Merida ATTRACTIONS See all

Zocalo de Merida

Better known as Plaza Grande, Plaza Principal, or just “the main square” by English speakers, this has been the center of Merida since the cathedral was finished in the late 1500s. It’s a pleasant place to sit and watch the locals and visitors in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was one of the highlights of our trip to Merida! We highly recommend The market tour and cooking class. Ricardo met us and took us not only to the market, but pointed out many interesting sites along the way. We shopped and then went to a lady's home and cooked delicious food. It is memorable.
We highly recommend this activity!!

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Good tour. Friendly and informative guide. Interesting to cook with a local in her home.

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour and cooking class exceeded our expectations. Our tour guide Ricardo is a wonderful guide and historian. He is passionate about Merida and its history. Wonderdul trip to the market, bus trip local style, and then to Berta's house. Berta is a wonderful cook and person!

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

If you're curious about this class, my recommendation is to go ahead and sign up right away. This was the perfect way to experience Merida and classic Yucatan living. Our guide, Ricardo, was friendly and fun, and had excellent skills for teaching both local history and culture. The market was perfect - colorful, friendly and bustling. The host, Senora Bertha, welcomed us into her home as if we were old friends, and shared her kitchen and dining room with warmth and smiles. And while this was not a formal cooking exhibition style class, it certainly taught how to choose and use local ingredients in the local manner. I was fortunate to be staying in a private home in Merida, and 2 days after the class I made dinner for a small group of hungry people, using my new skill. And it turned out delicious and everyone was happy! So I feel very pleased with the whole experience and add my praise to others already written. Relax, enjoy and participate in the Yucatan through the world of food.

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Overall a delightful day. Our family group of 8 had a tour of all the main sections of the sprawling market, with ample opportunities to ask questions and learn about the vegetables, fruits and spices that give Yucatan cuisine its unique character. The guides from "urban adventures-Merida" - Ricardo and Alberto -- were knowledgeable and enthusiastic and helped fill in gaps in our knowledge about history, politics, culture and cuisine of Yucatan.
What stood out was the experience of all of us being sous chefs with the maestra, Doña Berta, whose calm and good humor, and lightning quick hands helped us all learn how to prepare the foods. With a promise of a later e-mail with all the recipes, we were encouraged to be fully engaged in the experience, not with note-taking.
The final delight was everyone at the host house sitting down to share the meal together in the patio outside the kitchen.

(One slight caveat - be clear when you sign up about transportation to and from the host home, which can be at some distance from the center of Merida. The guides at first proposed the public bus (which may be fine for some) but we needed to go by car and luckily had them handy. )

Again - overall a thoroughly enjoyable immersion in Yucatecan culture and cuisine! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What a wonderful way to step into the culture and culinary traditions of the Yucatan! Ricardo was a gracious and wonderful guide and the family that invited us into their home for the cooking class was welcoming and friendly. It was a great way to spend a day! Thank you!

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide, Ricardo, was punctual, informative, friendly and very interesting. He led us on a fascinating tour through the Merida market and asked for our grandsons' help in choosing ingredients for our cooking class. With purchases in hand, we took a local bus to our destination. Cooking in someones home with her family there, made it truly meaningful. Our hostess was most gracious, allowing us to work with all of the ingredients and steps in preparing a delicious meal. We had participated in many other similar experiences over the years in several countries, and this was truly one of the most memorable.

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Both our guide and hosts were very nice!

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I enjoyed seeing personal house and cooked the base of tortilla.
And also, two boys and me became good friends.

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We found the small group tour of the market to be really interesting and the guide knowledgeable. It gave us a much better insight into the food of the region. We went by local bus to the house of the chef which was great and it was lovely having the cooking session and meal in the chef's home. I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Merida.

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

Rima K
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was a fun afternoon walk through the market to buy some ingredients and learn about various goods, followed by a bus ride to a local home. Our host was welcoming and obviously enjoyed sharing her skills with us. Our guide, Ricardo, also genuinely enjoys sharing his city - and love of food!

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

We really enjoyed our market your. Very interesting and cleverly adapted to our group's needs and preferences. Lots of interesting information about Mexican culture and food in particular. We tried lots of things- some whih will never be triedagain. Jorge really made a big effort. However, the cooking school was really sitting in a kitchen watching someone cook and occasionally chopping some vegetables or stirring pot. A good day- but I wouldn't recommend this if you are looking or a hands on cooking experience.

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Great tour of the markets, very gracious host and family. The disappointment was the cooking part. Most of the actual cooking had already been done, so all we got to do was assemble. Do this tour if you want a cultural experience, but skip it if you're hoping for a serious culinary experience.

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message