail. The hotel was great (and very uncrowded for this time of year). Wonderful staff, great pool, and plenty of birds to listen to around the pool.

Doing what: 2-Day Uxmal Tour from Merida

Lucy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide Elias was exceptional. Very knowledgeable, friendly and considerate. Knows the history of the area. If we go back he is the only guide we will use.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

LARRY D W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Small group, mixed nationalities, tour guide good driver, English understandable, didn't hover, informative and nice. Pyramids were great, could actually climb a few of them, saw restoration in progress and it didn't rain, another plus. Sun hat and glasses a necessity. Lunch was good. All in all a great trip.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Gillian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

New van. Pickup on time. Fab guide Jose Saul Jimenez added 2 Haciendas as group small and we had time. Best tour I've done here. Booking same tour with Saul for my children. Pure magic. Loved it, loved it. Viator is best service I have used here.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Judith E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Both sites are gorgeous!

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

David V

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Guide was good. Should have provided drinks FREE given the price!

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Brad H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great tour and the sights were a lot less busy than Chichen Itza. The tour guide was very knowledgable and the lunch was great. Recommended.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

alan.glass

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

By chance we happened to be in a mini bus with 4 young Australians and it was a very good day. The tour guide, Saul, was very knowledgeable and spoke very good english and he was very pleasant company. I would recommend this tour to those travelling to Merida who want to see some Mayan ruins.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Lijun Z

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great tour! Tour guide was really nice and with good English. He explained to us a lot of interesting things about Mayan culture, and was very patient. No time is wasted in shops, so it is very time effective.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message