Insider's Guide to Mexico City

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Centro Historico

Mexico City's Centro Historico was once called Tenochtitlán, founded in 1325 atop a an island in Lake Texcoco. The seers of the wandering Aztec tribe had received a vision, telling to found their great city in a spot where an eagle, perched on ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 178 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rosa T3 d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Dan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and seemed to have an endless amount of stories and facts. On this tour you get to see some of the historical buildings and learn about the history of mexico and the indigenous people. From architectural to anthropological to art and history, you receive a great understanding of the culture and see some fantastic things on the way!

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Lorraine N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great evening. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Cantinas, Lucha Libre and Mariachi in Garibaldi Square

Quinn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour guide. So much history.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Yilmaz O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

An outstanding performance !

Doing what: Folkloric Ballet in Mexico City

Ashley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Starting the night at a Cantina at the top of Torre Latinoamericana and ending with watching Evil triumph over Good in Lucha Libre was everything you could hope for in a night on the town in Mexico. Walking from Cantina to Cantina the drink options were endless, but always with a little Chili Pepper to spice them up. After drinks and a delicious torta sandwich we headed to watch Lucha Libre. Lucha Libre is like WWE only 3 evil wrestlers against 3 good ones. Anything can happen in these matches, from 3 on 1 fighting, to wrestlers getting de-masked, to 3rounds of pummeling 1 on 1 or 3 on 3. Our guide Luis really gave us a unique view into Mexican nightlife as well as a great understanding of the rules and wrestlers in Lucha Libre. If you want an authentic night out in Mexico, this is the tour for you.

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Cantinas, Lucha Libre and Mariachi in Garibaldi Square

Raissa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was very nice! I just have to highlight that our tour guide that evening was just great! He let my mom join and help her throughout the entire walking tour! She never expected to laugh so much at the Lucha Libre Match

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Cantinas, Lucha Libre and Mariachi in Garibaldi Square

Melissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great experience. Fun guides who took care of making sure we had a fantastic experience including a rare opportunity to get photos with the wrestlers!

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Cantinas, Lucha Libre and Mariachi in Garibaldi Square

Jennifer T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour. Our tour guide, Mildred was so knowledgeable and made the tour very fun and informative.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Gabriela E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was so beautiful to watch. The seats were excellent and the Palacio de las Bellas Artes is beautiful. It was a great reason to dress up and have a nice dinner

Doing what: Folkloric Ballet in Mexico City

Kimberly K. C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had the best time! Both our guides were so nice and one of our guides even got up and sang with the Mariachi band. We waited after the wresting and had pictures with a couple of the Lucha Libre. Great night!!!

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Cantinas, Lucha Libre and Mariachi in Garibaldi Square

marta c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A really fun night . I would recommend it

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Cantinas, Lucha Libre and Mariachi in Garibaldi Square

Grazia M.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A true insider's experience! The tour covered the main sights in Mexico City so I got a very well-rounded overview. Seeing Zocalo, the Cathedral and taking in the views from the Latin America tower was awesome. To top it off, seeing the Angel of Independence and being at the top made it even better! We went up this spiral staircase and finally reached the small balcony and saw the Angel from up close. Not only that, but we got such good and unique views from there, which made for great pictures. This tour really made my visit of Mexico City unforgettable!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Angel of Independence Exclusive Access, Chapultepec Castle, Torre Latinoamericana and Historic Center

aletrece

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I really loved this tour! It was our first time in Mexico City and not only did we get to see its historic center and important buildings, but we did something few get to do: going all the way to the top of the Angel of Independence! We got to learn about the history of the city as we walked around Zocalo and downtown and saw the Metropolitan Cathedral, Palace of Fine Arts and more. We also visited Chapultepec Park and the Latin American tower. But, the visit to the top of the Angel of Independence truly made us feel VIP. We were the only ones who got to go up and it felt pretty amazing to be up there. We got views of Avenida Reforma from a completely different angle. I would highly recommend this tour if you want to get a one-of-kind experience!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Angel of Independence Exclusive Access, Chapultepec Castle, Torre Latinoamericana and Historic Center

Suraj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was incredible! A truly unforgettable experience. It's the perfect tour to see historic Mexico and the city's most important buildings. It was great to visit Zocalo, the Latin American tower and Chapultepec Castle. The highlight was definitely the visit to the top of the Angel of Independence. Not anyone gets to do this, so it felt pretty incredible to be one of the few getting up to the top. Once there, the views are amazing as you can see Chapultepec Castle and Avenida Reforma. It's a view you wouldn't get anywhere else. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Angel of Independence Exclusive Access, Chapultepec Castle, Torre Latinoamericana and Historic Center

Charles C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very fun tour, guides were personable and professional. they even got us to go into the back and meet the wrestlers.

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Cantinas, Lucha Libre and Mariachi in Garibaldi Square

murielrosenfeld

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

beautiful and entertaining

Doing what: Folkloric Ballet in Mexico City

Joachim Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour, very knowledgeable guide

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Roberth R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

If you came to Mexico hoping to try as much of the local cuisine as possible, this is the tour to take! We had zucchini blossom quesadillas, cheese and bean stuffed tortillas called tlacoyos, cow's brain, eye and tongue tacos, Mexico's famous cochinita pibil, Spanish style tapas at the local market and finished it off with a stop at the famous Cafe Tacuba for chocolate and buñuelos. The walking is welcome to settle the food and burn off some of the calories you're putting on. Plus, the tour does not run until too late giving you the opportunity to return to one of the stops for dinner!

Doing what: Mexico City Food Walking Tour: Tamales, Tacos and Quesadillas

James P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour. Guide was very informative.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

James P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Beautiful theater and wonderful music and dancing.

Doing what: Folkloric Ballet in Mexico City

Steven P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My tour guide Juan Carlos Luna Trejo was incredibly knowledgeable and very patient and just overall the best tour guide I think I've ever had. When we stopped at the national anthropological museum, his knowledge even caught the attention of some college majors decided they wanted to interview him at a later time for their thesis papers. I totally recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Matthew W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great evening on the town!!! WORTH IT!!!

Doing what: Experience Mexico City: Cantinas, Lucha Libre and Mariachi in Garibaldi Square

Tirsa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour and guide! Juan C., was extremely knowledgable and thorough during the tour. He was an amazing storyteller that made you just want to listen to him speak. I definitely recommend this tour! :

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message