Uxmal Pronounced OOSH-mahl, this impressive site 50 miles from Merida is one of the best-restored and awe-inspiring archaeological sites in the Yucatán, as captivating as Chichen Itza but without the Cancun crowds.. This was the main city ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 57 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Eli K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Amazing and full day! Our guide was bilingual and very informative. There is even an opportunity to climb some of the ruins!

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Dorothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a wonderful tour, led by a knowledgeable guide who was both personable and professional and who spoke very good English. The structures were very impressive, both from the standpoint of the original Mayan builders and of the archaeologists who reconstructed them. Well worth the visit.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

cheryl s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Mayapan was my favorite Maya site. The buildings were so close together and approachable. You could almost visualize the way it was long ago. Mani and the Monastery were great. The Grottos were very interesting, but unexpectedly hot and humid! I always thought caves were cool.

Doing what: Hidden Treasures of the Yucatan: Mani, Mayapan, Tzabnah Grottos and Monastery of San Miguel Arcangel

Francis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

great trip, great guide, will rate in more detail on Tripadvisor

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Charles H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

In awe at the start!

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

valerie.teopy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our Guide's name is Delio and he's amazing! and funny. He tells a great history of the mayans that we never knew. He also warned us about how people there will be selling their products and never once pushed us to buy anything. If he does, he'll always show you that he has those products he bought for himself and his family, and those items are worth it.

If you intend to purchase anything, please either bring enough cash or a credit card.

Overall this was a great tour at a great price.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Livia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide Raoul was AMAZING, he knew so much was really good at communicating it. Definately book this tour.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

bbarragans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very interesting and beautiful tour. Kabah and Uxmal are amazing places. Lunch was also very good, a big and delicious buffet in a lodge close to Uxmal's entrance. We had a great day, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Rima K Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is more interesting than Chichen Itza in some ways, depending on your interests. Kalahari is a small site but worth seeing. The views you get from the palace at Uxmal are worth the walk up. Our guide, Agusto, was very good also amiable and knows the sites well.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Rima K Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

If you're going to see anything, this is it! Anyone who's interested in the history of the Yucatan should visit Chichen Itza. The guides are well informed and happy to answer questions and this day trip is well organised, with enough time to see the site and relax at lunch.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Terrence H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing site, and a really fun English-speaking tour. You definitely do not want to go to a place like this without one, because there's so much history that you can't glean from just showing up. The buffet lunch was pretty good too!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Gleydis V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I will be back for more!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Eliran K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The trip was very interesting, educational, and enjoyable.
We were picked up on time, but were joined with another group as our designated guide was sick. In total, we were 5 couples (10 people), joined by Augusto the guide, who was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. Though his accent was not so easy to digest, he provided us with plenty of information on Kabah and Uxmal and was very interesting to hear.

Lunch was good, transportation was OK, and we kept good time.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Vivian Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very good tour guide. Small group, which we wanted.
More crowded than Uxmal though.
Buffet lunch was good too.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Dinu T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was well organized and the guide was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Dinu T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This was a very interesting and well organized tour.
The guide, Francisco was very friendly and provided all the information about Uxmal and Kabah.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Barbara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I brought my parents to Merida to celebrate their 60th Wedding Anniversary and we took this day tour to Merida. Our guide, Augusto, was terrific. He waited for Mom (both hips replaced twice) and we were a small group so we received special attention. The weather was perfect and the tour was great!
Barbara Boggio

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

curlynoone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour , excellent guide knew all about Chichen Itza and the Mayans
Good swimming to cap off great day

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

Monique S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

It was an excellent tour. Very interesting sites and wonderful tour guide.
these sites are less well known but are well worth the visit.
Having a tour guide who is passionate and knowledgable makes all the difference.
I would highly recommend it

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Ken P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Combining Kabah and Uxmal was definitely the way to go. They are both fascinating in their own way and Augusto, our guide, did a wonderful job explaining everything, and answering our questions in great detail. The hotel was great (and very uncrowded for this time of year). Wonderful staff, great pool, and plenty of birds to listen to around the pool.

Doing what: 2-Day Uxmal Tour from Merida

Lucy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide Elias was exceptional. Very knowledgeable, friendly and considerate. Knows the history of the area. If we go back he is the only guide we will use.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Kathee M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was an incredible Mayan site. Alot of the structures are still in place. Our tour guide was very enthuisiastic with his presentation and gave us excellent information. I would highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Merida

LARRY D W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Small group, mixed nationalities, tour guide good driver, English understandable, didn't hover, informative and nice. Pyramids were great, could actually climb a few of them, saw restoration in progress and it didn't rain, another plus. Sun hat and glasses a necessity. Lunch was good. All in all a great trip.

Doing what: Uxmal and Kabah Day Trip from Merida

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message