Merida is a city that captivates many visitors so much that they decide to stay: it’s a haven for expatriates from the U.S., Canada, and Europe. The colonial center holds plenty of charms, including nightly music performances in various parks seven ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 42 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great side trip. There were perhaps over a thousand flamingoes.
Mangrove tour was very interesting. A nice visit to a beach, and seafood lunch,
(probably in place of the petrified forest) but nobody minded. Wonderful New Years Day.

Doing what: Day Trip to Celestun: Flamingos, Mangrove Boat Ride and Tampeten Petrified Forest

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very good tour guide. Small group, which we wanted.
More crowded than Uxmal though.
Buffet lunch was good too.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was well organized and the guide was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I brought my parents to Merida to celebrate their 60th Wedding Anniversary and we took this day tour to Merida. Our guide, Augusto, was terrific. He waited for Mom (both hips replaced twice) and we were a small group so we received special attention. The weather was perfect and the tour was great!
Barbara Boggio

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour , excellent guide knew all about Chichen Itza and the Mayans
Good swimming to cap off great day

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent day out , lots of fun good family outing - great swimming

Doing what: Acanceh Ruins and Cuzama Cenotes Tour from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Overall a delightful day. Our family group of 8 had a tour of all the main sections of the sprawling market, with ample opportunities to ask questions and learn about the vegetables, fruits and spices that give Yucatan cuisine its unique character. The guides from "urban adventures-Merida" - Ricardo and Alberto -- were knowledgeable and enthusiastic and helped fill in gaps in our knowledge about history, politics, culture and cuisine of Yucatan.
What stood out was the experience of all of us being sous chefs with the maestra, Doña Berta, whose calm and good humor, and lightning quick hands helped us all learn how to prepare the foods. With a promise of a later e-mail with all the recipes, we were encouraged to be fully engaged in the experience, not with note-taking.
The final delight was everyone at the host house sitting down to share the meal together in the patio outside the kitchen.

(One slight caveat - be clear when you sign up about transportation to and from the host home, which can be at some distance from the center of Merida. The guides at first proposed the public bus (which may be fine for some) but we needed to go by car and luckily had them handy. )

Again - overall a thoroughly enjoyable immersion in Yucatecan culture and cuisine! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Combining Kabah and Uxmal was definitely the way to go. They are both fascinating in their own way and Augusto, our guide, did a wonderful job explaining everything, and answering our questions in great detail. The hotel was great (and very uncrowded for this time of year). Wonderful staff, great pool, and plenty of birds to listen to around the pool.

Doing what: 2-Day Uxmal Tour from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was an incredible Mayan site. Alot of the structures are still in place. Our tour guide was very enthuisiastic with his presentation and gave us excellent information. I would highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very enjoyable. We were traveling with 3 teenage children - whom are hard to impress. But they were - amazing. The Cenotes were spectacular and so was our guide Nelson. Well done

Doing what: Acanceh Ruins and Cuzama Cenotes Tour from Merida

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What a wonderful way to step into the culture and culinary traditions of the Yucatan! Ricardo was a gracious and wonderful guide and the family that invited us into their home for the cooking class was welcoming and friendly. It was a great way to spend a day! Thank you!

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide, Ricardo, was punctual, informative, friendly and very interesting. He led us on a fascinating tour through the Merida market and asked for our grandsons' help in choosing ingredients for our cooking class. With purchases in hand, we took a local bus to our destination. Cooking in someones home with her family there, made it truly meaningful. Our hostess was most gracious, allowing us to work with all of the ingredients and steps in preparing a delicious meal. We had participated in many other similar experiences over the years in several countries, and this was truly one of the most memorable.

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Both our guide and hosts were very nice!

Doing what: Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I want to exchange from today’s tour of Merida Market Tour and Cooking Class.
But, your Mayaland phone is no connection and I asked hotels receptionist to call your 1-702-648-5873. But, the receptionist can’t receive your correct answer from you.
So, I give up. But, Cooking Class was much batter for me.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message