Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

Mexico City Great Temple (Templo Mayor)

The Mexican flag refers to a vision dating to the 13th century, telling Aztec seers to seek an eagle on a cactus, devouring a snake, and build their temples there. The wandering tribe finally found their sign atop an island in Lake Texcoco, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 90 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My husband and I much enjoyed our tour through Mexico City D.F. and the surrounding area and we will be glad to register for other tours through Viator and the tour company. Everything that was advertised took place at the expected times, the tour guides were very well informed. Thetour guides presented the information about the sites in a clear manner in both Spanish and in English if needed.. The speaker was turned up too high for us to understand in one van and the driver/tour guide changed that when we asked him to turn it down. We were picked up and dropped off at our hotel at the expected time, meals provided per contract were tasty and the servers were pleasant. My husband and I did not make any special requests regarding the foods that were chosen in advance by the tour company. The vans were mostly comfortable and the driving was excellent even in Mexico City D.F. where traffic conditions would have been too challenging for me. Breaks were provided in clean stopping points at appropriate intervals every day

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

The tour was ok but it definitely could have been better. For example, they took us to a silver store in which we spent around 2 hours. I did not pay for a tour to go shopping. Then, we were rushed for the rest of the activities.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great tour that covered a lot of ground and history in a pretty short period. Great introduction to Mexico City.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Great way to see the National Palace, the cathedral and the anthropology museum. But the tour guide was in a little haste since he had another tour in the afternoon, so we didn't walk around the Chapultepec area.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We wanted to get an overview of Mexico City and this tour was almost perfect. Our guide was very informative and answered all of our questions. We had a separate driver so the guide was able to talk to us while driving. About half of the time was spent in the historic district to see the Guadalupe Cathedral and the Rivera Diego paintings and the other half in the Archeological Museum. We went back to the Archeological Museum to see more of it on another day. But we did not care to stop at the jewelry store between downtown and the Museum. We can do our own shopping and do not need the tour to take us. So I give this tour a 4

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

Wouldn't do it again. They picked us up about an hour late. Went to the main square, walked about 3 miles to be picked up to go to the museum. Spent an hour there. No walking in the gardens or the castle. Maybe worth it if you are just looking to do something but there are better options available.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Excellent tour. This is actually provided by a different tour company who have a tie-up with Viator. Tour started and ended on time. We got free hotel pickup and drop off, which is great. Guide was knowledgeable and friendly. He explained various places of interest in detail and gave us sufficient time to check out the places of interests.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

we had the best time, the guide was great, lots of knowledge and made the tour very interesting

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

good over view of the city and the museum was a highlight, didnt expect so much detail to be on display. Our guide Tony was very helpful. would have liked another hour on the tour to take in a couple of more locations for the price paid and the time taken.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Amitabha
United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

We saw primarily two things in this tour: the Zocalo and the anthropological museum, both of which were interesting and had a lot to see. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the history of Mexico City, but at times his explanations were so detailed that it was hard to digest. We were also taken to a nice store where we bought a few nice souvenirs. We wish the tour covered a few more things on the Paseo de la Performa (e.g., sculptures) and in other parts of the city.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

the guide we had was top rate, he knew his history and he knew his English.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour was great overall, enjoyed the museums. Tour guide was very knowledgable but spent too much time in the first museum by the consitution square. (over an hour there) The guide had to explain everything in both English and Spanish and it really wasted much time that I felt I didn't get to see entire mexico city. We also didn't get to go to The Castle.

Overall, we've been to constitution square, church and the museum there; then history museum which was amazing to see all the culture and mayan culture. and that was it. We were also hungry in between had to run to buy some snacks on the streets.

Mexico is amazing but please don't put 2 language groups in 1 next time. Thanks.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

New tour company locally operated. Thoroughly recommend. Ask for Frank as your guide.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The city is full of culture and heritage, wow! The murals in the National Palace are amazing and our guide explained them so well so we learnt the history of Mexico City at the same time. The Cathedral also amazing with a fantastic explaination from our guide. He continued to show his knowledge at the Museum of Anthropolgy. Unfortunately our time was limited at the Musuem, which on its own requires a half day dedicated to it. Great day out!

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Manuel V
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Tour guide was great !!!

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The tour was fine. They were very prompt to pick us up. We had six participants, two in my party and four others. We are English-speakers, but the others spoke Spanish. Therefore the entire tour had to be given twice-once in each language. The result was that the tour took much longer -nearly two hours more. However, our guide was excellent, an patiently translated over and over. Poor thing was exhausted by the end! While the day was fine, I would have preferred more of an overview of the sights, rather than spending long periods of time in only a few places. It was a great idea to finish the day at the Anthropological Museum so that we could stay on to see more and have lunch. It was easy to get back to the hotel on our ow.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very nice tour, and the Guide Frank, was great.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My friend and I enjoyed this tour very much. There was only one other person taking it with us so it was a small group. I recommend it to people who want a day tour of a few of the sights in Mexico City. Be prepared to walk and stand quite a bit. Even though there was a van to take us place to place, the best way to see much of the tour was on foot.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Juan was a great tour guide and we visited many sites in one day. We were the only English speakers on our tour, however Juan took the time to explain everything in both English and Spanish. The tour bus was very comfortable. We took a side trip to a silversmith shop and a souvenir shop which was not listed as part of the trip.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This tour was very interesting and I learned very much by this tour. The guide was very experienced and the pace was unhurried. We had the opportunity to see the Metropolitan Cathedral, the National Palace, we had a glimpse of the Templo Mayor from outside and we could see the Aztec room of the Museum of Anthropology. As I wanted to see the rest of this museum I stayed in the afternoon to continue after lunch. If you are interested in the history of Mexico City I recommend you to join this tour!

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Great tour only spoilt by the unnecessary, but seemingly obigatory these days, 20 minutes side trip to a store selling poor quality, overpriced local craftwork and souvenirs which nobody in their right mind would want to purchase.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

This tour was a good overview of the city highlights. Our guide had a lot of information to share and it was especially helpful to have someone explaining the artifacts and art in the museum and palace.

A couple of issues made this a less than perfect tour though. The description notes that food and drink are not included, but this notation (along with the fact that it was a five+ hour tour), we assumed there would be time to stop for lunch/drink. We did not and from 9am to 3pm had to rely on the snacks we had thankfully brought along. Having water on the hot day was also an issue; we brought our own bottled water but were not told it would be taken from us at the Palace so we didn't have any for the second half of the tour.

We did not get to walk through the Chapultepec area as advertised (our guide was older and walked slow - maybe he decided not to?) and were disappointed that we started with the Anthropology museum instead of ending with it, as we had hoped to stay after the tour and view the rest of the museum.

We were glad we took this tour instead of one of the big double-decker buses, but there are probably other companies offering a better tour of the same sites.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Mildred did a great job. Enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Interesting tour and excellent guidance.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Just superb!. Again, we had Frank as our guide and it was a memorable experience.We learned more about Mexico than ever would have been possible on our own. Your tour was thoughtfully planned, constantly interesting and delightfully presented.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message