• USD ($)
  • English

Mexico City ATTRACTIONS See all

National Museum of Anthropology (Museo Nacional de Antropologia)

It’s easy to spend an entire day exploring the nearly 20 acres that make up Mexico City’s most-visited museum. Opened in 1964, the National Museum of Anthropology houses the largest collection of traditional Mexican art in the world—including the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

We had a great time on the Mexico City tour. Our guide was very well spoken and very educated about the different things we saw. I only wish we had more time to spend at the Museum of Anthropology.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

I can not speak highly enough about how great this Mexico City tour was!. Our guide, Javier, was so knowledgeable and entertaining that we all had a great time. The visit to the Museum of Anthropology was the highlight of the day! A truly great Experience!!

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

This tour was very interesting and I learned very much by this tour. The guide was very experienced and the pace was unhurried. We had the opportunity to see the Metropolitan Cathedral, the National Palace, we had a glimpse of the Templo Mayor from outside and we could see the Aztec room of the Museum of Anthropology. As I wanted to see the rest of this museum I stayed in the afternoon to continue after lunch. If you are interested in the history of Mexico City I recommend you to join this tour!

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

This tour was a good overview of the city highlights. Our guide had a lot of information to share and it was especially helpful to have someone explaining the artifacts and art in the museum and palace.

A couple of issues made this a less than perfect tour though. The description notes that food and drink are not included, but this notation (along with the fact that it was a five+ hour tour), we assumed there would be time to stop for lunch/drink. We did not and from 9am to 3pm had to rely on the snacks we had thankfully brought along. Having water on the hot day was also an issue; we brought our own bottled water but were not told it would be taken from us at the Palace so we didn't have any for the second half of the tour.

We did not get to walk through the Chapultepec area as advertised (our guide was older and walked slow - maybe he decided not to?) and were disappointed that we started with the Anthropology museum instead of ending with it, as we had hoped to stay after the tour and view the rest of the museum.

We were glad we took this tour instead of one of the big double-decker buses, but there are probably other companies offering a better tour of the same sites.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

We did not get to see the castle in Chapultepec park and were rushed through the museum of anthropology

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

The tour was shorter than what we expected . We spent only an hour in the Museum of anthropology . i think your brochure should be more clear as to extent of tour . The tour guide Pako was very knowledgeable with very good personality .

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

The tour guide was very knowledgeable but was in a hurry. We just stood in front of the president's palace and were told that the president comes out of the balcony twice a year. The ride we took tot he museum of anthropology was an old mini van which did not have air conditioning. We were seated in the back therefore we did not have a window to open,

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

We were told to be ready at 8:30 and were not picked up until 9:30. 1/3 of the tour group spoke English and did not receive a full explanation from the guide because he claimed it was too much to do. We hired our own guide at the Anthropology museum and dropped out of the tour. Mexico City is very impressive and we appreciated being taken to several of the most historic spots, but for the price, Viator has other all day excursions for the same price so this one is not a value.

Doing what: Mexico City Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message